Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sukies on the road in Clonmel

• 23-04-2010 12:42pm
    Registered Users Posts: 195 ✭✭

Is it just me but does every road in and around Clonmel have at least one traveller with his piebald and sukie and a child hanging off the side. They are holding up traffic. They never yield or give over. They are a danger to themselves and everybody else on the road. You'd be pulled for a dodgy light (rightly so) but these highway terrorists are allowed rule the roads. Where are the guards?
    Rant over!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭pooch90

This has been wrecking my head since the sun came out. It's downright dangerous, both for motorists and for the (up to) 4 kids they have hanging off the bloody things. I got breathalysed yesterday in Cahir at 3.20pm, wouldn't the cops be better off telling these sh*tehawks to get off the roads than targetting people picking up their kids from school??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Do you not think the Travelling Community has a right to the highways as much as everyone else?

Not this "travellers have rights" crap. Nobody has a right to endanger others on the roads or their own kids. end of. we pay tax to drive our cars on the roads, same can't be said about sulkies. Anybody who had 4 kids in a car with no seatbelt on would be done for it, never mind having them hanging off a piece of crap contraption with no safety measures in place

• Registered Users Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

pooch90 wrote: »
    . we pay tax to drive our cars on the roads,

No you dont. Although I do think the sulkies need some type of license. I mostly see underage kids driving them.

Jumpy wrote: »
    No you dont. Although I do think the sulkies need some type of license. I mostly see underage kids driving them.

As if they have any sort of licence for them! I pay tax, both in employment and motor tax, all of which contributes to the roads being built. Therefore I can drive on them. How many of the sulkie drivers pay any sort of tax/licence etc?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

old hippy wrote: »
    Do you not think the Travelling Community has a right to the highways as much as everyone else?

Er no, I dont think they should have any rights untill they contribute something useful to society i.e pay some tax occasionally.

I love listening to all the Green Party ra ra's from Bray talking about Gypsy rights having never even set foot in a halting site.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

allprops wrote: »
    Where are the guards?
    Rant over!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5NUdre5SpRw :p

iceage wrote: »

LMAO :D:D its like something you'd see in Killinascully!!

• Registered Users Posts: 528 ✭✭✭dirtydiesel

There was a horse lying on the side of the road with one of those carts on its side today, on the Cahir road into clonmel about a mile before the roundabout.
    Loads of people and vans there. The horse was still alive but was only moving its head.

• Registered Users Posts: 468 ✭✭Diabhal_Glas

This lad parked up his horse and cart blocking the whole footpath, went in and picked up a feed in Supermacs and headed off down the street whipping the living daylights out of the poor horse.

4545631175_5afe111987_o.jpg

4546266404_0fed3c7cdd_o.jpg

4546266136_5337929807_o.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭tippspur

I was thinking the same thing as the OP yesterday as I was heading out of Clonmel down near Bulmers, the traffic was moving really slow for about a mile and I couldn't make out what was going on,when things started moving again I could see it was two of these sulkie things on the road that was holding up the whole lot.young Lads no older than 10 years of age on them. It's not right and they should be stopped.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭digzy

The cops dont touch them because us apes in conventional transport are easier targets. The sulkies dont have reg plates! they're some leeches.Nice to see vincent brown, terry prone etc waffling about their culture. Flogging a mongrel pony aint culture, it's cruelty. i see tv3 have a show about knacker weddings next week. it's a relief that they dont have to waste money on accommodation,healthcare etc like us....... so they can use their cash for fake tan and dresses.! you can dress em up all you like......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭ClonmelHills

digzy wrote: »
    The cops dont touch them ......
    have you complained them to the cops

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Er no, I dont think they should have any rights untill they contribute something useful to society i.e pay some tax occasionally.

I love listening to all the Green Party ra ra's from Bray talking about Gypsy rights having never even set foot in a halting site.

Maybe you should get in touch with Pavee Point. They're very nice and don't bite, honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭digzy

have you complained them to the cops

I'm just passing through, so I'm not very bothered.Even if cops were rang how long would it take to get out to them. The knacks would have the piebalds tied with twine against a pole and they'd be down the shops thieving!
    Seriously though the gardai know where they squat and must be sleeping on the job if they're unaware of this caper.
    I know i'm a complete racist here but i cant think of one thing knacks add to society.Anecdotally nobody wants to see them on their business/farms.

• Registered Users Posts: 362 ✭✭Fluffybums

Can't the Guards pull them over for cruelty to animals? Or are they too scared.......

digzy wrote: »
    I'm just passing through, so I'm not very bothered.Even if cops were rang how long would it take to get out to them. The knacks would have the piebalds tied with twine against a pole and they'd be down the shops thieving!
    Seriously though the gardai know where they squat and must be sleeping on the job if they're unaware of this caper.
    I know i'm a complete racist here but i cant think of one thing knacks add to society.Anecdotally nobody wants to see them on their business/farms.
    That is a cop out. If you are just passing through why are you so worried. They are a danger but have as much right to the road as you and those stupid boy racers. If you are not happy with the cops response then complain to super

Dont like boy racers myself but I think you'll find 95% of them tax their cars, have insurance, are nct'd and all buy petrol/diesel the cost of which is 55% tax. As far as I know Travellers don't pay anything for road usage but I'm open to correction on that.

old hippy wrote: »
    Maybe you should get in touch with Pavee Point. They're very nice and don't bite, honest.

I dont think they warm to my views on compulsory social contributions for travellers i.e work for welfare.

Dont like boy racers myself but I think you'll find 95% of them tax their cars, have insurance, are nct'd and all buy petrol/diesel the cost of which is 55% tax. As far as I know Travellers don't pay anything for road usage but I'm open to correction on that.
    how much do cyclists pay. bloody dangerous these cyclists. no lights weaving in and out of traffic

• Registered Users Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Couple of things here.

Yes travelers have a right to use the roads but they have a duty to respect other road users as well. Sulkies are usually built for one person yet their is often kids hanging off them. This is dangerous for themselves, the stability of the sulkies and other road users. If somebody overloaded their vehicle they would be liable to prosecution and the same should apply here.

Failure to give right of way or failure to obey the rules of the road is wrong no matter what your cultural background.

Driving two a breast down a main road at rush hour is stupid, dangerous, ignorant and selfish. <which i mentioned yesterday>

I notice these contraptions have no reflective gear what so ever correct me here but i believe even bikes are legally required to have these(or lights).

So the point is travelers should continue to use sulkies on the roads but only if they obey all safety i.e. no kids hanging off, reflective gear, rules of the road and to ensure that all animals are looked after correctly. These rules apply to everybody no matter whether your a travaller, polish or the OP!

Couple of things here.
    Yes travelers have a right to use the roads but they have a duty to respect other road users as well. Sulkies are usually built for one person yet their is often kids hanging off them. This is dangerous for themselves, the stability of the sulkies and other road users. If somebody overloaded their vehicle they would be liable to prosecution and the same should apply here.
    agree
    Failure to give right of way or failure to obey the rules of the road is wrong no matter what your cultural background.
    agree had them in an outside lane at lights one day, greenlight came and they crossed in front of me and turned into the road to the right
    Driving two a breast down a main road at rush hour is stupid, dangerous, ignorant and selfish. <which i mentioned yesterday>
    agree
    I notice these contraptions have no reflective gear what so ever correct me here but i believe even bikes are legally required to have these(or lights).
    bike do not always have their legal requirements either
    So the point is travelers should continue to use sulkies on the roads but only if they obey all safety i.e. no kids hanging off, reflective gear, rules of the road and to ensure that all animals are looked after correctly. These rules apply to everybody no matter whether your a travaller, polish or the OP!
    agree passed some today. was going to get out and tell them digzy said they are not supposed to be on the road!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

Funniest thing happened to me a few months back. I was out for a jog on the bypass between Cashel Roundabout and the Cahir Roundabout in Clonmel as I am want to do, was on my way back down when I came against a kid on a Sulky coming the other way. I made an effort to move in so as not to spook the horse/pony/over grown rat when the the youngster shouted, in jest I might add...."move over there would ya boss your holding up the traffic! :D

At the time I wasn't really impressed and spoke to him with some force in French as to where he should take his sulky and place it...How he laughed as he rode away from me.

I get great salutes off them when they pass now.:)

Delighted to see Animal Welfare down at the halting site today. Any chance they'll do anything?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭alexmcred

So was I but unfortunately they didn't take any of them away:(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭questionmark?

pooch90 wrote: »
    Delighted to see Animal Welfare down at the halting site today. Any chance they'll do anything?

Which halting site were they at? Were they being escorted by the guards?

They were at the one on the by-pass. No guards from what I saw, all the travellers crowded around him ready to kick off by the looks of it.

Can't believe they didn't take any of them away. Surely keeping them tethered and only exercising them on roads constitutes cruelty??

• Registered Users Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Sigma Force

There was a horse lying on the side of the road with one of those carts on its side today, on the Cahir road into clonmel about a mile before the roundabout.
    Loads of people and vans there. The horse was still alive but was only moving its head.

Did someone call animal welfare, cops or anyone to help this horse?