Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

STS-134 Endeavour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭clln

lord lucan wrote: »

I believe Constellation was a smokescreen and was never a viable project.

I disagree with ya LL that Constellation was a 'smokescreen'
    way too much money was spent on it if it was to be a facade.

the four stage Are's 5 though most Scientists seemed to agree would have shake,rattled and rolled its payload to the point of destruction.

much as i hate to Criticise NASA because i admire all it stands for, it was in a mess with money being spread too thin across all projects,the money was just spread so badly nothing was coming of it.

NASA needed a financial regulator all of its own as IMO too much was being wasted on 'stupid' projects,big push now for all that to go to more appropiate centers,from their budgets.

some sense albeit late seems to be going on now that will leave NASA without drains on its resources, i mean FFS why was money being spent on underwater projects,Earth Science projects etc?
    it seems now whatever money it gets will be dedicated to Aeronautics and Space only.

the private space companies will still be part funded though,which did bug me,but now that there is no hope of shuttles beyond 135 i really do not care who gets money if they bring back exciting launch days ASAP!!!:)

not a post meant to be in any way hostile but i am enjoying some serious thoughts about it all,not just 'Cheerleading' as they say on NSF.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 3,645 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beeker

Just back from NASA and got to see the endeavour on the launch pad! The staff at NASA are quite upset and in the dark about their future.

They genuinely don't know after the next 2 launches what will happen next. Was amazing to see endeavour, was meant to launch a couple of days back but was postponed so I won't be here for the launch but nonetheless it was a sight to behold...
    Any chance of posting a few pics?:)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 3,645 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beeker

Soyuz flyaround of Endeavour docked to the ISS has been cancelled but they are hoping to do it on 135....last chance fingers crossed:)
    http://www.nasaspaceflight.com/2011/04/sts-134-soyuz-flyabout-cancelled-planning-to-sts-135/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭lord lucan

Beeker wrote: »
    Soyuz flyaround of Endeavour docked to the ISS has been cancelled but they are hoping to do it on 135....last chance fingers crossed:)
    http://www.nasaspaceflight.com/2011/04/sts-134-soyuz-flyabout-cancelled-planning-to-sts-135/

Atlantis is the best looking Orbiter anyway so it makes sense to do it on STS-135.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭CO19

When is Endeavor supposed to take off ?
    That Soyuz rocket is the weirdest looking thing I've ever seen :D looks like a satellite more than a rocket that carries people.

Also anyone else been having trouble watching live streaming from the space station since the revamp of the nasa site ? I haven't been able to watch it since :(

CO19 wrote: »
    When is Endeavor supposed to take off ?
    That Soyuz rocket is the weirdest looking thing I've ever seen :D looks like a satellite more than a rocket that carries people.

Also anyone else been having trouble watching live streaming from the space station since the revamp of the nasa site ? I haven't been able to watch it since :(
    Endeavour is scheduled to launch on Friday April 29 at 20:47 Irish time.

As for NASA TV, no problems here:confused:

Atlantis is the best looking Orbiter anyway so it makes sense to do it on STS-135.:p
    Step away from Endeavour Sir...she is by far the best looking orbiter:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭ComeraghBlue

I'm having serious issues watching NASA tv on the iPad AND iPhone apps it plays for approx 15 seconds then cuts out and has done for a while now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭lolie

If she launches on time is there a chance we'll see it over ireland assuming the sky is clear?

lolie wrote: »
    If she launches on time is there a chance we'll see it over ireland assuming the sky is clear?
    Yes, we should get to see Endeavour and its orange external tank as two objects close together. A wonderful and rare sight indeed. I have seen in only 3 times over the past 30 years. Of course it all depends on the cloud cover or lack there of. Fingers crossed:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭CO19

As for NASA TV, no problems here:confused:

I can watch the NASA TV channel but when I click on the live streaming from the space station it used to open up windows media player but now it just opens a blank black page and doesn't do anything.

Step away from Endeavour Sir...she is by far the best looking orbiter:D

down-with-this-sort-of-thing1.jpg

It all makes sense when read does'nt it Beeker?
    not even a chance to criticise the Russian Space Agency if a person wanted to!:)

I really wish it had been possible on 133 when all the partners had docked spacecraft to the ISS.

really hope it does happen on STS-135 though.

if launch date of 135 does not slip by much the final flyaround by an orbiter will also be unique.

for fear of getting the jargon wrong i will phrase it in a way i can understand.

rather than the usual 360 view from 'bottom' to 'top' the view will be 'left to right' 360 because of the configuration of the ISS by then,that if it works out will be Brilliant!!!!

What can we do about Lord Lucans infatuation with Atlantis?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=71617441&postcount=255

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=66084343&postcount=731

*who is going to break his heart and tell him she is not going to be his ,and his alone* :pac:

clln wrote: »

*who is going to break his heart and tell him she is not going to be his ,and his alone* :pac:

She will be mine!

muahaha

Tbh looking at the schedule for STS-135 i can't see where they'll be able to fit in a flyaround. The schedule is packed to the gills and unfortunately Atlantis hasn't got SSPTS so they can't really extend her mission. I think ISS work is paramount as it's the last opportunity to do so with a Shuttle and the flyaround may get canned unless they can expedite the spacewalks quickly.

It all makes sense when read does'nt it Beeker?
    not even a chance to criticise the Russian Space Agency if a person wanted to!:)
    No you cant blame tham, correct decision by them.
    rather than the usual 360 view from 'bottom' to 'top' the view will be 'left to right' 360 because of the configuration of the ISS by then,that if it works out will be Brilliant!!!!
    Yeah it should make for quite a unique view, hopefully a new desktop wallpaper:)

Perv:D:D:D

No you cant blame tham, correct decision by them.

Yeah it should make for quite a unique view, hopefully a new desktop wallpaper:)

Perv:D:D:D

Amorous Atlantis

Edible Endeavour

Divine Discovery

:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭thecommander

Not sure if you've come across these lads before, Westboro Baptist Church. Louis Theroux made a couple of documentaries about them.

Well they plan on protesting at the launch

Not sure if you've come across these lads before, Westboro Baptist Church. Louis Theroux made a couple of documentaries about them.

Well they plan on protesting at the launch
    What a shower of misguided, bigitoted, out of touch, fanatical, waste of space, backward, close minded, religious cabbages:mad::mad:

Beeker calms down takes deep breaths and remembers to have tollerence for all:D

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

Let them suffer as the congresswoman did and see if their God will save them........

Unlike Beeker I don't have much tolerance for bigoted religious, aggressive insulting protesters. The USA was founded on religious freedom so they should be free to practise their beliefs but not to intrusively enforce them on others.

Tenger wrote: »
    Let them suffer as the congresswoman did and see if their God will save them........

Unlike Beeker I don't have much tolerance for bigoted religious, aggressive insulting protesters. The USA was founded on religious freedom so they should be free to practise their beliefs but not to intrusively enforce them on others.
    I agree, despite my post I actualy have zero tollerence for bigoted religious idiots. IMHO religion is a disease that the world badly needs to be cured of. However this is not the place or forum for that so enough said.:)

NASA SCHEDULES NEWS CONFERENCE ABOUT NEXT SPACE SHUTTLE LAUNCH

CAPE CANAVERAL, Fla. -- NASA managers will hold a news conference on
    Tuesday, April 19, at the agency's Kennedy Space Center in Florida to
    discuss the status of the next space shuttle launch.

The briefing will begin after the Flight Readiness Review, or FRR, a
    meeting to assess preparations for shuttle Endeavour's STS-134
    mission to the International Space Station.

Live status updates, including the start time for the news conference,
    will be provided during the meeting via the NASA News Twitter feed.
    To access the feed, go to the nasa.gov home page or visit:

http://www.twitter.com/NASA

An amazing view of Shuttle Endeavour sitting at the end of a full rainbow is our free desktop wallpaper download for January. Red Huber made this photo in December, 1998 the morning after a scrubbed launch because of showers. The weather cleared and Endeavour launched the next day. NASA staff transmitted a copy of the Sentinel front page with this photo to the orbiting crew along with a wake-up call of “Somewhere, Over the Rainbow.”
    Download your wallpaper here.

As expected the FRR has set the official launch date for April 29th at 20:47 Irish time.:)

Was waiting on that for booking. Travel mate has dropped out at last minute, so I have a spare causeway pass..........
    Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh.............I would love to relieve you of that....but no chance:(

Enjoy the trip my friend and fingers crossed it goes on time for you:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,990 ✭✭✭squonk

Will we be able to see the shuttle from here on the way up? I think we should but will it not be a bit bright at that point too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭lynchie

Had to change my flights after the recent slip from the 19th to the 29th so hoping it doesnt slip again as Im travelling out on Saturday regardless!
    Does anybody know if the Discover KSC tour will still go out as far as the stop between the two pads for a photo op next week? I know it stops at the LC 39 gantry two days before launch due to security reasons but Im booked on the tour on Monday morning so hoping I will get a good photo op with endeavour on the pad.

thecommander, what time have you to be in ksc for on launch day? As Im going with one of the tour companies I've to be in Port Canaveral at 5:30am on launch day!! Not sure whether to drive from Orlando that morning or get a hotel room nearby for the night. Prices seem steep for any nearby ones!

lynchie wrote: »
    Had to change my flights after the recent slip from the 19th to the 29th so hoping it doesnt slip again as Im travelling out on Saturday regardless!
    Does anybody know if the Discover KSC tour will still go out as far as the stop between the two pads for a photo op next week? I know it stops at the LC 39 gantry two days before launch due to security reasons but Im booked on the tour on Monday morning so hoping I will get a good photo op with endeavour on the pad.
    I'll let you know at the weekend. Just confirmed my KSC tour booking for this Friday. Tried to reschedule to the following week but no luck. Hoping to get a glimpse of her while flying in on the approach into Orlando airport and then the next day while doing the tour.

squonk wrote: »
    Will we be able to see the shuttle from here on the way up? I think we should but will it not be a bit bright at that point too?
    We should get to see it about 20 mins after launch. The engines will have shut down at that point and Endeavour will have seperated from the orange external tank. We should see two bright objects close to each other passing from west to east. The Shuttle orbiter will be white and the tank orange.

thecommander, what time have you to be in ksc for on launch day? As Im going with one of the tour companies I've to be in Port Canaveral at 5:30am on launch day!! Not sure whether to drive from Orlando that morning or get a hotel room nearby for the night. Prices seem steep for any nearby ones!

My car pass says I've to be onsite by 8.30am. I booked the hotel before the slip was officially announced so I got them cheap enough. It's going to be a slog getting out of there once it's over I'd say. You're probably best going for dinner once you get back to Port Canaveral and letting the traffic clear.

Is that 5.30am time the revised time since launch slipped? I was originally meant to be there for 10am, but now its 8.30am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭AugustusMinimus

We should get to see it about 20 mins after launch. The engines will have shut down at that point and Endeavour will have seperated from the orange external tank. We should see two bright objects close to each other pass from east to west. The Shuttle orbiter will be white and the tank orange.

West to east, no ?

You are of course absolutely correct...my boo boo:o

Correction made to post....thanks:)

Obama will be attending the launch.

http://spaceflightnow.com/shuttle/sts134/110420obama/

awaits Clln's reply with bated breath:pac:

Obama will be attending the launch.

WHAT???

http://spaceflightnow.com/shuttle/sts134/110420obama/

if i was an American i would slit my throat before i would vote Republican!!!!!!

but Lord Atlantis Lucan,You may relax your breathing again!:p

funniest tweet from the FRR i read was "Because of the early late inspection",the review team put the odds of a Loss Of Vehicle and Crew(LOVC) at 375-1 after undocking, nothing funny about a LOVC.it was just the way the NASA tweeter phrased it!:)

awaits Clln's reply with bated breath:pac:[/QUOTE]

Last edited by Beeker; Yesterday at 16:15. Reason: Stupid mistake

Feckin eejit! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭e04bf0c8

The closest you will get to stop is at the gantry. If your lucky your bus might drive around the outside perimeter fence before going on to next stop.

As for what time you are going to be in KSC from that is up to the tour guide / operator. When I used to work there you would see the some buses coming in as early as 7 or 8 in the morning for an evening launch

awaits Clln's reply with bated breath

Hows this? :)

Then again it is important to remember that the NASA of old shared their triumphs and failures in an open honest way to all the World,not just those lucky enough to go see a launch in person.

it is hard not to wonder why some people only post about their travel plans,nothing before launch and nothing after except to crow about their wonderful pictures:confused:

My point being wonderful as it is to view and take pics of Shuttle launch's,the actual reason for the launch is much more important.

Cheerleading has its place but the payload on 134&135 is the really important issue.

the Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer will be of hugh importance to Science on the ISS long after shuttle retirement.

the 135 mission will bring enough consumables to the ISS to last a year.

Hubble is at least ten times better than it was when launched thanks to the crew of STS-125 and those before them who also 'fixed' a broken 'true image' telescope.

not forgetting the shuttle missions that carried the parts to complete the ISS,some mundane,others of hugh importance or there would be no ISS.

for all its faults lets not forget how much more than 'spectacular launch's' the STS program has given the World.

the now retired Discovery spent exactly 365 days in Space over 39 missions.
    only eight minutes and thirty seconds of each of those missions were about the launch.
    the vast majority of the time these crafts that never really got beyond the status of 'tests' was spent leading the way to the next generation as to how to troubleshoot 'on the go' and make it much more easy for future crafts not to repeat mistakes.

The 'Hero's' will always be the Astronauts,the teams on the ground and the ingenuity ,courage, and dedication they showed whatever was thrown at them during each mission.

We are all just fans or photographers of it all when all is said and done.

it is hard not to wonder why some people only post about their travel plans,nothing before launch and nothing after except to crow about their wonderful pictures:confused:

One of the first things I was told on this forum when I said I was thinking of going to a launch was "Take Pictures", "Take Pictures", "Take Pictures"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭lynchie

My car pass says I've to be onsite by 8.30am. I booked the hotel before the slip was officially announced so I got them cheap enough. It's going to be a slog getting out of there once it's over I'd say. You're probably best going for dinner once you get back to Port Canaveral and letting the traffic clear.

Is that 5.30am time the revised time since launch slipped? I was originally meant to be there for 10am, but now its 8.30am

Yeah its the revised time. It was a 9am pickup. Yeah I was gonna hang around Port canaveral after for a few hours before driving back to let the traffic die down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭e04bf0c8

Yeah its the revised time. It was a 9am pickup. Yeah I was gonna hang around Port canaveral after for a few hours before driving back to let the traffic die down.

Its going to be a few hours getting back to the port. I presume you are viewing it from the causeway? And if you are planning to get something to eat you will probably have to go down to cocoa beach somewhere. And even at that you will have trouble finding somewhere that isn't jammed / booked out!

I'm staying in Cocoa Beach. A foreign boards meetup?

One of the first things I was told on this forum when I said I was thinking of going to a launch was "Take Pictures", "Take Pictures", "Take Pictures"...

Touche!:D,now some of that just sounds like plain jealousy on my part........which it is!!!!:mad:
    If i was going i would be telling everyone on every forum,and talking about my travel plans also!:)

Seriously i hope anybody travelling is not disapointed due to any delay and posts loads of pics,next best thing to being there with yous!

thought Beeker and lord Lucan would jump in with undying STS love quotes to slap me down,looks like they wer'nt going to fall for that:D.

i wonder why Obama is going though?his trip to KSC to try and sell his new direction was met with a very frosty reception,he was snubbed by almost every famous name with the exception of Buzz Aldrin.
    can't see it being any diffrient this time?

i wonder why Obama is going though?his trip to KSC to try and sell his new direction was met with a very frosty reception,he was snubbed by almost every famous name with the exception of Buzz Aldrin.
    can't see it being any diffrient this time?

I'd say its a case of having the opportunity to go see one. Why wouldn't he, he'll have front centre seats and doesn't have to worry about traffic. Maybe he's knows something about 135 that we don't.

Don't worry, I have pictures for everyone except clln.

This may annoy clln...........

....but here's a pic of Endeavour on the pad at KSC!
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/tearbringer/5641927954/in/photostream

Taken about 2 1/2 hours ago!

Pics taken from KSC to be posted tomorrow after a solid nights sleep..........

Better make yourself a cup of tea before reading this,very comprehensive article on Endeavour(and it's only part 1!!).

http://www.nasaspaceflight.com/2011/04/space-shuttle-endeavour-a-new-beginning-part-i/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Ah Lads!! I beat ye Shuttle Heads to the punch again!! I'm disappointed in ye! :D

Lets see can we break the record posts/views of 2009's Shuttle Flyover thread :D

Calibos wrote: »
    Ah Lads!! I beat ye Shuttle Heads to the punch again!! I'm disappointed in ye! :D

Lets see can we break the record posts/views of 2009's Shuttle Flyover thread :D

Says the man who only has to rush up to Bray head to see Clear Skies!:p

have you a link to it Calibos?i thought surely STS-133 thread was by far the longest?

the STS-125 thread ran to a whole two pages when i checked it out!:)

Ah here it is; the thread did not have STS in the title,so i always got a bad search result when i wanted to check on previous flights.
    it was STS-127 Endeavour launched on the 15th of July 09.
    reads like it was a lot of fun on the thread,and killed an hour i had to pass,very enjoyable read'
    ran to 50 pages~739 posts and 35,734 views :)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=61178341