Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Plymouth V Newcastle, SS1 - 7:30pm

• 19-04-2010 7:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭

1 point will clinch the Championship title for Newcastle tonight against Plymouth tonight.

Should be a very interesting game. I don't think we'll have it all our own way as Plymouth are in desperate need of a win to keep their survival hopes alive.

To see Newcastle win a trophy even if it's "just" the Championship title is an unbelievable achievement for a club who, a year ago were in utter turmoil.

Teams:

PAFC: David Stockdale, Karl Duguid, Carl Fletcher, Damien Johnson, Jamie Mackie, Bradley Wright-Phillips, Reda Johnson, Richard Eckersley, Alan Judge, Bondz N'Gala, Onismor Bhasera
    Subs: Romain Larieu, Chris Clark, Kari Arnason, Rory Fallon, Chris Barker, Joe Mason, Yala Bolasie

NUFC: Steve Harper, Danny Simpson, Fitz Hall, Mike Williamson, Jose Enrique, Wayne Routledge, Alan Smith (c), Danny Guthrie, Joey Barton, Kevin Nolan, Andy Carroll
    Subs: Peter Lovenkrands, Ryan Taylor, Leon Best, Fabrice Pancrate, Shola Ameobi, Tim Krul, Tamas Kadar

Attendance: tbc
    Referee: Craig Pawson

Looks like we're going for a 4-5-1 formation. Interesting seeing Barton and Smith starting together.

Can see one of them getting sent off tbh. :o

A really attacking subs bench too. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Fair play to Plymouth for that banner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

3-0 to the Toon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Pity it's home to Newcastle tonight.:(

What a start from Plymouth. Expected though. A team fighting for their lives.

Get in Carroll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Championes, Championes, olé olé olé!!! :D

Duff wrote: »
    Championes, Championes, olé olé olé!!! :D

Never thought I'd say that about Newcastle United to be honest. Fcuk it. I'm gonna milk it no end. :)

That_Guy wrote: »
    Never thought I'd say that about Newcastle United to be honest. Fcuk it. I'm gonna milk it no end. :)

You and me both brother! Oh im getting drunk tonight!! :P

Duff wrote: »
    You and me both brother! Oh im getting drunk tonight!! :P

Ditto.

F*cking excellent lads!

Newcastle United - Just like watching Brazil!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

Greetings from M5 stranded in Poland. :mad:Crappy internet so no stream. Watching texts updates on BBC (remember those) while sky HD gathers dust at home!
    Match as one sided as it sounds?

PS looks like a party in here:D

M5 wrote: »
    Greetings from M5 stranded in Poland. :mad:Crappy internet so no stream. Watching texts updates on BBC while sky HD gathers dust at home?

Match as one sided as it sounds?

PS looks like a party in here:D

Fcuk. That sucks mate.

It's not entirely one sided no. Plymouth have had the better chances. We've created two and scored two. Typical away performance.

Fcuk, I hope they don't lift the trophy tonight while you're over there.

You could always do a Sky+ job on it via the internet so you don't miss it.

Plymouth are definitely not out of this. Two very close snap shots in the last 5 mins.

Need to stay alert to those threats.

Fcuk. That sucks mate.

It's not entirely one sided no. Plymouth have had the better chances. We've created two and scored two. Typical away performance.

Fcuk, I hope they don't lift the trophy tonight while you're over there.

You could always do a Sky+ job on it via the internet so you don't miss it.

Ah its not so bad, drinking 7% beer, i'll have my own private party :-)

We really have gotten the job done in this division but we are giving the oppo chances galore recently, they will be put away next season. Needs to be nipped in the bud

Ah its not so bad, drinking 7% beer, i'll have my own private party :-)

We really have gotten the job done in this division but we are giving the oppo chances galore recently, they will be put away next season. Needs to be nipped in the bud

Aye agreed.

Team spirit can only get you so far really.

7% beer. Nice?

Aye agreed.

Team spirit can only get you so far really.

7% beer. Nice?

oh yeah! :D

Polish beers are deadly, try tiskie, avail in loads of places in ire

edit its 7.6% this may be my last post :)

oh yeah! :D

Polish beers are deadly, try tiskie, avail in loads of places in ire

edit its 7.6% this may be my last post :)

Ah yes. They have that in my local offo. Might get some in when the game is over.

Nah stay and have the craic with..... all 3 of us. :)

Did that PA announcer just say "Toon Army"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,609 ✭✭✭Flamed Diving

stream?

Did that PA announcer just say "Toon Army"?

green army per chance?

Ah yes. That sounds more plausible. I thought that maybe some drunken Geordie wandered up to the announce table and hijacked the mic.

Unlucky Nolan. Almost a replica of the goal he scored against Sheffield United.

What a strike.

For M5 - About 40 yards out a Plymouth player (the name eludes me) struck the ball beautifully.

Hit the top right post and went out. Great effort.

Gonna be an ending of mixed emotions at the end of this game.

What a difference a year makes.

This time last year: Oh fcuk. Here comes Ameobi.

Tonight: Ameobi you beast.

What a difference a year makes.

This time last year: Oh fcuk. Here comes Ameobi.

Tonight: Ameobi you beast.

Here comes Best more like, the big lad cant stop scoring in this division

Words can't describe how I feel about Best.

Prolific maybe. Yes. That'd be the word.

judge seeing a lot of the ball for the other lot (according to the txt commentary anyway), he any good?

Not bad. Nothing amazing but he's had Plymouth's best chances.

Best just hit the bar!! Holy fcuk that was close. Brilliant effort.

Oh Barton close.

Keeper just saved it with his foot. Very instinctive stuff.

Best with another chance. Just can't score at all.

Champions!!!!!

Preserve the unbeaten home record and hit 100 points and that would be a savage achievement

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,609 ✭✭✭Flamed Diving

woohoo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

newcastle_brown_ale.jpg

cheryl-cole.jpg

sir20bobby20robson.jpg

FCUKIN HOWAY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭jonnybadd

Great stuff, I see many a bottle of Broon to be had in the coming week

• Registered Users Posts: 613 ✭✭✭smog

:D f00kin delighted .. what a turn around of a season though .. fair play to the lads putting in the effort this year! hope they dont get shafted by ashley now

Charlie wrote: »

newcastle_brown_ale.jpg

cheryl-cole.jpg

sir20bobby20robson.jpg

FCUKIN HOWAY

Couldnt resist a post then :)

back in the big time

Just back from the pub! Tears of joy flowed alongside the Carlsberg. Back where we belong!

S'CUP THE TOON!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

Great to see the Toons back up. Thats six points we dont have to worry about for next season:D

Oi. Shhh.