Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Atletico Madrid v Liverpool 8:05 Inter-Railing around Europe Match Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Yeah, he has made two absolutely crucial tackles. Seems very strong and quick.
    For about five mins in second half we looked good. Now this. Will Babel see any action tonight i wonder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Ngog having a nightmare leading the line, he is just far too lightweight and is getting pinged around like a ragdoll.

Overall I don't think we have done badly but I just feel so much of it has been workmanlike without ever thinking we have really been in charge. Still away from home in Europe this wouldn't be a bad result.

Opr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

For about five mins in second half we looked good. Now this. Will Babel see any action tonight i wonder.
    68 minutes normally isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

We defo need to bring on Babel for Ngog. We need some pace and power now. I really believe we need to get an away goal. AM have been getting them in this competition.

If we can nab one, i'd be confident of getting through

Okay, N'Gog needs to get off.

He's not getting much support in fairness.

I'd stick on Aqua and play Kuyt up front with Ngog

Looks like Babel coming on. Great :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Babel time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

rarnes1 wrote: »
    He's not getting much support in fairness.

I'd stick on Aqua and play Kuyt up front with Ngog

Looks like Babel coming on. Great :rolleyes:

This sub is fine imo. We have gotten space and time in their final third, bringing on a pacey player like Babel who has the capability of finishing is the right move given what we have on our bench.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,313 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

68 minutes normally isn't it?

Earlier than normal.... by about 4 mins:)

The thing about Babel is, we know he can strike one from thirty yards or so, whereas Ngog won't do that! And i think where gonna need a super strike or set piece to score cos we haven't really cut them open as such

Hopefully Babel can find a rocket from somewhere

This sub is fine imo. We have gotten space and time in their final third, bringing on a pacey player like Babel who has the capability of finishing is the right move given what we have on our bench.

Hopefully. babel frustrates me more often than not, hopefully he's up for it

C'mon Rafa, throw Aqua on, even Pacheco.

We need an away goal, even if it costs us another one

2-1 defeat is a hell of a lot better than 1-0

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,313 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

What a pity Dirk's first touch wasn't a good one!

Kuyt what are you doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,448 ✭✭✭evil_seed

no shots on goal at all yet. feckin hell

If Torres is on the pitch, that's a goal obv. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

just got in and from the radio and what ive seen it looks like we havent been at the races, is that accurate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,595 ✭✭✭kingshankly

For a professional footballer kuyts first touch is shocking

Hopefully. babel frustrates me more often than not, hopefully he's up for it

He can certainly be frustrating alright, but in the last few matches i've noticed that Babel looks like he is, at least, trying.

just got in and from the radio and what ive seen it looks like we havent been at the races, is that accurate?

Conceded a sloppy goal in the first couple of minutes, had just about the better of the game since then, but a lot of sloppy play on both sides.

We did have a goal disallowed but apart from that.... not at the races, could still sneak an away goal though.

Yeah We have been poor for the most part

Jaysus Evans has been awful in the commentary booth.

Well done Babel, where was the rushing midfielders into the box??

Ha ha the woman giving out to Johnson.

Bad commentary and 3e go hand in hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

havent seen carragher do that for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Well done Babel, where was the rushing midfielders into the box??

Hes on the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

Excellent Athleti play

Great reaction to clear the rebound. Thunderous strike by their full back.

Get up Reyes you muppet!

Athletico going to kill the game from here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭romah

the game has opened up in the last few minutes..
    but we arent getting any real chances ..

also there will be a few scary moments defending

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

**** sake ref

• Registered Users Posts: 268 ✭✭smoochie06

I can see us nicking a goal here but my God this is hard to watch

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

El zhar eh?

Leave the ballboy alone Rafa!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭romah

we need to test their keeper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,111 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

El Zhar about to come on...

....odds on Babel N' Nabil combining for the equaliser?

Oh dear Stevie, bad time to miscue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,564 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Well in fairness he's more used to 'The Boot Room' than booths.

His first name is Roy, BTW not Jaysus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Rafa telepathically reading what all Liverpool fans want to see!

I could cry sometimes with frustration at his subs!

Opr

mayordenis wrote: »
    El zhar eh?

Doesnt make sense.

He's settling for 1-0 defeat

Eh Roy, El Zahr is not a defensive player! :confused:

Without Torres to spearhead our attack next week, i would be really worried if we don't grab an away goal tonight!!

Ahhh babel !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,564 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Is it Rafa's tactic to stun fans, journalists, commentators, everyone except the opposition with his subs?

Play just so laboured at the moment.

monkey9 wrote: »
    Without Torres to spearhead our attack next week, i would be really worried if we don't grab an away goal tonight!!

exactly !

A goal for them and we'd need 3. Plus they have their best player back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

how the **** is that sub 'stunning' to anyone? A wide player for a wide player? Wats the issue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

Just in from pub, update on the last 90 mins please??
    By the sounds of things, business as usual, we have been muck.