Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mandatory sentence for attacking gardaí?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

One reason against manditory sentenses for attacking any police force.

http://carlosmiller.com/2010/04/26/and-the-lies-continue-to-mount-in-the-maryland-police-beating-case/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭DarrenMSP

One reason against manditory sentenses for attacking any police force.

http://carlosmiller.com/2010/04/26/and-the-lies-continue-to-mount-in-the-maryland-police-beating-case/

I don't agree what the police did here, they completely over reacted, was no need to attack him but I honestly believe common sense has to come play here at some point.

You don't go running and skipping you to riot police on horse back. It's a stupid idea and more often than not, it will end badly. Police in riot gear are there to stop riots and control crowds. Common sense would be to stay clear of them.

Again (in case it was missed) - I agree the Police are completely in the wrong for attacking him and should be tried in court, but common sense people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭RustyBeanTin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

You know what, I have always wanted to shag a member of an garda siochana
    Load of bollocks. Anything could be considered assault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

It'd be nigh on impossible to assault a Garda out my way - I haven't seen one in these parts for well over a year now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭gino85

i wouldnt support this, ive heard of a few people being slapped around by the cops in the station

and a point against it on the gardai side of things is that if they come up against a hardened criminal that knows about this they will probably go for broke and maybe end a garda's career or even end up killing him from a savage beating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭questioner

considering the average life sentence is about 12 years i think that the proposal is ludicrous, man convicted of violent rape in dublin sentenced to 8 years yesterday.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

look how well the 'mandatory' sentence for drug dealers worked :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 527 ✭✭✭shuvly

Please forgive me for flicking through the posts, but athough the op post is related to guards, us nurses get a bit of crap now and again..and I am in a nurse led unit where most of the nurses wont take the [EMAIL="b@sards"]b@sards[/EMAIL] on..but I did last week..verbal and physical...and although my organisation is supposed to have a "zero tolerance " policy...it's a load of feckin ballix...he complained..but I have him by the bollix with a wittness..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

shuvly wrote: »
    Please forgive me for flicking through the posts, but athough the op post is related to guards, us nurses get a bit of crap now and again..and I am in a nurse led unit where most of the nurses wont take the [EMAIL="b@sards"]b@sards[/EMAIL] on..but I did last week..verbal and physical...and although my organisation is supposed to have a "zero tolerance " policy...it's a load of feckin ballix...he complained..but I have him by the bollix with a wittness..

Good on ya! :mad:

I wouldn't mind having a nurse holding me balls whilst someone watches.

yeah right hun, , but I am non union..stupid I know...especially as have been a union rep in a previous life, but am in a rebbelious phase at the mo... (ah shiite..shut up shuv...)...:)

I wouldn't mind having a nurse holding me balls whilst someone watches.

well darling, as we are in a recession, I am sure that there is someone desperate enough for money that might fill your sack...but you will have to pay for it your usual slaggy way, i.e. on the street....

Typical 'work to rule' Public Sector reply. ;)

Meh...(think I might have used that in the right context.., but it is so SO last year..)..I will never be fotgiven by the ghey parade...:) these smiley feckin thingys annoy the hell outa me..so feck, heres a stupidly contraversial...:rolleyes:...

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Gardai are a useless shower of cúnts. You have to be able to find one first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

No, no I don't.
    PORNAPSTER wrote: »
    Gardai are a useless shower of cúnts. You have to be able to find one first.

Is that the official moderator position?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭RolandIRL

well, i never see a garda walking around in my town so i can't see anyone hitting them :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭yupyup7up

This is a crazy idea. There are many corrupt cops in ireland. I wont paint everyone with the same brush but there are some.
    What if an off duty cop started a fight with me in copper face jacks for example and you boxed the head off him in self defence? is that worth 12 years?

what if a cop has a grudge against you and hits you? can you not defend yourself? crazy idea if you ask me.

whats next? fines for swearing like in the movie Demolition Man? :D

TBH I dunno what the fuck is up with the law in this country between this and the blasphemy law... bunch of ****...

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

k_mac wrote: »
    Is that the official moderator position?
    A personal opinion from personal experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

KevR wrote: »
    I really don't think that the Gardai beating up people is as widespread as some people believe.

Why would they beat you up?

I personally don't intend on ever ending up in Garda custody because I have respect for other people, my country and the law. I can't predict the future but if I do ever end up being in Garda custody for some reason (can't even imagine what) I can see myself being co-operative and non-abusive to the Gardai who are only doing their job. I'm level headed enough to know that being abusive and non co-operative will get me nowhere.

I'm sure there are plenty of people who dish out loads of verbal abuse and are extremely non co-operative when they get arrested. I don't understand why people would think that this would make their situation any better? It's gaurenteed to make it worse. The Gardai, like everyone else, are only human and it's not inconceivable that you might get a slap or two if you push them to the point where they snap. But I certainly don't buy into the idea that they beat people up indiscriminately. So this whole "they will be able beat us up and we'll get sent straight to jail if we defend ourselves" argument is null and void in my opinion.

I don't think all Gardai are perfect, honest, decent people. But most of them are and they are doing a tough job which I wouldn't fancy doing.

Mostly decent well meaning people but like all organisations some bad apples,however they are not the same as the rest of us they have powers that the rest of us dont. They can detain, search, use force,carry weapons, seize property, and it is an offence not to comply with the direction of member of An Garda Síochána so it would be my opinion that an assault by a Garda on a civilian should be a far more serious offence than the other way round.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/garda-assault-case-investigated-anew-481032.html
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055761370
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VCznvywH9G4 http://www.morristribunal.ie/ http://www.tribune.ie/article/2009/sep/06/victims-of-garda-assaults-get-over-500000-damages/