Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool vs. Chelsea, Sky Sports 1, 1pm

• Registered Users Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭Ordinary man

Its bad for united supporters to have to watch this, but it must kill pool supporters to see their side outclassed and dismissed so easy by a side thats only playing in first gear. Wigan will surely play better than this and that must be hard to see how a team has declined so far so quick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

PHB wrote: »
    To be fair to Malouda, he was pretty decent towards the end of last season. This season however, he's really stepped it up a level.

His first season he was fairly poor and last season he did up it a level but this year it's just been different class alright

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

Absolute no doubt, he's been outstanding. That's not what we were talking about though.

Don't you go changing your words you said
    but he is one of the few players out there really trying to win the game.

and that's exactly what we were talking about - Reina doing what he can to keep Liverpool in this.

Changing your words, ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭abelard

mars bar wrote: »
    Is hitting the crossbar off target these days?

Not sure how they work out the official stats, but if it hits the bar and goes wide, ie a graze off the bar or whatever, it might be counted as a shot off target...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

mars bar wrote: »
    Is hitting the crossbar off target these days?
    Ya I think it is has to be inside the posts

Yep the bar or post and not in = off target, target isn't the woodwork it's the space between it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Congrats Chelsea, they'll thrash Wigan next week. No doubt. A good title race all in all. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

Absolute no doubt, he's been outstanding. That's not what we were talking about though.
    I take your point about Liverpool in general. But to include Reina in that criticism I just don't understand.

• Registered Users Posts: 575 ✭✭✭5ForKeeps

1 week and this season can be consigned to history and a summer awaits which is the biggest in the clubs distinguished. We either sink or swim after this summer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Don't think it has been all that poor a performance compared to some of the other games this season especially considering the opposition and the effect of the game on Thursday.

Good experience for Ayala anyway.
    Shame we couldn't nick a goal for Pepe and the Golden Gloves.

Roll on the glorious Hull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,950 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

abelard wrote: »
    Not sure how they work out the official stats, but if it hits the bar and goes wide, ie a graze off the bar or whatever, it might be counted as a shot off target...?
    Ya I think it is has to be inside the posts

Ah right, thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

mayordenis wrote: »
    Don't you go changing your words you said

and that's exactly what we were talking about - Reina doing what he can to keep Liverpool in this.

Changing your words, ridiculous.

lol, fair enough. Reina has been great, no doubt about it. The idea that he is working his ass off like Kuyt to win it though is what i'm objecting to, because he's the goalie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,111 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

christ, some fans starting to leave already!? on the last home game of the season!?...poor show...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

murpho999 wrote: »
    Well it's obvious that they, like the rest of us just want this season to end.
    Certainly seems that way alright, few lads looking for the exit judging by their performance today.
    mike65 wrote: »
    Ah the Mancs are getting all stroppy, you know what you needed to do to win the league. How many games have Utd lost this season?
    1 too many :) They only have themselves to blame, looking for favours of other teams with 2 games to go says it all.

In fairness Stevie G has played like it was a training match and there doesnt seem to be any cohesion on the side, Stevie G hasnt once cajoled his team, in fact he didnt even look bothered by the first goal. Nice way to sign off their season in front of their home crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,564 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

It will be interesting to see what Liverpool do after final whistle.

With it being last home game of the season they normally do a lap of honour. Will they do this, what reception will the fans give them and what will Rafa do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    christ, some fans starting to leave already!? on the last home game of the season!?...poor show...
    Best fans in the world....apparently!*

*terms and conditions apply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Good win for Chelsea if we beat Blackburn we'll finish ahead of Liverpool :-)

Super play from Babel.

What a cracking ball from Babel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Woeful from Pool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Babel reinventing himself as a midfield playmaker. That's two perfect crossfield balls he's played

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,564 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Sizzler wrote: »

Old Trafford would be empty at this stage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Sizzler wrote: »

To be fair some have to catch planes, my two brothers started travelling at 5:30am have to leave to catch a flight but I suppose those looking at it at home are the feel fans and my 2 brothers who have travelled to 13 home games from Ireland and leave 2 mins early to catch a flight are sh1t supporters!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Babel reinventing himself as a midfield playmaker. That's two perfect crossfield balls he's played
    Babel is definately winnin me over second half of this season.

Chelsea have taken a huge step forward, and barring a titantic performance from Wigan, title over. It's been over for a while to be fair, they just messed up enough to give us some hope.

Liverpool now mathamatically can't get 4th. 5th-7th without a doubt, with 7th looking likely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

yay! er I mean boo, or something.

Time to turn on the sprinklers :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

Question for all the united fans was pools performance today any worse than United against Chelsea? Chelsea are going to win the league, pool are a team with no confidence and tbh just not as good as Chelsea, yet it seems some on here were looking for a Brazil 1970 performance today... sigh... we've been muck all year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

Pyjamarama wrote: »
    Question for all the united fans was pools performance today any worse than United against Chelsea? Chelsea are going to win the league, pool are a team with no confidence and tbh just not as good as Chelsea, yet it seems some on here were looking for a Brazil 1970 performance today... sigh... we've been muck all year...

Is this really a can of worms people want to open?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Just noticed Liverpool's sponsor on their jersey. Strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Pyjamarama wrote: »

First half United were awful. Second half came out and actually attacked Chelsea. Drogba scores an offside goal, but United look to score, and score one indeed they did. We lost, be we fought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Looks like Pool will on qualify for the UEFA cup because of Pompey going into administration. Desperate to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

People who have travelled a distance to the game will leave early folks, it happens at every ground. The roads are a feckin nighmare, especially on bank holidays. Leaving 5/10 mins early can take 3 hours off your journey if youve driven from anywhere south of birmingham. Im joking?, you have to have done it to realise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

Chelsea have taken a huge step forward, and barring a titantic performance from Wigan, title over. It's been over for a while to be fair, they just messed up enough to give us some hope.

Liverpool now mathamatically can't get 4th. 5th-7th without a doubt, with 7th looking likely.
    5th not possible 6/7th between yourselves and Villa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

GET THE **** IN!!!

Delighted. COME ON YOU BLUES!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,682 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

pool fans better pray that city dont get 4th

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

redout wrote: »
    Looks like Pool will on qualify for the UEFA cup because of Pompey going into administration. Desperate to be honest.

Finishing 7th was always going to be enough I think (open to correction not that I give a hoot about the EL next season)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

This thread is gonna get hilarious. All the Utd fans who have spent the season camped in Liverpool threads, telling us how sh!te we are, average players, etc will suddenly come in here all surprised that Liverpool havn't won the game and didn't perform well!!

5th not possible 6/7th between yourselves and Villa
    I doubt if any one cares at this stage. Depressing to the power of infinity

Headshot wrote: »

Everyone should. If City get 4th, with the money that they'll drop, they will be esbablished in the CL until their owners get bored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

Headshot wrote: »

Don't care who does. City will buy who they buy we have enough problems of our own to worry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Reminded me of watching the movie Pearl Harbor.

Liverpool were playing the part of the kamikaze pilots, Chelsea were the guys on the ground, and United were the people in the cinema that had to watch that piece of garbage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,682 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Everyone should. If City get 4th, with the money that they'll drop, they will be esbablished in the CL until their owners get bored.

i know that

but pool are the most endanger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

The sly digs from utd fans are gas, keep them coming lads..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

Bring on August.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

monkey9 wrote: »
    This thread is gonna get hilarious. All the Utd fans who have spent the season camped in Liverpool threads, telling us how sh!te we are, average players, etc will suddenly come in here all surprised that Liverpool havn't won the game and didn't perform well!!

I think most united fans suggested liverpool would get battered today.

no suprises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Reminded me of watching the movie Pearl Harbor.

Liverpool were playing the part of the kamikaze pilots, Chelsea were the guys on the ground, and United were the people in the cinema that had to watch that piece of garbage.

Needs moar Cuba Gooding Jr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

monkey9 wrote: »

It's unreal isn't it.

The sly digs from utd fans are gas, keep them coming lads..

Just wait for the ones who were out in the pub to come back jarred. Gonna get crazy in here.