Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alcohol Ban

• 19-04-2010 5:52pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭

just had a thought (careful)

we hear all these deaths/incidents and the "defendant" in court generally blames alcohol and/or drugs - since drugs are already banned .... why not alcohol !!

I know we're gonna have some people come in here saying if thats the case why dont we ban everything else that fun etc etc.

I just want people to think about it, maybe ban some people from getting any (particularly those who come to the attention of the Gardai)

Anyway
    - Car crashes !! , loads of statistics saying drunk drivers are at fault, no alcohol, less crashes.
    - Assaults !! EVERY defendant was "intoxicated" or suffering from "alcohol and/or drug addiction"
    - Robberies - a large amount of them are carried out under the influence of alcohol, someone who is tanked up and doesnt have money gets the bright idea to rob a shop with a toy gun...or rob someone.
    - Rape - there are a high number of Rapes where alcohol is a factor, the victim is sometimes drugged (drink spiked) or is extremely drunk and attacked as a soft target.
    - Murder/Manslaughter in 2008 there was a number of drink/drug fuelled murders, infact in a significant number of cases of Manslaughter alcohol is mentioned in cases.

What good does alcohol do ? (apart from lower inhibitions and help ugly people get sex)

Should we ban alcohol in Ireland ? 182 votes

it would only mean criminals can make profit from it
    0% 0 votes
    Alcohol is great - this thread should be banned !
    25% 47 votes
    hmmm.....valid points, I kinda agree (maybe)
    43% 79 votes
    how else are we supposed to get laid ?
    9% 17 votes
    banning alcohol makes baby jesus cry !!!
    10% 19 votes
    Atari Jaguar (wouldnt be an AH Poll without one)
    10% 20 votes
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

PCPhoto wrote: »
    What good does alcohol do ?

It's the cause of - and solution to - all of life's problems. ;)

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,016 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

Gets one drunk ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,762 ✭✭✭Sheeps

Close this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

yoyo wrote: »
    Gets one drunk ;)

and gets ugly people laid

• Registered Users Posts: 6,487 ✭✭✭kingtut

It is one of the ingredients of mouthwash which makes my mouth all minty fresh :)

minty fresh......mmm :)

• Registered Users Posts: 28,192 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Just ban people and give the world back to all the little critters!

/bleedin koala bears would still be getting stoned, maybe we should ban then as well, fuzzy little stoners!

oh ...alcohol is also "blamed" for the break up of many families.

Alcoholism is a disease ...but to stop alcoholism you need to stop the alcohol.

(look at me ...all preachy and stuff)

kingtut wrote: »
    It is one of the ingredients of mouthwash which makes my mouth all minty fresh :)

minty fresh......mmm :)

is there no "alcohol free" alternative ?? ....and I'm pretty sure the minty fresh part comes from the minty flavour type ingredient ...lol ...not alcohol (alcohol will kill bacteria...unless my science teacher in school lied to me !!)

Yes there are alcohol free ones.

I said that the mouthwash makes my mouth minty fresh, I didn't say the alcohol did :cool: (actually in fairness my post wasn't 100% clear but ye what I just said is what I meant).

• Registered Users Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Alcahol isn't the problem.
    People are the problem.

Banning things because people "might" misuse them is the worst bloody aspect of the nanny state system.
    It is an infringement on both personal choice and civil rights.

Also... I like being drunk.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,475 ✭✭✭✭Bobeagleburger

Fúck it, ban the breathing of oxygen

Wazdakka wrote: »

What is alcahol :confused:

This thread is about alcohol....:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

oh ...alcohol is also "blamed" for the break up of many families.

Alcoholism is a disease ...but to stop alcoholism you need to stop the alcohol.

(look at me ...all preachy and stuff)

You can be addicted to sex (apparently) let's ban that too. In fact let's ban video games too, people like them, but some say they make people violent. Ice cream alters your mental state (makes you happy) so that can go. You can turn anything into a vice if you try hard enough and if you ban booze the same things will still happen and society will look for a new scapegoat as usual.

People will always blame something for their own stupidity, alcohol is just an easy target. Most of us can enjoy a couple of drinks without mowing down pedestrians (we can do it in a videogame instead) or raping someone (we can have sex instead) or getting really out of it to feel better about our lives (we can eat ice cream instead)

Alcohol serves the primary purpose of helping you relax, like a more social warm bath. Just don't try drinking radox.

Now get down off your high horse, I've a pint waiting for you ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

People are the problem.

Ban people. Sorted.

People are the problem.

Banning things because people "might" misuse them is the worst bloody aspect of the nanny state system.
    It is an infringement on both personal choice and civil rights.

Also... I like being drunk.

then why do we ban drugs ?

Dont get me wrong I enjoy a tipple every now and again ...but hate when the muther f*&£er of a hangover comes along - feckin shakes lasting 2 days, the only reason I started this thread is that alcohol is widely used in society (Court) as an excuse for doing things.

"While alcohol is not an excuse it is taken into account as a factor"

I'm annoyed with the acceptance that alcohol can get the blame and the person doesnt get the blame.

cue someone saying "know the one thats one too many"

You can be addicted to sex (apparently) let's ban that too. In fact let's ban video games too, people like them, but some say they make people violent. Ice cream alters your mental state (makes you happy) so that can go. You can turn anything into a vice if you try hard enough and if you ban booze the same things will still happen and society will look for a new scapegoat as usual.

People will always blame something for their own stupidity, alcohol is just an easy target. Most of us can enjoy a couple of drinks without mowing down pedestrians (we can do it in a videogame instead) or raping someone (we can have sex instead) or getting really out of it to feel better about our lives (we can eat ice cream instead)

Alcohol serves the primary purpose of helping you relax, like a more social warm bath. Just don't try drinking radox.

Now get down off your high horse, I've a pint waiting for you ;)

its an easy target because you can visibly SEE the effect it has

I'm not taking any High Horse.... and I'm a JD and Coke drinker .... if its a pintglass you have I'll take 3JD and 2 coke (with ice) ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

"While alcohol is not an excuse it is taken into account as a factor"
    Agree with this 100%

A person is defined by their actions, not their good sentiments when they're sober.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I would agree with an alcohol prohibition for one reason.

1920's era speakeasy's were supposedly the shiznit! That would be awesome these days! It would reaffirm gender identities with Men being men and women being dames! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

its an easy target because you can visibly SEE the effect it has

I'm not taking any High Horse.... and I'm a JD and Coke drinker .... if its a pintglass you have I'll take 3JD and 2 coke (with ice) ;)

Yes, exactly. That's what makes it an easy scapegoat

I'm happy to see we've come to an agreement.

Now take your triple whiskey and come back to us with more interesting topics to discuss. How do you feel about volcanoes and/or the public service?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭Dragons Revenge

Ha, the day Ireland bans alcomohol is the day Wisconsin bans alcomohol. And Green Bay Packers.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

Alcohol was around much longer so is far more accepted than drugs.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

then why do we ban drugs ?

Partially due to the longevity of the illegal status, partially due to the fact that the widespread availability and variety of mind-altering chemicals may have a negative effect on social order, partially due to the economic drawbacks that would be presented to the companies that produce similar domestic products - note that the best coke and weed would be imported.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

- Rape - there are a high number of Rapes where alcohol is a factor, the victim is sometimes drugged (drink spiked) or is extremely drunk and attacked as a soft target.

A lot of rapists out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Herbal Deity

--LOS-- wrote: »
    A lot of rapists out there.

Loads of rapes do not get a conviction and a lot more rapes go unreported,

actually the percentage of convictions from alleged reported rapes is not too good... rape centres blame the "lack of resources"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭OxfordComma

It's been tried already. Alcohol was outlawed in America in the 1920's (it was also banned for a while in Canada, Australia, Finland, Iceland, and various other places). And prohibiting alcohol invariably did much more harm than good. How are things going to be any different if people try it again?

The "Ban everything" approach to psychoactive drugs is just incredibly idiotic. It's been proven not to be effective, and creates countless problems that weren't there in the first place - yet people continue to believe it's the best way forward.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Greyfox

just had a thought (careful)

Please close this stoopid foopin thread, next you'll be looking to ban salt and McDonalds and porn, this is by a mile the dumbest thread ever!

What about the vast majority of the population that have their few pints and never commit crime as a result? Your essentially asking why don't we all live in a nanny state!

The law should go harder on drunk drivers, been intoxicated should not be allowed as an excuse for robberies, rape etc...only an idiot would blame alcohol rather then the person

Alcohol is proof god loves us and wants us to be happy, life wouldn't be worth living without it!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

It would put me, and thousands of people out of a job, do untold damage to our tourist economy amongst other things.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Loads of rapes do not get a conviction and a lot more rapes go unreported,

actually the percentage of convictions from alleged reported rapes is "not too good"... rape centres blame the "lack of resources"

that's a percentage now?

Just saying, drink doesn't automatically victimize you.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Well they tried this before somewhere else and it didn't seem to work, except give us really good gangster films.
    Thread Fail.