Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

To Mini, or not to mini?!

• 18-04-2010 8:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭

Heya guys!

Bascially im a learner driver hoping to get my first car over the summer. I'd love to get a mini, not one of the new ones but one of the (real) vintage ones.

Anyone have an idea on a price range? And would it be alright for a first car?

All opinions welcome!

Happy_feet :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,152 ✭✭✭✭Berty

How Vintage?

1970's Vintage or.........................

Good Condition 1970's can be from €3000 up to €10,000 for a 100% Original Mini.

Or do you simply want a replica mini?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,478 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

not sure how ideal for a first car it is. safety is pretty poor and things like power steering are handy when you're learning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭happy_feet

sorry should have explained myself better, i mean as in not one of the mini cooper ones made by BMW, one of the older ones.

the late ones are 1.3 litre. check insurance as some companies have a problem with older cars.

Like this?

http://www.cbg.ie/Car_Detail.aspx?ID=3686631 Its actually an Austin but a replica.

CL_fed721df54db4cd.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Great choice of car, but you do need to bear in mind you'll be without some creature comforts. Once you're fine with that, it's a very rewarding car to drive, and a fantastic social scene to start getting involved with. There are shows on all the time, monthly events you can go on, trips abroad with clubs, and everyone will always compliment you on your car.

Be careful of rust, it's a killer on them. Cars that can look good on the surface can be starting to rot underneath, even the last examples of the classic Mini shape.

I'd start by getting onto an owners club, and asking owners positives and negatives - whether you're buying a Mini, or a Golf, the first thing I'd always do is join a forum where you can ask questions to people who've driven lots of them and know the pitfalls, and positives of any car. There's 3 clubs in Southern Ireland :

http://irishminis.ie - the oldest club, but do have rules about what type of car you can bring on events, good bunch of lads though.
    http://miniclub.ie - my club, no restrictions on any cars, but a relatively new club with plenty of awards under its belt, and the most active with events, etc.
    http://www.westernminis.com - the Western Mini Owners Club, the newest club of all, but they organise the national Mini day in Clarinbridge.

Either which way, get someone who knows about the cars to help you when you go see one you're interested in. It'll save you a fortune in the long run.

Berty wrote: »
    Like this?

http://www.cbg.ie/Car_Detail.aspx?ID=3686631 Its actually an Austin but a replica.

CL_fed721df54db4cd.jpg

Thats the one Berty! i love the look of them, think they look class!

good or bad idea?

Its not the best car to learn to drive in.

No Power Steering.

No Safety whatsoever.

Your position in the car at a low seating position gives you a worse perspective on your surroundings and even a Ford Fiesta parked next to you will give you the heeby geebies.(sp)

The low road position and suspension will rattle you to an inch of your life.

Getting in or out in not graceful.

Great for art students to look cool but not pratical in any way.

Pro's

Looks Cool

Con's

Coolness will wear off quickly - See above.

Tell you what.

What's your budget?

I bet people here could suggest things just as nice.

I was gonna suggest a Yaris.....

not nearly as cool as a mini but if you have 2800 to spend....

well im learning in a fiat punto atm..

Yeh, id say going down a motorway beside a massive truck could be a bit terrifying alright!

emm oh god i dont have a specific budget, thats kinda why i want a target to save for ya know?

i want a small car, not something big. Just something small and neat that will get me around!

btw i dont want something new...not that rich :P

suggestions welcome!

Something like this?

http://www.carzone.ie/search/MG/MGF/1.8-VVC-/201004196734180/advert?channel=CARS

You should get this down to around €4200 or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭T83

Peugeot 106... awesome little cars. I'd suggest an Aygo/C1/107 but its way outside your budget, but you'd pick up a mk1 yaris with your budget and they're a great car, I learned to drive in one 10 years ago and I still think theyre fun.

Berty wrote: »
    Something like this?

http://www.carzone.ie/search/MG/MGF/1.8-VVC-/201004196734180/advert?channel=CARS

You should get this down to around €4200 or so.

lol i wish berty!

thanks for the opinions on the minis tho! helped alot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Would love to get a mini meself some day. Wouldnt really worry about it not having power steering. I learned in a car with no power steering and I still made it around corners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Ziboo

I had one for a fair while. They are fun to drive, but you will not get anywhere near as much car for your Euro as you would with a modern car like a Fiesta or similar.
    As has been mentioned earlier, the safety is nowhere near modern standards. It is in effect a 1959 car.
    It has electrics rather than electronics. These electrics are not the most reliable.
    Due to the age of the car you are buying, you are exposing yourself to reliability issues.
    They should be serviced every six months. (It was not cheap for me to keep it in good running order).
    If you buy one, you will need to pay over the odds to buy it. The servicing costs will be more than a modern small car, it is likely to be less reliable.
    It is possible that it will have been thrashed and not adequately maintained by it's previous owners. The boot is tiny, it is very uncomfortable for passengers .. and for you if you go on a longer journey.
    It will lack creature comforts that you will appreciate when you get another car.

But, every time I drive past one in my modern car with all the creature comforts the mini does not have, I am am still tempted to buy one again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

happy_feet wrote: »
    well im learning in a fiat punto atm..

Not a bad car for a learner. They're agile, nippy and easy to drive.
    Yeh, id say going down a motorway beside a massive truck could be a bit terrifying alright!

I used to have a 1999 Punto and never ever felt comfortable driving it on the motorway. Too small and too light.

Now imagine an old mini on the motorway. The heebie jeebie factor will be very high. Trucks and cross-winds will buffet the car all over the place.

Plus, as a learner, you shouldn't be on the motorway :P

The old Minis are cool - but driving older cars requires a bit of experience and mechanical knowhow.

Suggestions - 106, Punto, Yaris etc. You can pick them up cheap and they're great first cars.

Good ones cost a small fortune, sh1tty ones cost a fair bit too. If you have your heart set on one nothing else will do though :) Fair play for not wanting a Bini :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

happy_feet wrote: »
    And would it be alright for a first car?
    To be honest, I'd be inclined to steer you towards something with an ncap. Given the car's tiny weight, the lack of modern brakes or driver aids wouldn't bother me that much, but in a crash you'd probably be better off on a bike.

I'm sure the enthusiasts will give you a better idea, but I'd expect the running costs to be significantly higher than modern small cars too.

Oh, the modern alternative is the swift imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,257 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

I had an original mini as my first car and absolutely loved it. It wasn't very reliable though, and needed a lot of TLC. The lack of power steering wasn't an issue; they're nowhere near as bad as Polos or Fiestas with no power steering. It is absolutely brilliant fun to drive. Parts are (or were when I had mine) readily available and cheap in the UK. If they weren't so expensive, I'd have one as a weekend car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭De Hipster

I learned to drive & passed my test first time in a '94 Cooper.
    • Incredible fun
    • Real head-turner
    • Improves your mechanical knowledge no-end
    • Fantastic road feeling - every bump & cat's eye
    • Needs TLC - maybe 2-3hours per week/fortnight
    • Not great in winter or for long journeying

I would recommend it, I loved mine until I had to commute over 60miles a day to & from work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭mjquinno

i have an mini cooper 97 mpi version. As stated before no power steering but that isnt to bad i use to have a polo without power steering and the hands would be falling off you. So no problems there i think.

Mine has a airbag and side impact bars. driving position is different EVERYTHING on the road is bigger. 4*4 are skyscrapers especially at roundabout if there on your right.

handling is great, Mine is 1275 cc, very nippy.

They dont cost as much now. they have decreased in price like most cars.
    however They do cost money to maintain and the rust - sweet lord i find a new spot every time i go near it. will need to get it seen to before the end of the year.

I have mine 3+ years, i love driving it, great for in and around town. Would i buy one to learn - YES!

my GF learnt on it.

my Mini is on the galway motorway every second or third weekend for the 4 hour trip back to clare. she loves it !! of course i dont leather it so i stick to 110 - 120

saying that mine has broken my heart sometimes. its a constant joke in my family as to which road i have broken down on. My insurance covers recovery :)

The clubs are great. when you are buying one bring someone who know them inside out make sure your not buying a lemon...

all classic mini drivers flash each other and wave its just a small thing but it makes it feel even more special.

If you live in dublin I can bring you for a spin in mine if you like.

De Hipster wrote: »
    • Needs TLC - maybe 2-3hours per week/fortnight

Out of interest, what would need to be done to it weekly or fortnightly that takes a couple of hours ? I currently have a 17 year old car and have owned a 13 year old, another 17 year old and a 16 year old in the last 12 months so old yokes needing TLC are not foreign to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭mjquinno

off the top of my head.

minis need to be greased up on the two front nipple on both wheel and the two nipples at the back sounds like a porno gone wrong.

Oil needs topping up, coolant water.

actually here are some handy manuals for mini owners, it goes through everything that need to be done on the workshop manual.

http://mini.nicehelp.co.uk/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭dceire

I'm a big fan of the old style Mini's myself & when I return from my travels in a year or so, I am seriously considering getting a mid/late 90's model.

I spotted this one which is exactly what I'll be looking for...
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1246179

My question is this, do later models such as this one suffer from the same pitfalls as Mini's from the 70's & 80's? By this I mean rust, need for a lot of tlc, poor safety etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Avoid the MPi and SPi models, the engines are good, but spares are becoming scarce, also the Mpi Gearbox isnt ment to be great. BMW basically made Rover nurse the mini along until they got the New Model sorted.
    NCT with the MPi will be a problem if you decide to modify the engine, the A-series is Barely able to pass as standard with the injection.

You are best spending the money now and getting a decent example, Spend e5k and you will get a minter. If you buy cheap now, you will get bitten big style, Ive spent e300 so far this year on random bits and bobs like engine mounts, steadies, subframe mounts, clutch. Ill be spending another e500ish in the summer as I have some rust to sort out.

They look Great, and I doubt Enzo Ferrari would take a Polo or any other Disposable car mentioned, He however did take a mini;), Princesses and rock stars dont drive peugeot 106 and the VW Polo didnt win the monte Carlo Rally Multiple times. Neither do they have the potential to leave Some "performace cars" for dust on back roads.

They will break your heart, they will break you wallet, but when the sun is out and you have a clear back road, its quite simple, nothing will make you smile as much.

As for the rubbish about them being uncomfortable and hard to drive. Try google Russ Swift. The inside of the Classic IMO uses space much better than the BINI. My mate is 6'7 and he fits in fine, he had problems getting in a BINI. You dont need power steering in a mini either, piece of piss to park and manouver, you dont even need two hands.
    Yes the ride is harsh, but so is most sports cars. Its not scary being passed by other bigger cars either. They are very very nippy in town, and if you manage to get one with a Low Final Drive, they will zip in and out of traffic even better.