Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You are not a f*cking DJ. You’re an overpaid, untalented, cake-throwing c*nt.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

So, I was at a rock gig last week where all the talk was about how loud the band were going to be and how ear plugs would be handed out and it got me to wondering about artists who make a feature of their shows being the seriously loud volume of their music.

I'm not raising this as another earplugs for pussies debate.

I am interested in folks thoughts on whether they see it as acceptable/cool/passée/whatever that an artist would make extremely loud volume a part of their act. I'm not referring to things like it's loud when your head is next to the bass bin and you can hold a conversation at the back but where it's ear splittingly loud as soon as you enter the building.

I'm just curious as to folks opinions and in particular those attending dance/electronic music events.

Personally I just find it passée but I'm an old bastard anyway (who danced up front at CJ Boland 2 weeks ago but who brought a little cushion to an orchestral concert at the weekend for added back comfort on those horrid wooden church benches) :p

• Registered Users Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

old gregg wrote: »
    So, I was at a rock gig last week where all the talk was about how loud the band were going to be and how ear plugs would be handed out and it got me to wondering about artists who make a feature of their shows being the seriously loud volume of their music.

I'm not raising this as another earplugs for pussies debate.

I am interested in folks thoughts on whether they see it as acceptable/cool/passée/whatever that an artist would make extremely loud volume a part of their act. I'm not referring to things like it's loud when your head is next to the bass bin and you can hold a conversation at the back but where it's ear splittingly loud as soon as you enter the building.

I'm just curious as to folks opinions and in particular those attending dance/electronic music events.

Personally I just find it passée but I'm an old bastard anyway (who danced up front at CJ Boland 2 weeks ago but who brought a little cushion to an orchestral concert at the weekend for added back comfort on those horrid wooden church benches) :p

Acceptableicon14.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

Hey le key, who did you vote for for in the Boards.ie Poll?

If it's ok to ask that is...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Carl Sagan

I kind of hate music being too loud. I ****ed up my ears early so now once they take a hit I pretty much can't hear the high end for the whole gig (but that's also a product of **** sound men and bands not setting up right). Giving out earplugs would be a welcome change.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭francois

old gregg wrote: »

Did you ever see My Bloody Valentine? Insanely loud, almost to the point of pain, as were the jesus and mary chain. Those gigs alone must have caused damage

Hey le key, who did you vote for for in the Boards.ie Poll?

If it's ok to ask that is...

No problem & wouldnt imagine there would be any gasps,

Socialist party

Carl Sagan wrote: »
    Giving out earplugs would be a welcome change.

This has been discussed a while back here & my position on it was that 'earplugs are for pussies', its jsut like going to a fireworks display & being handed out shades:D

francois wrote: »
    Did you ever see My Bloody Valentine? Insanely loud, almost to the point of pain, as were the jesus and mary chain. Those gigs alone must have caused damage
    yea I saw MBV once and hated them because of the volume thing. I like volume to be a choice where I can go up front or stand back to find a volume level I'm happy with. I'm not keen on having that choice taken away by an artist.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

This has been discussed a while back here & my position on it was that 'earplugs are for pussies', its jsut like going to a fireworks display & being handed out shades:D
    Ah now, don't be facetious. It's nothing like that at all. Staring at fireworks won't cause permanent damage to your eyes. Go to watch an eclipse of the sun without wearing eye protection would be a better comparison.

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Ah now, don't be facetious. It's nothing like that at all. Staring at fireworks won't cause permanent damage to your eyes. Go to watch an eclipse of the sun without wearing eye protection would be a better comparison.

Ah baz come on now, note the smilie face beside the comment:D

Not to be taken seriously, just a bit of humour, perhaps i am crap at humour:confused:

Anyway it all depends on how drunk you are & how close you get to said fireworks, holding a roman candle in your hand after 2 flagons on linden increases the probability of eye damage;)

Ah baz come on now, note the smilie face beside the comment:D
    That's why I said don't be so facetious. :)

Anyway it all depends on how drunk you are & how close you get to said fireworks, holding a roman candle in your hand after 2 flagons on linden increases the probability of eye damage;)
    I loved that you work in Health & Safety. :D

I could posit that if a band suggests that their music is so loud you'll need to wear the supplied cheapo sponge ear plugs then they are happy to have their music downgraded as a result of being filtered through those little yellow sponges.

That's why I said don't be so facetious. :)

I noticed it half way through typing & just went with it anyway:)
    I loved that you work in Health & Safety. :D

If i told you the half of the sh.it ive done you would be laughing yer ass off, if i told my boss he would be shi.tting himself who he has put in charge:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭ianuss

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

francois wrote: »

Never seen them live but they must have applied whatever logic to 'Loveless' as I always found that album so difficult to listen to, the sound just cuts through me. A mate told me that's how it supposed to sound but doesn't work on my ears!

ianuss wrote: »

Couple of points,

While i see where you are going by saying i will enjoy it, i have to say it again strengthens my resolve & justification for an end to this bullsh.it system that prioritises 100% business & capital over humans & their dignity.

Secondly it angers me on an intellectual level that this will be read & forgotten very quickly once it is immersed in the sea of pro capitalist propaganda on the shelves everyday which your average reader is oblivious to.

If it even compels one person to seek out more information or change how they perceive the stage handled careerist actors that most politicians are, it was a very worth while article.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭ianuss

I haven't had a chance to watch this yet, and probabaly won't 'til this evening but it sounds like it's going to be interesting.....

http://thesocietypages.org/socimages/2011/02/08/a-critique-of-capitalism-by-g-a-cohen/

I haven't had a chance to watch this yet, and probabaly won't 'til this evening but it sounds like it's going to be interesting.....

http://thesocietypages.org/socimages/2011/02/08/a-critique-of-capitalism-by-g-a-cohen/

Thanks, will have a gander later meself.

When you can spare an hour, you should have a read of this. Great article; an outsiders view of our current predicament....

http://www.vanityfair.com/business/features/2011/03/michael-lewis-ireland-201103?currentPage=all
    Only got round to reading this last night. It's a looooonnng read but certainly worth it. The most interesting part of it is that it gives a time line of how the crash unfolded. How we’re not out on the streets burning the bank HQs I’ll never know! Some real shocking stuff. I suppose the reason we’re not is because most people genuinely don’t know exactly what happened and just have a general idea, Bankers, Bonds, Politicians, Developers, Nama, Europe, no money, etc., etc.

If you haven't read it yet I'd certainly suggest you do.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

a friend of mine introduced me to this show.......I knew who Penn and Teller were but didn't realise they were continuing on the great tradition of magicians exposing bullsh1t artists.

Check out the self esteem episode. Very good, and helped me understand why so many people are nowadays convinced that they're unique and 'special' (that came up when we were talking about kids with behavioural problems i think)..

I think I've seen some of those before. Might have been posted here? Was there one about the "War on Drugs"?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

there was indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

Derren Brown is doing a new show at the moment training somebody up to be a Baptist Preacher. Gets some Joe Public from England, teaches them all the techniques and then brings them to the Deep South to unleash them on the Bible belt. Should be interesting viewing. The one he did with the medium was brilliant, don't know if anyone here saw that. Better than that Russian Roulette and predicting the lottery bollocks he done.

Better than that Russian Roulette and predicting the lottery bollocks he done.
    Yeah, those type of shows are just silly showmanship. At least with the other ones it works as an exposé and shows you the tricks.

Although I liked the horse racing one. It seemed impossible but then so simple once the trick was revealed.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Penn & Teller are brilliant, its totally worth downloading all their stuff, they are only about 20 minutes each but they are on their 8th season. Some are a big Meh but most are excellent. I love the way they take the piss out of people and do really funny editing and voiceovers.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

Anyone see that film "Exit through the gift shop"? I watched it last night, really interesteing stuff about street art.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jimi_t2

Derren Brown is doing a new show at the moment training somebody up to be a Baptist Preacher. Gets some Joe Public from England, teaches them all the techniques and then brings them to the Deep South to unleash them on the Bible belt. Should be interesting viewing. The one he did with the medium was brilliant, don't know if anyone here saw that. Better than that Russian Roulette and predicting the lottery bollocks he done.

I much prefer David Blaine. The most impressive thing about him is that for that holding his breath trick... there was no trick!

Seems like a very humble, fascinating guy.

Belfast flight crashes at Cork Airport
    There are unconfirmed reports that eight people are dead following a plane crash at Cork Airport.

The Manx2 commuter flight, with 10 passengers and two crew, was en route from Belfast when it crashed on landing in fog at Cork Airport just before 10am.

14 people are said to be injured.

The Aviation Authority says the aircraft made two atrtempts to land before crashing.

Debris has been scattered onto the runway and over a wide area.

Gardaí, fire crews and ambulances from across the city and county are responding.

Reported on RTE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

Belfast flight crashes at Cork Airport

Reported on RTE

Must of been the bad fog this morning ? sad news

Yeah it was the fog. They're reporting on the radio that it crashed on it's third attempt at landing. Awful news.