Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saving for a deposit on first house - complete novice need advice!

Options
  • 25-04-2010 1:31pm
    Registered Users Posts: 14,275 ✭✭✭✭

Hi everyone well i've made a decision that i want to start saving for a deposit on a house and i have a number of questions since i know absolutely nothing when it comes to the property market, money matters etc so perhaps someone can answer some questions for me

I'm 25, working in the public sector, permanent job, earning 25k per annum.

I have already quite a lot saved and it's all in one account so there's something i need to sort out right away! I was looking at the 35 day notice saving account with Permanent tsb as they are my bank and was going to put a lump sum from my current account into that and then keep adding every month from my pay - but how much should i be putting into that account? I earn 1800 a month so would 500e pm be enough?! I have a car and give the parents money every month (as i'm living at home) and other than that i just need some money for luxuries like clothes, holidays and going out (which i don't do too often) so i reckon 500 would be a good amount or is this crazy? I really have no idea!

What price range should i be looking at for a house/would i be approved for a mortgage?

Please try to put answers in 'layman's terms' - i'm quite thick when it comes to these things lol:D!

Obviously i'm not looking to do this straight away but don't want to be there in 5 years time with house prices going up again. Are house prices expected to go lower then they are at the moment???

Comments