Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Champions League semi-final first leg: Bayern Munich v Lyon 19.45

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

Frisbee wrote: »
    This is why I don't understand the jizzfest over Lloris.

He has the potential to be one of the very best alright. But his decision making is pretty poor.

£20M+ for someone who could turn out to be great? No thanks.

You'd get a perfectly competent keeper for 10M.
    Would it fair to say Seaman was your last great goalkeeper?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

As usual, Lyon defending is woeful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Lehmann was very good too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,043 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Lehmann was great too, not as good as Seaman maybe but as good as a lot of the top keepers in the league at the time!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Lehmann was very good too.

How were his decision making skills?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

Mad Jens for all his faults was a top class keeper. The odd bit of madness, but he was a sight better than anything we've had since.

To be fair Frisbee, I haven't seen 20m mentioned anywhere about him and he has been very good this season apart from the odd lapse. Wenger should have taken a pop on someone like Scwarzer I'm afraid.

Anyway, this isn't the Arsenal thread so.... how the **** are Bayern not 2 or more up at this stage? :eek:

cson wrote: »
    how the **** are Bayern not 2 or more up at this stage? :eek:
    Indeed. Not your typical German finishing is it :)

That was a disgraceful dive there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Lloris would be at least 20m imo. Lyon paid big money for him and his reputation has grown immeasurably since.

To be fair Frisbee, I haven't seen 20m mentioned anywhere about him and he has been very good this season apart from the odd lapse.

Wel he signed for ~10M (iirc) barely two years ago and his stock has only improved since then so he won't be available for much less. Plus Lyon always try and sell players for huge money.
    Anyway, this isn't the Arsenal thread so.... how the **** are Bayern not 2 or more up at this stage? :eek:

No idea, have had some great chances already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

Everyone says Ribery is scary looking but Lahm has a seriously crazy look about him.

Bayern have missed a lot of good chances already

Game hitting a flat spot now.

Where the feck is everyone? I know theres no PL team playing in it but only 5 page thread for the Champions League Semi? :(

but Lahm has a seriously crazy look about him.

It's the inbred unibrow look.

Game hitting a flat spot now.

Where the feck is everyone? I know theres no PL team playing in it but only 5 page thread for the Champions League Semi? :(
    That may changer fairly soon ;)

I know theres no PL team playing in it but only 5 page thread for the Champions League Semi? :(

40 posts per page ftw!

LOL Red Card!

Game is kicking off now!

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

WTF!?

Ribery you clown!

Cheers Frank!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Beekay

WTF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

Ribery off
    on replay he deserved it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,681 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

great decision ref

awful stuff by Ribery

Deserved imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,562 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

karma!

Unbiased, but correct call. Pretty uncalled for challenge that was. Great, that's prolly Licha out for the season.

Oh that looked nasty....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Nasty, deserved the red.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭gebbel

Horrific tackle

Filthy challenge from Ribery.

That's a brave red for a ref to give in the Allianz on a night like this, fair play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Ze Germans are not happy

He's after going in over the ball, right down on his ankle and it looks like Lisandro has been done a bit of damage. Fair play to the ref for not shirking a big decision like that.

Edit: Lisandro up and about. No major drama.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

That could've been horrible, rightly sent off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

auf wiedersehen pet :pac:

Ush1 wrote: »
    Great, that's prolly Licha out for the season.

He seems ok :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Wreckless, accident or not deserved a red.

redout wrote: »
    auf wiedersehen pet :pac:
    as I thought :D

Filthy challenge from Ribery.

That's a brave red for a ref to give in the Allianz on a night like this, fair play.

Rossetti is my fav ref. He's quality, no nonsense like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,043 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Would he not have gotten the ball if Lisandro didn't knock it away? Looked like the Shawcross tackle to me, which I also thought was a harsh red!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Typical Germans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

I actually think that was harsh. Definite yellow, but not sure about red.

Getting caught with a 17 year old prostitute and now a red card.. not his week is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,171 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

What's with the purple and pink boots Ribery was wearing? Seen a few players wearing them now.

Luckily, he's only back from ankle injury!

jasonorr wrote: »
    Would he not have gotten the ball if Lisandro didn't knock it away? Looked like the Shawcross tackle to me, which I also thought was a harsh red!

Ssssshhhhh. Don't you know it's ok to tackle Arsenal players like that? ;)

Straight red means Ribery to miss 2nd leg and final if they get there, I presume?

Silly boy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Warper wrote: »
    Typical Germans

Ya big feckin racist! :D;)

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Straight red means Ribery to miss 2nd leg and final if they get there, I presume?

Silly boy

Just misses the next match afaik.

I didn't think Shawcross' was a red either.

But there seemed to be intent with that one, no excuse to have your studs up like that really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Jagera

lol, stretchered off and strolls back on after a few mins.

I think I'm the only one who thinks Ribery's red was harsh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Beekay

What's with the purple and pink boots Ribery was wearing? Seen a few players wearing them now.

They are the latest Nike mercurials....horrible coloured yokes

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,445 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Completely different to me. Ribery went in studs up and over the ball. Would have caught him if the ball was there or not. Shawcross' wasn't studs up or over the ball.
    Great decision by the ref.

gimmick wrote: »
    I actually think that was harsh. Definite yellow, but not sure about red.

getting caught with a 17 year old prostitute and now a red card.. not his week is it?

Ah come on; he could easily have broken Lisandro's ankle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

looked a red i think