Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You are not a f*cking DJ. You’re an overpaid, untalented, cake-throwing c*nt.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

The next boards meet-up better be a hurling match, because this is all getting a bit ghey.

The game of boards electronic hurling will suddenly be brought to a halt when the first smack of hurls creates a killer beat and...

Definitely interesting characters in this place.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭ianuss

The next boards meet-up better be a hurling match, because this is all getting a bit ghey.

Anyone for a kick in the face?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

Davei141 wrote: »
    Definitely interesting characters in this place.

Ah, we've all been Garda vetted so you're okay and Jeff will only go out raping if there's a rapture on so you'll be safe enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭Clanket

Davei141 wrote: »
    The game of boards electronic hurling will suddenly be brought to a halt when the first smack of hurls creates a killer beat and...

Love spaced. Brilliant show

• Registered Users Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

After that everything will cease to exist. The thing about this prediction is that if you are not in God's favour when you die you don't go to hell you just no longer exist in any spiritual form which would be what atheists believe anyways and if you are in God's favour you have to hang around heaven forever. That's got to get boring after a while…

This is why everyone should get into old school, it never gets boring:D

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭cranky bollix

KFC Chinas taste of ireland chicken

Thats brilliant cranky bollix. God bless YouTube. And the internetz. And better not forget the Chinese. Hope they all make it through Judgement Day tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

Diamonds are the way to go I reckon. In a post rapture world it's the small valuable items that will be the currency of choice once the wheels come off reality. 10 diamonds will buy most of the things you could imagine and they'd fit up your arse leaving the backpack free for more ..... just a thought while I'm waiting to get rich tomorrow :)

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Didn't quite know where to put this so where better than here.

Mental track and video, quality though... and fcked up.

Demdike Stare — Hashshashin Chant

old gregg wrote: »
    Diamonds are the way to go I reckon. In a post rapture world it's the small valuable items that will be the currency of choice once the wheels come off reality. 10 diamonds will buy most of the things you could imagine and they'd fit up your arse leaving the backpack free for more ..... just a thought while I'm waiting to get rich tomorrow :)

Aside from valuables though and methods of currency, I was thinking a while back how crap it would be if there was no electricity - I'd probably have a few MP3 players fully charged, but when the last one played its final few moments before shutting off, that would be a pretty sad moment. Then I'd be back to taking shots at random scavengers out on the street with my home made crossbow.

Oddest thing I've seen in a while Scuba, where the hell did you find that?

Kind of like a cross between Close encounters of the third kind, Donnie Darko, Psycho, The Shining...........

Very hypnotic rhythm. Love it

Always been fascinated with the way gold and diamonds are so valuable. All they are are shiny things.

Clanket wrote: »
    Oddest thing I've seen in a while Scuba, where the hell did you find that?

Kind of like a cross between Close encounters of the third kind, Donnie Darko, Psycho, The Shining...........

Very hypnotic rhythm. Love it

Just checking out some tracks off albums I'm planning to buy and that one was instantly added to the basket. Pretty odd video alright.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

Always been fascinated with the way gold and diamonds are so valuable. All they are are shiny things.

Think it's more-so about rarity, the rarer something is, the more expensive it is, supply & demand and all that.

By that rational though, Pandas should be the ultimate currency.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,616 ✭✭✭milltown

Think it's more-so about rarity, the rarer something is, the more expensive it is, supply & demand and all that.

By that rational though, Pandas should be the ultimate currency.

Shush dammit!
    I'm trying to accumulate before everyone else cops on.

Anyone any thoughts on the idea of mankind moving to another economic system other than capitalism.

I'm really feeling like I need to start reading up on a few things. Anyone a good place to start?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

Anyone any thoughts on the idea of mankind moving to another economic system other than capitalism.

I'm really feeling like I need to start reading up on a few things. Anyone a good place to start?

Here, sure we're all great lads and we think we know what we're talking about...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

Mankind? The population of China is like 20% of the world or something stupid, so combined with all the other (pseudo) Communist countries, a good proportion on mankind has already moved to another economic system.

Problem is that socialism/communism can really only function properly if the majority of the world is socialist/communist, otherwise, most of their energy is spent on stopping the people defecting to Capitalism.

Even China hasn't managed to maintain any Marxism, they're one of the most capitalist states in the world at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,616 ✭✭✭milltown

China has the bulk of the world's wealth, and pandas.
    Coincidence?

Mankind? The population of China is like 20% of the world or something stupid, so combined with all the other (pseudo) Communist countries, a good proportion on mankind has already moved to another economic system.

Problem is that socialism/communism can really only function properly if the majority of the world is socialist/communist, otherwise, most of their energy is spent on stopping the people defecting to Capitalism.

Even China hasn't managed to maintain any Marxism, they're one of the most capitalist states in the world at this stage.

To be honest, I can't remember much from school but does Marx = Socialism bar a few minor details?

In the real world, socialism doesn't work. Simple as. So any talk along those lines can pretty much be ruled out.

I'm talking about a more evolved type of capitalism. Been thinking about it the last few weeks and I think the best way to describe it is social capitalism.

I cant give figures tonight but isnt something stupid like 90% of the worlds wealth owned by 10% of the population. Surely there's a more equitable way than that horseshít.

Anyone been watching the excellent series Chemistry: A volotile history on BBC4 the last few weeks?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

Clanket, go back through this thread to the beginning, there's a big aul debate about socio-economic systems etc.

A moog filled advert from the 70s, would certainly make you want to go and grab a few tins of Schaefer Beer.

I saw that advert on a documentary about Robert Moog which I recorded a while back but only watched today - really excellent. Up on youtube in several parts, highly recommended.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fGojNAfqN90

• Registered Users Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

yeah that documentary is great. Have it on dvd. Came with a free demo of the arturia minimoog vst on it.......at the time, it was a struggle to find a computer with enough ram and processing power to run it.

Jeepers that was 2005. We've come a long way.

• Registered Users Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Eddie Ere

Didn't quite know where to put this so where better than here.

Mental track and video, quality though... and fcked up.

Demdike Stare — Hashshashin Chant

Nice find, great track and trippy vid. They seem to have a following of horror fetish nuts!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Anyone got any other good documentary recommendations? I used to watch loads but have not seen any decent ones in ages. Inside Job was ok.

However, saw this last night. Not really a standard doco. Can't say much without giving it away but its really not what you might expect

• Registered Users Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

Zascar wrote: »
    Anyone got any other good documentary recommendations? I used to watch loads but have not seen any decent ones in ages. Inside Job was ok.

However, saw this last night. Not really a standard doco. Can't say much without giving it away but its really not what you might expect

Saw Someone recommend this to you on facebook.
    It's ****ing ****e,it's trying to be shocking but it feels so set up.
    Watched it with the missus last week and we were bitterly disappointed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jimi_t2

Anyone got any other good documentary recommendations? ]

FOOOOOK CATFISH.

Pile of ****.

This on the other hand will completely surpass your expectations and is just very watchable and lighthearted

• Registered Users Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

Man on Wire, Exit through the gift shop or A taxi to the dark side. All excellent!