Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Champions League semi-final first leg: Bayern Munich v Lyon 19.45

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

cson wrote: »

Where the feck is everyone? I know theres no PL team playing in it but only 5 page thread for the Champions League Semi? :(

Suprised too. I guess once man united or Liverpool aren't playing people have no interest.

I'm a fan of football, gimme any game, particularly a big european semi final like this and I'll watch it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Ah come on; he could easily have broken Lisandro's ankle.

I know, it was slightly late and at speed. It could have gone either way. If the ref did not red card him, people would say he bottled it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

quarryman wrote: »
    Suprised too. I guess once man united or Liverpool aren't playing people have no interest.

I'm a fan of football, gimme any game, particularly a big european semi final like this and I'll watch it.

Yeah, the Premiere League, not to over use this phrase on soccer boards, "jizzfest" is over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Gotta say I am surprised this is still goalless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Games incredibly dull, both sides look average.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

Lukker- wrote: »
    Games incredibly dull, both sides look average.
    Yeah whoever comes through from Inter and Barca will be short odds to win it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,313 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

quarryman wrote: »

Wait until tomorrow night and if Madrid score watch the WUM in the Liverpool match thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I was going to say this game needed a goal but a red card will have to do.

Messers Drury and Beglin had been struggling manfully to cope with the sheer lack of interest in this tie until Scarface got sent off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Wouldn't be suprised to see this end 0-0 now.

I'd love a Lyon goal to make the second leg interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

gimmick wrote: »
    I actually think that was harsh. Definite yellow, but not sure about red.

Getting caught with a 17 year old prostitute and now a red card.. not his week is it?

I think he had to go. A wild lunge that could have caused damage.

Now he is off early, he can have her home early, it is a school night after all :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Very poor game so far. That was a deserved red card.
    Hopefully Lyon will try attack a bit more in 2nd half with the extra man and liven the game up a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Just checked the odds there - Lyon are 15-8 to win the match and 8-11 Draw no Bet.

http://www.paddypower.com/bet?action=go_betlive_event&ev_id=1835525

mike65 wrote: »
    I was going to say this game needed a goal but a red card will have to do.

Messers Drury and Beglin had been struggling manfully to cope with the sheer lack of interest in this tie until Scarface got sent off.
    No doubt whatsoever about the red.

Tbh, if you think that red card was harsh, football ain't really the sport for you.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,587 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Fair play to the ref, that was a huge call, and he got it right. It's some atmosphere in the Allianz tonight, I hope the ref stays objective.

Warper wrote: »
    Just checked the odds there - Lyon are 15-8 to win the match and 8-11 Draw no Bet.

http://www.paddypower.com/bet?action=go_betlive_event&ev_id=1835525

5/2 on betfair and evens draw no bet ;)

LOL @ Dunphy lashing Bayern out of it with his competition joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,681 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

go'wan eamo

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Harsh me hole. A 1 game ban isn't nearly enough for that.

Summed it up fairly well, a cowards challenge. Ribery is a good player but let himself down badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

rarnes1 wrote: »
    5/2 on betfair and evens draw no bet ;)

Even better - 5-2 is a good price and evens DNB is too. I cant see them losing anyways and they have a great chance of winning now.

Get on everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

gimmick wrote: »
    I know, it was slightly late and at speed. It could have gone either way. If the ref did not red card him, people would say he bottled it.

Did you catch the reply at half time? How Lisandro's leg didn't break I do not know. :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 787 ✭✭✭bUILDERtHEbOB

Got on Lyon at 19/20 draw no bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

Wait until tomorrow night and if Madrid score watch the WUM in the Liverpool match thread

If this was a better match I think we'd have something to post about match has been dire so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

Fair play to the red card it's after getting this thread to 9 pages :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,043 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

4 ;)

4 pages:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

9? you need to change settings!

30 posts per page ftw (the goldilocks preference)

Did you catch the reply at half time? How Lisandro's leg didn't break I do not know. :eek:

That's why they call him the warrior from Buenes Aires.:cool:

However you look at it, that really was the ugly face of football from Franck Ribery.

Headshot wrote: »
    4 pages:cool:
    Its nine on mine as well. Must be down to the page settings.

However you look at it, that really was the ugly face of football from Franck Ribery.

I'd thank Jonathan Stevenson if there was an option on the BBC page.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/8633434.stm

shamelessy stolen

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,445 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Just about to point that out :D
    I smell plagiarism :pac:

Just about to point that out :D
    I smell plagiarism :pac:

Yeah, I'm gonna sue that Stevenson fella !! :pac:

shamelessy stolen

Good line though!

Hope the game doesn't turn even uglier now its 10 v 11

I reckon bayern will still win this

Yeah, I'm gonna sue that Stevenson fella !! :pac:
    From Paul, bored in a B&B, Lincoln, via text to 81111: "Such a deflated game for a Champions League semi-final. Both Lyon and Bayern look very average. This year's winner will come from Barca vs Inter."
    Liked this one from same page

Typical Puel, keeps Kallstrom on, probably the slowest pro footballer in the world. Bastos on please.

Lyon are awful

bayern are there for the taking but they're just not showing attacking force or imagination

How did Muller miss that?

Gilt edged chance, great run from Lahm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

Toulalon off too

10-10 men now

• Registered Users Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Poor decision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Did he curse at the referee or something? What was that for?

Bayern are blessed this year. Harsh second yellow again to help them out. Getting quite a bit of luck throughout the tournament.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Now that one was harsh.

He was a bit high with the challenge tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,466 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

rough on Toulalan - Schweinsteiger's foot was just as high - it was a 50/50 challange between the two. If Toulalan deserved a booking, then so did Schweinsteiger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

harsh second yellow really - ref looking to balance things up imo