Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardaí - Cut our pay and we will become corrupt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

PCPhoto wrote: »
    do you know that they have a lot of allowances which simply dont make sense. my main example is the "lanzarotte allowance"

which means they get an allowance to give them money for the overtime they missed while they were on holidays !!!!

You clearly don't know what you are talking about. It's not for overtime missed. It's a partial payment towards the shift allowance they missed while they were on annual leave. It doesn't add up to much at all. It has nothing to do with overtime.
    I dont understand the "Plain Clothes" allowance .... they get paid to buy ordinary clothes which they can wear as part of work if they are required to not use their uniform - whats wrong with using their normal clothes - why do they have to get money to compensate them for not wearing their uniform....apologies to gardai but in my opinion the allowances are too much.

(how many people remember bringing money to school for charity so instead of wearing your uniform you could wear your ordinary clothes)

Because plain clothes doesn't mean "wear anything". They have to dress according to the code.
    I agree that the gardai need to be paid accordingly for the fact that they deal with the scummiest of scum on the streets - but they have a core salary ....overtime ...and then allowance after allowance....I suppose the general population want transparency - when you look at politicians you cant see what they earn due to their "allowances" - the general public is annoyed with the higher section of society giving themselves bonuses/allowances while the rest of us are taxed through the hole.

Again you show you know nothing but what you have read in the papers. Gardaí get a weekly rent allowance to take account of the fact that they have no say over where they are required to work and can be moved accross the country at 4 weeks notice. This means that Gardaí who have a house already will be required to rent in another area until they can get a transfer back to where their house is. They also get a weekly allowance for maintaining their uniform as there is no facility available in the station for this. Gardaí who work weekends and nights get a monthly allowance for this. As is the norm in every job.

I posted the actual figures in another thread but I will repost it here. The gross pay for a garda with 2 years service and no overtime is €650 a week including all weekly allowances. Monthly shift allowances work out at about €65 a week and pension deductions are about €60. Income levy is around €15.
    I'm self employed and have to work 7 days a week to make sure I can pay my bills and cover my debts - I dont own any property.

Gardaí cannot work extra days as there is very little overtime and they are not allowed work in any job where their skills would be useful to them. Most Gardaí are mortgaged up to the gills with their first property. A lot of them are in negative equity and struggle to pay due to the loss of at least 15% of their income in 2 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

I dont understand the "Plain Clothes" allowance .... they get paid to buy ordinary clothes which they can wear as part of work if they are required to not use their uniform - whats wrong with using their normal clothes - why do they have to get money to compensate them for not wearing their uniform....apologies to gardai but in my opinion the allowances are too much.

Well they need clothes for day to day wear, suits for court etc, clothes for searches. Also it is possible for them to have junkies spitting at them and to have to go climbing walls, running through fields etc. Not your normal day to day wear of clothes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭questioner

is there such a thing as a desk duty allowance which entitles you to x amount each year because you are working 9 to 5 and precluded from earning overtime unsoc hours etc?

climbing walls, running through fields etc.

sure thats great craic altogether

questioner wrote: »
    is there such a thing as a desk duty allowance which entitles you to x amount each year because you are working 9 to 5 and precluded from earning overtime unsoc hours etc?

Not that I know of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

I'm self employed and have to work 7 days a week to make sure I can pay my bills and cover my debts - I dont own any property....so with regards to garda allowances for anti social hours .... if you dont want to work shiftwork ...get an office job !! ..... I work whenever I get a call asking if Im available - this sometimes means changing my plans within minutes of receiving a phonecall .......... in my line of work - if you want work you make yourself available at ANY time. (infact I just got a call a few mins ago asking if I'm available for the next 3hrs .... so... thats me outta here.)

You on the Game?.

"Officers engaged in full-time policing administration are paid €5,203 per year to compensate for the loss of other allowances, particularly unsocial working hour allowances"

this is what i was talking about, its about 3/4 the way down the page

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/opinion/2009/1112/1224258653768.html

questioner wrote: »
    "Officers engaged in full-time policing administration are paid €5,203 per year to compensate for the loss of other allowances, particularly unsocial working hour allowances"

this is what i was talking about, its about 3/4 the way down the page

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/opinion/2009/1112/1224258653768.html

Well if the Times says its true it must be. :rolleyes: It'd be news to me if it did exist. Some desk workers are entitled to allowances but these aren't full time desk workers. Their job generally requires them to do a lot of travel around the district or division. Positions such as the crime scene examiners and psv inspectors.

A lot of that temptation is eliminated if they don't have to worry whether or not they can pay the mortgage next month.

Who doesn't worry about paying bills, that's called life tbh. If you don't want to worry about you either have a sh1t standard of living or you earn f loads and have a very modest one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭jonsnow

SlabMurphy, you haven't the slighest idea of anything. Get yourself a job as a teacher, a PDF personel or a guard, and then come back to us. I bet you'll talk less crap then.

Obviously nobody here is a guard, or a member of the defense forces.

"They are over payed" "They get too many extras" "Too much time off"...

The amount of crap said in this thread is simply amazing. Yet have any of ye experienced these jobs? No you haven't. Come back to us when you have to pull a dead body out of a river, or arrive on the scene of a high speed collision, when you are looking at a childs different body parts and trying to figure out what goes where, ye haven't a fcuking clue, so stop with the bullcrap assumptions. Good people...

Madilynn Chubby Jeans, you haven't the slighest idea of anything. Get yourself a job as a taoiseach, a Minister for Finance or a TD, and then come back to us. I bet you'll talk less crap then.

Obviously nobody here is a taoiseach, or a Minister for Finance.

"They are over payed" "They get too many extras" "Too much time off"...

The amount of crap said in this thread is simply amazing. Yet have any of ye experienced these jobs? No you haven't. Come back to us when you have to run a country, or formulate a national budget in the teeth of a recession, when you are looking at a complex and controversial piece of legislation and trying to figure out what goes where, ye haven't a fcuking clue, so stop with the bullcrap assumptions. Good people..

See what I did there.Maybe we should stop putting people who work in certain professions ie.guards/,nurses/ teachers/whoever up on pedestals.Nobody is beyond criticism and its that kind of thinking that says certain groups of people are beyond criticism that has got us into the mess we are in today as a country.