Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saving for a deposit on first house - complete novice need advice!

Options

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

jimpear wrote: »
    Im a full time student and I also have a job neting me around 19k, I have been in and out of the bank recently trying to get tings in order to buy a place of my own. One thing you have to take into account is that the bank may require you to have a certain amount left over each month for your own living expenses. In my case they said I had to have 1200 per month left over after my monthly outgoings were deducted from my monthly income. I'm not sure they like the idea of lending to a 20 year old student. I'm going to remain hopeful.

I'm sorry, but you don't have a chance of getting a mortgage.

1. You are in not a permanent, full-time job.
    2. Banks don't give small mortgages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

AARRRGH, just a question I might put across. How much percent do you reckon a person should save for a house to cover interest rate increases, unemployment, property taxes etc...? I'm looking into the region of 35-40% myself. Take an average house price of what is it now something like 200K-220K?

tech2 wrote: »
    AARRRGH, just a question I might put across. How much percent do you reckon a person should save for a house to cover interest rate increases, unemployment, property taxes etc...? I'm looking into the region of 35-40% myself. Take an average house price of what is it now something like 200K-220K?

It really depends on the person and what sort of job they have.