Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

World Cup Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,683 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Robben is back in for the WC according to ssn

so very good news but he is a doubt for the Denmark game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Just pulled Brazil out of the World Cup draw in work ....:D

...wife just calls to say "I got Brazil in the draw in work , are they any good ? "

Two of us have Brazil :D ..whats the chances of that ?

**rushes to do this week Lotto

• Registered Users Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭RichTea

Andrea Pirlo will miss two matches for Italy.

Bit of a blow for the World Champions but if there is one position where they have strength in depth it is midfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

They'll miss out on his creativity though, which they don't have in abundance with Palombo and De Rossi. I believe Lippi was banking on Pirlo playing in a more advanced role this time around, kind've like a Totti-esque trequartista. Montalivio will need to step-up and perform.

Even without Pirlo though, Italy should have enough to progress through the group stages. But they'll need him back for the last 16.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

Pirlo hasn't had the best of seasons though with Milan has he? Yer man on ZonalMarking seems to rate Montolivo a lot, and he seems to have done well in the 'Pirlo' role for Fiorentina this season. Mightn't affect them too badly in the group games at least.

Vokes wrote: »
    They'll miss out on his creativity though, which they don't have in abundance with Palombo and De Rossi. I believe Lippi was banking on Pirlo playing in a more advanced role this time around, kind've like a Totti-esque trequartista. Montalivio will need to step-up and perform.

Even without Pirlo though, Italy should have enough to progress through the group stages. But they'll need him back for the last 16.

I slightly disagree with you in the creativity stakes but do agree that Pirlo was going to play a more advanced role.

Marchionni, Marchisio should be able to handle that the midfield role with De Rossi if needed. And Monti really could create exposure for himself on the world stage if he performs as he knows he can.

The worry now will be what state Pirlo will be in when he returns from injury. It can be tought to readjust to a team in a World Cup mindset midway through the tournament.

Here's hoping he fits back in because I think people are undercutting Italy's chances a little too much right now.

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭LimerickCity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

Good BBC report explaining how Spain have become so good:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/world_cup_2010/8688093.stm
    By Sam Sheringham

England fans who associate World Cups with false dawns and heartbreak should spare a thought for the Spanish.
    For a country that has given us two of the most celebrated club sides in the game's history and a roll call of stellar players, Spain's record in the global showpiece is nothing short of woeful.
    Fourth place in 1950 is their best showing in 16 tournaments, with most of their other campaigns ending in humiliation, misfortune, or abject failure .
    However, South Africa 2010 promises to be a very different story.
    Victory at Euro 2008 ended a 44-year wait for an international trophy and was followed by a World Cup qualifying campaign in which Vicente del Bosque's side won all 10 of their games, culminating in a 5-2 away victory over their nearest rivals Bosnia-Herzegovina.

Spain have won 45, and lost only one, of their last 48 games. A team at the peak of their powers, they underlined their status as World Cup favourites with an effortless 6-0 demolition of Poland in their final warm-up game on Tuesday.
    So what is it about this Spanish team that makes them rise to the big occasion where their predecessors foundered? What factors can explain the seismic change that has taken place?
    Many football observers suggest Spain's transformation from a perennial underachiever to a ruthless winning machine is largely explained by the emergence of a golden generation of players, drawn heavily from Barcelona's ranks.
    As former Barca and England striker Gary Lineker asks: "How many sides could survive the loss of Fernando Torres? Only one: Spain. Because they have got David Villa.
    "They've also got Cesc Fabregas, who could play behind the strikers and doesn't get a regular game because they've got Xavi and Andres Iniesta in midfield."
    Others point to the strength of the Spanish domestic league, or argue that playing in the Premier League has given some of the squad members vital experience of a more physical kind of football.
    But often overlooked are the seeds sown by the Spanish Football Federation over the last 15 years, which are now bearing fruit.
    Pedro Calvo, who coached Liverpool striker Torres at the Atletico Madrid academy, believes Spain's current prowess owes much to the federation's long-term commitment to a nationwide programme for the training of coaches.
    According to European football's governing body Uefa, Spain had almost 15,000 Uefa A and Pro Licence coaches in 2008 - more than double the number of any other European nation. And that is despite it taking 750 study hours to acquire a Pro Licence in Spain, compared with just 245 in England.

We have moved on from the time when nobody knew what the characteristics of Spanish football were. Now, it's good to say that Spanish football is here
    Fernando Hierro
    "The federation has really focused on getting people qualified and to the level where they can go to other countries and coach," says Calvo. "It's not just in professional football, it runs right through the system. You have to have the same qualification to work in schools as you do to work in the top division.
    "We are really starting to see the effects in the last few years."
    Unlike the turbulent world of England's Football Association, Spain's FA is a model of stability, with president Angel Maria Villar about to begin his 23rd year at the helm.
    Not only are there more qualified coaches in Spain than in England, they are all promoting exactly the same style of football - the highly technical, possession-based game that has taken Barcelona to the summit of European football, made Spain's youth teams the envy of the world and allowed the national side to end nearly half a century of failure in Vienna two years ago.
    Indeed, the senior team's victory at Euro 2008 was not an isolated success. Since 1998, Spanish youth teams from under-16 to under-21 level have won 19 Uefa and Fifa championships. During this same period, England have won just one - the U17s European Championship last month when they beat Spain in the final.

UEFA A & PRO COACHES
    SPAIN
    GERMANY
    FRANCE
    ITALY
    NETH'NDS
    ENGLAND
    Former Spain and Real Madrid captain Fernando Hierro, who was made the federation's technical director in 2007, said recently: "We have moved on from the time when nobody knew what the characteristics of Spanish football were.
    "Before, we all knew about Italian football, English football, German, Argentine, Brazilian. Now, it's good to say that Spanish football is here."
    The importance of the structures put in place by the Spanish federation was recognised in Uefa's technical review of Euro 2008, drawn up by a panel including Fulham manager Roy Hodgson and former Liverpool boss Gerard Houllier.
    "For years, Spanish youth football has carried the same, recognisable hallmark," the report read. "And, after years of watering the roots, the plant has matured and blossomed."
    International success has been matched by domestic triumphs, with Spain's top-flight La Liga surpassing Italy's Serie A and the Premier League to be rated by many as the world's strongest.
    Barcelona are the reigning World Club champions, and the league's strength in depth is illustrated by the fact that Spanish teams have won the Uefa Cup/Europa League four times in the last seven seasons. Not one English, Italian or German side has claimed the trophy during that period.

606: DEBATE
    Spain's second XI would give England a run for their money, and I reckon only Ashley Cole would command a place in Spain's team
    Tom Mansell
    But while the nucleus of Spain's team play their football at home, six members of Del Bosque's 23-man squad, including Fabregas, Torres and Pepe Reina, either play, or have played, in England.
    Rodolfo Borrell, who coached Fabregas and Lionel Messi at the Barcelona academy before joining Liverpool's youth set-up in 2009, says the experience gained amid the rough and tumble of the Premier League has added crucial ingredients to the mix.
    "Aggression, tackling, passion and heart are all a lot bigger in England than in Spain," he says. "The football is more competitive than other leagues. This is making our national team stronger."
    If the Premier League has improved the physical strength of Spain's players, it is a new-found mental toughness that has allowed them to exorcise the ghosts of World Cups past, says Spanish football expert Phil Ball.
    He believes previous Spanish squads were hampered by frailties rooted in the national psyche and bore mental scars from the 1982 tournament, when as host nation they won just once in five games, suffered a 1-0 loss to Northern Ireland, and crashed out in the second round.
    "Little by little, Spain have shed the inferiority complex they have always had towards northern European sides," explains Ball, the author of 'Morbo: the History of Spanish Football'.
    "Under (former Spanish dictator) Franco, Spain were seen as the poor man of Europe, a bit backward politically until the 1970s.

Shock defeat for Spain by NI in 1982

"When Spain opened up after the transition into democracy, it got a World Cup in 1982 and made a fool of itself. It had that chance to show the world that it wasn't inferior and it mucked it up."
    Ball, who has lived and worked in the northern city of San Sebastian for 20 years, says Spain's footballers may have been inspired by national success stories in other sports.
    "You've got the likes of Fernando Alonso in Formula 1 and Rafael Nadal in tennis. People are seeing these Spaniards going out and doing the business. They've got that tough winning mentality."
    According to Calvo, much of the credit for Spain's psychological transformation must go to Luis Aragones, the outspoken coach who led them to Euro 2008 glory before making way for former Real Madrid manager Del Bosque.
    "Before, we were a good team, we would always cruise through the group stages, but when we got to the important stages, like the quarter-finals, we seemed to have a breakdown, we didn't believe that we could do it," he says. "Aragones made them believe. He knew how to prepare them for the really big games."
    Among many who are tipping Spain to win the World Cup is Lineker.
    The BBC frontman, who was England's top scorer at the 1986 and 1990 tournaments, says the Spanish now boast a depth of talent that makes them the envy of most other sides at this year's event.
    "There is quality right the way through their squad - they have even got the best group of goalkeepers in world football and most of the best players in the world," he said. "They will take some beating in South Africa."
    Yet for those who wonder how Spain finally changed from wobblers into winners, the message is clear: the glory has been a long time in the making.
    Additional reporting by Alistair Magowan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

According to fifa.com...

FIFA.com - LIVE
    Some good news on Didier Drogba's fitness. Our man at the Ivorian training session said that he trained alone, but was moving well.
    16 minutes ago

• Registered Users Posts: 817 ✭✭✭bonkers

posted this elsewhere but thought its worth an airing here

http://www.balls.ie/2010/06/10/thats-the-spirit/

Here's something I just worked out.

The United States have a squad (of 23) based in 11 different leagues. Now, we all know from seeing them in the Confederations Cup, World Cup qualifying and international friendlies that they are a very cohesive team.

Is the farflung yet united nature of the United States of benefit to them? They have insight into so many different footballing cultures.

England on the other hand have all of their players based in the one league. Does this mean that they will be confined to a Premier League style approach?

This seems like a ramble at this stage. It is late. But it is somewhat interesting all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,587 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Didn't Italy win it with the entire squad picked from Serie A?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

RichTea wrote: »
    Here's something I just worked out.

The United States have a squad (of 23) based in 11 different leagues. Now, we all know from seeing them in the Confederations Cup, World Cup qualifying and international friendlies that they are a very cohesive team.

Is the farflung yet united nature of the United States of benefit to them? They have insight into so many different footballing cultures.

England on the other hand have all of their players based in the one league. Does this mean that they will be confined to a Premier League style approach?

This seems like a ramble at this stage. It is late. But it is somewhat interesting all the same.

Do you mean do they play **** football in England? Then yes, yes they do.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

For those watching it on the BBC and ITV, prepare to see these a lot

Didn't Italy win it with the entire squad picked from Serie A?

That's not what I was getting at really. For a squad that isn't as naturally talented as England is it good for the United States to be able to call on a variety of different footballing cultures?
    Ush1 wrote: »
    Do you mean do they play **** football in England? Then yes, yes they do.:)

Wasn't entirely getting at that but sometimes I would most certainly agree with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭timetogetfit

Need to know who is englands starting goal keeper for my fantasy football?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Need to know who is englands starting goal keeper for my fantasy football?

Probably Green, James is struggling with some niggling injuries.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

ITV's title sequence wins this year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Twitter abounds with Henry fails drug test (obviously some sort of bitter conspiracy)

mike65 wrote: »
    Twitter abounds with Henry fails drug test (obviously some sort of bitter conspiracy)

Already confirmed as a false rumour. Some people are really, really, really sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Great news lads, Blatter signed up to twitter last night just in time for the World cup. Let the abuse begin.

@seppblatter

http://www.itpro.co.uk/624223/fifa-official-joins-twitter-in-time-for-world-cup

How do ye see the Australia Germany game going lads?

That ball just has to be kept on the ground, when Messi had the free kick about 22 yards out you just knew where it was going.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Smegball

That ball just has to be kept on the ground, when Messi had the free kick about 22 yards out you just knew where it was going.

Will be interesting to see Ronaldo's free kicks with it though!

He'll either score from 60 yards or put a ball in orbit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

He'll either score from 60 yards or put a ball in orbit.

Yes, revolving around his head presumably.

How do ye see the Australia Germany game going lads?

anyone?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

anyone?

Germany to win!

Australia to win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Dean820

Green is starting...Hart and James would have got ahead of him if I was manager.

Dean820 wrote: »
    Green is starting...Hart and James would have got ahead of him if I was manager.

Even though James is struggling to recover from injury?

Good man. I suppose that's why you aren't an international class manager, and Fabio Capello is.

Des wrote: »
    Even though James is struggling to recover from injury?

Good man. I suppose that's why you aren't an international class manager, and Fabio Capello is.

My real name is Jose Mourinho.

I thought so. Never managed an international team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Starting an injured keeper!?

My real name is Florentino Pérez.

You're sacked.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

lol Trevor Steven.

Joe Hart is is much better than Green even, maybe lacks experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,522 ✭✭✭✭noodler

anyone?

Swimmingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Des wrote: »
    Australia to win!

Draw - just so you have the full set :D

Green was a good choice then?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

6 games in and its been a p*ss poor tournament so far tbh. No game above average yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

flahavaj wrote: »
    6 games in and its been a p*ss poor tournament so far tbh. No game above average yet.

I have a feeling this next game could be the star of the show so far. Hopefully.

Soz if this is a repost, anyone spot the green laser during the Argentina game? FIFA are investigating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Soz if this is a repost, anyone spot the green laser during the Argentina game? FIFA are investigating.

Yeah I saw it flashing on the ground in front of Messi when he was taking a free and then on one of the Nigerian players I think. I'd say it was just someone messing in the crowd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭gary the great

Crap tournament so far.

Crap football and no atmosphere in the stadiums. Hopefully the Dutch, Spanish and Brazillians will improve it.

I thought the Serbia - Ghana game was excellent this afternoon. And in half-empty stadiums, I think the vuvuzela are a blessing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭_Bella_

I thought the Serbia - Ghana game was excellent this afternoon. And in half-empty stadiums, I think the vuvuzela are a blessing!

I thought the stadium was actually quite full... but wasn't paying that much attention

I think the attendance was 30k, not sure of the capacity. In any case, the vuvuzela made it sound a lot louder than 30k!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭BOHSBOHS

only 9 goals in 7 matches so far:eek:

at this stage in 1990 (widely slated as the low scoring world cup)
    there were 20 goals scored

of all 32 teams which do ye reckon is the worst