Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

UFC 114 Discussion

• 04-05-2010 4:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,945 ✭✭✭✭

UFC 114: Jackson vs. Evans
    Date: May 29, 2010

Venue: MGM Grand Garden Arena
    Broadcast: Pay-per-view

MAIN CARD

•Rashad Evans vs. Quinton "Rampage" Jackson
    •Antonio Rogerio Nogueira vs. TBA*
    •Michael Bisping vs. Dan Miller
    •Todd Duffee vs. Mike Russow
    •John Hathaway vs. Diego Sanchez

PRELIMINARY CARD (Spike TV)

•Dong Hyun Kim vs. Amir Sadollah
    •Efrain Escudero vs. Dan Lauzon

PRELIMINARY CARD (Not televised)

•Melvin Guillard vs. Thiago Tavares
    •Luiz Cane vs. Cyrille Diabate
    •Joe Brammer vs. Aaron Riley
    •Jesse Forbes vs. Ryan Jensen

A pretty weak card IMO just got weaker as Forrest has pulled out (Source:http://mmajunkie.com/news/18981/forrest-griffin-withdraws-from-ufc-114-antonio-rogerio-nogueira-waits-for-new-opponent.mma)

I think he would have been KO'd in 1st round anyways

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Here's hoping Diego Sanchez gets kicked around... Odious little arsehole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,945 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Dave! wrote: »
    Here's hoping Diego Sanchez gets kicked around... Odious little arsehole

Good chance of that happenin as Hathaway is very impressive, a future contendor for sure.
    This fight is a HUGE step up for him but i reckon he'll do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Did Forrest get injured?
    And how Luiz Cane has fallen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭bigslick

Should be at this event, so pity to see Forrest not on the card. Lets hope they find a good replacement. I agree it is now looking like pretty weak card......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,847 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

lol at Todd Duffee vs Mike Russow being on the main card ahead of a fight that has Cyrill Diabate in it, nevermind Luiz Cane!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Did Forrest get injured?

Apparently his sparring partner broke his jaw, before he ran out of the gym and has not been heard from since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Did Forrest get injured?
    And how Luiz Cane has fallen!

Sherdog says it's a shoulder injury.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭gloryutd

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Apparently his sparring partner broke his jaw, before he ran out of the gym and has not been heard from since.

Haha :D

A lot of the 'weaker' UFC cards have turned out better so I have an open mind for this one.

Think it's too soon for Hathaway in what his becoming a trend of UFC throwing perfect record fighters into very hard to win fights before they're at the level required.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 rooneyboy

bigslick wrote: »
    Should be at this event, so pity to see Forrest not on the card. Lets hope they find a good replacement. I agree it is now looking like pretty weak card......

Jason brilz has taken the fight buddy, :pac:

rooneyboy wrote: »
    Jason brilz has taken the fight buddy, :pac:

Yeah, just read that, WTF is Joe Silva on, this is gonna be a massacre, First round KO on my fantasy in the bank.

What a shite card this is, expect Dana's twitter to go into overdrive giving away free tickets

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

scudzilla wrote: »
    Yeah, just read that, WTF is Joe Silva on, this is gonna be a massacre, First round KO on my fantasy in the bank.

Ould Davey Meltzer who talks to Silva, White often said this in relation to that:
    New opponent for Nogueira on 5/29
    MMAjunkie.com has reported Jason Brilz has the new opponent for Antonio Rogerio Nogueira on the 5/29 show in Las Vegas.

Brilz, 18-2-1, has had two UFC fights, beating Eric Schafer via decision and losing to Eliot Marshall.

The choice of Brilz shows just how limited options must have been for a replacement less than a month before the fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭bigslick

Will be in Vegas for this. Might try nab some tickets off dana if i can.

Was gonna hit the expo as well but have heard that the VIP tickets are best to get as then ya dont have to queue, seem to be sold out though. Any small chance anyone got one that they wont be using? :o

Its a long shot me knows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭SDTimeout

Realistically what LHW would be able to take that fight on such short notice...Against someone you would rather have alot more time than 4 weeks to train for...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Jayo_M

Looking forward to seeing Diabate again, although I think this chance is coming a bit late in his career. He got the better of Shogun in the stand-up when they fought in Pride, but looked lost when it hit the ground. He's definitely improved since then and I doubt this is going to go to the ground anyway. Diabate by KO in the second!

Looking forward to this card, some exciting guys on there. Can't really complain when you've got Rampage, Rashad and Lil Nog all on the same card. Plus we'll get to see if the hype around Todd Duffee is justified. Hathaway versus Sanchez will be very interesting, have no idea how that will go down. Huge step up in competition for Hathaway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,258 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

I would LOVE to see Hathaway give Diego a smashing. I've been REALLY impressed by his performances.

But i think Diego might be too big of a step up for him at this early stage. Pity!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭flynny51

I'm excited to see Amir Sadollah again, his muay thai is insane. Last fight didn't last very long unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,910 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

When is the UFC Primetime show on for this event?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,847 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

flynny51 wrote: »
    I'm excited to see Amir Sadollah again, his muay thai is insane. Last fight didn't last very long unfortunately.

What lol? his last 2 fights went to decisions

callaway92 wrote: »

He gave poor Bill Pharoni a good smashing though!

I'm still confused as hell why they ever brought back Baroni :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭flynny51

Got mixed up, went back and watched some old fights, last fight I saw him in was the Hendricks fight. Which ended after a few seconds :)

Very exciting fighter to watch though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Jayo_M

MrStuffins wrote: »
    He gave poor Bill Pharoni a good smashing though!

I'm still confused as hell why they ever brought back Baroni :confused:

Cos he's the best eva. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,519 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Interested to see how Duffee gets on.

Decent enough card, should be a good night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,931 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

sorry bout changing the subject but in the ultimate fighter finale
    in june i see keith jardine is 11/10 to beat matt hamill (4/6)

only time hamill has faced a top guy was v franklin and jones
    and they beat him like a dog
    jardine has performed and beaten some of the best
    is this just outstanding value or what?
    i dont see how hamill can beat jardine although he does
    have power in his hands

what do people think about the reshad/rampage fight
    i thought reshad was favourite for that but hes evens

my mate thinks reshad is a cert to beat rampage
    and before the machida fight id have agreed.
    i just wasnt impressed with his performance against thiago silva
    to be lumping on.
    any opinions lads would be much appreciated.
    not sure hathaway is quite ready for diego but ill have
    to invest a little at 2/1

i honestly can't stand Rampage, and IMO his record recently really really flatters him, look at his 6 fights in the UFC

Win v Marvin Eastman (Well past his prime)
    Win v Chuck (Again past his prime as recent performances testify too)
    Win v Hendo (struggled to a 5rd points win against another fighter past his best)
    Loss v Forrest (Losing to Forrest, enough said)
    Win v Wandy (Another one way past his prime)
    Win v Jardine (Another struggle to a points win)

He's not fought anybody who is at the top of his game since Pride when he was totally owned by Wandy (twice) and Shogun

His attitude towards fans stinks and i can't wait till Rashad knocks him the fcuk out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,615 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

lol at Todd Duffee vs Mike Russow being on the main card ahead of a fight that has Cyrill Diabate in it, nevermind Luiz Cane!
    7 second knock outs do a lot for a fighters rep

also, delighted fat Diego is back

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

sheehy83 wrote: »
    When is the UFC Primetime show on for this event?

Starts tonight on Spike so you should be able to stream/download it by tomorrow afternoon, gonna be lots and lots of thrash talk....

UFC PrimeTime

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭hisholinessnb

Primetime is listed for friday night on ESPN after TUF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭SuperWoody101

i honestly can't stand Rampage, and IMO his record recently really really flatters him, look at his 6 fights in the UFC

Win v Marvin Eastman (Well past his prime)
    Win v Chuck (Again past his prime as recent performances testify too)
    Win v Hendo (struggled to a 5rd points win against another fighter past his best)
    Loss v Forrest (Losing to Forrest, enough said)
    Win v Wandy (Another one way past his prime)
    Win v Jardine (Another struggle to a points win)

He's not fought anybody who is at the top of his game since Pride when he was totally owned by Wandy (twice) and Shogun

His attitude towards fans stinks and i can't wait till Rashad knocks him the fcuk out

I cant stand him either especially after his coaching stint on tuf.

I don't think his record is that bad tho.
    I didn't think dan was past it when they fought and chuck even
    for that matter even if chuck was champ at the time.
    He was unlucky to lose to forrest and i couldnt ever see forest
    pulling off a victory against rampage again.
    Before machida came on the scene it looked to me that the
    only guy that would definitely beat rampage was reshad.
    I hope he does this time anyway and hopefully he'll strike with him.

I backed him against jardine and was sweating hard for that win.
    I thought he'd have beaten jardine easier.
    As for wandy, yeah! everyones beaten wandy i guess except jardine.

mailburner wrote: »

have power in his hands

to be lumping on.

I backed jardine today in boyles at 13/10
    i couldnt let it go and i think closer to the fight
    you'll be looking at 11/10 or evens.

is there anyone out there that doesnt think 13/10 isnt
    ridiculous value?
    if i was pricing it id have jardine 8/11/4/6 ahead of hamill

How long is the Primetime show supposed to be?

I found pt. 1 but its only 10 minutes, that couldn't be right?

http://mmablips.dailyradar.com/video/ufc-primetime-ufc-114-rampage-vs-evans-part-1-hd/

edit - pt. 2 - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=snKlq34iSWs

http://mmablips.dailyradar.com/video/ufc-primetime-ufc-114-rampage-vs-evans-part-1-hd/

Part 1 of that episode? Its about 20 mins long

As for wandy, yeah! everyones beaten wandy i guess except jardine.
    Seriously?:confused:

forgot about bisbing :)

Of course, he lost to Tito at UFC 25 and never fought in the UFC, and therefore not in MMA as the UFC has always been the only org in the world, until he fought Chuck!

It's simple! :D

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Of course, he lost to Tito at UFC 25 and never fought in the UFC, and therefore not in MMA as the UFC has always been the only org in the world, until he fought Chuck!

It's simple! :D
    Youre talking to a Pride die-hard here.Don't anger me :pac:

Pride? Whatever is a Pride? :p

That explains it.

Imagine what wandy would have done to the likes of
    bisbing 5 years ago.

Lets face it, the Wandi we see today is a shade of his former self, just as the current Chuck!

But holy Jaysus, Wandi was an absolute killer in his prime! His demolishing of Rampage with knees is one of the most vicious KOs i've ever seen in my life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭sonic.trip

I backed jardine today in boyles at 13/10
    i couldnt let it go and i think closer to the fight
    you'll be looking at 11/10 or evens.

is there anyone out there that doesnt think 13/10 isnt
    ridiculous value?

Based on jardines last 2 fights I would be wanting 2/1. Hamill on the other hand got beaten by bones so I'm not suprised jardine is the underdog.

edit - pt. 2 - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=snKlq34iSWs

http://fighthounds.com/ufc/video-ufc-primetime-rampage-vs-rashad-pt-1/

Run time: 19min. 59sec.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Denners

have power in his hands

to be lumping on.

1. I would not touch Keith Jardine, he is well passed it. Sad to see his drastic decline but Bader and Hamills wrestling is top notch and Bader destroyed him. Not too mind Jardine has the weakest chin in UFC at the moment that I can think of.

2. Rashad is definately not a dead cert, inform your friend before he loses his house.;) Rashad might be able to outwrestle Rampage as Rampage hasn't fought in over a year and his cardio will definately be questioned in this fight. But if Rampage even touches Rashads jaw he will finish him. Quinton packs a far better punch than Silva and Rashad could get KO'd easily if Quinton connects, considering Thiago had him rocked badly. So the 2 likeliest outcomes IMO are that Rashad will either win by a UD from outwrestling Jackson and Rampage could win by a KO/TKO.

3. Hathaway will definately not beat Sanchez, I'm putting some serious money on this as 1/2 for Sanchez is huge! Sanchez will tear through Hathaway, so you could make a few nice pound if you back Diego ;) (I'd almost cover your bet if he doesn't win!)

EDIT: Just noticed that you took Jardine, I wish you luck with your bet on him but I will be taking Hamill anyway.

You are a very silly boy if you think Rashad will KO Rampage :rolleyes:

sonic.trip wrote: »
    Based on jardines last 2 fights I would be wanting 2/1. Hamill on the other hand got beaten by bones so I'm not suprised jardine is the underdog.

I can't think of any half decent top 10 light heavy that wouldnt beat hamill
    to be honest.
    He hasnt taken one big scalp yet unless you count the fight he
    should have got against bisbing.
    I think jardines striking and leg kicks mainly will be too much for hamill.

Denners wrote: »
    1. I would not touch Keith Jardine, he is well passed it. Sad to see his drastic decline but Bader and Hamills wrestling is top notch and Bader destroyed him. Not too mind Jardine has the weakest chin in UFC at the moment that I can think of.

2. Rashad is definately not a dead cert, inform your friend before he loses his house.;) Rashad might be able to outwrestle Rampage as Rampage hasn't fought in over a year and his cardio will definately be questioned in this fight. But if Rampage even touches Rashads jaw he will finish him. Quinton packs a far better punch than Silva and Rashad could get KO'd easily if Quinton connects, considering Thiago had him rocked badly. So the 2 likeliest outcomes IMO are that Rashad will either win by a UD from outwrestling Jackson and Rampage could win by a KO/TKO.

3. Hathaway will definately not beat Sanchez, I'm putting some serious money on this as 1/2 for Sanchez is huge! Sanchez will tear through Hathaway, so you could make a few nice pound if you back Diego ;) (I'd almost cover your bet if he doesn't win!)

EDIT: Just noticed that you took Jardine, I wish you luck with your bet on him but I will be taking Hamill anyway.

You are a very silly boy if you think Rashad will KO Rampage :rolleyes:

I'd put bader in a different league to hamill though also.
    Hamills wrestling is good but thats where it ends.

jardine did preform well against vera, chuck and rampage especially
    and rampage has power.

you will lose your money on hamill imo.
    hamill has nothing going for him in that division.

maybe it is a step too far for hathaway and maybe it will
    come too soon. 1/2 for diego seems decent when hes only 1/3 with pp.

I have been confident bout rashad before the silva fight and
    because of this id just about fancy rashad to do a gsp on rampage.
    I think his cardio will be superior along with the long lay off for rampage.
    The one thing i cant see is rashad knocking out rampage..i doubt he'll
    even trade with him tbh

I think the best bet on the whole card is amir sadollah at 4/6

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Denners

jardine did preform well against vera, chuck and rampage especially
    and rampage has power.

I agree with you 100% on this, but that was a long time ago.Since he had that great performance against Rampage he has been non-existent. Silva KO'd him quick which you could forgive, but against Bader, although its sad to say it, he was pathetic. Bader has power but Jardine was taking alot harder shots from Rampage a year previous, same from Chuck.

I actually backed him in the Bader fight and was dissappointed to see such a gamer like Jardine get manhandled the way he did. If this was March 09 I would be picking Keith, but from what I have seen he has drastically declined since then.

All the best anyway at least one of us will win on that fight :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭Lord Muck

Really looking forward to seeing the headline fight on this card. I'd love to see Rampage knock out Rashad, have a feeling this going to the floor for three rounds though..

Couple of 'gonna be's' on the card too , duffee ,escudero and hathaway ( although Sanchez maybe a step too far at this stage in his career )

Former UFC light heavyweight champions, Quinton “Rampage” Jackson and “Suga” Rashad Evans get into a screaming match on the UFC 114 press conference call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,448 ✭✭✭evil_seed

man i had to turn that **** off. they are like lil kids

HAHAAHAH

Ramapage "Just cuz i'm black, must mean I don't know those big words"

Rashad " You ain't got no heart..no heart. You're the fu*king tinman"

Rampage "when you got hit, I seen yo legs jiggling, they were jiggling. It looked like you were getting jiggy with it"

HAHAHAHAHAH

2 of the biggest sh*t talkers in the world, not just MMA! This fight needs to be settled decisively or we will never hear the end of it from either side!

• Registered Users Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Onearmedbandit

I really want rampage to win this because I disliked Evans's cocky attitude during TUF10. That being said I see Evans using his wrestling to take this one. There is no way he is going to trade punches with rampage anyway.