Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2010 Dublin Marathon Novices/Sub-4:30 Mentored Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

It IS all a joke about Nachoqueen and the Nachos right? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 Curl52

Name|Sessions Completed|Total Miles This Week|Total Mileage To Date|Comments
    William72|3|26.5|145.4|Back on track!|
    The Wexican|4|31.5|173.5|Best week to date, Saturday's LSR was a grea confidence booster|
    rofno1|3|23|182|Pulled up on midweek 7 miles with sore calf:o|
    boccy23|||168||
    brophya2007|3|23|223.3||
    beamgirl|||153||
    michellemuncher|||138||
    RayCun|3|30.6|287.8|Legs were in bits after Saturday's run, but seem to be (mostly) better now|
    littlebug|4|26|240.2|easy midweek miles and new HM pb:)|
    meathcountysec|5|38.64|380.57|Longest distance covered in a week, ever|
    DigiJem|3|26|232|toughest week so far for me, but the group run for the LSR made it a bit easier|
    D Chief|3|27.6|191.8|Tough week but still on track. Minor ankle sprain/twist on Thursday so skipped 4 miles on Firday. Did 16.6 miles in Park this morning. Tough going but got through it.|
    digger2d2|5|37|271|Got rid of the 17 miles lsr aches with a fast 3 miler on sunday|
    Curl52|4|35|361|Took it easy at the start of the week after the Frank Duffy race but legs still felt sore during my LSR of 16miles on Sat. Didn't really get into my LSR at all, felt tired from start to finish. Am glad to be away for the weekend this week and miss my LSR feels like my body needs a rest|
    ilovetorun |4|41|267|Really enjoyed the week|
    James Howlett|||238||
    RallyRunner|4|29|209|Really enjoyed the LSR with all the gang on Saturday morning. Now I'm over the 200 mile marker on this plan :)|
    corked|||190.5| |
    Cr17|||||
    Milosh|4|35|235|I found my 15m lrs really tough mentally. I really regret not getting in for the group run|
    RubyK|4|42.9|297.80|LSR of 25.8 miles went much better than expected. Maybe it's stupid to have nearly covered the distance, I don't know, but just glad it went well, and I didn't hit the wall, like I did last week|
    The_Dazzler|||||
    JEmily|5|29|116|15 miler completed with Boardsies, really enjoyed it, bath afterwards saved me|
    Mrslow|4|29.4|121.65|Thankfully seem to be back in action, ran 15.4 in old runners and my feet suffered a lot for the last two, next weeks 18 miler is gonna sting:eek::eek::eek:|
    marrona|||242.59||
    Agent J|4|40|139|20 Miles. Hurt my ankle on mile 17.|
    mprop|||||
    nachoqueen|||||
    Lad GAGA|||300||
    tivvo|||||
    BrokenMan|4|28|361.5|3 easy runs and HM Race with a nice new PB|

• Registered Users Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭boccy23

The Wexican|4|31.5|173.5|Best week to date, Saturday's LSR was a grea confidence booster|
    boccy23|3|24|192|Missed one 4 miler due to work. All the rest was ok though. |
    brophya2007|3|23|223.3||
    beamgirl|||153||
    michellemuncher|||138||
    RayCun|3|30.6|287.8|Legs were in bits after Saturday's run, but seem to be (mostly) better now|
    DigiJem|3|26|232|toughest week so far for me, but the group run for the LSR made it a bit easier|
    D Chief|3|27.6|191.8|Tough week but still on track. Minor ankle sprain/twist on Thursday so skipped 4 miles on Firday. Did 16.6 miles in Park this morning. Tough going but got through it.|
    digger2d2|5|37|271|Got rid of the 17 miles lsr aches with a fast 3 miler on sunday|
    Curl52|4|35|361|Took it easy at the start of the week after the Frank Duffy race but legs still felt sore during my LSR of 16miles on Sat. Didn't really get into my LSR at all, felt tired from start to finish. Am glad to be away for the weekend this week and miss my LSR feels like my body needs a rest|
    James Howlett|||238||
    RallyRunner|4|29|209|Really enjoyed the LSR with all the gang on Saturday morning. Now I'm over the 200 mile marker on this plan :)|
    corked|||190.5| |
    Cr17|||||
    Milosh|4|35|235|I found my 15m lrs really tough mentally. I really regret not getting in for the group run|
    RubyK|4|42.9|297.80|LSR of 25.8 miles went much better than expected. Maybe it's stupid to have nearly covered the distance, I don't know, but just glad it went well, and I didn't hit the wall, like I did last week|
    The_Dazzler|||||
    JEmily|5|29|116|15 miler completed with Boardsies, really enjoyed it, bath afterwards saved me|
    Mrslow|4|29.4|121.65|Thankfully seem to be back in action, ran 15.4 in old runners and my feet suffered a lot for the last two, next weeks 18 miler is gonna sting:eek::eek::eek:|
    marrona|||242.59||
    mprop|||||
    nachoqueen|||||
    Lad GAGA|||300||
    tivvo|||||

• Registered Users Posts: 192 ✭✭corked

boccy23|||168||
    brophya2007|3|23|223.3||
    beamgirl|||153||
    michellemuncher|||138||
    James Howlett|||238||
    corked|4|23.5|213.5|Had a disaster of a LSR only managed 10miles due to tiredness - have dingle half nxt weekend - anyone doing it??:D |
    Cr17|||||
    The_Dazzler|||||
    marrona|||242.59||
    mprop|||||
    nachoqueen|||||
    Lad GAGA|||300||
    tivvo|||||

• Registered Users Posts: 88 ✭✭michellemuncher

corked wrote: »
    boccy23|||168||
    brophya2007|3|23|223.3||
    beamgirl|||153||
    michellemuncher|4|26|154|I am very happy with the lsr of 15.4 miles. The company def made it easier. Cycled 60 miles|
    James Howlett|||238||
    corked|4|23.5|213.5|Had a disaster of a LSR only managed 10miles due to tiredness - have dingle half nxt weekend - anyone doing it??:D |
    Cr17|||||
    The_Dazzler|||||
    marrona|||242.59||
    mprop|||||
    nachoqueen|||||
    Lad GAGA|||300||
    tivvo|||||
    I was surprisingly wrecked after the lsr on Sat. My calves have been especially sore.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭jcsmum

littlebug wrote: »
    It IS all a joke about Nachoqueen and the Nachos right? :confused:

It was so annoying running beside her, crumbs flying everywhere :D;)

• Registered Users Posts: 224 ✭✭ilovetorun

RubyK wrote: »
    RubyK LSR of 25.8 miles went much better than expected. Maybe it's stupid to have nearly covered the distance, I don't know, but just glad it went well, and I didn't hit the wall, like I did last week|

Wow RubyK!! Well done:):):) How are you feeling -are your legs/muscles ok?
    Did you use any gels?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭Mr Slow

I was surprisingly wrecked after the lsr on Sat. My calves have been especially sore.

No wonder - with The Wexican and his hills:P and JEmily encouraging it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

jcsmum wrote: »
    It was so annoying running beside her, crumbs flying everywhere :D;)

Were there dips involved?.... must've looked a right mess :p

• Registered Users Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭RubyK

ilovetorun wrote: »
    Wow RubyK!! Well done:):):) How are you feeling -are your legs/muscles ok?
    Did you use any gels?

Hey ilovetorun, I'm feeling good thanks (a lot better than last week!). I took Saturday & Sunday as rest days, which probably helped a lot. My legs were sore alright immediately afterwards, but I stretched out as much as possible. I was fine Saturday morning though, which surprised me.

I hid some Lucozade Energise drink (4 250ml bottles), 1 bottle of water, 2 gels and some jellybabies. I don't know if it is all in my head, but I felt the energise drink really helped me. I just don't know about the gels tbh - they didn't make me feel ill like before, but I didn't get a burst of energy either. The jellybabies are handy, as they are easy to eat.

It wasn't all plain sailing - but i didn't hit the wall, like I did the previous week.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭boccy23

boccy23|3|24|168||
    brophya2007|3|23|223.3||
    beamgirl|||153||
    michellemuncher|4|26|154|I am very happy with the lsr of 15.4 miles. The company def made it easier. Cycled 60 miles|
    James Howlett|||238||
    Cr17|||||
    The_Dazzler|||||
    marrona|||242.59||
    mprop|||||
    nachoqueen|||||
    Lad GAGA|||300||
    tivvo|||||

• Registered Users Posts: 641 ✭✭✭JEmily

Originally Posted by RubyK
    [RubyK LSR of 25.8 miles went much better than expected. Maybe it's stupid to have nearly covered the distance, I don't know, but just glad it went well, and I didn't hit the wall, like I did last week]

Em, no i want to cover the distance too, or as near as. Maybe do 22/23 miles. I think for my own head i need to do it. I think your so right, well done on your distance, major achievement.

JEmily wrote: »
    Em, no i want to cover the distance too, or as near as. Maybe do 22/23 miles. I think for my own head i need to do it. I think your so right, well done on your distance, major achievement.

Jaysus, shes up to 23 now?

Hey ilovetorun, I'm feeling good thanks (a lot better than last week!). I took Saturday & Sunday as rest days, which probably helped a lot. My legs were sore alright immediately afterwards, but I stretched out as much as possible. I was fine Saturday morning though, which surprised me.

I hid some Lucozade Energise drink (4 250ml bottles), 1 bottle of water, 2 gels and some jellybabies. I don't know if it is all in my head, but I felt the energise drink really helped me. I just don't know about the gels tbh - they didn't make me feel ill like before, but I didn't get a burst of energy either. The jellybabies are handy, as they are easy to eat.

It wasn't all plain sailing - but i didn't hit the wall, like I did the previous week.

Fair play to you, you must be delighted! At least you know now you can do it, and its great that you killed off those demons from last week!
    I went on my LSR last night around Tramore and used a High5 gel for the first time- although I think I prefer the PowerBar Gels - the PowerBar gels seemed to give me more of a kick than the High5. I brought jellybabies with me before and loved the treat of a sweet during a tough run
    Well done again!

Thanks JEmily - I was in two minds as to go for it or not. In the end, I just said feck it, and went for it. For me (my head) I think it was the right thing to do. Time will tell I guess :eek:

The group meet-up runs sound like they are going great - sounds like a good craic too!

I went on my LSR last night around Tramore and used a High5 gel for the first time- although I think I prefer the PowerBar Gels - the PowerBar gels seemed to give me more of a kick than the High5. I brought jellybabies with me before and loved the treat of a sweet during a tough run
    Well done again!

I must try the PowerBar Gels - I've been using the High5's. How did the LSR go for you around Tramore?

Last night was great, it was a lovely evening for a nice long run. Although I am finding it really hard to eat when I get home. I have no appetite whatsoever and I do my best to eat but my stomach gets into knots once I get in the door. I have a recovery drink and plenty of water but its so hard to eat something when I just cant stomach it!

• Registered Users Posts: 641 ✭✭✭JEmily

mrslow wrote: »
    Jaysus, shes up to 23 now?

%*$" - you weren't supposed to see that! I meant 21/22...so anyway did you say you got your new runners:rolleyes:

Thanks JEmily - I was in two minds as to go for it or not. In the end, I just said feck it, and went for it. For me (my head) I think it was the right thing to do. Time will tell I guess :eek:

The group meet-up runs sound like they are going great - sounds like a good craic too!

Oh my God Ruby, that is some running by you. Fantastic achievement and great you have recovered from it. :)

jcsmum wrote: »
    Oh my God Ruby, that is some running by you. Fantastic achievement and great you have recovered from it. :)

A big plus one from me ;)

Question:

On the back of Ruby K's mammoth runs and that other lunatic JEmily seeking out massive mileage before the big day, I was wondering how many of you will run 20 more than once in training and how many will run farther?

Well I hope to do 20 on Saturday and maybe one more in a fortnights time. I was advised by seasoned marathon runners (non boardsies) not to do more than 20 miles in training or do more than 3:15/3:20 hrs.
    I think adrenaline and excitement should get me through the other 6 miles on the day.

Question:

I have done 2x 20m so far and plan to do one more in 3 weeks time and thats it, I think thats plenty for me.

I know I'll get there but 20 is huge, hopefully the taper will allow me forget how hard it is to run that far.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭BrokenMan

Question:

I have 1 19 done and will be hopefully doing 3 X 20 every second weekend starting this one.

I was planing on doing one of the 20's as a 22 but my brother who is a fairly experienced marathon runner advised me not to go over the 20 miles on my first attempt.

I know I'll get there but 20 is huge, hopefully the taper will allow me forget how hard it is to run that far.

Of course you will get there...I think the thought of it is actually worse than actually running it tbh
    As you quoted me before: As Hal higdon says 'Once you've done it, you're looking down at it instead of up' ;)

Of course you will get there...I think the thought of it is actually worse than actually running it tbh
    As you quoted me before: As Hal higdon says 'Once you've done it, you're looking down at it instead of up' ;)

I know, but I don't feel like I'm 'looking down' at 15.4 - I remember every footfall for the last two miles:(

I'm really excited about 18 though :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 298 ✭✭brophya2007

You're all making me nervous with these big numbers.

I've gotten up to 15 so far and the plan for the next 5 weeks is 16/18/Half/14/20

You're all making me nervous with these big numbers.

I've gotten up to 15 so far and the plan for the next 5 weeks is 16/18/Half/14/20

Do you not think you'll be tired for the half? Some of us are doing 18 this week (to tick the box) then 15 as a taper for the half.

• Registered Users Posts: 169 ✭✭The Wexican

Hi all

Just been looking at a route for Saturday's 18 miler, and as per Mr Slows suggestion we could do two laps so we can get back to the cars for a water stop.

Anyhoo, I know there was a lot of disappointment that we didn't take in the kyber last week , so thanks to the laps we get to run up it twice :D. But at least we can then free wheel down Chesterfield Avenue.

It's a little over 18 miles, but with all the talk of 20 and 22 milers sure who'll mind those extra couple of yards.

http://www.mapmyrun.com/route/ie/phoenix%20park/281128325656111089