Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will the leaving cert be enough to join?

• 01-05-2010 10:43pm
    Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭

Hi

Im going back to do my leaving cert this september so i can join the guards.

One of my friends told me today that there changing the whole requirements to join and that just having a leaving cert is no more good that ill need to go to college afterwards to get a degree.

Is there any truth in this?

Thanks lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭da__flash

Hi

Im going back to do my leaving cert this september so i can join the guards.

One of my friends told me today that there changing the whole requirements to join and that just having a leaving cert is no more good that ill need to go to college afterwards to get a degree.

Is there any truth in this?

Thanks lads.

well according to the review report and its recommendations, they are not set in stone you will need a 140 points in your leaving cert, nothing about a degree but it is nearly better for yourself to get a degeree if want. But its totally up to each person involved. So answer your question no u wont need a degree to apply

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭Marshall987

140 points,does that equal out to the educational requirements already in place i never sat my leaving so i don't know anything about points.

Is there alot of people that get to join with just a leaving cert that have no interest going on to college as im 21 going back to sit my leaving just to join the gaurds and have no interest in anything else.

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

Id say joining the guards is just like every other job, in that the more education ya have the better the chances of getting in.

It says on the website that the LC is good enough, but if theres a load of college graduates applying it might not be enough to distinguish yourself from the pack.

SO study hard and get good grades, especially in english and irish, as they're the required subjects.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,807 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

SO study hard and get good grades, especially in english and irish, as they're the required subjects.

Correction:
    English and another language, such as Irish is required, OR
    Irish and another language such as English is required.

You don't necessarily need to have both. You could have English and French, English and German, Irish and Italian, Irish and Spanish, and so on. As long as you have either English OR Irish plus another language, you fulfill the requirements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Saxobank

140 points,does that equal out to the educational requirements already in place i never sat my leaving so i don't know anything about points.

Is there alot of people that get to join with just a leaving cert that have no interest going on to college as im 21 going back to sit my leaving just to join the gaurds and have no interest in anything else.

Thanks.

Hi Marshall987, like yourself i had no interest in anything else... I joined with just the leaving cert behind me like many others, applied when i was 18,got in when i turned 19, i am 21 now and havent looked back.

Alot of people will give the advice of '' go to college or travel '' but to be honest if you do really want it then just go for it. I did and havent looked back... If i can be of any more assistance send me a PM

Id say joining the guards is just like every other job, in that the more education ya have the better the chances of getting in.

It says on the website that the LC is good enough, but if theres a load of college graduates applying it might not be enough to distinguish yourself from the pack.

Thats not true in the slightest...

• Registered Users Posts: 6 tots78

Why is the leaving cert so important.

I am 32 and would love to join the force, i have 2 kids and can not afford to do night courses and i work during the day so my only time with the kids is the evening...I think life skills are more important than the leaving cert...

I am tall,fit and well built, and very street smart surely that is more important than a few passes in the leaving...

Saxobank wrote: »
    Thats not true in the slightest...

Im just sayin that since there hasnt been a recruitment in a while, id imagine there will be more applicants than usual and many of the candidates who would have applied after the LC in the past years might have gone onto further education until the moratorium was lifted and I would think that recruiters would be looking for the most ideal candidates. Thats why people who hold a degree get paid more per year when they finish the garda training

That said, since nothing has been decided on requirement and recommendations it's anyones guess to what will happen and i wish the best of luck to all of us who are applying.

Saxobank wrote: »
    Hi Marshall987, like yourself i had no interest in anything else... I joined with just the leaving cert behind me like many others, applied when i was 18,got in when i turned 19, i am 21 now and havent looked back.

Alot of people will give the advice of '' go to college or travel '' but to be honest if you do really want it then just go for it. I did and havent looked back... If i can be of any more assistance send me a PM

Thanks Saxobank

For the reassurance thats exactly how i feel i have no interest in going to college doing a degree ill have no interest in or travelling around the world spending every single day wanting to be a guard.

Im 21 since march and can't wait to get started and finish the leaving cert so i can actually get the whole process started of becoming a Garda.

tots78 wrote: »
    Why is the leaving cert so important.

I am 32 and would love to join the force, i have 2 kids and can not afford to do night courses and i work during the day so my only time with the kids is the evening...I think life skills are more important than the leaving cert...

I am tall,fit and well built, and very street smart surely that is more important than a few passes in the leaving...

From garda.ie (http://www.garda.ie/FAQ/Default.aspx?FAQCategory=13#FAQ332)

What are the educational requirements?
    Candidates must have obtained in the Leaving Certificate:
    • A grade not lower than B3 at Foundation Level or D3 at another level in Mathematics, and
    • A qualifying grade in 2 languages, 1 of which must be English or Irish, as follows:
      English: a grade not lower that D3 at Ordinary Level
      Irish: a grade not lower than C3 at Foundation Level or D3 at another level
      Other language: a grade not lower than D3 at Ordinary Level, and
    • A grade not lower than D3 at Ordinary Level, in not less than 2 other subjects
    Or
    The Merit Grade in the Applied Leaving Certificate
    Or
    Like Grades in another examination, which, in the opinion of the Minister for Justice, Equality & Law Reform, is not of a lower standard than the above

• Registered Users Posts: 6 tots78

da__flash wrote: »
    From garda.ie (http://www.garda.ie/FAQ/Default.aspx?FAQCategory=13#FAQ332)

• A grade not lower than B3 at Foundation Level or D3 at another level in Mathematics, and
    • A qualifying grade in 2 languages, 1 of which must be English or Irish, as follows:
    • A grade not lower than D3 at Ordinary Level, in not less than 2 other subjects
    Or
    Or
    Like Grades in another examination, which, in the opinion of the Minister for Justice, Equality & Law Reform, is not of a lower standard than the above

Im just stating that i dont understand how a 19yr old skinny wet behind the ears kid out of school could be more use to the AGS than me 32, 6'4", well built, fit and having a head on my shoulders...

I dont understand why you need the leaving cert.

Im just stating that i dont understand how a 19yr old skinny wet behind the ears kid out of school could be more use to the AGS than me 32, 6'4", well built, fit and having a head on my shoulders...

I dont understand why you need the leaving cert.

Is that not just the same as asking why do you need your leaving cert for anything?!?

Im just sayin that since there hasnt been a recruitment in a while, id imagine there will be more applicants than usual and many of the candidates who would have applied after the LC in the past years might have gone onto further education until the moratorium was lifted and I would think that recruiters would be looking for the most ideal candidates. Thats why people who hold a degree get paid more per year when they finish the garda training

That said, since nothing has been decided on requirement and recommendations it's anyones guess to what will happen and i wish the best of luck to all of us who are applying.

That isnt the case, your as equal as the guy sitting next to you at all stages of the recruitment process,

when i went through the process some of the lads who were sitting around me had done done degrees galore and never made it to templemore.

The interviews are not based on your education status, However you can sway your answers toward your education... none the less once you meet the minumum requirement your game ball and in with the exact same chance as the lad with 5 degrees

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,807 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Im just stating that i dont understand how a 19yr old skinny wet behind the ears kid out of school could be more use to the AGS than me

Probably because he didn't stereotype?

This comment was uncalled for, unprovoked, and unfair to members of An Garda Síochána who happen to be young in years, but mature and intelligent enough to have been welcomed into the force despite their age.

Consider this a warning: This forum does not tolerate ageist remarks, so please refrain from posting such comments in the future. I would strongly advise that you read the charter before posting in this forum again.

Back on topic please...

I agree that the Leaving Cert shouldn't be necessary for AGS, as it's a prerequisite that you won't really need.

How many mathematical equations do AGS members try to work out daily? PSNI, NGA... When was the last time you guys had to do algebra or trigonometry as part of your job?

That said, I do believe that there should be other requirements. You should have a clean driving license, have some background in self-defence, be a competent (of not certified) swimmer, have some kind of certificate in Law/Poilicing studies, etc. etc.

Personally, I'm also heading back to the Leaving Cert this year, with the intention of sitting it next year. I'm useless academically, so I'm gonna really have to try my hardest at it. I'm also not in good shape at all, so I'll spend time trying to get fitter, learning to swim, drive (pretty much everything i mentioned I feel should be prerequisites is what I'll work on).

I reckon they should encourage people to have some kind of interest/experience with Irish Law. Maybe FETAC could bring in a Cert that people could study towards in their on time (via evening courses or the likes).

EDIT: Is there any kind of education sysytem within AGS? or is there any point wher you can get time off to study something you're interested in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭amen

I agree that the Leaving Cert shouldn't be necessary for AGS, as it's a prerequisite that you won't really need

why not? the Leaving Cert or equivalent states the you have obtained a basic standard of education (140 points is not exactly high). After 14 years of education you should be able to pass english, maths, irish etc.

Why would you want someone who has not completed their leaving cert?
    When was the last time you guys had to do algebra or trigonometry as part of your job?
    I accept that but again its the ability to pass basic education.
    have some background in self-defence
    I actually think thats a bad idea. Better to have a blank slate an train correctly.
    competent (of not certified) swimme

how often does a Garda have to swim in the course of his duties? About as much as using trig.
    have some kind of certificate in Law/Poilicing studies
    but doesn't need to Leaving Cert?
    I'm also not in good shape at all
    bet that applies to a proportion of the force

True enough that the leaving cert wont help you when you're walking the streets or responding to calls.

But for report writing, all the administrative work and for career advancement further education will stand to benefit you.

The leaving cert is a state exam and AGS are state controlled, so ya gotta play by their rules.

You might not need any particular aspect of education (like algebra) but the purpose of education is to broaden your horizons, make you think critically and outside the box and enable you to take different approaches to a problem.

(BTW totally agree with the above post!)

I agree that the Leaving Cert shouldn't be necessary for AGS, as it's a prerequisite that you won't really need.

How many mathematical equations do AGS members try to work out daily? PSNI, NGA... When was the last time you guys had to do algebra or trigonometry as part of your job?

That said, I do believe that there should be other requirements. You should have a clean driving license, have some background in self-defence, be a competent (of not certified) swimmer, have some kind of certificate in Law/Poilicing studies, etc. etc.

Personally, I'm also heading back to the Leaving Cert this year, with the intention of sitting it next year. I'm useless academically, so I'm gonna really have to try my hardest at it. I'm also not in good shape at all, so I'll spend time trying to get fitter, learning to swim, drive (pretty much everything i mentioned I feel should be prerequisites is what I'll work on).

I reckon they should encourage people to have some kind of interest/experience with Irish Law. Maybe FETAC could bring in a Cert that people could study towards in their on time (via evening courses or the likes).

EDIT: Is there any kind of education sysytem within AGS? or is there any point wher you can get time off to study something you're interested in?

In relation to the bold type in the quote, you have to use maths for Forensic collision investigation and other areas of AGS.. Maybe not for regular policing but in order to go into a specialist area all of the leaving cert subjects are handy!

Are you doing only 1 year in school then sitting your exam that summer.
    Id like to spend only one year doing it but am doing it with Vtos and feel like id need to do the second year before id be ready to sit the exams.

amen wrote: »
    why not? the Leaving Cert or equivalent states the you have obtained a basic standard of education (140 points is not exactly high). After 14 years of education you should be able to pass english, maths, irish etc.

By the same token, shouldn't the Junior Cert suffice then?
    Why would you want someone who has not completed their leaving cert?

Well I'm not saying they'd 'want' people who haven't completed it. I'm saying it shouldn't be a mandatory prerequisite.
    I accept that but again its the ability to pass basic education.

Again, the Junior cert should surely be enough?

I actually think thats a bad idea. Better to have a blank slate an train correctly.

Whilst I do see where you're coming from, I think it'd be good to have people who, once they become Gardaì, will have enough of an interest in other (relevant) activities, that they will continue to learn in their own time. Id imagine that if there were a two week class in templemore based on self defence, then it'd be likely that two weeks of self-defence is all 90% of AGS members would ever do.

Whereas if you have someone with a background/interest in it, then they'll be likely to continue learning as they go along. Admittedly, if there is an AGS standard for this kind of thing, it would be more difficult to break someone's bad habits than just teach them from scratch, but I think on the long run it'd be a better option.

how often does a Garda have to swim in the course of his duties? About as much as using trig.

Admittedly it's not very common, but they do tend to go into rivers after people who are drowning every now and again.

but doesn't need to Leaving Cert?

Well I know a woman who has no leaving, but still went off to college as a mature student and got her degree or diploma or whatever it is she has. I'd say she's very well educated, but she has no Leaving cert.

bet that applies to a proportion of the force

Do you reckon that helps my chances? :pac:

Seriously though; there are a lot of unfit Gardaì, but most are usually those who look like they have been in the force for a while in my experience (just generally seeing them about). I think this further backs up my earlier point; if a potential Garda has a strong interest or background in self defence/swimming/health & fitness in general, then that Garda is likely to be more useful down the line in such situations than a Garda who doesn't particularly care about it and only has a few weeks training he did with AGS under his belt.

That said, I don't mind the current system. I like that they ask only for two languages and maths. At least they can be counted as somewhat relevant to Policing. I suppose I should be happy they don't want an A in history or something completely absurd. :)

Are you doing only 1 year in school then sitting your exam that summer.
    Id like to spend only one year doing it but am doing it with Vtos and feel like id need to do the second year before id be ready to sit the exams.

I'm doing it with the Louth VEC. They only do it for one year. On one hand, I'm glad, as it means that I'll be able to have it over and done in one year (even if I don't do very well in it, I imagine I'd still at least be able to reach the Garda requirements).

On the other hand, rote learning and general school work isn't my strong point and never has been. I'm genuinely really going to struggle through it, which isn't a good thing, obviously.

The other day I was in Eason's and out of curiousity, I picked up a "Less Stress, More Success" history book for the leaving cert. I flicked through it and I know for a fact that I'm well and truly fcuked. All I can do is hope for the best and keep the head down.

KKV, you can argue with the educational requirements until the cows come home, but the reality is they were set by AGS and unless they choose to change it theres nothing you can do but strive to fulfill them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Penisland

I am not trying to be snobby (I am from a working class background with barely enough money to pay for my internet) but I am shocked the requirement for the guards is 140 points.

Explains a lot IMO.

Penisland wrote: »
    I am not trying to be snobby (I am from a working class background with barely enough money to pay for my internet) but I am shocked the requirement for the guards is 140 points.

Explains a lot IMO.

Basically a D in ordinary leaving cert. I wonder if it will increase like other college courses if theres a big demand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭3fullback

Last time I checked when a guard is faced with a gangland druggy the last thing he’s going to do is start quoting Shakespeare. :p

3fullback wrote: »
    Last time I checked when a guard is faced with a gangland druggy the last thing he’s going to do is start quoting Shakespeare. :p

Hey, that druggy was successful convicted in the courts since the arresting garda expressed the arrest scenario with clarity, a range of vocabulary and perfect syntax he acquired from an extra 2 years in education. :p

KKV, you can argue with the educational requirements until the cows come home, but the reality is they were set by AGS and unless they choose to change it theres nothing you can do but strive to fulfill them.

I wasn't really arguing them. I think they're grand. I was suggesting that if they ever did get changed, or if I were the one making the requirements, then I'd drop the current ones in favour of other accomplishments (ie; clean driving license, swimming, self defence as I was waffling on about before).

I think the current system is grand as it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭echo.lima

Ladies and Gents

It is possible to join without a leaving cert. I was speaking to a Garda Sergeant and I mentioned it too him. He told me that as long as you have a FETAC Level 5 or higher that it would be acceptable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 _TheLegend_

Thats news to me, I have completed a FETAC L5 Security Studies course in <mod snip> Templemore in the hope of it being a back door around my dreadfull leaving cert where I didnt recieve the required maths, I have emailed the Garda College dozens of times and they have been a very disapointing let down, they didnt even reply..

I am in the same boat myself. Did crap in the leaving due to a combination of things but did a course in security studies and a level 6 in security operations and administration, Was pretty happy when I found out that the courses I did weren`t in vain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭klong

Then email Garda HR in Phoenix Park, or phone them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭00MARTZ00

im in a similar situation left school after the junior cert got a trade which is level 6 i think! would b great if thats enough.

yes according to the AGS website level 5 is enough.

I wonder would i be better off doing a level 5 course instead of going back doing a full two years leaving cert.

You`d be better off doing a level 5 it`d be alot less of a pain in the ass :cool:

echo.lima wrote: »
    You`d be better off doing a level 5 it`d be alot less of a pain in the ass :cool:

Do you think it would be harder to get in though with a level 5 i was looking at this course http://www.lcfe.ie/courses.php?cID=295 its emergency care personal.

And its half the time of the leaving cert.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

i'm planning to apply during the next recruitment drive. i'm in the middle of a Ph.D. in genetics, which I doubt will come in handy on the street. however, I have to say I'm astonished by the number of people who are saying the leaving cert is irrelevant - i mean jesus christ, just because calculus won't help you disarm and arrest a robber doesn't make it pointless. I personally wouldn't like to think that the people on the streets responsible for my well-being and safety hadn't been bothered/able to pass the leaving cert.

the LC is not by any stretch of the imagination a high standard of education, and while i'd be the first to admit that someone with less education and better interpersonal skills than myself should be chosen by AGS, to say that a basic qualification in reading and writing is unnecessary is fcuking ludicrous in my opinion.

Do you think it would be harder to get in though with a level 5 i was looking at this course http://www.lcfe.ie/courses.php?cID=295 its emergency care personal.

And its half the time of the leaving cert.

I doubt it`d be harder to get in with a level 5 and I dont think your choice of course would make a difference either. People of all sorts of backgrounds join the Garda.

Good post.

I'll also chip in my 0.02c and say that the Leaving Cert standard of education isn't just about the actual subjects and grades themselves per se, it's about learning how to learn as well.

Anyone who has done LC Maths at ordinary level with be familiar with the bell curve.

The bell curve in this case is the number of people who sat the test (from bottom to top) and the grades measured in points (from left to right).

I don't think it's unreasonable for any employer to want people to the right half of the bell curve.

AGS as an employer are willing to accept people to the left of the bell curve down to a certain level.

No employer wants people who got all Es and Fs, and I feel (personal opinion, not as a mod) the educational requirements are easy to obtain. 5 D3s at ordinary level is all that's needed, and unless you have a diagnosed learning disability, there is no reason you should not be able to at least attain those grades in ordinary level LC.

If you can't get the minimum LC grades to get into AGS (bear in mind I'm talking about this century), then it tells a story of what you were like as a 5th and 6th year student, and it tells a story of the amount of study you clearly didn't put in.

I don't mean to offend anyone, but if you think about the LC as a Review of you as a person having finished your secondary schooling, wouldn't you want that Review to be as positive and glowing as possible? Yes? Then work for it like we all did. We might not have enjoyed it, but we still did it, and so should you if you want a career in AGS.
    genericguy wrote: »
    i'm planning to apply during the next recruitment drive. i'm in the middle of a Ph.D. in genetics, which I doubt will come in handy on the street. however, I have to say I'm astonished by the number of people who are saying the leaving cert is irrelevant - i mean jesus christ, just because calculus won't help you disarm and arrest a robber doesn't make it pointless. I personally wouldn't like to think that the people on the streets responsible for my well-being and safety hadn't been bothered/able to pass the leaving cert.

the LC is not by any stretch of the imagination a high standard of education, and while i'd be the first to admit that someone with less education and better interpersonal skills than myself should be chosen by AGS, to say that a basic qualification in reading and writing is unnecessary is fcuking ludicrous in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭spudz21

Where does it say on the Garda website that level 5 is enough?:confused:

The educational requirements are clearly set out as below:

Or
    Or
    Like Grades in another examination, which, in the opinion of the Minister for Justice, Equality & Law Reform, is not of a lower standard than the above.

spudz21 wrote: »
    Where does it say on the Garda website that level 5 is enough?:confused:

The educational requirements are clearly set out as below:

Or
    Or
    Like Grades in another examination, which, in the opinion of the Minister for Justice, Equality & Law Reform, is not of a lower standard than the above.

According to the www.nqai.ie The leaving cert is level 4-5 of the framework, The same as a level 5 fetac course.

I've never heard of a fetac being accepted in place of the leaving cert though.....:confused:

You would probably need to check with Garda HQ, but my understanding is you have to have the leaving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭WalterMitty

i missed irish in the leaving cert due to illness and it was my only ordinary level subject so i didnt bother doing it next year. I have an accountancy degree and am part qualified accountant. I wasnt able to apply last time as had no Irish language yet i see chinese gardai on streets now:confused:

Anyway will i be able to get in with just a degree and no irish or foreign language in leaving cert?

You see Chinese Gardai on the streets because they speak English and another language.

Read this post for further information.

Too get a final answer in all this i emailed the appointments offfice in dublin.

Asking what other qualifications would do instead of having a leaving cert.

This is what i was told.Not surprised i must say.

Grades which are equivalent to those outlined at a., b. and c. above in at least five subjects (including mathematics and two languages at least one of which must be either Irish or English) in another examination or assessment of a kind that is, in the opinion of the Minister for Justice, Equality and Law Reform, not of a lower standard than the above. A combination of two or more examinations or assessments is permitted.

The following are among the qualifications which are considered as acceptable alternatives to the Leaving Certificate Examination:

Matriculation of a recognised university;
    A General Certificate of Education (Advanced Level);
    NCEA / HETAC National Certificate;
    NCEA / HETAC National Diploma

Applicants wishing to present alternative qualifications should note that the alternative qualification must still contain grades in Mathematics and two languages, one of which must be Irish or English.

Applicants holding international or other qualifications are advised to contact the National Qualifications Authority of Ireland to ascertain if the qualification(s) they hold can be recognised as being broadly comparable to one of the above qualifications.

Too get a final answer in all this i emailed the appointments offfice in dublin.

Asking what other qualifications would do instead of having a leaving cert.

This is what i was told.Not surprised i must say.

Grades which are equivalent to those outlined at a., b. and c. above in at least five subjects (including mathematics and two languages at least one of which must be either Irish or English) in another examination or assessment of a kind that is, in the opinion of the Minister for Justice, Equality and Law Reform, not of a lower standard than the above. A combination of two or more examinations or assessments is permitted.

The following are among the qualifications which are considered as acceptable alternatives to the Leaving Certificate Examination:

Matriculation of a recognised university;
    A General Certificate of Education (Advanced Level);
    NCEA / HETAC National Certificate;
    NCEA / HETAC National Diploma

Applicants wishing to present alternative qualifications should note that the alternative qualification must still contain grades in Mathematics and two languages, one of which must be Irish or English.

Applicants holding international or other qualifications are advised to contact the National Qualifications Authority of Ireland to ascertain if the qualification(s) they hold can be recognised as being broadly comparable to one of the above qualifications.

Well I learnt something new there, but I suppose you still need the subjects.
    It's good ya got a definite answer!
    Best of luck with it:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭pretentiouslad

I'm sure that this post will rub a few people up the wrong way...

But, regarding Garda recruitment, hypothetically speaking, surely if there are 300 people applying for 100 places then obviously not everyone will get in... and let's say that 50 people out of the 300 have a 3rd level degree, and 50 people barely scraped 140 points in the leaving cert, then which 50 are almost a certainty to be given the nod?

I'm not saying that leaving cert results are a reflection of intelligence, but if someone gets 500 points and another person gets 200 points the first person has clearly worked harder than the latter and i'm sure that AGS would opt for a harder working candidate at the end of the day...

of course there are exceptions to this, but I'm speaking in general terms...

and i don't think it's stupid for AGS to expect candidates to have a basic education under their belt... what these posters have been focusing on is mainly how education won't help you apprehend someone, but that's only one aspect of the job!

But, regarding Garda recruitment, hypothetically speaking, surely if there are 300 people applying for 100 places then obviously not everyone will get in... and let's say that 50 people out of the 300 have a 3rd level degree, and 50 people barely scraped 140 points in the leaving cert, then which 50 are almost a certainty to be given the nod?

I'm not saying that leaving cert results are a reflection of intelligence, but if someone gets 500 points and another person gets 200 points the first person has clearly worked harder than the latter and i'm sure that AGS would opt for a harder working candidate at the end of the day...

and i don't think it's stupid for AGS to expect candidates to have a basic education under their belt... what these posters have been focusing on is mainly how education won't help you apprehend someone, but that's only one aspect of the job!

well yes in certain situations this maybe true but the job may not be suited to the person who got 500 points where as the person who got the 200 points could make the best member of AGS, this is what the interview is to determine everyone is different at the end of the day ;):cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭Scan Man

I'm currently sitting the Leaving Cert, and should meet the grade no problem as I'm flat out at Higher Level subjects, but would like to get through third level before going through the recruitment process.

Would a third level qualification in criminal justice or law be of an advantage during the recruitment process? While it would take three years, the idea is that I would have a lasting qualification if things didn't work out, but also during the three years of college I would have got experience by volunteering in Civil Defence and maybe taking a Security job to make it easier to sell myself at interview stage.

(I won't comment on some of the posts in this thread re: Leaving Cert, except to say that "psni" and "genericguy" have said what needs to be said, except to say that it's no wonder when I say I want to be a Garda, you get a funny luck and a joke about only having to take a test in "p***ing in a bottle".)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

Most Gardaí I know, including those recruited in the last few years, do not have a degree.

Essentially you are saying that, and the number of points you get in your leaving does not indicate what sort of a worker you are.

Speaking as someone who actually does the job, I'd point out that it's the biggest aspect of the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

I couldnt disagree with you more. Having a college degree does not make a person a better worker nor does it mean that person is more intelligent in any way.

I have see first hand with college graduates at my aptitude and interview who bragged of the courses they had done etc etc but not one of them made it passed the interview. Even in the Garda college I know of one college graduate who came number 1 in the recruitment process, left a few months after starting Phase 4.

The aptitude and interview is based on communication skills, life experience and above all else common sense. These skills cannot be learned from a book or a lecture. Granted college courses are designed for specific areas in the workforce but not in the role of a Garda.

In all this job is suited to some people and not to others. It requires a type of dedication that is not present in most employment areas of the workforce. I know this because I spent 13yrs working in various jobs in the private sector. This job can embrace you, love you, chew you up and spit you out all at the same time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭ForeverYoung90

Just a quick question.To qualify for increments do you need to have obtained a degree ie.3/4 years or will a higher certificate be accepted(2 years)?
    Sound.
    ps.I have neither!:pac::cool: