Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cairde Auction and Boards Beers, please support

• 22-04-2010 10:35am
    Registered Users Posts: 650 ✭✭✭

Hello all,

Cairde needs your help and we all need a beer so why not meet in the Glasshouse on Thursday 29th and support a great cause. Funding has all but disappeared this year and as many of you know Cairde events are in the main free and good for the town. There are great items up for auction and a fun night should be had by all!

Fabulous Fundraising
    Auction

Thursday, 29th April
    Swan Suite
    Glasshouse
    viewing from 8pm
    auction from 9pm.

Fabulous items to be auctioned off on the night include:
    A trip to Inishmurray; an Individual 3-month Radisson Gym membership; a fill of home heating oil from McCormack’s; Surf Lessons at Strandhill Surf Club; Sailing Courses at Rosses Point Sailing Club; VIP Tickets to O2 Concert; Music Season Tickets to Cairde Summer Festival and much, much more ………….

• Registered Users Posts: 650 ✭✭✭blackiebest

Please note, the price at the end of each item is the VALUE of the item, they will be going to the highest bidder on the night. Only some very select art items will hold a reserve

BB

Cairde Summer Festival
    Auction Listing
    First Draft Lot numbers may change, details may be updated and further lots may be added – we’ll keep you posted!

Lot No. Donated by Item Value
    1 The Glass House Hotel Dinner for 2 €80
    2 Radisson Hotel Three months gym membership €192
    3 Salon 2 Gift voucher TBC
    4 The Hawkswell Gift voucher €100
    5 Inismurray Tours Trip to Inismurray €300
    6 Londis Petrol Station, Grange Petrol Voucher €100
    7 Donagheys Dinner for 2 TBC
    8 Barra Cassidy Ceramic mask €50 reserve
    9 Heidi Wickham Visual Art €50 reserve
    10 Samboeire Sambattack – play within 10 miles sligo €150
    11 Dickon Whitehead photographer Family portrtait session plus 8 x 10 print €100
    12 Linda Gault Ceramics Nest of 3 white crackle bowls €180
    13 Voya seaweedbaths Individual seaweed bath (Mon-Fri) €25
    14 Voya seaweedbaths Individual seaweed bath (Mon-Fri) €25
    15 Voya seaweedbaths Individual seaweed bath (Mon-Fri) €25
    16 Shooting stars Fine art photo €50 reserve
    17 Strandhill Surf Club Surf lessons €30
    18 Strandhill Surf Club Surf lessons €30
    19 Strandhill Surf Club Surf lessons €30
    20 Strandhill Golf Club One round of golf for 4 €120
    21 Henry & Kearins Solictors Will & testament (legal advice in respect of) €100
    22 O2 2 x VIP tickets to O2 concert (sta) €200
    23 Sligo Live 2 x Season tickets Sligo Live €160
    24 Seanad Eireann Tour of the Seanad and Dail Eireann and Dinner with Senator Marc McSharry €120
    25 Grand Canal Hotel, Dublin 2 nights B&B with dinner in Gasworks to value of €65 €250
    26 McCormack's 1,000 ltrs of home heating oil €660
    27 Cat and Moon Martina Hamilton pendant €130
    28 Brdiget Beemster Sculpture:"Presentative War" €50 reserve
    29 Cairde Festival Two Season Tickets €240
    30 Tobias Luck - Gardener Consultation + 6 hours garden work €240
    31 Pia Luck Badge making workshop (for children's party or event) €150
    (for children's party or event)
    32 Clioma Haus 5 hr Airtightness course on site €250
    33 Sligo Sailing Club, Rosses Point Sailing course €200
    34 Sligo Sailing Club, Rosses Point Sailing course €200
    35 Maddy 1hr personal Yoga Lesson €50
    36 Mairead McGath Stylist, Grange Hair Restyle €40
    37 Markree Castle 1 night B&B plus 1 hour pony trek €140
    38 Morgan Ferriter Visual art €50 reserve
    39 Glass House 1 night B & B for two €160
    40 Sligo Park Hotel 1 night B & B for two €120
    41 Miss Honey DJ for a party €200
    42 Peter Crann Drumming for kids €150
    43 Dumore Embroidery 2x School Jumpers with crest €80
    44 Cooper’s Hill Dinner for 2 €120
    45 Nicole Cosgrove Event Management Disney Princess or High School
    Musical Guest appearance at party €150
    46 Solas Spa Radisson Massage Voucher €55
    47 Templehouse Lake Boat Hire on Templehouse Lake €25
    48 Dr. Stephen More, Dental Surgeon Customised teeth bleaching kit €295
    49 Leitrim Sculpture Centre Sculpture €50 reserve
    50 Rula Bula Pottery party TBC
    51 Hendersons Garage Voucher TBC
    52 Simply BER Ber rating (price charged depends on size of house) €150-300
    53 Eagles Flying Family ticket €26
    54 Quickcrop Veg raised bed kit €55
    55 County Sligo Golf Club, Rosses Point 4 Ball Game €280
    56 TurfnSurf 3 Lesson Surf package €85
    57 Curves 1 Year Gym Membership €400
    58 Peter Marks Voucher €50
    59 Prannie Rhatigan Signed Copy of Book €28
    60 GAA Museum & Croke Park Stadium Tour for Family of Four €120
    61 Sligo Regional Sports Complex One month membership for gym and pool €50
    62 Diamond Coast Hotel, Enniscrone 2 night B&B midweek break for 2 with dinner on one night €218
    63 Organic Centre, Rossinver Place on one-day course of your choice €90
    64 TK Max Gift voucher €100
    65 Kieran Walsh Auctioneer Antique TBC
    66 Trá Bán Dinner for 2 with wine €100
    67 Happy Days Gift voucher €50

• Registered Users Posts: 3,659 ✭✭✭magnumlady

Looks like a great night. I will try and be there.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭bobcar61

I'd love to go too and if I had plenty of money I'd love to bid for loads of the items but unfortunately I don't have the spare change.

I'd still love to go but I work Thursday evenings untill 10 :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

I won't be able to make it but good luck with it,some great things up for auction there.

Well, I have been thinking:confused:, maybe we could do a phone bidding service. I am really worried that we will not have enough people there on the night and when I post what things go for then you all will be saying 'would have bought that' etc so if anyone fancies anything on the list then pm me and I could bid for you. We could arrange for you to pick it up and pay after the auction.

Would this work? Anyone interested?

Dont want to see 1000ltr of oil going for a couple of hundred!

BTW the cairde website has not been updated for 2010 due to volcanic ash :-) You can catch most of this years lineup on their Facebook page. Website will be updated very soon.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭tuppence

Is there a flyer for it? I havent seen anything for it, only this. Perhaps if there was something on the facebook page, (like a flyer on this event) then members here who have a facebook account can share the upcoming event with their friends. Might generate a bit of interest. You could get an idea of how many potentially coming. I am sure theres a fair bit of goodwill out there and alot of folk would like to see Cairde (as a not for profit arts organisation) continue on the Sligo scene. :)

Maybe the mods might let you do a bit of an online auction with the stuff taht doesnt clear for you? ;)

Good idea tuppence, I mentioned it on twitter but no one replied. Facebook is a great place to mention it.....loads of Sligo pages on there.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

love to go, but I'm at the wrong end of the country on business - the best of luck with it though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Pete M.

Just thought I'd give this a bump as it is a very worthy cause and it's happening tonight.

As far as I know there is no facility for placing a bid online or by email, but you could always place bids through other folks you know who may be going.
    If you contact Tara via phone or email (details on the website I think), then a bid can be arranged. Just let her know your top bid and obviously which item.

Hope it goes well as the Festival was a cracker last year.

I'm hoping to go.....well almost sure I'm going. Would love to meet other boardsies....otherwise I'll be Billy no mates (as usual).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭bobcar61

Myself fozzle and magnumlady are here at the moment.good turnout.I'm currently surfing on fozzles Iphone,I offered to give her €10 but she declined :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭fozzle

Tight fecker, Magnumlady beat him with a bid of 12€

• Registered Users Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭fozzle

I won in the raffle! ^_^ Bobcar had to point out I had the winning ticket.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Pete M.

How's the bidding going on the tour of the seanad with senator mcsharry?

If there's none in, Put me down for €3.20 :p

fozzle wrote: »
    I won in the raffle! ^_^ Bobcar had to point out I had the winning ticket.
    What did you win?
    And yes Bobcar, my bid is the winner on the iphone.

ML, Bobcar and Fozzle,

Big thanks for going along and supporting the auction. Frankly we were very disappointed with the overall turnout however amazingly 5k was raised for Cairde on the night! Wooottt!

Due to circumstances we failed to market the event properly and in the current climate I think people are really looking after the shillings. Possibly a Saturday afternoon might have been a better time to host the auction.

I will try and post up the winning bids on the list as soon as I get my hands on it.

I was not there as Mrs Best was very involved and I was babysitting however big thanks again and we hope to put on a great Parkfest later in the summer.

BB

PS. Did any of ye get any bargains?

I saw Mrs. Best but she was busy so I didn't get to talk to her.

I enjoyed the night, the auctioneer was funny...and Jimmy who was holding up the items was brilliant....especially when he fell through the 'work of art'.

I bid on a few things but got outbid. Was hoping to get the oil especially. I didn't stay until the end....bit late for me.

Think the 100ltr of oil went for €550. Sorry you did not get anything but again big thanks for attending and hope you enjoyed,

BB