Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nicknamed characters in your area

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Back home:

Breadman - Friend of mine who's father used to deliver Bread :pac:

Tom The Hat - Regular in the local who always wears an assortment of hats

Joe Bike - Odd guy who just cycles everywhere at all hours of the night

Suzi Suds - A rough-around-the edges woman.

Bones - Mate of mine, though I've no idea why he's called that! :confused:

Nig-Nog - Another mate who we always rip on for being insanely hairy and dark-skinned (He's not black and he does lap it up. On the web he calls himself that :pac:)

Robocop - One particular, relentless Garda.

Poison Dwarf - A tiny mate of mine who's as rough as a bear's arse. Name suits him to the ground!

Kojack - Another regular friend in the local, he rips on me for my hair and I rip on him for going bald :pac:

Ginga' - One of the lads we class as a ginger though it's probably more strawberry blonde.

Fatboy - Skinny mate who looks japanese despite not having a grain of oriental in his family.

Clit - A mate who once complained how everyone had a nickname except him, so right there on the spot somebody just said "clit", we laughed and made it stick cuz he didn't like it :pac:

Pleb - Dopey but legendary mate, you could write a book on the quotes and ideas that come out of this guy's mouth. He once came up for an idea for a console game - It would be like Modern Warfare 2 where you have to save Rooney in Russia, bring him back to England and then win the Premiership with him :P He was also flummuxed at how nobody ever "invented a jump-through proof window!"

Casper - Mate who has incredibly pasty white skin, we got a better name for him in the end and just called him Muzzla.

Mario - The Italian who runs the chip-shop, that is his actual name but we can't dismiss the obvious Mario Bros. references.

Mad Dog - Absolutley harmless guy, we call him that as he seems to believe he's some sort of wild guy.

Thomas The Tank Engine - Mate who's name is Thomas and is a bottomless pit when it comes to drink. Insanely strong and has hands like shovels!

Citizen Keane - Cuz his last name is Keane :pac:

FondaCock - A local girl who liked her man meat.

Toe-neeee! - A pub regular named Tony who's from Dublin, so we say his name in that accent!

There's tons more, but I'm hungover! The lads once tried to change my name from Duggy to Gigabyte at one stage. Nearly fùcking worked, too! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

brummytom wrote: »
    We don't have many round here, the only ones I can think of are:

Crazy Running Man (is never seen not running, and always wearing the same hat and sunglasses....known throughout Birmingham; there's even a facebook group for him)

and

Santa Tramp (a fat old grey-haired/bearded homeless man who used to sleep outside Iceland)

There's a guy who can be seen anywhere between Dalkey and Ballsbridge (in Dublin) who's kind of a combination of those two. He cycles non stop, never seen off the bike and looks like santa, has the big white beard.

I call him cycling santa. Not sure anyone else does mind. He has a dog too, which limps along behind him. Kinda sad really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Kormeera X wrote: »
    One person you forgot-BIGFOOT!!!! ha ha ha :D :pac: :pac: :D

oh yeah, him. thanks hun.

bigfoot - well the writing is on the tin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Head N' Shoulders - looks like he has no neck
    Brunch - very tall dude with red hair, pink skin and yellow acne
    The Melter - because he's an absolute head-wrecker
    Buckets - walks like he's carrying two pails of water
    Churns - girl with large mammaries
    Stretch - tall bloke
    The Dude - long haired chap that looks nothing like Jeffrey Lebowski
    Google - because he's a bloody know-all
    Timber-Prick - his surname is Woodcock
    Wally - coz he looks like 'Where's Wally'

There's loads more but that's all I can think of for now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭GirlatdRockShow

Johnny-forty-coats/Wellies - homeless lad. Got the name because he wears what looks to be 40 items of clothing on his upper body and always wears wellies. Allegedly he used be a dentist and his family were burned in a house fire. That's why he sleeps on the streets
    yep,
    theres also lads called:
    Bubbles-not sure why,could be something to do with hurling
    Pidgeon-because he used to be overweight and when he tried to take off his jacket,he looked like a pigeon flapping his wings, trying to get out of it.
    Glandular Fever-because he was known to give it to anyone who scored him...............not that i would know:(
    in college we have;
    evil moustache guy-because he has a really long mustache,half of it is bleached blonde and he looks evil.
    Smig the giant-big tall lad,has a goatee
    Indie guy-wears beanie hats,looks like he should be in a band.
    Girl with great skin and hair-self explanatory

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

An honourary mention for Pighead as he's our local AH character.