Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

To Powerlift or Olympic Lift, that is the question?

• 16-04-2010 9:06am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭

Right so a new log to keep track of the weightlifting training ive been doing since the start of the year. Ive spent the better part of a year training like a powerlifter, had intended to compete but injuries and sickness laid me low. A weightlifting club started in college which has gone well so far, so i hope to get decent enough to compete some time this year.

So far its lots of skill work while we wait for decent equipment.

Wednesday

Lots of overhead squats, hang snatches, drop snatches, jerk dips with just the bar.

Squats
    Worked up to 80kg 5x3

Horrible, horrible stretches.

Not too much there, only back from hollyers and a bit jet lagged so kept it handy. Should do more today.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Scuba Ste

Friday 16/4/10

Mobility Warm up

OH Squat
    Worked up to 40 for some triples

Drop Snatch
    Up to 40 again

Hang Snatch
    30kg 5x3

Back Squat
    Up to 110x3

Nice enough session today. Wrist got a bit sore and the drop snatches were a bit heavy at 40 but everything else was good.

Some upper body tomorrow.

Sunday 18/4/10

Bench
    60kg 2x5

Seated Row
    73kg 3x8

WG Pull ups

First time benching in a while, not too hard, same for the rows. Havent done pull ups in a long time, not too bad today. Was in rush so that was all.

Monday 19/4/10

Mobility work

Squats
    OH 20kg 2x5
    Back 40kg 1x5
    60kg 1x5
    80kg 1x2
    100kg 3x5

GM
    20kg 1x10
    30kg 1x8
    40kg 3x10

Stretching eugh!

Lots of chatting. Took about 2 hours, was mostly chatting, should probably have done some front squats too.

Have done 120kg 3x5 low bar so Id like to work up to that oly style and get a 2xBW squat eventually. Havent done GM's in while so it was light.

Wednesday 21/4/10

Mobility warm up

OH Squats
    20kg 3x5

Drop Snatch
    20kg 1x3
    30kg 4x3

Hang snatch
    20kg 2x3
    30kg 3x3
    40kg lots x0

Squat
    110kg 3x3

OH Press
    30kg 3x5
    40kg 1x4

Bit dissapointed with the hang snatches 40kg was too much, lost it forward then backward then forward etc. 30 was easy, shouldve gone to 35. Im letting the bar get away from me too much.

Not having bumpers is a pain, were really crying out for equipment now, when theyll come is anyones guess.

The rest was fine.

Friday 23/4/10

Mobility Warm up
    Squat Jumps
    Wrist Mobility
    Elbow Mobility
    Shoulder Swings
    Leg Swings
    Ankle Mobility

OH Squat
    30kg 3x3

Jerk Work
    Lots of sets of dips, catches, splits and other stuff with the bar.

Front Squat
    40kg 1x3
    60kg 1x3
    80kg 3x3

Lots of stretching

Then I had my glutes checked and turns out i have a lazy ass, more rehab to add to the list.

Jerks getting better, felt more stable today.

Front squats were ok, more to come.

Monday 26/4/10

Glute activation warm up

Squat
    20kg 1x8 OH
    30kg 1x8 OH
    40kg 1x5
    60kg 1x3
    80kg 1x3
    100kg 1x2
    110kg 3x5

Prone trap raise
    2kg 6x8

Bench
    20kg 1x10
    30kg 1x8
    40kg 1x5
    50kg 1x3
    60kg 1x2
    70kg 3x5

Row
    20kg 1x8
    40kg 1x5
    50kg 1x3
    60kg 1x2
    70kg 3x4

Face pull
    3x12

Preacher Curls with Seated Fench press
    25kg 3x8
    10kg Db 3x10

Single arm Cable Punch
    3x8

Gym was boiling and packed.

Happy with the bench, didnt think i had it, havent benched much lately.

Trap raise was too light. Punch thing is not great Ill try dumbells instead I think, was told today to do them at 120 degree angle, Ill try that too.

Squats were fine, slowly but surely.

Tuesday 27/4/10

Mobility warm up

OH sqauts
    20kg 2x5
    30kg 4x3

Drop Snatch
    30kg 3x3

Hang Snatch
    30kg 5x3

Few jerks with the bar

Front squat
    50kg 1x3

Did f all tonight. No Harry = lots of chatting and not much work.

Tried to keep the bar in closer on snatches, some felt ok some not. My left arm was dropping a bit, might have been a bit tight from benching last night, left pec feels tight.

Friday 30/4/10

Lunchtime Oly club

Quick mobility warm up

OH Squat
    20kg 2x5
    30kg 2x3

Drop snatch
    30kg x few triples

Hang Snatch
    20kg x few sets
    30kg x few triples
    35kg 4x3 maybe

Really quick today, got in half an hour late just did some hang snatches which is what i wanted anyway, trying to increase the weight week on week.

did a bit of stretching too. Only had an a hour.

Evening or night of the doubles

Glute Activation

Squat
    20kg 1x8
    30kg 1x8
    40kg 1x5
    60kg 1x3
    80kg 1x2
    100kg 1x1
    115kg 1x1
    130kg 1x2

Prone trap raise
    3kg 5x8

Shoulder activation

Bench

20kg 1x8
    30kg 1x8
    40kg 1x5
    50kg 1x2
    60kg 1x2
    70kg 1x1
    80kg 1x2

Inverted Row
    3x10

Ab Pulldown
    75lbs 3x10

Pull ups
    3x4

Curls
    30kg 1x8,6,5

BB Lying French press
    25kg 3x10

Scap dips with 40kg BB Scap Press
    3x10

Hmm only intended on squatting and benching but ended up doing this, shoulda done some GM's or something.

Felt my lower back strain on the bench so pulldowns were just to stretch me out a bit, they were fairly light but I should actually do some ab work and lower back work.

Happy enough with the squat and bench, I think they're PR's, might have done 130x3 for low bar squats before. Plan is 2xBW (140kg) soon enough, oh yeah. I'd like to bench 100 at some point this year, but I'll see how the weightlifting goes.

Sunday 2/4/10

Glute activation

OH Squat
    20kg 2x5
    30kg 1x5
    40kg 2x5

Drop Snatch
    20kg 1x5
    30kg 1x3
    40kg 3x3

Snatch
    20kg 1x3
    25kg 1x3
    30kg 1x3
    35kg 1x3

Jerk Work with the bar-Dips, Catches, 2 sets each

Jerks
    20kg 1x5
    25kg 1x3
    30kg 3x3

Chins
    3x8
    Few kipping=1 + a few swinging wildly followed by embarrassed walk to stretching area

Lotsa foam rolling and stretching.

Decent enough this morning, over 2 hours in there.

Nothing really hard, second set of drops were ropey but everything else was handy. Lack of bumpers stopped me really, not being able to drop the bar I didnt want to go to 40 on the snatches. I'd say id easily get a single.

Jerks coming along ok.

Thursday 6/5/10

Squat
    OH 20kg 2x5
    40kg 1x5
    60kg 1x3
    80kg 1x2
    100kg 2x1
    110kg 5x5

Prone Trap Raise with Incline Serratus press
    4kg 5x6 with 16kg 4x8

Chins
    3x8

DB rows
    17.5kg 1x8
    20kg 3x8

Lack of time this week means not much done

Lower traps seem to be getting stronger 4kg in the physios a few weeks back was too heavy. Serratus work was fine, I could give 20kg a go.

Went 5x5 for squats, had me sweating buckets, last set was actually easier than 3/4. Form was a little suspect for the first 2 sets, tried to fly through them too quickly.

Haven't made it to weightlifting this week either, not sure if it's going to go ahead through the summer.

Have to bench sometime this week. And oly lift.

Saturday 8/4/10

Front Squat
    70kg 3x5

Shoulder Activation

Prone Trap Raise with Incline Single Arm Shoulder Raise (this)

4kg 5x8 with 20kg 4x8

Bench
    20kg 1x8
    30kg 1x8
    40kg 1x5
    50kg 1x3
    60kg 1x2
    65kg 1x1
    72.5kg 3x5

BB Row
    20kg 1x8
    30kg 1x5
    40kg 1x5
    50kg 1x3
    60kg 1x2
    70kg 3x5

OARow
    20kg 1x8
    27.5kg 3x8

Sin e

Kinda rushed it. Front squats were easy peasy.

Bench was ok, kinda strained my back though, right side kinda between lower and mid back. Bit sore yesterday and today. Maybe too much arch??

Rows are still crap, one arm rows are weaker on the right side but I'm not sure if that had to do with straining it, weird.

Feck all oly lifting, not sure what the story is with the club tbh now the semester is over.

Wednesday 19/5/10

Did some snatches up to 35 for a triple. Easy peasy.

It's exam week so I'm not too pushed.

Sunday 23/5/10

Glute Activation

Cleans
    up to 40kg 1x3

Deadlift
    120kg 2x1
    140kg 1x0
    100kg 1x10

Shoulder Activation

Seated Db Press
    17.5kg 2x6
    setted with
    Pullups
    3x5

Seated Hammer Curls
    16kg 8,6,6
    setted with
    Plate Extensions
    20kg 3x10

Grip failed on the deadlift, first time deadlifting in a while so not unexpected. Loads more in the legs. Back is fried now.

Some goals: By end of the year I'd like to squat 160, bench 100 and deadlift 180.

Exams finish Thursday. The weightlifting club should be up and running again and hopefully we'll have some bumpers and platforms to push on with.

Friday 28/5/10

Glute Activation

Squat
    20kg OH 1x8
    40kg 1x5
    60kg 1x3
    80kg 1x2
    100kg 1x2
    120kg 2x2
    100kg 1x5

Shoulder Activation

Lat Pulldown Holds
    10s 2x5

Pull ups
    setted with
    Db Seated OH Press
    17.5kg 3x6

T-Bar Row
    25kg 1x15,1x10

Lying Db Tri Ext
    16kg 1x5
    12.5kg 2x8 standing
    setted with
    Hammer Curls
    16kg 2x8,1x6

First time squatting in about 2-3 weeks, kinda rough.

Trying to work on lower trap activation stuff or something like that anyway. Pullups were good, forgot to do 6 in the first set, pressing felt good.

Arms are all kindsa fun, left tri is a whole lot stronger than the right and i think bigger but the right arm is bigger overall.

Hopefully the oly club starts back soon that might be the last time in my current gym.

Sunday 30/5/10

Glute Activation

Squat
    100kg 5x5

Shoulder Activation

Prone Y's with Scap Pushups
    2.5kg 3x6 with 3x8

Cg Bench
    50kg 5x5

Seated Row
    Plate 11 3x6

Farmers Walk
    27kg 2 "Laps"

Squats were hard enough 5 sets is no fun.

My grip is sh1te.

I need to sort out some sort of plan.

Wednesday 2/6/10

This morning
    5 rounds of cindy, no time.

This afternoon
    Front squat
    60kg 1x5
    70kg 2x5

Seated Db press
    18kg 3x5

Pull ups
    3x6

I Rows (feet on floor)
    15, 10, 6

Hammer curls
    16kg 3x5
    with
    Tri Ext
    14kg 5, 3
    12kg 6

Meh. Cindy is bollix, took about 10 mins I think.

Meh. Front squats were grand, press was ok-ish. Pull ups were not good, right bicep was fairly sore but I continued on with the other stuff and made myself more sore, not so clever.

Was in Ballymun council gym today, nice set up, steep enough though €7 a go. Have to find a new gym now. And some cash/job.