Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rugby/Limerick

• 26-04-2010 4:21pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭

Limerick is rugby mad. Thats great, IF you are into rugby. If, like me, you have no interst in rugby at all, its not so great!
    If you are male and living in Limerick and have no interest in rugby at all, it can sometimes make living in Limerick very boring, as the only subject that everybody wants to talk about is....rugby rugby rugby.
    If you are in the pub and having a nice chat about....anything really, and suddenly, the conversation will eventually turns to rugby and thats it for the rest of the evening.
    Sometimes I think Im the only person in Limerick who is not into rugby.
    Am I?!

• Registered Users Posts: 771 ✭✭✭munstergirl

No i don't think so but there is not much else to do in limerick to socialize except go to the pub. And they are always more packed when munster play.
    I've lost all interest in munster rugby (maybe i've fallen off the bandwagon) :) no idea why?? I couldn't care less if they win or lose ;) all the 10 millions they bring to the city!
    Anyway there are worst things to talk about unemployment, doom + gloom, scumbags, empty shops, people going in the river, think i'd prefer to talk about munster :)

• Registered Users Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Soulcrew09

Lost interest in the whole Munster thing around 2004.
    Too many plastic fans who never played the game going around all dressed the same in cheap sportsgear. Dont get me wrong, I wish them all the best and hope they win every game but im not upset if they dont.

Much prefer Jackman Park on a Friday night an AIL game on the Sat and a good old premiership barstooler session on the Sunday. :)

I guess if you really dont like rugby the town can be a bit like Nuremberg in the 30's.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

Soulcrew09 wrote: »
    I guess if you really dont like rugby the town can be a bit like Nuremberg in the 30's.

That reminds me Soulcrew - I bought the last round back in Nuremberg in the 30's.

- Your shout Son.

Banjobongo most People I'd socialise with are very interested in Rugby but I can't remember any conversation taking over to that extent. You need to get some more interesting Friends!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Stab*City

No i don't think so but there is not much else to do in limerick to socialize except go to the pub. And they are always more packed when munster play.
    I've lost all interest in munster rugby (maybe i've fallen off the bandwagon) :) no idea why?? I couldn't care less if they win or lose ;) all the 10 millions they bring to the city!
    Anyway there are worst things to talk about unemployment, doom + gloom, scumbags, empty shops, people going in the river, think i'd prefer to talk about munster :)

Theres your answer right there..

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

plastic fans who never played the game going around all dressed the same in cheap sportsgear.

ah now! hear! listen! are you saying you have to have played the game to watch it legitimately??

I tried a few times as youngster - with Pres and another club I'm ashamed to name. I was a skinny lad and it didn't work out. I love watching it though. Games spin around quickly and it is very tactical. I think ye are missing out on a great buzz if ye are not into the Munster thing but strength in diversity I suppose.

You are right on AIL though soulcrew. It's more honest and it hurts me to see it decline. We are in danger of having a quarter-full stadium on the northside watching 15 mediocre mercenaries in a decade's time unless that trend is reversed in future.

I said it with a smile, don't know if you can fall off the bandwagon if
    A) never been to new thomond park
    B) don't know the words to fields of athenry
    C) never been inside munster rugby shop

• Registered Users Posts: 26,149 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I would have thought more people in Limerick talk to much about the Premiership teams than of Rugby.

I know absoulutely Sweet Fvck All about soccer and its far too late for me to suddenly wake up tomorrow and pick some worthless team to support to my dying days.

You don't need to know everything about Rugby anyway, I definately don't but wearing a Jersey in a pub on a match day means apparently every drunk in there is an expert and they all want to corner you in the smoking area and ask you all about that one decision/tackle. Bear in mind they may have been teaching themselves this story earlier on to sound savy in case the moment arose.

Supporting Munster is not about being a bandwagoner(not supposed to be anyway), it's supporting your provincial team. You are born into it, so you don't need to understand why the ball can't go this way or that or who the 16th player is you just need to stand up and say "That's my team"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭gaf1983

Too many plastic fans who never played the game going around all dressed the same in cheap sportsgear.

Surely you're joking when you said Munster rugby gear comes cheap?

I wonder how many millions of Deutschmark the Nazi rallies brought into Nuremberg in the 30s to boost their local economy, was the German equivalent of the big local accounting firm writing up glossy reports about their impact on Nuremberg's high streets back then too...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

When I was in Nurmeberg in the 30's we used to sing all of our Munster songs in German.

Felder von Athenry

Durch eine einsame Gefängniswand Ich hörte ein junges Mädchen Benennen Micheal nehmen sie Sie weg Für Sie stahl Trevelyn' s-Mais So konnten die Junge den Morgen sehen. Jetzt liegt ein Gefängnisschiff, wartend in die Bucht.

Niedrige Lüge die Felder von Athenry Wo, sobald wir die kleinen freien Vögel aufpaßten zu fliegen. Unsere Liebe war auf dem Flügel wir hatten Träume und die Liede zum zu singen It' s so einsames ' ringsum die Felder von Athenry.

Durch eine einsame Gefängniswand Ich hörte ein junger Mann Benennen Nichts macht Mary wenn you' aus; Refreie, Gegen den Hunger und die Krone Ich lehnte mich sie laufen ließ mich niederwerfe auf Jetzt müssen Sie unser Kind mit Würde anheben.

Durch eine einsame Hafenwand Sie passte das letzte Sternfallen auf Als dieses Gefängnisschiff segelte heraus gegen den Himmel Sicheres she' ll Wartezeit und Hoffnung und beten Für ihre Liebe in der Botanik-Bucht It' s so einsames ' ringsum die Felder von Athenry.

P.S.

Munster Rugby Jerseys are made out of a horrible, cheap, plasticy type nylon material that is as durable as tissue paper. Just cause they cost a load of money doesn't mean they are not cheap!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Limerick_Lass

I think thats a bit melodramatic IMO :)
    Ok Munster rugby may have taken a grip over Limerick and its great, takes our mind off all the crap thats going on otherwise. The atmosphere after the quarter finals was unreal.
    Plus we all have moments sitting in the pub thinking to ourselves, "get me out of here" when the guys start to analyze the 2006 FA Cup Final for the 10th time, or go about that party you missed again, "the best one ever". ect ect
    Think Munster rugby is here to stay and its a big part of sporting Limerick especially since so many have given up on the hurlers :rolleyes:
    Maybe find a pub thats not rugby associated! I could name a few :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭MissHoneyBun

I find the rugby one of the better things about this county. I'm not even from Munster and am a firm Leinster supporter but I love seeing normal people walking around the city on match days as opposed to the usual lot. The atmosphere it brings is great and I always welcome match days just for the sense of pride and positivity that's around whenever Munster are playing. As a city dweller, the great rugby vibes are very much felt and very much needed. Long may it last.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

banjobongo wrote: »
    Sometimes I think Im the only person in Limerick who is not into rugby.

Dont worry, we are out there, we do exist ;)
    Fair play to the rugby team for puttin Limerick on the map etc, but I couldnt care less if they win or lose, no interest at all, grew up in a school that didnt play it, never followed it growing up, no family history in it and so on. In the City rugby was always huge, but less so in the county so thats probably why I never took to it.

Its another team in red that I follow :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

what annoys me about the whole munster buzz is it over shadows the other great athelets limerick has to offer.....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

What annoys me is this idea that some of the plastics have that rugby began with the Heineken Cup. I remember some middle-aged fella being interviewed in Cardiff after Munster won the Beer Cup for the 1st time and he nearly crying saying "I never thought I'd get to see this day"............... I was thinking "eh? of course you didn't think you'd see this day, the competition only started 10 years ago"

• Registered Users Posts: 16,622 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I'll be honest and say that I take a perverse pleasure in seeing Munster lose.

osarusan wrote: »

Reason?!

And why does it annoy people if someone starts following a sport after maybe being introduced to it by a friend halfway through their life?

This is one thing that annoys me about being Irish mad.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 16,622 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Reason?!
    I'm a pretty nasty person.

Good enough reason i guess :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

I'm a pretty nasty person.

refreshingly honest....i salute you sir/madam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

I don't know, I think it's great we have a successful sports team considering how poor the hurlers and Limerick FC are. I can never understand how grown Limerick men can care about premiership clubs though, honestly, how?

I don't think we'll ever have a team where the majority of players are non-Irish, the IRFU wouldn't allow it happen as it would mean less players for the Irish team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Millie

I wouldn't be a dedicated follower of Munster rugby but it is one of the most positive things this city has to offer.
    The buzz around town on match day and the general feel good factor that the rugby brings is a great thing for Limerick I think.

This thread reminds me of the guy who was standing outside the GAA holding a sign saying "No to Foreign Sports" whilst himself wearing a Celtic Jersey. :rolleyes:

Can't find the picture online.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭concussion

Gold :D

mail.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

Reason?!

And why does it annoy people if someone starts following a sport after maybe being introduced to it by a friend halfway through their life?

This is one thing that annoys me about being Irish mad.gif

Actually the annoying thing about the majority of Irish is only following things because they are popular. You can bet your bottom dollar that if Munster fell from the top table into a Connaught (not trying to be disrespectful here) position that the crowds would dwindle. Its the nature of the beast.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

Berty wrote: »
    This thread reminds me of the guy who was standing outside the GAA holding a sign saying "No to Foreign Sports" whilst himself wearing a Celtic Jersey. :rolleyes:

Can't find the picture online.

why does it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

I can never understand how grown Limerick men can care about premiership clubs though, honestly, how?

You're dead right, if that needs to be explained to you, then you really never will understand.

Limerick should have a buzz about it everyday or at least every weekend.
    Not just cause there is a rugby match on.

Itsdacraic wrote: »
    why does it?

I have a fever at the moment so that's what Im pinning it on. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Roadend wrote: »
    Actually the annoying thing about the majority of Irish is only following things because they are popular. You can bet your bottom dollar that if Munster fell from the top table into a Connaught (not trying to be disrespectful here) position that the crowds would dwindle. Its the nature of the beast.

Thats the same the world over, not just an Irish thing. Success always brings the spoils, that is the way it goes.
    Rugby has always been big in Limerick, long before it turned Pro. It Munster were to struggle as a team, a few may leave but most would not, I suspect.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

I salute you