Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Olympique Lyonnais vs Bayern Munich CL semi final 2nd leg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Headshot wrote: »
    Boumsong eh

those were the days

Magical moments indeed. ;)

Ah here.

Taking the piss on Sky now.

Souness: I was more thinking about how Chelsea, Arsenal and Manchester United are sitting at home wondering how they're not here.

Well Graeme, in case you didn't see it, they got knocked the fcuk out. Get over it.

:mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

That's why I never watch Sky's analysis. They always push their own agenda. TV3 might not be up to much but at least Tony can talk about Puel et al.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

What a mind boggling sub. I really hate Puel.

Ush1 wrote: »
    What a mind boggling sub. I really hate Puel.

Who came on? I completely missed that...

Gomis for Cissohko.

Gomis! Have to, have to be getting those on target at this level.

Oooh Bastian. Would've been a lovely goal.

Olic. Dear oh dear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

expected so much more from Lyon

Cris... what a plonker.

wait, i've used that word already on the thread. Let's go with tool this time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,681 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Lyon player off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

Cris gone

He should be applauding himself Cris, he's been probably the worst player on the pitch.

Wow.

Should never have been in a free in the first place and now he gets sent off.

Shouldn't be clapping him either tbf.

shouldn't be clapping him but not in a million years was his tackle a foul.

That_Guy wrote: »
    Should never have been in a free in the first place

I dunno, I think the ref was right tbh. You can't go through the player to win the ball, it's reckless, you could easily take out a standing leg going in like that.

ref is havin an absolute stinker to be fair

I dunno, I think the ref was right tbh. You can't go through the player to win the ball, it's reckless, you could easily take out a standing leg going in like that.

He didn't, he won the ball first.

LOL you always say the same for any sort of hard tackle, witout wanting to sound like a caveman, its a mans game! The tackle was perfect, a textbook example of a good sliding tackle.

Good finish.

Olic 3-0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,391 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

IVICAAAA!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

Mr Alan wrote: »
    shouldn't be clapping him but not in a million years was his tackle a foul.

True. But Andy Gray's argument is ridiculous... That the after giving the foul the ref shouldn't send him off because it was never a foul.

Surely once the ref gives the first yellow card he views it as a foul wrongly or rightly and therefore has to send the player off for dissent.

Andy Gray is wrecking my head... earlier on he was asking whether away goals count after 90 mins or after extra time... WTF... should he not know that?

Game over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Done and dusted.

Hope Bayern win it now.

He should be applauding himself Cris, he's been probably the worst player on the pitch.

No no no. That honor belongs to Delgado.

lol @ Puel waiting till now to make another sub.

He didn't, he won the ball first.

It doesn't matter when and if you win the ball, he's still gone through the player, taken him off his feet and hit him with enough force to break bones. I dunno about ye, but I've gotten carded on the pitch for those type of tackles before.

No no no. That honor belongs to Delgado.

Along with Govou. Think they were having a comp. of who can give the ball away the most.

It doesn't matter when and if you win the ball, he's still gone through the player, taken him off his feet and hit him with enough force to break bones. I dunno about ye, but I've gotten carded on the pitch for those type of tackles before.

You just said you "can't go through the player to win the ball". He didn't.

What you're saying then is that if you win the ball first and any sort of contact afterwards is a booking?

Lot of support tonight for Lyon from neutrals. Didn't understand it really. Was confident Bayern would go through and win the game tonight.

Mr Alan wrote: »
    LOL you always say the same for any sort of hard tackle, witout wanting to sound like a caveman, its a mans game! The tackle was perfect, a textbook example of a good sliding tackle.

No, I say that about those tackles where the tackler goes through the player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

Oatesy23 wrote: »
    Lot of support tonight for Lyon from neutrals. Didn't understand it really. Was confident Bayern would go through and win the game tonight.

Isn't that why people support the underdog?

that Muller is pretty dodgy

Bayern showboating.

No, I say that about those tackles where the tackler goes through the player.
    You're allowed to do that though?

Ivica Olic again!

3-0

Olic hat-trick.

get the **** in there

Olic hat trick. Good header.

Well played Olic, never gave up. Well deserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Total destruction. Bayern have been awesome to watch in the second half. Been provided space, and put Lyon to the sword with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

does anyone know what price olic was to score a hat trick

All that's left now is to fight like mad to get 3rd spot in the league and secure CL qualification for next year. Come summer, Aulas has some serious re evaluating to do.

does anyone know what price olic was to score a hat trick

Could be wrong, but most players were 45-1 on Bet365 I think.

Andy Gray: I'm sure the English teams will be thinking that they've missed the trip because I believe that these two, well not Lyon but certainly Bayern Munich are beatable.

Yes Andy and United, Arsenal, Chelsea and Liverpool are beatable too and that's why they're not fcuking there!!!

/head explodes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

How is Muller an AMF. He can't pass the ball...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Jigga

Can anyone name the last Bayern player to get hat-trick in Champions league?

That_Guy wrote: »
    Andy Gray: I'm sure the English teams will be thinking that they've missed the trip because I believe that these two, well not Lyon but certainly Bayern Munich are beatable.

Yes Andy and United, Arsenal, Chelsea and Liverpool are beatable too and that's why they're not fcuking there!!!

/head explodes

Andy Gray is the sole reason I don't subscribe to Sky Sports UK.

(that and the fact they show no football I'd be interested in that I can't get from other european providers for cheaper.)