Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

STS-134 Endeavour

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 3,645 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beeker

index.php?action=dlattach;topic=25138.0;attach=290430;image

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 3,645 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beeker

Crew due to leave for the pad in about 30 minutes.

Suiting up.

index.php?action=dlattach;topic=25138.0;attach=290440;image
    index.php?action=dlattach;topic=25138.0;attach=290442;image

index.php?action=dlattach;topic=25138.0;attach=290456;image

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭clln

index.php?action=dlattach;topic=25138.0;attach=290495;image
    index.php?action=dlattach;topic=25138.0;attach=290497;image
    index.php?action=dlattach;topic=25138.0;attach=290499;image
    index.php?action=dlattach;topic=25138.0;attach=290504;image

Lol at this one of the crew looking at Endeavour,It is like "OMG have we to board that:eek:"

index.php?action=dlattach;topic=25138.0;attach=290555;image

index.php?action=dlattach;topic=25138.0;attach=290561;image
    index.php?action=dlattach;topic=25138.0;attach=290565;image

index.php?action=dlattach;topic=25138.0;attach=290586;image

4 of the 6 now on board
    index.php?action=dlattach;topic=25138.0;attach=290616;image
    index.php?action=dlattach;topic=25138.0;attach=290609;image

Beeker wrote: »
    4 of the 6 now on board
    I swear Beeker if this was tomorrow when We are due a VIP. i would say they were lying back and thinking of England!

Weather planes are reporting some cloud but very very patchy,nothing yet to indicate a downgrade on Weather!:)
    Mike Fincke is poised to break the U.S. space endurance record during Endeavour's flight by eclipsing the current 377-day cumulative mark held by Peggy Whitson.

clln wrote: »
    I swear Beeker if this was tomorrow when We are due a VIP. i would say they were lying back and thinking of England!

Weather planes are reporting some cloud but very very patchy,nothing yet to indicate a downgrade on Weather!:)
    God save the Queen Endeavour:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Stargate

Have to bring my little fella for a dental app @ 2pm

gonna miss it Beeker ............. any chnce of a delay lol:D

Stargate wrote: »
    Have to bring my little fella for a dental app @ 2pm

gonna miss it Beeker ............. any chnce of a delay lol:D
    Hi Stargate long time so type:D Always a chance of a delay:) In fact tomorrow would suit me better but I'll take what I can:D

index.php?action=dlattach;topic=25138.0;attach=290652;image

index.php?action=dlattach;topic=25138.0;attach=290676;image
    index.php?action=dlattach;topic=25138.0;attach=290686;image

Runway 15 has been chosen as the RTLSA.
    Weather reports are really looking good.
    this is all going too well i am waiting for the jacks to break!;)

first shot of Endeavour after sunrise posted on NSF;

index.php?action=dlattach;topic=25138.0;attach=290705;image

Ready for hatch closure according to close out crew.
    and is now closed.

Looks like a beautiful day to launch

index.php?action=dlattach;topic=25138.0;attach=290717;image

Hatch closed

index.php?action=dlattach;topic=25138.0;attach=290725;image
    index.php?action=dlattach;topic=25138.0;attach=290727;image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭thecommander

Morning all. 3.52am here. Better be no scrubs!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Av7m_Pgt1S8

• Registered Users Posts: 690 ✭✭✭CO19

Hatch closed

So they're in it now ?

Looks like a beautiful day to launch

as i asked you about where you were for the first flight of Discovery,Do You remember where you viewed Endeavours first launch?

There is talk of tile damage, bad..........

Morning all. 3.52am here. Better be no scrubs!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Av7m_Pgt1S8
    Good morning commander, just heard something about tile damage:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭b318isp

What is the trajectory for the launch?

as i asked you about where you were for the first flight of Discovery,Do You remember where you viewed Endeavours first launch?
    That was STS-49 in 1992. I was at home watching the launch on CNN. Big dish out the back garden in the days before Sky Digital.:)

measuring tile damage,it is on hatch closure,repair crew on way,similar happened on 133

Thank you thecommander for putting the mockers by your no scrub video! :)

Tile damage is next to the hatch. They are going to repair it shortly. Should not be a problem.

b318isp wrote: »
    What is the trajectory for the launch?
    They launch to the northeast 51.6 degrees to the equator.

There is talk of tile damage, bad..........

Seems to be the same as the 133 damage. Fixable they say.

Repair complete, now Endeavour give us a break and Launch!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭lord lucan

Great stuff lads,she looks in great shape to fly.:)

Seems to be the same as the 133 damage. Fixable they say.
    Job done. Can we fix it:)
    bob-the-builder.jpg

lord lucan wrote: »
    Great stuff lads,she looks in great shape to fly.:)
    No problem so far, smooth countdown.

Yeah, only 17 days late. Feckers. Haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Kersh

Why is it showing 50 odd minutes to launch if its launching at 13.56? :confused:

They launch to the northeast 51.6 degrees to the equator.

Thanks. Will it bring it over Ireland?

Kersh wrote: »
    Why is it showing 50 odd minutes to launch if its launching at 13.56? :confused:

The clock is held at certain points. So its 50 minutes to launch by the countdown, but not in actual time.

http://www.nasa.gov/mission_pages/shuttle/launch/countdown101.html

Clouds rolling in seemingly.

That just the way NASA run the countdown. They have built in holds in the countdown, next one is at T-20min for 10 minutes which starts at 12:46. Then another at T-9min at 13:07 for 40 minutes. These holds allow them to check systems and get the go ahead for launch.

Thanks. Will it bring it over Ireland?
    It sure will. 20 minutes after launch it will pass over the south coast of Ireland at 17500 mph, but of course it is too bright to see it.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Kersh

The clock is held at certain points. So its 50 minutes to launch by the countdown, but not in actual time.

http://www.nasa.gov/mission_pages/shuttle/launch/countdown101.html

Thank you, makes sense!

What is the yellow flexible pipe for, the one being held facing the hatch?

Thank you, makes sense!

I couldn't understand why when I first started following, but it makes perfect sense. I now use it in my business when I have a big event, works perfectly.

It sure will. 20 minutes after launch it will pass over the south coast of Ireland at 17500 mph, but of course it is too bright to see it.:(

20 minutes? I thought it took around 4-6 minutes?

What is the yellow flexible pipe for, the one being held facing the hatch?

A/C and ventilation as far as I know.

Clouds rolling in seemingly.

Where are you getting this the Weather planes are in the air giving good reports.
    they send Weather baloons up as well though?

20 minutes? I thought it took around 4-6 minutes?
    No it take just over 8 minutes to reach space out over the Atlantic ocean but 20 minutes to reach Europe. 90 minutes take it once around the Planet:)

Where are you getting this the Weather planes are in the air giving good reports.
    they send Weather baloons up as well though?

Twitter people on the ground. Both attending and working. Crosswinds might build too, but hoping their gone by T-0

• Registered Users Posts: 690 ✭✭✭CO19

No it take just over 8 minutes to reach space out over the Atlantic ocean but 20 minutes to reach Europe. 90 minutes take it once around the Planet:)

Why's it coming over to Europe and no just going straight up ?