Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

cycle touring

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

Yeah, whole new fork, 160e and lost a day's riding, bad buzz. Won't be flying with bikes again any time soon if I can help it, at least not without a solid bike box (which is not exactly practical on tour), bike bag and loads of aero-board is just not enough it seems.
    i had my road bike packed in the unbreakable skicon box :p
    when i got it in bilbao the wheel on the box was completely bent and the box cracked makes you wonder how the hell that happened.
    last year going to france i was careful to lock my bike in a secure place on the ferry when i collected it next morning some dickhead bungy cored his manky mountain bike to it :mad: guess theres no where safe.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

I mentioned Shutt Velorapide jersey before, they have a merino mix one on sale at the moment, somebody might find it useful

http://www.shuttvr.com/shop/productdetail/Shutt-Mens-Tour-Jersey/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Anyone got a Dawes Vantage? Can they take front panniers?

anyone ever toured Sweden?

• Registered Users Posts: 41 darrenoconaill

Anyone got a Dawes Vantage? Can they take front panniers?

I have a Dawes Horizon (similar animal). Both have eyelets on the front forks so you should be able to attach a front rack and panniers.

lads is anyone of you using the garmin hcx legent .i just pulled the trigger on one today on amazon.;) thing is i would have no idea how to use it :D:D but what the hell anyway ,can i load free irish maps onto this thing obviously i want it for cycle touring around ireland and getting me to where i want to go :o as in follow that line brother and we will take you there.
    ok so when i get it what is my best option in getting routes or maps onto it .
    thanks lads i'm a geek at heart just like gadgets.:o
    cheers
    fsl

• Registered Users Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

anyone ever toured Sweden?

Met an American girl who'd started off in Sweden last time I was in Switerland. She seemed to have done a lot of touring and loved Sweden, said it was very tourist and generally cyclist friendly and they let you camp anywhere.
    The girlfriend is doing an Erasmus in Finland next semester and wants to tour in Scandinavia so I'll possibly end up escorting her home through sweden and maybe Norway so if you ask again in a few months time I might have some first hand experience, what are you planning anywho?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

Anyone ever toured in Africa, kinda looking at the feasibility of an African loop entering through Morocco and coming home through the nile valley, the middle east and Europe. Trying to figure out which countries are have safe to travel in, which borders are closed and if any of the roads on google maps actually exist.

Anyone know anything about African politics, documentation needed for crossing dodgy borders, vaccinations, coked up militia's or where to buy panaracer tyres in downtown Yaounde?

Met an American girl who'd started off in Sweden last time I was in Switerland. She seemed to have done a lot of touring and loved Sweden, said it was very tourist and generally cyclist friendly and they let you camp anywhere.
    The girlfriend is doing an Erasmus in Finland next semester and wants to tour in Scandinavia so I'll possibly end up escorting her home through sweden and maybe Norway so if you ask again in a few months time I might have some first hand experience, what are you planning anywho?
    sounds like a fantastic trip and your girlfriend to tour with you as well lucky sod :D:D
    i am thinking of going to Montana USA but its just wishful thinking at the moment but with a bit of luck you never know;)
    try our crazyguyonabike for all the African info you might need .

• Registered Users Posts: 308 ✭✭veritable

Hey

I'm planning a tour around Europe, starting April 2012. Plan on camping as much as possible, keeping things cheap.

Anybody interested? Would be great to get a group together.

just bump this thread up, Mods will it be ok for me to keep fell club members here in ireland informed about any camping meets that might come up in the future .
    mind you theres not a lot of us three only but i'm doing me best to get something going here ,basically all it is to get people to meet up at a chosen campsite for a few days or whatever a have the craic,
    if people want to check out the meets page on the fell club website might get a better idea as to what im on about.:cool:
    www.fellclub.org.uk

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,934 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

MOD VOICE: This is acceptable to us

CramCycle wrote: »
    MOD VOICE: This is acceptable to us
    excellent much appreciated .

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 3,976 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

Day 1, Tullamore, 83 miles.
    Left Dublin Friday morning for Lough Boora Lakes / Bog / Heritage site, few miles outside Tullamore, Co. Offaly.
    http://www.loughbooraparklands.com/

83 miles into basically headwind, SW, but as good as. Got a puncture just outside Clane, first puncture ever on the bike. Something I wasn't looking forward to. Alfine 8 and all that ensues. Popped a new tube in got pumping only for the valve to snap off. Brill. Next and last tube in no probs and went back into Clane to "PJ's Cycles" bought a couple of non descript new tubes. Got PJ himself to do a bit of pumping with his floor pump. Part of the deal, no?

On to Boora, the odd shower but fine. This was to be wild camping as I know the Park and used to fish there years ago.
    P1010010-2.jpgP1010009-2.jpgP1010008-1.jpg

Day 2, Saturday. 93 miles.
    Left Boora at 7am. for Virginia, Co Cavan. Campsite.
    Ferbane, Athlone, Edgeworthstown, Granard, Cavan Town and back down the N3 to Virginia, Lough Ramor Camping.
    Well it rained virtually all day, had a "over my left shoulder" wind for most of the day. Not too bad. Saw alot of cars heading down to Mullingar 2 Day with bikes etc. Stepped in off the road a few times from torrential downpours.
    OK, so out of Cavan Town and back down the N3. Puncture!!!!!. Smiled to myself this time. What can ya do? Dab hand at changing tubes now with hub gears. Decided to have a good look at the back tyre. Yep, bald enough and picked out several more flecks of glass. Got thinking, bike bought Jan 2011. Commuter. No punctures. Tyres never changed.
    Going to order Schwalbe Marathons in about 5 minutes.
    So, down to the campsite and jump into the shower and give the arse a good scrub.
    Had fish n chips in town. Milk. That was nice.
    German hippies arrived on site...........P1010016.jpg

A bit of Midland bog,
    P1010012.jpg

Lough Ree looking dark,
    P1010014.jpg
    P1010015-1.jpg

Day 3. Lough Ramor Campsite to Dublin. 60 miles.

..........with a tailwind all the way.
    On the bike at 6:50 and gave it some. Gingerly sitting on the saddle waiting for a flat. Had to happen. Psyching my rear wheel to give out. Never did. Fecker.
    Managed to get on to the M3 for a spell, mistakenly. Missed the turn for the old N3 somewhere the far side on Navan. Got only one beep.

Home.
    image-147223-galleryV9-yvql.jpg

235.9 miles. AV 13.7.

your a howl planet x great report gret photos, i like you set up i'm trying to go lightweigh for the rest of the season :D:D
    tell me what is the campsite like in virgina might pop over ther in the next few weeks i stayed in the one in mullingar very nice,
    anyway well done your a big mile eater i try to keep it at 50to60 miles max but each to there own.;)

Campsite is fine. Owner knocked a quid off the price. A gesture. Fair play. Will go back soon. Nice lake view.
    Picking new tyres up tomorrow. Joe Dalys. Nice one. Will take off next weekend then, inshallah.

Planet X wrote: »
    Campsite is fine. Owner knocked a quid off the price. A gesture. Fair play. Will go back soon. Nice lake view.
    Picking new tyres up tomorrow. Joe Dalys. Nice one. Will take off next weekend then, inshallah.
    thanks for that might head to virgina in the next few weeks.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,388 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

image-147223-galleryV9-yvql.jpg

What this about?:eek:

Genealogy Forum Mod

i think planetx left the gas on while he was out enjoying himself:D:D

Schwalbe Marathons fitted this evening. Stunning tyre. Have them on my winter trainer aswell.
    Ready to rock.

Schwalbe Marathons fitted this evening. Stunning tyre. Have them on my winter trainer aswell.
    Ready to rock.
    i had the marathon plus on my sherpa hated them to heavy and not great on wet tarmac.
    but i did get the supreams now these are the business light fast good puncture protection much better tyre IMHO.;)

ok its that time of year again ,planning for next year ,
    anyone got any tours planned please share.

• Registered Users Posts: 395 ✭✭Coronal

Would be very interested in hearing what people have planned too :) I have two ideas in my head at the moment, depending on what kind of time off I have for next year. One is the Raid Alpine, which looks awesome and quite challenging. I'd probably do it self supported on a credit-card load with a race bike. That's basically a week, which I'll almost certainly do.

The other one is longer and I would do with a full touring load on my nice new bike :) Basically the Euro Velo Route 6, starting from Munich (where I live) and finishing at the Black See. This is the route I have for it, which follows the Danube for about 2100 km. I reckon it'd take about a month to do (I'm not Blorg), so it's not something that I can just go and do at the moment, unfortunately. It looks like a really nice entry into longer distance cycle touring, though, especially with the euro velo set up.

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭Sagi

Hi to all the Bikepackers here

I did a tour last year starting in Vienna to the Carparthian Mounatins in Romania, had to stop cycling after 10 days unfortunatly because my knee did not want to go any further, still a great Tour. I took a train for the last piece of my route and spent a few days Hiking through the mountains, pushing up the bike and then mounting it again for the downhills. It was for sure the most exhausting thing I've done in my life, but also a great adventure.
    It was a completely different travelling experiance for me, just stop wherever you want to and to travel on a bicycle just gives you so much more time to really experiance the journey. it's exhausting but also endorphine boosting.
    Plus you can justify extensive beer consumption by your increased need for electrolytes:D
    I definetly want more of it.

I moved to Ireland in August, but unfortunatly my bike was not ready to go until a few weeks ago and as my whole camping gear is still in austria I did not really go on a weekend trip so far. But next spring and summer I want to do some extensive discovery tours on the island. So far my explorations on the bike did not bring my further than kinsale, or the coastline between kinsale and cork, but what I've seen so far motivates me to ckeck out more...

I definetly want to do the eurovelo 1 or at least the route it is supposed to cover as soon as springtime comes, has anybody travelled that route? Is it just regular roads or are there parts without motorized traffic?

Well I'm going to see sooner or later.

some pics from last year

225354.jpg

225355.jpg

225356.jpg

Coronal wrote: »
    The other one is longer and I would do with a full touring load on my nice new bike :) Basically the Euro Velo Route 6, starting from Munich (where I live) and finishing at the Black See. This is the route I have for it, which follows the Danube for about 2100 km. I reckon it'd take about a month to do (I'm not Blorg), so it's not something that I can just go and do at the moment, unfortunately. It looks like a really nice entry into longer distance cycle touring, though, especially with the euro velo set up.

Hi the route along the danube is nice, that's the way i took last year starting in vienna, the way through hungary and serbia is basically flat, you can make a lot of miles a day, there are many campsites and it's never hard to find supermarkets, bikeshops, bars cafes and whatever you need on the way. Many lovely cities.
    The eurovelo 6 starts in france on the coast and goes to the black sea, maybe when I have time I'll do the wohle tour...

great photos sagi but how did you manage to puncture with those tires on that lovely road :D
    only joking thanks for all the info.

Day 1; 85 miles
    Dublin Offaly via Blessington Kilcullen Kildare Portarlington Tullamore and Lough Boora Complex (again!).
    85 miles of SW wind which was a bit of a grind at times. Going across the Curragh was tough, easier going up The Embankment to Blesso. Fish n Chips in Kildare Town slowed me down nicely.
    Anyway down to Lough Boora where I wild camped for the night.......in the rain....messy.
    Some nice "Sculptures" knockin' about the place.
    P1010018.jpg
    P1010017.jpg

P1010019-1.jpg

Day 2; 80 miles.
    Offaly to Cavan, this time a bit more overland off the beaten. Sampled some nice tail wind today in a generally overcast system. The promised scorched never got out of bed. More undulating as you cross country but what the heck.
    Ferbane Mt. Temple Glasson Ballymahon E'town Castlepollard Oldcastle and Lough Ramor Campsite. Took a detour off the road to visit Fore Abbey complex.
    http://www.thejournal.ie/moore-hall-fore-abbey-baginbun-places-to-visit-ireland-814454-Mar2013/?utm_source=shortlink
    630AD, what the heck.......swing by for a look.
    P1010033.jpg
    P1010034.jpg
    P1010036.jpg
    Fresh out of Mint Juleps.....dang!
    P1010029.jpg

I Love Bog,
    P1010025-1.jpg

Day 3; 56 miles.
    On the road at 7am. but got the forecast Sunday night that I'd have a 10mph. headwind........again. Short ride but more wind. Sun came out when I hit Da Blanch probably for the first time all weekend (OK....some sun in the first shots!!) No probs, soon on the couch with coffee & remote.
    WP_000074-2.jpg
    Lough Ramor Campsite.
    WP_000070.jpg

221 miles AV 12.6mph. (355K)

Magic thanks for posting i have a kinds plan to head to virginia at end of month and camp on lough ramor whats it like looks good.was gonna take in Fore as well. anyway great photos the bike is class love the banana trick:D

Hi everybody

Did a 5 day trip rount the Beara Peninsula over the eastertime, Was very nice and exhausting, there are some pictures for those interested.

http://s1315.photobucket.com/user/sagmeise/library/beara?sort=3&page=1

I'm startng to plan my next trip and this time i'll have 14 days in September, i think I will go from Thessaloniki to Istanbul and make a small detour to Ukraine on the way, or I'll start in Sofia, maybe in Bukarest. well I' have not yet quite decided, I think it will be up to where I get the best and cheapest flights.

The destination is going to be Istanbul anyhow I wanted to go there for a long time and never really managed to squeeze it in, so I'm pretty exited about finaly going.

September seems far away at the moment, but time flies by those days and I have to get some stuff for the trip like a lowrider and a set of front paniers, a reasonable gps device and so on.

I'm trying to read a lot of Blogs and Forums looking for Route suggestions and Ideas where to start and go, hopefully I'll make up my mind soon so I can start looking for flights.

if anybody has suggestions ideas or experience in the area, let me know