Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gerry Ryan Found Dead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 westhamtilidie

Shame =/
    R.I.P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Was sure this was another internet rumour but it looks true:

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2010/0430/breaking48.html

Very sad news. RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

RIP. Very sad news to hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

RIP

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭celticfc

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

Shocking news. Great personality and should have been given a crack at the late late imo. RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,559 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Mod Warning: If you didn't like Gerry, then please don't post your opinions here - nobody wants to hear it.
    This thread is for condolences and TV memories of Gerry Ryan.

Infractions and bans for people who ignore this post.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

Anyone know what / how it happened? RIP

The Gardaí are investigating. Best not to comment any further.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭drunken_munky52

Gerry Ryan - An institution and an icon

Will be very missed and irreplaceable.

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭cotwold

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭MayoForSam

A larger-than-life character, I enjoyed his radio work more than his various attempts at TV. He will leave behind a large void at RTE.

RIP.

• Registered Users Posts: 358 ✭✭InisMor

Damn, the guy was entertaining as hell. RIP.

Anybody know why it's not the top story on Six One?:confused:

Dobbo and the boys had already went to Cavan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Dave Fanning looked devastated. Very sad news. Best wishes to his colleagues, friends and family. May he Rest in Peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Only guy on RTE radio worth tuning in for.

RIP

• Registered Users Posts: 358 ✭✭InisMor

Man, Fanning and Duffy nearly made me cry.

God Bless Them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Tomohawk

RIP

• Registered Users Posts: 20,300 ✭✭✭✭casio4

RIP :(

• Registered Users Posts: 8 jemflux

It's a very sad loss for Irish broadcasting, R.T.E. will have a tough job replacing this unique talent. Rest in peace Gerry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Jennyfer

Was stunned when I heard, very sad news. RIP Gerry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Secrets will always have a special place in my heart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭tim_holsters

A unique talent on the radio couldn't seem to transfer that to TV though, very sad news his family must be devastated.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

Rip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭miss5

Must say I felt sorry for Ryan Tubridy trying to present the show when he was
    clearly very upset, Gerry Ryan will be dearly missed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭joanas

will be sadly missed imo. looked forward to his morning show on 2fm. god help his family, especially his children. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

People should remember that he was an entertainer. The guy on the radio was a persona. We have feck all knowledge of what he was like as a person. All we really know is that he was a guy who made something of himself and took care of his family His radio persona was just his job.
    Fair play to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭goodmum

I can't explain why this has upset me so much when I didn't even know the man. I was crying watching last nights late late - have been a listener for over 20years. It's just so sad, RIP Gerry, you'll be sorely missed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭wobblyknees

I am genuinely sad about this news. Maybe it's a bit of the recession, or my own personal stuff going on, but when I heard the news earlier, I was immediately taken aback.

No matter what you think of Gerry as a DJ, broadcaster, reporter...He was, directly or indirectly, very much a part of the fabric of our lives for a very long time, and in many ways, epitomised what was good about Ireland during the boom years.

I think it's fair to say that we all hope his family/children, are being taken care of right now, but I also very much hope his partner is being taken care of as well. I know what it's like to find someone you love in terrible circumstances. I'm sure she is still in shock right now and hopefully is getting all the affection she needs.

Gerry, rest in peace, judging by what's being said today, I wish I'd had the pleasure of meeting you.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭_michelle_

What can i say, most of us didnt know Gerry personally however anyone i have spoken to have felt a deep sense of loss. He was such a big and joyful person on the radio larger than life and i have to say i shed many tears last night for him (silly maybe but i get the feeling many people were doing the same) God bless his kids, morah and his new partner they must all be devestated. He was and will always be the best dj on irish radio,
    RIP Gerry xx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭gerbilgranny

Sometimes it's easy to forget how important 'something' or 'someone' was to us, in the past.

But I remember well, how when I was a housewife with two children under 15 months, The Gerry Ryan show provided company for me each morning. I listened to it for the five years I was at home with the children - my husband was driven mad when he'd come in and I'd say 'they were saying on the Gerry Ryan show today'. Looking back, I realise how that show was my 'social network', and how Gerry himself felt like a trusted friend. I rang up the show a couple of times, and even won a competition - £1500 to spend in Brown Thomas's. At that time, every penny counted, and it was great to feel 'rich' for a few days. I expect the bookcase I got with my voucher, and the cast iron casserole dishes*, will outlast me. And I'll often say 'God bless Gerry Ryan'.

After I returned to work, I stopped listening to the show regularly, and as the years went by, I changed to Pat Kenny's morning show. But I've no doubt that the G Ryan show was a source of companionship, comfort, and help for many many people for so long, as it was for me when I was isolated at home.

22 years doing a show like that - it's a pretty hefty legacy, and he did it well.

My thoughts are with his family and loved ones. Especially his children - it's indeed true, that he was a great father. And he will have done a lot to further the cause of decent parenting in this country.

* (Also got a tv and a dining table and chairs - got 15 years out of them, ha ha!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 clairetje88

I loved listening to his show. He was entertaining, informative, a good listener, irreverent, thought provoking and at times a total pain in the b***, but absolutely never, ever boring. My heart goes out to his loved ones and his friends. He was one in a million and the world is a less colourful place without him. May he rest in peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,595 ✭✭✭The Lovely Muffin

R.I.P