Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Attraction

• 25-04-2010 11:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭

If attraction varies between cultures. How do we begin to find someone attractive...(if that makes sense). Can we teach ourselves to find someone attractive?

oh and no I'm not going out with a whale:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 TheDieHardFan1

SEDUCTION

1. YOUR BEST SELF

(a) HAIR

Go to a hair stylist and ask one of the guys (they are usually gay but so what?) who works there ask what hairstyle would suit you best. Once you get a hair makeover make sure that next time you go to your barber shop ask for that same cut.

(b) CLOTHES

Stop wearing tracksuits or baggy clothes or dressing in clothes that look like your mother bought them for you.

Go to a quality gents cloths shop and buy yourself a sports jacket, shirts, t-shirts, well fitting jeans or slacks and a good pair of brown and black leather shoes.

Choose clothes that fit you properly - the seams of your sleeves of your shirts and t-shirts should fit right on your shoulders while the seat of your pants should fit snug on your backside.

Get yourself an item of clothing that makes your stand out - a necklace or bracelet or a hat with a feather in it if you like - whatever looks cool and makes you stand out from other guys.

(c) POSTURE

When you stand or walk about imagine you have a hook on the top of your head attached to a rope and the rest of your body is dangling lose with all the weight in your body going right down into your feet.

Relax your shoulders and let your arms hang by your sides and stand with your legs spread and your toes pointing apart when you are in a stationary position.

When you sit do not slouch but sit up straight with your back in contact with the back of the chair.

Cross your legs when your sit or place your ankle across your knee when you are resting your legs.

Do not fidget or scratch your face or pick your nose.

Keep your hands on your lap and don't move them or pick up anything to play with it.

When you look around use your eyes and turn your head slowly.

Try to make all your movements as graceful as possible.

(d) ATTITUDE

Write down all the bad things about yourself on a sheet of paper.

Make a big long list.

Tear it up and throw it in the bin.

Next write down all the good things about yourself and tape it on the wall above your bed or wherever handy. Memorise them and repeat them over and over again in your head.

Put on some cool music and tell yourself that everytime you hum that cool music you are going to remember the list of good things you wrote down and memorised.

(e) Stop drinking too much, stop eating fast food, learn how to cook, eat more fresh fruit and vegetables and start jogging or go to the gym.

If you cant afford to go to the gym get an exercise book and learn how to do press ups and stomach crunches in your bedroom.

Shower every day and look clean and presentable.

2. HOW TO BEGIN

1. Get your phone and ring five random numbers and ask the person who answers if Mary can come to the phone.
    The person might ask you "Who the f*ck is Mary?" You apologise for calling the wrong number. Ask the person that you are going to the movies and ask what movie would they recommend. The person will either hang up or they will have a conversation with you. When you have got a good movie recommendation, say thanks and hang up.

2. Start a conversation with 10 different people on the bus, in the shopping centre, at school or college or work or anywhere you else you like.

The conversation can be about any subject you want and instead of doing most of the talking yourself concentrate on listening to what the person says and try to find out as much as you possible can about who the person is, what job they do, what they like etc etc. Get used to being friendly, being a good listener and having fun talking to all kinds of people every single day.

3. Go to a shopping centre, walk the streets, take a stroll in the park, go to church, walk into a bar or a club etc and start the same conversations with women. Do not think about getting a phone number or trying to get laid. Instead be friendly and inquisitive. After you have spoken to her for a few minutes excuse yourself and say goodbye. Get used to talking to women in normal social situations.

4. Take up hobbies like sports or do something creative like art, start reading the newspapers, watch women's shows on TV, join a book club at your local library, take up salsa classes etc etc. These are great ways to improve your mind, fill in the time and get to make friends and meet people.

3. SARGING

Sarging is making the approach which can be (a) Direct or (b) Indirect.

(a) DIRECT

This involves walking directly up to a beautiful woman and telling her directly that you are attracted to her.
    This is high risk because she might reject you right away and make you feel and look like a fool if you are awkward or uncomfortable. However if you DO NOT make the approach you are 100% garanteed that she will not get together with you.

(b) INDIRECT

An indirect approach is simply the same friendly approach you have been making to all the strangers who you have already got used to talking every day before you started talking to beautiful girls you were attracted to.

Stand at right angles to her with the toes of your shoes pointing away.

If she is seated, pull out a chair and sit down next to her immediately.

There is no pressure on you or her because it is not obvious that you are interested in her sexually.

You are just a normal guy having a normal conversation with a girl.

You don't have to think about what you are going to say.

It just comes naturally because you saw the girl and you approached within 3 secs (do not hesitate about approaching or else she will think you are a weirdo who wants something sexual right away).

Do not use a chat up line or some sort of canned material you read about on the internet as an approach (canned material you might used later on).

You can start to talk about the weather, the traffic, the latest news about your favourite celebrities or movies etc. Try being original.

It really doesn't matter what sort of conversation you start as long as you start one.

4. CREATING COMFORT

This process begins as soon as the first opening conversation you started begins to flag.

Start asking the girl about herself and keep the conversation focused on her situation.

Don't be afraid to use a little humour and mock her a little.

Example:

You: So what brings you down her to the shopping centre? Your father needs a box of nails from the hardware section but you got all distracted by all the advertisements for new shoes am I right? Daddy is going to be waiting a while isn't he?

Her: (Laughs) No I'm just hanging out with my friends, we might try on some clothes, get something to eat and then see a movie.

Now what do you do?

Simple. You have just learned she has friends, she likes clothes, she likes food and she likes movies.

These are called "hooks." And everytime a girl talks she is giving out these hooks that give you a chance to keep the conversation going.

You can now ask her about her friends - how they all met, who is her best friend, have her friends ever done something loyal or mean to her etc etc

You can get her to talk about her taste in clothes - does she likes jeans or dresses, does she like make up, who is her favourite designer, what does she like to wear when she goes out etc etc.

You can ask her about her favourite food, does she like to cook, did she every burn down the kitchen or did she ever get food poisoning etc etc

You can ask her about her favourite movies, does she like action movies or romances or comedies, does she like Brad Pitt or Matt Damon etc etc.

Basically you can start a conversation and keep it going by getting the girl to talk about herself and then shut up and listen to her.

If you are not interested at least act like you are interested.

The girl will want to talk to you and get you to listen to her, to like her and will look for your approval.

Eventually after a few minutes of her talking and you listening she will realise she doesn't even know your name or anything about you.

At that point she will ask you questions about yourself.

If you are talking to a woman do not talk about the following subjects:

Religion
    Violence
    Politics
    Racism
    Sexism

Avoid anything controversial, talk as little as possible about yourself, do not tell her anything rude or embarrasing.

Do not tell her you are a failure with women or you have no friends if that is true.

Try to make her believe she is talking to a guy who likes himself, who is having a fun time and is worth hanging out with.

Tell her what plans you have that evening, that you are meeting friends and tell her funny stories about yourself that will make her laugh but leave a lot of mystery.

5. SEDUCTION

After a girl has been talking to you for more than 10 to 20 minutes it is time to start seducing her.

As you talk to her you should touch her.

When you are talking to people (not just with women) have your arms bent at the elbow and make gestures with your hands as you talk.

That way you can hold their attention.

As you talk to people do not be afraid to touch them lightly on the arm when you both agree on something, when you both find you have shared experience or when you make them laugh etc

Maintain eye contact at all times with a girl and when you touch her lightly on the arm do not look at the position of your hand but maintain eye contact.

Because you are making gestures with your hands, she will barely notice that you touched her.

As you and the girl continue to talk escalate gradually - start off by touching her a few times on the arm, then escalate to touching her on the shoulder.

If she has a ring, ask her about it, which gives you the excuse to hold her hand and give it a gentle squeeze. If she squeezes back or seems to ignore the fact that you are still holding her hand, it means that she is attracted to you.

If she plays with her hair, scratches her neck, flushes, laughs too hard at your jokes and has a kind of dreamy look in her eyes when she looks at you and she touches you back when you touch her, then she is attracted to you.

When she crosses her legs, you should cross your legs, when she takes a sip from her cup, you take a sip from your cup.

You can stimulate arousal by using "weasel phrases" - these are hidden phrases in your speech that turn her on.

EXAMPLE 1:

You: "You know, I saw the most interesting show on the Discovery Channel last night. They were interviewing people who make their living designing attractions for amusement parks like Magic Mountain and Disneyland and Universal Studios. Wouldn't that be a cool way to make a living?"

Her: "Yeah! That sounds so interesting."

You: "Well, anyway, they were talking about the elements that make up the ideal attraction.They said there are 3 parts to the ideal attraction. First, when you EXPERIENCE the ideal attraction, you FEEL A STATE OF HIGH AROUSAL. The ideal attraction makes your heart beat faster, and your breathing gets faster and you just FEEL THAT AMAZING RUSH all over."

Her: "Yeah!"

You: "And then they said that another part to an ideal attraction is - it's fascinating. You just FEEL SO ENTHRALLED that you want to TAKE THIS RIDE (point to your d*ck!) multiple times; as soon as you GET OFF you want to GET BACK ON again."

Her: "Yeah!"

You: "And they said, finally, the most important element, is a sense of overall safety. That even though the attraction make look a little dangerous, you're CERTAIN YOU'RE SAFE... you FEEL SAFE because you realise nothing bad can really happen, so that allows you to FEEL TOTALLY FREE to LET GO AND ENJOY THAT GREAT AROUSAL again and again and again. Can you (squeeze her hand) feel _that_... is pretty close to the way it is?"

Her: "Oooh...yeah!!"

Ok, this pattern has been reported to make women cum, out of the blue, just by reciting it to them Usually though, after you're done with your description, the girl says with a sly smile "Sounded more like having sex" Don't be shocked, don't stiffen up - for she loved it regardless Or rather... exactly because of that And if nothing else comes to mind, you can answer with a confused look at first and then a "Well... now that you mention it".

You: "When you imagine how much fun it is to ride a roller coaster or any other kind of amusement park ride .. Its like as that ride is climbing up and up, you can feel your heart pounding with excitement, you feel you're breathing faster and faster, sometimes you're even gasping and panting you feel the blood rushing through every part of your body and as that excitement and tension is building and building, you reach the top of the ride and then as it crests, you just release it in a flood of excitement, and sometimes you're screaming you're so turned on.

And you know, afterwards I thought to myself, isn't that the totally accurate description of your ideal attraction to another person. You know that kind of wonderful click right there (right in the center of who you are) that just makes you feel totally drawn to this person and on one hand you feel totally safe and totally comfortable like you were meant to know them and as if you've known them forever."

EXAMPLE 2:

This pattern is best when you want to avoid the LJBF (Let's just be friends) technique that girls use all the time to blow guys out.

"I don't know if you'd find me really attractive or that I might be somebody that you can feel really close to... because it doesn't happen with just anyone... you know what I mean don't you? That feeling of closeness that allows you to let go and really be with someone... I'm not sure we could have that... But we might have fun finding out and the very least we might be friends... But it is nice isn't it? I mean when that does happen and you find yourself having all those feelings... inside. You know how that feels don't you? I mean when was the last time you felt that way? Really intense... inside... and down below… and as you think about it have you noticed you can get some of those feelings back now! But you know I find you really attractive but I don't want you to sleep with me... I'm not even going to ask you... because its your decision... and any way I'm not sure you can make me want you... but its nice to think about it isn't it? And I'm sure you'll find what you really want... eventually but until then we can have some kind of closeness… because I don't want to sleep with anyone who doesn't really want to sleep with me... 100%. But we can be friends can't we?"

This stuff sounds stupid because guys don't talk like this to other guys.

Remember however that girls talk about their feelings and emotions a whole lot more.

You see guys love porn and they get turned on by the sight of naked women.

Girls are not so much interested in good looking guys as guys who turn them on emotionally.

This is why these patterns and are extremely powerful and will get a woman wet right there and then.

6. GOING FOR THE KILL

This is the part that can screw up all the hard work you have been doing.

At some point you are going to have to get the girl's number. If you have met her in the day time she will probably be going to work or meeting friends or some other stuff so after you made a friendly interruption to her day she must be going.

You must give her a reason to see you again and that is where the situation based conversation comes in which oils the number request nicely.

If you have found out she likes movies, fashion, animals, stamp collecting etc etc you can mention that cinema where the movie is showing, the zoo where you saw the Siberian Tiger or the World Stamp Collecting Convention that you and her could both go and see.

You arrange to go out and you get her number.

Do not ask "Can I have your number?"

Instead say "You should give me your number" which her unconscious mind will interpret as a command.

Do not ask "Can I buy you a drink?"

Instead say "By me a drink and I'll see about buying you one if you prove to me that you are a nice girl."

Do not ask "Do you want to go see a movie?" or "Do you want to go to a fancy restaurant?"

Instead say "We should get together and see a movie" or "There's this fancy restaurant I know where we should go tonight."

By telling her what you are doing you come across as a man with a plan.

If you ask you come across as a wuss.

If you have got her number and you have arranged to go out it is time to get a kiss.

If she does not show she is ready yet you should talk some more and continue the touching I already described.

If you touch her earring rings or she lets you put your hands in her hair, you can kiss her.

What you do is:

(a) run the outside of your finger down and across her cheek to her chin while maintaining eye contact and just kiss her.

(b) when you notice she is giving you a dreamy look, tell her "You are thinking about kissing me."

This has three possible outcomes:

(1) If she says "No." Tell her "Well you looked like you were" and then move in for the kiss.

(2) If she says "Yes" just kiss her right away.

(3) If she says "Maybe" say "Let's find out" and kiss her.

If you use (b) you are almost 100% garanteed to get a kiss.

7. SEX

After you kiss a girl some girls will want to have sex with you right away.

Most will need to meet you for a date.

If you have followed each step correctly without jumping ahead it is very likely you will get a date and she will not stand you up.

If she turns up it means she is attracted to you.

Make sure the date is at night which suggests romance.

If you watch a movie or take her to dinner repeat the same techniques of conversation and touching that I already explained in the previous sections when you talk together.

On average it takes about 7 hours (divided over a few days and dates) from the first approach to having sex with a girl.

When you have left the movie theatre or restaurant or bar talk to her as you lead to her to the cab or the bus or up the street.

Do not reason with her or she will change her mind about sex.

Use euphemisms "Let's listen to some music" or "Stay just a little while for a drink or a coffee" or "You gotta see my cat doing backflips in my backyard."

When you arrive in the house, let her use the toilet while you put some music on and pour some wine.

Let her sit on the bed and keep your distance before starting the conversation again and touching her followed by some kissing.

When she let's you kiss, become more passionate and lay her down on the bed.

Start by kissing her face and neck, then kissing her neck, then touch her boobs and run her hands over her belly and ass.

Unhook her bra underneath her top before you take off her top. As soon as you get her top off starting sucking her breasts.

Touch her between the legs from behind through her clothing before taking them off.

Stick your tongue in her belly button as you take off her panties and give her oral sex straight away.

After that it has gone beyond the point of return and she will completely surrender to sex even if she is the most obedient preacher's daughter.

If at any time she tells you to stop, simply go back one step or two and start all over again taking it gently and slowly.

That's it.

That's how it is done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

Dear god. I thought this was a psychology forum, for debating topics in psychology.....not for coming up with simplistic seduction formulae.

As a woman, I wouldn't last through the scene described above - I'm afraid my rather pointy-toed shoe would have to be removed surgically from his rectum.
    Instead say "You should give me your number" which her unconscious mind will interpret as a command.
    Her conscious mind will interpret this as a command, as it is an order, and her unconscious mind will brand the speaker as an insufferably arrogant idiot.

But >cough< I'm only a psychologist. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,174 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

poisonated wrote: »
    If attraction varies between cultures. How do we begin to find someone attractive...(if that makes sense). Can we teach ourselves to find someone attractive?
    Biological triggers(hip waist ratio/symmetry/etc) + culture(what the culture finds attractive) + attraction history(opposite(or same) sex attachments in childhood) + availability(people tend to go for people of equal attractiveness) = attraction ?

Yea I lolled at the pickup artist stuff myself :D. Though if one could avoid the BS could it have some sociological/psychological value because of its popularity? Lots of men are buying into it and a huge resource of experience is out there where these men report on success or failure. Of course self reporting is highly dubious, but I have wondered if some useful data might come out of it underneath the noise and BS? Even if it's just showing a social disconnect with a lot of men.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Biological triggers(hip waist ratio/symmetry/etc) + culture(what the culture finds attractive) + attraction history(opposite(or same) sex attachments in childhood) + availability(people tend to go for people of equal attractiveness) = attraction ?

Pretty much, I'd agree, though not my area of expertise. I'd say that people may go for more attractive people but tend to end up with those of equal attractiveness. But that's just averages anyway and we all know of examples of couples where one is much more attractive than the other.
    Yea I lolled at the pickup artist stuff myself :D. Though if one could avoid the BS could it have some sociological/psychological value because of its popularity? Lots of men are buying into it and a huge resource of experience is out there where these men report on success or failure. Of course self reporting is highly dubious, but I have wondered if some useful data might come out of it underneath the noise and BS? Even if it's just showing a social disconnect with a lot of men.

Hmm. Well, I work with people who are socially isolated and often they are socially isolated because their social skills are almost non-existent. So we do a lot of teaching social skills. These pickup skills seem to me to give men the courage or confidence to get started on a relationship - but god help anyone who truely believes in them, because they are greatly lacking on the maintaining a relationship skills, or even seeing the opposite sex as human.

Nice to see you here Wibbs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

There is a lot of BS but sometimes I wonder. Smoke and fire, that sort of thing. I've seen a few friends use the "moves" out and about a few times, seemed to work for them.

JuliusCaesar, did you consider JuliaCaesar as a username option? ;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,174 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Pretty much, I'd agree, though not my area of expertise. I'd say that people may go for more attractive people but tend to end up with those of equal attractiveness. But that's just averages anyway and we all know of examples of couples where one is much more attractive than the other.
    Maybe as usual the outliers or apparent outliers are where its at interest wise? I recall reading studies where pictures of long term couples were taken and other people were asked to rate on just physical attractiveness. In most cases "10's" were with "10's" and "5's" with "5's" etc. When it went a bit sideways and more usually went sideways with say female "8's" were with male "4's" the social power of the man(usually but not always financial) was what raised his number. Interestingly where male 8's were with female 4's they didnt ask questions or seek answers.

Hmm. Well, I work with people who are socially isolated and often they are socially isolated because their social skills are almost non-existent. So we do a lot of teaching social skills. These pickup skills seem to me to give men the courage or confidence to get started on a relationship - but god help anyone who truely believes in them, because they are greatly lacking on the maintaining a relationship skills, or even seeing the opposite sex as human.
    Agreed 100%. It's the degree of social isolation that interests me as a layman. Ok you can have a person with severe social isolation and lack of social skills. Which must be truly crippling and bloody painful for a social animal like ourselves. They're at one end of the scale. At the "norm" we have relatively socially balanced individuals. What interests me is the low level social isolation.

IE kinda like not so much those people who are clinically depressed, but those who may have a low level depression that while debilitating, doesnt debilitate them enough to be recognised in everyday life. The undiagnosed and untreated people, often men in this case, that pass under the radar but may be, I dunno, missing out on living a life they deserve? Now I would be uncomfortable about the use of the words "undiagnosed" and "untreated", as for me anyway I would fear labels like that. More to the point the possible over medicalisation of that.

The popularity of this PUA meme and community indicates to me that there are a large number of otherwise "normal" men who may be fine in other aspects of life, but who feel in need of help in what should be one of the simpler aspects of life. Is it a low level issue? Is it just a male version of the Cosmo front page entitled "how to find the right man?". Or is it the emergence of some deeper psychological malaise?

Nice to see you here Wibbs!
    I lurk quite a lot :o The Freudians are thinking "ah ha!" the Jungians are thinking "yep figured that", the CBT'rs are thinking "Oh jesus, life's too short, think positive thoughts".. :D
    Valmont wrote:
    There is a lot of BS but sometimes I wonder. Smoke and fire, that sort of thing. I've seen a few friends use the "moves" out and about a few times, seemed to work for them.
    Yea exactly Valmont. Some of this stuff does work. Sometimes counterintuitively. That's what interests me. OK the "You should give me your number" bit. Written down it sounds crass and overbearing, but among the PUA guff posted, that one is more likely to work IMHO and IME. Say it with a smile, not menace nor in an apologetic fashion and it will work better than "can I have your number".

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭33% God

From a sociobiological perspective, ya culture influences what people find attractiveness, but it varies around an underlying set of biological standards. Averageness of features, body ratio, axial symmetry and masculine features (when she's ovulating, feminine when she's not).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭hotspur

I learnt something from this thread...JuliusCaesar is a woman :)

If one were ever to do an experiment on the issue I'm 90% sure that the success of pick up artist techniques can be explained almost entirely by number of attempts. PUAs seem to hit on a very large amount of women, I reckon all the nonsense techniques are just that - nonsense - and that it is the number of women they talk to / chat up / ask out that accounts for any success they have.

hotspur wrote: »
    PUAs seem to hit on a very large amount of women, I reckon all the nonsense techniques are just that - nonsense - and that it is the number of women they talk to / chat up / ask out that accounts for any success they have.

Albert Ellis (the originator of Rational Emotive Behavior Therapy) overcame his fear by asking 100 women out.
    Even though he didn't get a date, he reported that he desensitized himself to his fear of rejection by women.

(I'm a bit intruiged at the reaction to the 'revelation' of my gender....what's that got to do with anything? And does it change the way I'm regarded here?)

Albert Ellis (the originator of Rational Emotive Behavior Therapy) overcame his fear by asking 100 women out.
    Like a phobic being desensitised by over exposure to the trigger? So the fear is lessened and the numbers go up. A good result is bound to follow. Even if the proscribed PUA technique(tm) is utterly daft. Women make up 50% of the population and 100% of the target group. So even the daftest approach is bound to succeed over time and numbers involved.
    (I'm a bit intruiged at the reaction to the 'revelation' of my gender....what's that got to do with anything? And does it change the way I'm regarded here?)
    Well I knew and I was just lurking :p:D But it must have some effect? For a good while quite a few thought I was a woman(check the boards wiki on me and I still am :D). When it was clear I wasnt, some at least regarded me differently. Which did interest me TBH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Darlughda

OMG, Diehardfan1 have you ever been with a real woman in real life?!

I loved your tips about well fitting clothes, posture but then it went all stepford wives and some kind of corny frat style 'how to be a womanizer' kinda creepy list.

I'm only interested in men who are real.
    Men who make mistakes, blush and reveal the complex aspects of their personality. Men who can talk about real issues like society, violence, religion and politics. Yes when I first meet them.
    Fair enough thats me I am not a vaccous person who hangs out in shopping centres looking at shoes (well, okay now and then), but if I came across a player like the scenario you described, I would have no hesitation in pulling him down to size.

First and foremost, a man who has the courage to approach me will have my respect for his courage. If he is genuine,then I will be interested in a date. I seek no person's approval and if he is trying to play that card I and many other women would smell that a mile off and run for the hills from his manipulative learnt fake charm!

Yeah, am also in shock JC is a Lady!!!

I hope for PUAs their hit rate is better than his, 1 date out of 100 and then she didn't turn up if I recall correctly.

There's a whole literature in cyberpsychology on gender switching usernames online. Mind you I haven't read it, read some stuff on gender switching with online poker is about it.

But no, I can't imagine it would change the way you are regarded, but people do make assumptions about people's gender in fora.

More interestingly, I wonder is there any or much research done on username choice online?

Not at all. I had simply presumed you were male because of your username.

edit: I thought Wibbs was a woman for a very long time.

Now I'm wondering if my avatar look feminine.

More interestingly, I wonder is there any or much research done on username choice online?
    Yea that would be an interesting area to look at. When people can wipe the social slate clean as it were, what decisions they make at that point could prove interesting as I say.
    Valmont wrote: »
    Grrr :mad: :D. Perception is everything and without other cues online personas can confuse. On so many levels. Again I would say look at the outliers. The extreme may pave a better path to the middle. Why are some peoples personalities and genders confused with the reality kinda thing? In my case I think some got sidetracked because I seemed to know more about interpersonal relationships to a degree outside what was expected of being male. Or at least my focus came across more along those lines. Without other cues it was assumed that was a more feminine area of expertise?

Not at all. I had simply presumed you were male because of your username.

Now I'm wondering if my avatar look feminine.

Emm, wouldn't worry bout it Valmont, that is definetely a sperm in yer avatar, besides which who could forget the famous Seducer from Dangerous Liaisons?

Grrr :mad: :D. Perception is everything and without other cues online personas can confuse. On so many levels. Again I would say look at the outliers. The extreme may pave a better path to the middle. Why are some peoples personalities and genders confused with the reality kinda thing? In my case I think some got sidetracked because I seemed to know more about interpersonal relationships to a degree outside what was expected of being male. Or at least my focus came across more along those lines. Without other cues it was assumed that was a more feminine area of expertise?
    The bolded point and your mod status in the ladies lounge were what I based my idea on; not that I ever read much of what is posted in there anyway. It's a funny thing really, having people mix up your gender. I wouldn't feel bad; at least it doesn't happen in real life!

your mod status in the ladies lounge were what I based my idea on;

But seriously, Watches and Timepieces gives it away!

As for myself, I'm very interested in Ancient Rome; ALL of Julius' daughters would have been called Julia! The status of women was pretty low...

Now back on topic everybody! Attraction!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭Jake LeMotta

Attraction, for a male is, the degree of masculinity, it's projection, the degree and means of projection - and concealing or re-directing it if you wish not to attract someone.

Hell, scrap that last post.
    This is attraction right here.

Females are insecure by nature. Males are secure and confident.
    A female wants a male to provide her with this security by being with him - feeling she is "his" girl and thus drawing from the security and self assurance/confidence etc that he has.

Males want a girl to love, for companionship, so on.
    In order for this to occur they must find her attractive - physically and as a person.
    The more attractive/feminine she is, the happier he will be with her.
    The more confident/self assured/etc -basically, the more security he can provide for her and the more secure she can feel wit him - the happier she will be with him.

It think this is demonstrated pretty well by looking at any couple
    l35cd6d9a0000_1_27491.jpg
    See the way the girl latches onto him - like she needs him for that security.
    The guy is just happy to have a girl on his arm, for the companionship and whatnot.

Why you don't really see attractive guys with less attractive girls.
    She knows that he's gonna be looking beyond her and so she can never really feel secure with him, never really draw from the security he has.

But you see less attractive guys with lovely girls quite a bit - cause she can be secure with him, at least to some degree, and he's delighted to have such a girl for companionship.

Think about it closely. This theory explains any number of things.

This may be an interesting little addendum to the above.

Ever notice when you have a girlfriend, it's like girls just seem to find you more attractive.

And when you loose that girl, those sames that found you attractive seemed to be turned off or something.

You hear guys banging on about it all the time.

The reason for this is as follows:
    When a guy has a girlfriend, the vibe he gives off is one of authority and masculinity, because he's basically looking out for this girl, providing her with that security, making her more confident/self assured etc.

Usually guys walk around like their desperate for a girl, desperate for that companionship etc - like they're the ones who are insecure and needy.
    And that's the ultimate turn off - as they can't provide for the insecure, when they are the insecure.

But with a girlfriend, your giving off this vibe, and that's attractive to the other girls, and that's why they pay you so much more attention.

• Registered Users Posts: 284 ✭✭Cinful

If one were ever to do an experiment on the issue I'm 90% sure that the success of pick up artist techniques can be explained almost entirely by number of attempts.
    Playing the odds.
    I reckon all the nonsense techniques are just that - nonsense
    More suitable for AH humor.
    Females are insecure by nature. Males are secure and confident.
    Broad sweeping stereotype? Behavior skewed abnormally by gender? Such behaviors are distributed normally by gender; i.e., females range from insecure to secure, with extremes evident at opposite ends of the curve, with most falling towards the population mean in between? Same for males? Are there differences between the population distributions for males and females by culture? Probably. Contexts are also important? But claiming absolutes as in the above quote is problematic.

Cinful wrote: »
    Playing the odds.

More suitable for AH humor.

Broad sweeping stereotype? Behavior skewed abnormally by gender? Such behaviors are distributed normally by gender; i.e., females range from insecure to secure, with extremes evident at opposite ends of the curve, with most falling towards the population mean in between? Same for males? Are there differences between the population distributions for males and females by culture? Probably. Contexts are also important? But claiming absolutes as in the above quote is problematic.

I think some of that is intended to be confounding - in lay mans terms, all I know is this.
    A male treats a girl like he's going to make her his - to be brash yet accurate - like he would make her his bitch (do not interpret as "treat her bad"), and she's all his, providing she wants him of course. If he's secure/self assured/confident/alpha, then she will.

Females, being female (do I need to explain?), are less dominant than males (whether secure or insecure in themselves), they're programmed to be drawn to the dominant male for the security of belonging to someone dominant.
    Just like males are drawn to the cute/attractive female, the one he can love most - that most companionship can be drawn from.

Of course I'm open to contradiction - in a coherent fashion.

T
    The reason for this is as follows:
    When a guy has a girlfriend, the vibe he gives off is one of authority and masculinity, because he's basically looking out for this girl, providing her with that security, making her more confident/self assured etc.

Usually guys walk around like their desperate for a girl, desperate for that companionship etc - like they're the ones who are insecure and needy.
    And that's the ultimate turn off - as they can't provide for the insecure, when they are the insecure.

But with a girlfriend, your giving off this vibe, and that's attractive to the other girls, and that's why they pay you so much more attention.
    Or women's selection criteria are subtly different to mens. They have more to lose reproductively betting on an unknown quantity. They may be physically endangered by the opposite sex more often than a male. They are reproductively significantly more vulnerable than a male, where reproductive choice may be removed(rape). They have more to lose socially by wrong reproductive choices. This may be culture, but personally I would believe biology is at play too.

A male preselected by another female, makes better sense. He's passed another woman's "test" for both safety and reproductive health. Certainly when compared to a wallflower she may know nada about. Plus it could be even simpler than that. A man with an existing sexual partner could just be more physically, socially and psychologically fitter than a man without. Take an extreme. A man who has had say 10 longish term sexual partners by 30, compared to another man with none at 30. Unless the latter is by personal choice(EG say religious affiliations), then the former is a reproductively more attractive male. Even a man with 100 sexual partners at 30 is a better bet. Maybe not as a long term prospect, but as a reproductively strong gene donor he's more viscerally attractive than the celibate 30 year old. The celibate 30 year old raises questions. Why is he celibate? Rarely by choice, more likely by lack of choice in a sellers market. The 100 guy clearly has choice and may be attractive because of that, but as the opposite extreme, not a good bet to lay one's eggs in that basket.
    Females, being female (do I need to explain?), are less dominant than males (whether secure or insecure in themselves), they're programmed to be drawn to the dominant male for the security of belonging to someone dominant.
    Just like males are drawn to the cute/attractive female, the one he can love most - that most companionship can be drawn from.

Of course I'm open to contradiction - in a coherent fashion.
    It depends entirely on what you describe as dominant. A physically weak man may be more socially dominant than a physically strong man, depending on the environment. A petite woman may be the most socially dominant in a group of men and women. Then look beneath the surface. You could argue that women are more dominant than men, because hetrosexual men have to fight for their social attention and acknowledgement. They're driving the market. Unless you're a movie/rock star, the plainest woman is in more control of her reproductive choices than any averagely handsome man you care to mention. And all of the above is predictated on a very basic socio/psychological model.

[QUOTE\]

Jake, maybe its your use of prejorative terms like 'insecure' that has me rankling, but I can't help thinking that you are borrowing an ideology developed 1900-1950.

In todays cultural norms, a capable, independent, successful woman is most likely to look for an equal partner. They are also more likely to shun the dominant paternalistic male if what they are clashes with the very essence of what he considers his masculinity.

Of course, there are many exceptions and varieties to this, however,
    I think it fundamentally flawed to view women as somehow insecure in comparison to a suppossed security in men.
    I think we have progressed enough in our understanding of emotional strength to see that women are no longer the 'weaker' sex.

Also, in terms of dominance/submissiveness, why is it that nearly every alpha male that I know of adores to be dominated sexually?

A male treats a girl like he's going to make her his - to be brash yet accurate - like he would make her his bitch (do not interpret as "treat her bad"), and she's all his, providing she wants him of course. If he's secure/self assured/confident/alpha, then she will.
    "Bitch" is an unfortunate, pejorative term, that has opposite, conflicting meanings. At one extreme, it suggests the subservience attributable to a metaphorical female dog; whereas, at the opposite extreme it suggests a non-subservient and dominant female.

Although anecdotal, neither I, and certainly none of my educated peers would consider such a reference in positive terms; rather, it would more than likely produce a very negative reaction which would not appear to be subservient in the slightest.

Darlughda wrote: »
    Jake, maybe its your use of prejorative terms like 'insecure' that has me rankling, but I can't help thinking that you are borrowing an ideology developed 1900-1950.
    Or PUA BS, or that notion that holds currency among the Oprah crowd that insecurity/security is the root of all social and psychological ills?
    In todays cultural norms, a capable, independent, successful woman is most likely to look for an equal partner. They are also more likely to shun the dominant paternalistic male if what they are clashes with the very essence of what he considers his masculinity.
    I dunno TBH. Yes it seems logical, but IMHO similar to Jake LeMotta's ideas, I think it's too simplistic. IME its far more complex and fluid than that. I know very strong and capable women who seek out losers. Strong and capable women who seek to find men stronger than they. And of course women who look for an equal(the latter being the most dissappointed I've found, but for different reasons). I would say women and indeed men, will seek out those that trigger sexual attraction first and foremost, regardless of secondary traits or compatibility. Now that attraction may be based on compatibility and game ball if it is, but like I say I've found, more often than not its square peg in round hole that kinda works.
    Of course, there are many exceptions and varieties to this, however,
    I think it fundamentally flawed to view women as somehow insecure in comparison to a suppossed security in men.
    I think we have progressed enough in our understanding of emotional strength to see that women are no longer the 'weaker' sex.
    +1000. Again it depends on the definitions of weaker and insecure and dominant. This changes with culture, age and the individual and social dynamic.
    Also, in terms of dominance/submissiveness, why is it that nearly every alpha male that I know of adores to be dominated sexually?
    They may not be alpha? :D In any case I personally have little truck with alpha beta etc in humans. Its hard enough to work out in other social animals never mind throwing our huge brains and culture into the mix. Its great shorthand for self help books, but beyond that? Not for me anyway. I look at our cousins the great apes and see how the "alpha" can be cuckolded on a regular basis. Given that the alpha status is all about reproductive success, the term even in more obvious settings can mean little enough. I'm reminded on that score of the habits of certain salmon as they mate. Male salmonids can be very territorial with gravid females. Sometimes a tiny male will sneak in between the "alpha" salmon and the female and unseen impregnate some of her eggs. Less energy expended in growth or fighting for position and yet still gets his DNA away. He wins, yet he's the runt of the litter.

Even though the question of attractiveness has dogged psychology and given rise to a great number of theories and studies, though the question is one that is given attention by a number of fields and specialisations (Sociobiology, Biological Psychology, Social Psychology, Evolutionary Psychology etc): Jake has the answer. He must let all the leading theorists know immediately! Their work is done! :rolleyes:

"Bitch" is an unfortunate, pejorative term, that has opposite, conflicting meanings. At one extreme, it suggests the subservience attributable to a metaphorical female dog; whereas, at the opposite extreme it suggests a non-subservient and dominant female.

Although anecdotal, neither I, and certainly none of my educated peers would consider such a reference in positive terms; rather, it would more than likely produce a very negative reaction which would not appear to be subservient in the slightest.

Okay, point taken. "Bitch" obviously sounds a little derogatory - but the fact of the matter is that a female being a female, wants to belong to a male - be his lady, as obvious as that sounds.
    She doesn't want to be his man...

And it is in the nature of the female to be more timid and more "feminine" obviously, than the male.
    Testosterone is a potent hormone that imbues aggression and the will to dominate effectively. Females don't have this - males do.
    Therefore the male takes the leading role, as such, in the relationship.
    When approaching a female - the point I was making was - it's important to take this leading role.
    That doesn't necessarily mean that you have to be very loud and outspoken and project an macho persona.

IMHO it simply means the male should recognize that he is approaching the female with the frame of mind that he is "the man". And not to act like a woman basically.

There's this very crude saying, I find it amusing, but it's very relative to the point I'm making:
    "Don't be a pussy or you'll never get any pussy".

Effectively what it means is - if you want to form a relationship with a woman - be the man, take the leading role that you were genetically programmed to take.
    But it's effectively projected in day to day activity if you simply think, when approaching a girl, that you should make her "your bitch".

As regards - "what it alpha".
    My view of it is as follows.

Being masculine - which consists mainly of being sure and confident in yourself.
    This will occur, I find, when your sure of what you do as a person. Effectively, when your sure of your place in the world.

When this occurs, then your less likely to feel intimidated or undermined by the confidence or projected persona of others - other males mainly.
    (Although I do find that when someone enters the realm of what your confident in/your niche, and appears to be equally or more confident in it, there is often a competitive edge introduced between the two - often times followed by mutual respect)

Of course, we're animals effectively, so masculinity also encapsulates the physical dominance factor.
    But it's more the projection of potential physical dominance - which stems mainly from self belief - than the dominance itself, that conveys the macho/alpha persona.

I think Slusk has himself a bit of competition :)

Actually, scrap that last post.

Being alpha (strength) is the ability to maintain your presence of mind (composure, confidence) in any given situation/circumstance.
    However, I believe being considerate, clever as well as strong, plays a large part in ones ability to do this.

i.e. Confronting an intimidating situation while maintain P.O.M.

e.g. dealing with an intimidating individual.
    Conveying to a female you find her attractive, etc.

Further speculation:

1) Strength (alpha'ness..?) commands respect and is attractive.

Complete lack of it communicates disrespect and is repulsive, often to the extent where it inspires disgust and dislike - often with the intention to rid that person entirely from one's presence (human nature - eradicate the weak?)

2) The person who prevails in terms of alpha'ness :confused:, will often be in a position where he/she can manipulate the situation with a means to their own ends.

e.g. The stronger guy can make the weaker guy succumb to his demands.
    The male, in a case where he can maintain a greater presence of mind than the female, can... I dunno - score her, I guess.

3) The strength itself is derived from self belief, generated from overcoming particular challenges.

4) In a case where one individual feels his strength or alpha degree does not match up to anothers - they feel threatened or undermined by the superior alpha individual, he/she may be prone to insecurities and may make attempts to confront, attack or attenuate by some means and to some degree the person in question, as a means to relieving these insecurities.

Jake, can you not see how this alpha business is an incredibly reductive account of social interaction? Surely there are a myriad of other factors at play at any given time.

Yes of course - as you say, in terms of social interaction, there are many other factors at work.

However, IMHO the fact still remains that being "alpha" means your attractive as a companion for same gender and a mate for opposing gender and other factors are fairly secondary to that.

But that's just the way it seems to me - if someone can correct that view and provide an explanation to the situation as it really is, I'm all ears.

Effectively what it means is - if you want to form a relationship with a woman - be the man, take the leading role that you were genetically programmed to take.
    This perspective is paternalistic, and outdated in our postmodern, westernized world, especially with university educated women.

I would assume that the 150 million women in the US would be normally distributed between leading and following behavior in a relationship, with most falling towards the population mean; i.e., the mean approximating equality.

Case in point, there have been major demographic shifts in the United States in the past decades that demonstrate women are preparing themselves for leadership roles in business in greater numbers than men. For example, according to The Chronicle of Higher Education, there are now more women enrolled in US university business degree programs than men. These university degree programs prepare them for professional and managerial positions, not clerical support positions.
    But it's effectively projected in day to day activity if you simply think, when approaching a girl, that you should make her "your bitch".
    Is it coincidental that you used the term "projected" when continuing to insist on using the pejorative "bitch" metaphor?

I would assume that the 150 million women in the US would be normally distributed between leading and following behavior in a relationship, with most falling towards the population mean; i.e., the mean approximating equality.
    Why do you assume this quality would be normally distributed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Jake, I don't think you clearly state it in the above posts, can I ask where are you developing these theories from? What school of though are you basing these premises on?

This perspective is paternalistic, and outdated in our postmodern, westernized world, especially with university educated women.

Case in point, there have been major demographic shifts in the United States in the past decades that demonstrate women are preparing themselves for leadership roles in business in greater numbers than men. For example, according to The Chronicle of Higher Education, there are now more women enrolled in US university business degree programs than men. These university degree programs prepare them for professional and managerial positions, not clerical support positions.

Your referring specifically to the US. Recognized as the "land of dreams" - would be more accurately referred to as the "land of the weird and wonderful where anything can happen".
    I doubt there's many other countries that could claim those figures.

Sure I'll believe those quotes as regards women taking a greater number of leadership roles.
    There's a saying that's become pretty much synonymous with these "go-getter" american female types, and that's that they have achieved everything except femininity - just look at Sarah Palin!

Regardless, I'm making the point that women take the subservient role in a relationship. As far as their leadership roles in the work environment go - I don't see why the two are necessarily mutually exclusive?
    Is it coincidental that you used the term "projected" when continuing to insist on using the pejorative "bitch" metaphor?

Touche :D

Odysseus wrote: »
    Jake, I don't think you clearly state it in the above posts, can I ask where are you developing these theories from? What school of though are you basing these premises on?

Just personal experience generally.

As the metaphor goes "everyone wants the master".

They all loved me when I had that belt wrapped around my waist, but when Sugar Ray toppled me in our ultimate bout, all them nuthuggers just jumped off the bandwagon and I was just another Joe.

(Note to mods: Just to clarify, describing the experiences of my alias is simply a light hearted way of explaining my point - if it's a case where it's being misconstrued as trolling :) )

Well, Jake, this is the Psychology forum, in the Science section. We don't generally debate on the basis of what we think. We tend to like EVIDENCE here, and to debate theories.

After Hours may be a better forum for you to promulgate your views - though I'd love to see what the ladies in the the Ladies Lounge make of them!

Your referring specifically to the US. Recognized as the "land of dreams" - would be more accurately referred to as the "land of the weird and wonderful where anything can happen".
    I doubt there's many other countries that could claim those figures.
    well in ireland more women are becoming doctors. To the degree that it was considered a bit of a worry that the balance is going the other way. More women graduates in general. Not just in the US.
    There's a saying that's become pretty much synonymous with these "go-getter" american female types, and that's that they have achieved everything except femininity - just look at Sarah Palin!
    Oh right yea, Sarah Palin. The married mother of five that's hardly un feminine and ran for vice president? Baaaaad example
    Regardless, I'm making the point that women take the subservient role in a relationship. As far as their leadership roles in the work environment go - I don't see why the two are necessarily mutually exclusive?
    Only in "alpha male PUA" speak.

As the metaphor goes "everyone wants the master".

They all loved me when I had that belt wrapped around my waist, but when Sugar Ray toppled me in our ultimate bout, all them nuthuggers just jumped off the bandwagon and I was just another Joe.

(Note to mods: Just to clarify, describing the experiences of my alias is simply a light hearted way of explaining my point - if it's a case where it's being misconstrued as trolling :) )

You using psychological language, I'm asking which modality are you taking your understanding of these concepts such as unsconscious, projection etc from?

Hmmm... I think there has been a confusion between being alpha and the projection of its persona.

I'm a huge combat sports fan, so forgive me for using these analogies, but Mike Tyson was a prime example.
    Sure, he was an alpha male, amazing sportsman, but he projected this menacing presence as a means to accentuate his masculinity.

Oftentimes this is done with males as a means to compensate or cover up for something they feel is a shortcoming in their character - shortcomings in their masculinity effectively.
    If anyone cares to, watch the Tyson Vs Louis bout. As the fight wears on (alot of Tysons bouts didn't go past the early rounds) notice the reduction in Tysons menacing demeanor and the effectively the emergence of the female aspect to his character - the aspect he attempts to cover up by projecting this menacing demeanor.

I'd like to elaborate more with this analogy but I know I'll just start rambling so I'll leave it there.

In reference to the above quote, these supposed alpha males - who I'm sure project a very macho persona, enjoy being dominated sexually; perhaps they enjoy endulging in this female side to their character in this situation as it is an aspect that they obviously attempt to strenuously repress in so many other situations.. ?

67554-sarah_palin_vpilf.jpg

I'm sure Palins husband enjoys being sexually dominated.. sucks for him if he doesn't, cause I don't think he has choice.
    You using psychological language, I'm asking which modality are you taking your understanding of these concepts such as unsconscious, projection etc from?

There's a modality, which I'll attempt to explain shortly.

Well, Jake, this is the Psychology forum, in the Science section. We don't generally debate on the basis of what we think. We tend to like EVIDENCE here, and to debate theories.

Jake, unless you have some psychological backing you will have to debate this in another forum. Please come up with the goods or go elsewhere, or I will have to take action. JC

Hey bro - apologies, I think I'm being a bit slow on the uptake here.
    If you don't mind - in absolute layman speak - could you tell me what information exactly are you asking me to provide?

Could you possibly reference a couple of my points and give an example of the type of information that's being sought?

Hey bro - apologies, I think I'm being a bit slow on the uptake here.
    If you don't mind - in absolute layman speak - could you tell me what information exactly are you asking me to provide?

Could you possibly reference a couple of my points and give an example of the type of information that's being sought?

Jake, just come with me now over to After Hours before bad things happen.;)

lol - uh oh, gotcha bro :)

Actually, I'm just gonna run the risk of getting banned here and try and make an attempt to explain the school of thought that my opinions of projection are based on.

When we communicate, we do so on a conscious or subconscious/instinctual/intuitive level.

When one is communicating feelings, such as attraction, dislike etc, it is most effectively done through instinctual communication, as oppose to conscious - as conscious would lend itself to a conscious reaction i.e. possible confrontation/dismission etc.

This instinctual communication does not mean that we're not conscious of what were projecting, but just projecting it in such a way as it is interpreted on an instinctual level - that is, communicating our feelings in such a way as they are interpreted instinctively.

Example:
    You want to convey to a girl you find her attractive.
    You could look her in the eye and tell her straight up.
    As this is conveyed and interpreted on an entirely conscious level, it is demanding to a certain degree and therefore awkward, leaves little scope for consideration of the proposition (as it puts one "on the spot" to a certain degree), and demands an immediate conscious response...

To communicate this on an instinctual level however, we convey it (signals expression, so forth) without making direct eye contact, but enough to show that you are consciously aware of that person none the less.

The mechanics of this and perhaps a more comprehensive explanation - I have made an attempt to explain my theory in the humanities forum.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055916607

Please feel free to ask if there is something you need clarified or expounded upon - hopefully not everything :)

There is another area; in the understanding of the actual conveyances and interaction - using a model similar to the trigonometric circle, I think we can gain a good understanding their mechanics, but I'll just wait to see how acceptable this post is before I try and explain my theory on that topic.

Why do you assume this quality would be normally distributed?
    It is assumed that this leading-following behavioral dynamic is a naturally occurring human phenomenon, can be conceptually defined and operationalized with multiple indicators on a bipolar continuum, and subject to statistical measurement.

If in fact it is a "quality" natural to humans (to use your term), then it is more than likely normally distributed (i.e., Gaussian), and subject to probability estimates provided that there is sufficient size for measurement purposes.

The assumption that such "qualities" are normally distributed in a population of sufficient size is not uncommon in quantitative psychological research, and almost ubiquitous in the fields of demographics, economics, and sociology, as well as the more precise sciences of biology, chemistry, physics, and astronomy.

In the earlier example referenced, the population of 150 million women (rounded for discussion purposes from the 300+ million American population) far exceeded the sufficient size requirement for probability estimates. It discussed only women (*a population parameter), and made the assumption that they would be normally distributed for leader-follower behavior, with most clustering toward the mean of the distribution (i.e., roughly 68% falling plus or minus one standard deviation from the population mean).

Of course, I was making an assumption, and not citing specific empirical studies that would lend support.

References:
    http://www-biba.inrialpes.fr/Jaynes/cc07s.pdf
    http://www.statsoft.com/textbook/elementary-concepts-in-statistics/
    http://dictionary-psychology.com/index.php?a=term&d=Dictionary+of+psychology&t=Normal+curve

*When making this assumption, women were not compared with a population distribution of men in terms of their measurement on the leader-follower behavior (or "quality") dimension; i.e., the population means between women and men may be different.

Actually, I'm just gonna run the risk of getting banned here and try and make an attempt to explain the school of thought that my opinions of projection are based on.
    The old and problematic Freudian perspective of "anatomy determines destiny?" Perhaps with a dash of Durkheim's division of labor?

Reference: http://books.google.com/books?id=Y7DoYG8izKcC&pg=PA84&lpg=PA84&dq=freud+%22anatomy+determines+destiny%22&source=bl&ots=OOYUB-acxS&sig=YnsgZWTu67z_jEA6FyNI5GQKOSY&hl=en&ei=2Q71S6K3BoS0lQf0htS_Cg&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=1&ved=0CBMQ6AEwAA#v=onepage&q=freud%20%22anatomy%20determines%20destiny%22&f=false

Jake you still have not answered my question, it is quite a direct one so it will be easy enough to answer.