Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Man City v Man Utd (Sat, 12.45 kickoff)

• 16-04-2010 7:05pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭

manchester-city.png V Manchester_United_logo.png

Sky Sports 1
    Kick off: 12.45

Should be a cracker of a game. I'm hoping for the following line up from Utd

--- Rafa - Rio - Vida - Evra

---- Fletch - Carrick:( - Park

Valencia --- Nani

Rooney

I think it will be a draw but it's a must win for UTD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭killwill

Unfortunatley I see Citeh winning this and comfortably so. 2-1 or 3-1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Soooo not an artistic enough OP for a game of this signifigance.:P

VDS
    Rafael--Vidic--Rio(Evans)--Evra
    ----Fletcher--Scholes--Park
    Valencia
    Nani
    Rooney(Berba:()

Not gonna predict results, don't wanna jinx it.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

C'mon...er....:o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

baz2009 wrote: »
    Soooo not an artistic enough OP for a game of this signifigance.:P

VDS
    Rafael--Vidic--Rio(Evans)--Evra
    ----Fletcher--Scholes--Park
    Valencia
    Nani
    Rooney(Berba:()

Not gonna predict results, don't wanna jinx it.:p
    Hey! At least the logos are the same size!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

come on city!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,793 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Should be a good game. They've all been good in recent times.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭CR 7

Johner wrote: »
    come on city!

29a607c7.gif

Everytime someone on the internet posts that Roman kills a serf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

As we are a one man team I think it all depends on if Rooney plays. If he doesnt then I can see City winning this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Cannot wait!!!!

I feel like a kid again on xmas eve!!!:D

It's such an important match for both sides, the bragging rights are gonna be massive:eek::p
    Definitely not gonna be on boards as I watch, too nervy.

Hoping revenge will be sweet, but good luck to both sides with a bit extra thrown in for City (obviously);)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I'm fidgeting and biting my nails already, so so nervous!:(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭CR 7

JPA wrote: »
    Everytime someone on the internet posts that Roman kills a serf.

And technically the Chelsea team are all serfs. So, just need to post it 20 more times, to be safe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I can see a 0-0 draw myself

Jeez, I'd be surprised if it was 0-0

• Registered Users Posts: 361 ✭✭BazBox

2-1 to United, hopefully!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

BazBox wrote: »
    2-1 to United, hopefully!
    Er, hopefully not! Bricking it here to be honest. We've been playing fabulous this last few weeks, whereas Norwich seem to have lost their way somewhat. However, as we all know, form flies out of the window where derby matches are concerned. I remember a few years back (3 or 4?) when we had a pale imitation of the team we have now. Stuart Pearce was our manager, and we weren't pulling up any trees (nothing new there!). However, by some miracle, we bagged a 4-1 win; still can't figure out how, even now! As for tomorrow, I'd snatch your arm off at the socket if I was offered a scrappy 1-0 win. Probably end up a draw though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,681 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

blueser wrote: »
    Er, hopefully not! Bricking it here to be honest. We've been playing fabulous this last few weeks, whereas Norwich seem to have lost their way somewhat. However, as we all know, form flies out of the window where derby matches are concerned. I remember a few years back (3 or 4?) when we had a pale imitation of the team we have now. Stuart Pearce was our manager, and we weren't pulling up any trees (nothing new there!). However, by some miracle, we bagged a 4-1 win; still can't figure out how, even now! As for tomorrow, I'd snatch your arm off at the socket if I was offered a scrappy 1-0 win. Probably end up a draw though.

nice little dig there blu, getting them early I see

at least try to show some class please

Headshot wrote: »
    nice little dig there blu, getting them early I see

at least try to show some class please

Where's the dig??

Is it the Norwich reference, btw, what do you mean by that Blueser??

Where's the dig??

Norwich

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

2nd > 4th

Earn your arrogance first.

Where's the dig??

The comparison of United to norwich is either stupidity or else a dig.

Where's the dig??

Manchester-Uniteds-Newton-001.jpg

The norwich "dig" is about as harmless as it gets. jaysus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Handbags at dawn folks.

davyjose wrote: »
    2nd > 4th

Earn your arrogance first.
    Show me where I was arrogant. Sarcastic? Yes, guilty as charged. If you actually carefully read the post, you would see I also had a dig at my own club as well. I haven't predicted a win for us either.

Wasn't being funny, genuinely didn't get the Norwich reference...
    Got it now:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Show me where I was arrogant. Sarcastic? Yes, guilty as charged. If you actually carefully read the post, you would see I also had a dig at my own club as well. I haven't predicted a win for us either.

Dont worry about it. That was actually one of the least offensive posts I've seen here, we Utd fans are just in a bad place at the moment. :o

So.....how about that Carlos Tevez eh?

JPA wrote: »
    The norwich "dig" is about as harmless as it gets. jaysus.
    Glad you took it in the manner it was meant. Seems some people are a bit touchy on here. Derby weekends are all about the rivalry between the clubs. I've lost count at the number of texts I've got this week repeating the joke about the cloud of dust emanating from the cleaning of the City trophy cabinet. and it is fairly funny. These sorts of things aren't worth getting all precious over. If I'd taken City that seriously this past 40-odd years, I'd have had more than the one heart attack so far!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

When we last played there, we were pretty good. Hopefully no dodgy penalties for City this time round :D

A win for us and Chelsea drop points, we're right back in the race. I'm guessing it's 4-5-1 with Rooney....Wouldn't mind

Nani - Fletcher - Giggs - Valencia

Berbatov

Rooney

I just know Fergie will pick Carrick over Berbatov and just overload our midfield.

Archimedes wrote: »
    Dont worry about it. That was actually one of the least offensive posts I've seen here, we Utd fans are just in a bad place at the moment. :o

So.....how about that Carlos Tevez eh?
    No sweat. Re. Carlos; he started off the season really indifferently, probably due to the injury he was carrying when we signed him. However, fair play to the lad. He has been absolutely brilliant for us since the autumn. Easily our player of the season (by a distance). If Rooney hadn't had the season that he's had, I could see him getting very close to that PFA player of the year award. However, that is a certainty to go to Rooney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

Lol that was quite funny tbh..

As for the match, as an outsider I predict a win for City, 3-1, 2-0, think it will be comfortable and my bets have reflected it but then again in a game like this it's impossible to tell.

IvySlayer wrote: »
    When we last played there, we were pretty good. Hopefully no dodgy penalties for City this time round :D

A win for us and Chelsea drop points, we're right back in the race. I'm guessing it's 4-5-1 with Rooney....Wouldn't mind

Nani - Fletcher - Giggs - Valencia

Berbatov

Rooney

I just know Fergie will pick Carrick over Berbatov and just overload our midfield.
    True! :p
    And hopefully this time the ref will calculate added time using a watch rather than a calendar, er, unless we're losing!:pac:

has Gary Cook comment on this match yet ?

True! :p
    And hopefully this time the ref will calculate added time using a watch rather than a calendar, er, unless we're losing!:pac:

Yeah well hopefully THIS time......erm I got nothing :o

Dave147 wrote: »

As for the match, as an outsider I predict a win for City, 3-1, 2-0, think it will be comfortable and my bets have reflected it but then again in a game like this it's impossible to tell.

Anyone else find this confusing :confused:

has Gary Cook comment on this match yet ?
    Give him time. He usually has a comment on most things. The club is actually being run on a very professional footing now (very unusual for us!). Just do us a favour Garry, and keep away from microphones!

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Anyone else find this confusing :confused:

No, he says he's an outsider, he predicts a comfortable 3-1 or 2-0. He usually bets correctly and erm...it's impossible to call....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

I think Manchester City will win this one. They're playing too good right now and I can't see Rooney getting right back into the swing of things so soon after his injury.

IvySlayer wrote: »
    No, he says he's an outsider, he predicts a comfortable 3-1 or 2-0. He usually bets correctly and erm...it's impossible to call....

A comfortable win but impossible to call. Classic !!

rarnes1 wrote: »
    A comfortable win but impossible to call. Classic !!

Sounds like a weatherman :p

Valmont wrote: »
    I think Manchester City will win this one. They're playing too good right now and I can't see Rooney getting right back into the swing of things so soon after his injury.
    God, I hope you're right re. the result. However, much as it pains me to say it, you are wrong about Rooney. Players of his calibre don't need much time to get back into the swing. Look at Van Persie the other night; class shows.

ah I took it the wrong way. i'll admit that.

tbh I don't think united are playing well enough to win this. 1-1

Looking forward to this game.

Sitting on the fence and calling a draw as City are playing good stuff and Tevez especially is on fire and he'll be trying twice as hard tomorrow.

Uniteds chances depend on Rooney and Fergies midfield selection.

2-2

Way to calm in here for my liking!!!:D

Utd are nothing, City are great!!!!!!!!

Only joking, only joking but seriously cannot wait for kick-off (on the pitch I mean)
    Should be a great match!!!

God, I hope you're right re. the result. However, much as it pains me to say it, you are wrong about Rooney. Players of his calibre don't need much time to get back into the swing. Look at Van Persie the other night; class shows.

I hope your wrong cos he will be a bloody handful otherwise....

davyjose wrote: »
    ah I took it the wrong way. i'll admit that.

tbh I don't think united are playing well enough to win this. 1-1
    No problem.

I didnt mean to get my handbag out so early
    (bad night of gambling drove me over the edge)

I didnt mean to get my handbag out so early
    (bad night of gambling drove me over the edge)
    Look; I don't want all you united fans getting all lovey-dovey on me; my immune system can't handle it!

:mad: :mad: :mad:

/whacks with Gucci bag

WTF, what's wrong with ye people!!!!:eek:
    We're meant at this point to be slagging the daylights outta each other:D