Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who is afraid of the big bad wolf?.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

00112984 wrote: »
    I'm finding this thread quite interesting. Mainly as a Cav owner, it's interesting to see us being tarred with the same brush for once ;)

Yep, a lot of the posts in this thread are dripping in irony.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Noopti wrote: »
    Yep, a lot of the posts in this thread are dripping in irony.....

Oh give it over, no one is being tarred with any brush - I'm just relating my experiences thats all ffs.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

Oh give it over, no one is being tarred with any brush - I'm just relating my experiences thats all ffs.

Jaysus, relax yourself.
    Ok, let me make a direct quote from this thread, but replace Cav with Staffie

"Reason I ask, is when I'm out walking my dogs (a cavalier) some people (almost 90% are Staffie owners)"
    And it then went on to critisize those people there would be a lynching.....

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Until a very few years ago, I had had little contact with dogs; sometimes met other people's and enjoyed that

But living in sheep farming and very rural areas you meet fewer dogs.

Now it is different as we have two rescues and we are more aware.

Discretion tends with increasing age and disability to be the better part of valour; so if I am eg in the car at a farm or country cash and carry, in the car I stay until assured that the dog is happy.

It is not fear; simply .....Respect for the dog. So I am happy petting a huge GSD at the coal shop who has never seen a muzzle in his long life.. but would not have left the car until the owner assured me it was OK

The largest dog I ever met was a creature I am sure was a bear... A black Newfie..Would not like to be sat on by him..

The ones I am most wary of are the small ones as others have so eloquently put it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭morganafay

Graces7 wrote: »
    It is not fear; simply .....Respect for the dog. So I am happy petting a huge GSD at the coal shop who has never seen a muzzle in his long life.. but would not have left the car until the owner assured me it was OK

Exactly, you have to respect a dog and what they may be capable of. I think it's a bit risky all the people on here saying they'd never fear a strange dog. When they don't know what the dog has experience and it might be aggressive. Sometimes you can tell when you meet them, sometimes they just act normally and even friendly and then just snap at you.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

morganafay wrote: »
    Exactly, you have to respect a dog and what they may be capable of. I think it's a bit risky all the people on here saying they'd never fear a strange dog. When they don't know what the dog has experience and it might be aggressive. Sometimes you can tell when you meet them, sometimes they just act normally and even friendly and then just snap at you.
    I agree with what you are saying to an extent. But you yourself said that you wouldn't imagine a Golden Retriever (i think that was the breed) or a cav biting. I know my grans cav was a bit of a snapper before she died and I know a few people who have been bitten and snapped at by a retriever. So yes, it's dangerous to say "I don't fear any strange dogs" but it's as bad saying you don't fear x breed because you can't imagine it biting. You may be wary of some dogs, but for those two you're not.

Then again, I have my ideas set too. I have no fear of rotties because any I have met have been well adjusted fellas who look at attacking another dog as beneath them :D. Also I have a hard time imagining a lurcher attacking another dog as growing up I have seen them work with all types of dog with never a problem (that coud have been my dads exceptional dog handling skills though). So I do know exactly what you mean.

I think Graces has hit the nail on the head (as usual) in saying that even if you don't fear a dog, you should still respect him/her enough to not just saunter up and expect to be greeted in a friendly manner. I'd imagine that what most people mean when they say they are not afraid of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭GalwayKiefer

Interesting thread, I got a bit caught up in it and had to go back to re-read Makikomi's original post for the questions :o

I own 2 restricted breed dogs and am fostering a third at the moment (mine are a Staffie X and a GSD X) and had 2 German Shepards growing up at home so I'm not in the slightest bit bothered by big or restricted list dogs. I'm the opposite in fact, I have no real interest in small dogs. I don't dislike them, I just have no real interest in them.

I do the same as a few others posting on this thread, I generally look at the human end of the leash first and then the dog and then at how the two are interacting (is the dog calm/leashed/under control etc). As an example, if I see a guy walking a pitbull who's walking along side him chilled out I think nothing bad but if see a guy walking a pitbull who's dragging on the leash and all over the path and heedless to the owner I will generally be wary of the dog and owner.

I find it quite difficult to walk my dogs in my area without getting dirty looks/comments/people crossing the road with their kids, that kinda thing. Terrier type dogs are the vast majority of dogs in this area, a lot of them off the lead when out with their owners but with poor recall from what I've experienced.
    It breaks my heart to see my two looking at other dogs off running around green areas while I have to keep mine leashed (I refuse to muzzle but thats for another thread). I'm lucky that I know a farmer who lets me use his land to let them run around.

Whispered wrote: »
    I agree with what you are saying to an extent. But you yourself said that you wouldn't imagine a Golden Retriever (i think that was the breed) or a cav biting. I know my grans cav was a bit of a snapper before she died and I know a few people who have been bitten and snapped at by a retriever. So yes, it's dangerous to say "I don't fear any strange dogs" but it's as bad saying you don't fear x breed because you can't imagine it biting. You may be wary of some dogs, but for those two you're not.
    /QUOTE]

Yeah, true. I probably wouldn't just walk up to any retriever, but would walk up to any Cav. I'm a bit shocked that a snappy one even exists! Maybe she was in pain or possibly gone deaf or a bit blind and was nervous? It's good to know that there could be aggressive ones too, though it's still hard to believe!

Oh yeah she was a lamb until she got sick, poor thing. But she was still out walking right up until the end. :) She's missed terribly still. Even if she was a crank near the end.

Aw poor thing. I guess that is understandable anyway. There could have been loads of reasons she was cranky.

I have a very very cranky and aggressive old cat. But she was always that way! It's funny though, because I've had her since her birth and I've always loved her, but my family always hated her and said she was horrible :mad: but now they say, "Aw, poor cat, she's just old and cranky" :)

GalKiefer wrote: »
    (is the dog calm/leashed/under control etc). As an example, if I see a guy walking a pitbull who's walking along side him chilled out I think nothing bad but if see a guy walking a pitbull who's dragging on the leash and all over the path and heedless to the owner I will generally be wary of the dog and owner.
    I fall down badly here. Harleys ears seem to have an off switch (I suppose he learned that from his other owner :rolleyes:) but when he sees another dog who is excited he gets excited too and pulls to get to them. He yaps excitedly, wags his tail and turns circles and it is all friendly but I can imagine to someone who does not know him, he looks intimidating. Never mind the fact that the other dog is doing the same, the other dog is rarely as big. If the other dog walks by, so does Harley.

I was working on it today on our walk where I was trying to teach him to walk close to me. It worked great until we passed a terrier who wanted to meet him and the messing started again.

If any of you have any tips to make him listen while he is excited that would be great. (food, praise, toys - none of it has worked!)

• Registered Users Posts: 274 ✭✭neelyohara

Are you afraid of dogs on the restricted breeds list, either for your own personal safety or for that of your dog/dogs?.

They don't immediately make me think of danger but using common sense I wouldn't approach any dog that wasn't calm and relaxed... and signaled that they didn't mind me being close to them. I wouldn't be any more worried about restrictive breeds than any other large(ish) breed.
    If your afraid is it based on a bad personal experience of them, or the perceived threat of danger?.

I think all dogs are equal and it's down to how they are raised or handled as to their temperament... unfortunately the dogs on the restricted breeds list have the potential to do more damage if something goes wrong (as someone who has a scar that resulted from bite by a tiny mutt I can say you shouldn't under estimate the damage small dogs can do!)

And what do you do when your out for walkies ... do you take evasive action and walk across the road?.

No more than I would for anyone walking their dog. I'd make room, hold my dog closer to me.

With me it really comes down to the owner. I see young kids... 15/16 year olds with powerful dogs and it does worry me.. when I see those kids I know for the most part the dog is a status symbol no better than a fashion accessory and they won't invest time or energy into the dog. I hold my hands up and acknowledge this isn't the case for every teenager, but it is definitely a problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭hootietootie

I constantly hear roared at me-"look at that doll, she has a bloody wolf" with my mal. I never have him out unless he has a dogmatic head collar on,which many people think is a muzzle, and to be honest I think it makes him look scary. I'm not scared of dogs, but would always be wary, its funny the amount of dogs who try to attack mine. I had a woman at a park when I had my guy out telling her daughter(about6/7) not to be scared of the dog running around with no owner/lead, then pointed me out and said thats the kind of dog you should be scared of.

We do have a lot of kids that will run up to our boy to pet him, and I always stop them and explain that you should never run excitedly up to any dog, whether you know it or not-and I dont let them pet til they are calm like the dog

• Registered Users Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭lrushe

I have no fear of rotties because any I have met have been well adjusted fellas who look at attacking another dog as beneath them :D.

Ha, you've just summed up my Rottie in one sentence!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Darlughda

Having been bitten by a St. Bernard in my teens while the ditzy owner was trying to claim her baby was harmless I have always been wary of dogs.

But, more so of their owners.

Recently in Merrion Square, I witnessed a couple of frantic pit bulls who were less exhuberent than their owners.
    Suffice to say they (the owners) were feckin outta of it and eggin the dogs on while they went mental. I sensed this on approach of the park and quickly made a different route for myself.

Quite frankly, I couldn't give a rats ass if you are sporting a body display of tatoos and look as mean as hell, its the control you have over your dogs and how frantic they seem that my antennae watch out for.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Big dogs scare me. End of story. Pitbulls especially because of the biting power they posess. When I see one I cross the street. I suppose the hype works.

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭adser53

neelyohara wrote: »
    With me it really comes down to the owner. I see young kids... 15/16 year olds with powerful dogs and it does worry me.. when I see those kids I know for the most part the dog is a status symbol no better than a fashion accessory and they won't invest time or energy into the dog. I hold my hands up and acknowledge this isn't the case for every teenager, but it is definitely a problem.

I do agree with this. In my particular estate there's a particular family that have caused a LOT of trouble and aren't very nice people (to put it lightly) and they got a staffy a number of months ago. I love staffies and it's just a coincidence that it's the breed in question here but the dog isn't trained or socialised and appears to be quite dog aggressive. I say appears because I havnt met them when I had one of my lot with me but lately I ve seen the youngest child (maybe 11 or 12) walking the dog and when the dog pulls towards another dog or person, they can't hold it. Needless to say it's never muzzled. Everyone that approaches them now crosses the road. They then let it off leash on the green. To me it's an accident waiting to happen and I would avoid them if I had any of my lot with me as they simply don't have their dog under control. I love all dogs, especially RBs but this is just one I'd avoid PURELY because of the owners. As a note, dozens of people have reported them to the warden and gardai but they've never shown up ;(

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

tallus wrote: »
    I suppose the hype works.
    Actually, on that note I'd like to make an offer to anyone who is afraid of dogs or restricted breeds specifically and who wants to face their fear or wants at least to test their own perceptions of dogs/breeds;
    I will meet you, with my dog (picture of her in my profile), in a public place (a park is best) during (almost) any weekend. She loves meeting people and I'd be 100% confident that she would change anyone's perception of the breed, or of dogs in general.

She'd be on a 1.5m lead, but she wouldn't be muzzled.

I'm in South Dublin and I take her somewhere pretty much every weekend, so it's not a big deal for me.

You can send me a PM if you want to avail! :)

seamus wrote: »
    Actually, on that note I'd like to make an offer to anyone who is afraid of dogs or restricted breeds specifically and who wants to face their fear or wants at least to test their own perceptions of dogs/breeds;

If I lived in Dublin then I would love to meet your dog! I met my friend's kinda bull mix dog (about the size of an american bulldog, and as muscly as a really muscly pitbull, with a bit of a roman nose) and that was one scary dog! She said when she got it it was aggressive (a rescue) but she has it really well trained and socialised. I was walking him on the lead and he was perfectly well trained, but still just scary! Mostly because he was so powerful looking, and because he was so quiet you didn't know what he was thinking . . . she said she wouldn't trust him alone with a strange dog though . . .

I'm not prejudiced against dog breeds, but breeds do have certain personality traits, and some breeds are more likely to be aggressive than others. It's not the dog's fault though, and I'm not saying it's restricted breeds neccessarily either. Some breeds are often more friendly/shy/playful/hyper/attention seeking/snappy/aggressive/calm, or whatever, it's just the way they've been bred.

A good owner can prevent their dog becoming aggressive though. The main problem is probably when people get a dog like a staffie or whatever, they think they're good owners but they don't socialise the dog properly or train it properly, and then it ends up biting someone and they don't know why. I'd never get a dog that is known for being snappy or aggressive unless I knew how to train it and knew I'd put the effort in to socialise it and that I could control it . . . because I could just get a dog like a Cavalier and it doesn't really need training. Just a few basic things.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Chorcai

I have no fear of any dog. Most of the time an agressive dog is a fearfull dog. 90% of people don't know how to act/interact with a dog in the 1st place.

seamus wrote: »
    I will meet you, with my dog (picture of her in my profile), in a public place (a park is best) during (almost) any weekend. She loves meeting people and I'd be 100% confident that she would change anyone's perception of the breed, or of dogs in general.

She'd be on a 1.5m lead, but she wouldn't be muzzled.

I'm in South Dublin and I take her somewhere pretty much every weekend, so it's not a big deal for me.

You can send me a PM if you want to avail! :)

And I'd join you!.

Coming back from our walk last night and we came across a lady walking her collie, Richo (my Pit) loves people and dogs so wanted to cross the road for a sniff. I asked the girl did she mind, but she was fine. She knew Pits/staffies - but her collie attacked Richo twice, it was cool - just nervous doggie stuff and no harm done - secretly I hoped she was a boards.ie user :p

My guys love meeting people and dogs so I'd extend the same offer for northsider's.

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭adser53

I asked the girl did she mind, but she was fine. She knew Pits/staffies - but her collie attacked Richo twice, it was cool - just nervous doggie stuff and no harm done - secretly I hoped she was a boards.ie user :p.

Similar thing happened to me last night...met a when I was out walking Loki and he had a Rottie. Same thing happenedas you, both dogs wanted a sniff so we let them and the Rottie was a bit nervous & snarly & lunged twice. Loki was nice and relaxed and within a few secs the 2 of them were grand together. Rottie owner said his dog wasn't used to other dogs but wanted to socialise him more so we traded numbers so he can get used to my lot :D

I'm sure the old lady population of Portlaoise will have a fit if they see both of us with our dogs approaching :D

adser53 wrote: »
    Similar thing happened to me last night...met a when I was out walking Loki and he had a Rottie. Same thing happenedas you, both dogs wanted a sniff so we let them and the Rottie was a bit nervous & snarly & lunged twice. Loki was nice and relaxed and within a few secs the 2 of them were grand together.

Richo drew a line in the sand at the third attack and laid some smackdown :p

I'm more than aware that a dog is quite often a reflection on it's owner, but all it takes is for the dog to go nuts once to inflict terrible damage, so I don't take a chance of that happening. Call me wrong, right, or indifferent but that's my take on it.
    I have no problem with genuine owners or the dogs themselves, I mean people should be responsible enough to look after their own pets and not have to the state telling them what breeds are acceptable.
    I just don't interact with them (the breeds) myself.

I'm more than aware that a dog is quite often a reflection on it's owner, but all it takes is for the dog to go nuts once to inflict terrible damage, so I don't take a chance of that happening. Call me wrong, right, or indifferent but that's my take on it.
    I have no problem with genuine owners or the dogs themselves, I mean people should be responsible enough to look after their own pets and not have to the state telling them what breeds are acceptable.
    I just don't interact with them (the breeds) myself.

I think the vast majority of people here understand completely where your coming from.

• Registered Users Posts: 398 ✭✭SupaDupaFly

Must admit before I came into regular contact with restricted breeds I had a general fear of them just because of their size and the bad press that follows them. Things have definitely changed in the last two years though. My parents own an American pitbull and he is the soppiest dog I've ever met. All he wants to do is chase ball or cuddle in your lap. The worst he is capable of is licking you to death. I was brought up with JRTs always around and I must admit they are much more agressive. My brother has two staffies and a pitbull who are the best behaved dogs I have seen and are so gentle with my five month old jack Russell terrier. So no, I have no fear of restricted breeds and would definitely not cross the road from them when out walking my dog.

That more or less reflects my story too.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,916 ✭✭✭✭iguana

I'm not worried too much because my dogs are very well socialised and know their dog body language very well. When they see a dog they don't know they will walk toward them, then stop 20-40ft away and do that 'flag' thing with their tail. If the other dog ignores them or reacts aggressively they come back to me or go in the other direction. If the other dog reacts in a sociable way they go through they getting to know each other motions and play. I trust my dogs to know how to communicate with other dogs, no matter what breed. (I recognise dog body language too and I always keep a close eye on what's going on.)

When they were younger both of my dogs were attacked by rottweilers. Each dog by a different rottie. The first was when Dougal was playing with a staffie bitch called Honey who he often played with. Honey's owner was minding her son's rottie, Tyson who objected to Dougal playing with "his" bitch, even though Dougal was still a pup. Ran at Dougal who dashed into a small memorial garden in the park and I managed to shut the gate before Tyson reached us. The woman who was walking him was so clueless she strolled over to me for a chat!:mad: I had to tell her to put the dog on a lead and take him away from me.

About 6 months later Toby made friends with a Rottie called Max who he always had good fun with. We saw him most days at a certain time. One day we were in the park and Toby thought he saw Max and trotted toward him. When he got about 30ft away he stopped and realised it was a different dog and raised his tail in "salute". The other dog just launched himself at Toby, flipped him over and grabbed him by the throat. I was standing right next to him but was just frozen, screaming. The dogs owner walked up, pulled his dog off and walked away without saying a word. Luckily Toby was only superficially hurt and I tried not to let him see how upset I was so he wouldn't get too clingy/fearful.

The main problem though were moron/ignorant owners. Obviously I'm a little warier of bigger, stronger dogs as they are just too strong for me to over-power. But as long as the dog is displaying friendly/uninterested body language it's fine.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭antocann

Big dogs scare me. End of story. Pitbulls especially because of the biting power they posess. When I see one I cross the street. I suppose the hype works.

tallus , dont mean to be rude , but this is what give's these dogs the bad name's
    people always cross the road , tell there children stay away from the vicious dog ect.....
    but most of the dogs are pussy cats ,
    we have a fair few dogs 1 is a bull terrier

also the owner , people who cant look after ther dogs and treat them right dont deserve them , simple

antocann wrote: »
    tallus , dont mean to be rude , but this is what give's these dogs the bad name's
    people always cross the road , tell there children stay away from the vicious dog ect.....
    but most of the dogs are pussy cats ,
    we have a fair few dogs 1 is a bull terrier

also the owner , people who cant look after ther dogs and treat them right dont deserve them , simple

I didn't see your comments as being rude, so no offence taken.
    The problem is that not every person who has one of these dogs is responsible.
    I can't tell by looking at the owner, so I don't take a chance. All it takes is for the dog to attack once, and the damage that can be done is scary.
    You're more than welcome to your opinion, but we'll have to agree to disagree.