Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You are not a f*cking DJ. You’re an overpaid, untalented, cake-throwing c*nt.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

That's what my parents do. They live in the stix and the aerial reception is rubbish - so some guy came up, fitted a sky box to get the freesat channels - but they do not pay for sky. The channels are all over the place though, pain in the ass. Also, you cannot get the basic RTE or BBC Channels through the free sky, so you have to use the tv (aerial) for the first 5 channels - then satellite (sky) for the rest. It's a ridiculous setup. The sooner RTE go freesat digital the better!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

Zascar wrote: »
    That's what my parents do. They live in the stix and the aerial reception is rubbish - so some guy came up, fitted a sky box to get the freesat channels - but they do not pay for sky. The channels are all over the place though, pain in the ass. Also, you cannot get the basic RTE or BBC Channels through the free sky, so you have to use the tv (aerial) for the first 5 channels - then satellite (sky) for the rest. It's a ridiculous setup. The sooner RTE go freesat digital the better!

Hmmm, you can get all the BBC's on the SKY box, also regarding the irish stations, all you need is an aerial supplying via COAX into the TV the Irish channels which will be tuned into numbers 1, 2, 3, 4 on your TV & then the SKY into the TV via scart coming in on the AV channel, not that complex really.

Also once you set up your 50 channels on the favorites thats it, no probs whatsoever navigating & if you want to watch RTE etc use TV function on SKY remote to navigate to channels on TV. Simple really.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

It's kinda one of those things where if it was my own TV I'd fiddle with it for hours to get it right, but because its my parents I try to stay well away from it. I get so so tired of being their tech support - they are so so technically retarded that i gave up after years of teaching my mother time and time again how to use the video recorder - her memory lasts about 3 days and then she forgets. Or swears to god its broken and i need to fix it, but I come down and try it and it works perfectly first time. Bloody old people....

Zascar wrote: »
    It's kinda one of those things where if it was my own TV I'd fiddle with it for hours to get it right, but because its my parents I try to stay well away from it. I get so so tired of being their tech support - they are so so technically retarded that i gave up after years of teaching my mother time and time again how to use the video recorder - her memory lasts about 3 days and then she forgets. Or swears to god its broken and i need to fix it, but I come down and try it and it works perfectly first time. Bloody old people....

That all sounds remarkably like,

"Theres a flaw in the software" to me:D;)

Its not an age thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭Clanket

Where do I sign up?

splash.jpg

Taken from here

http://workbuyconsumedie.com/

• Registered Users Posts: 4,616 ✭✭✭milltown

A mate tells me that the Dodgyboxes are back on the market again. Anyone see or hear anything about this? I had one years ago but the method of encryption was changed rendering the old boxes useless.

Heres an odd one for ya if yer ever on the N7 coming in towards citywest,

Just before rathcoole if you are travelling inwards from the Naas side there is a house you can see from an elevated position on your left (just a bit before the bridge), anyway the guy who owns this house has two manequins in the garden & he changes the postion of them regularly, he moves them around the garden to different spots, has them waving to the road sometimes, changes there clothes regularly from work wear with hi viz jackets, to suits with brief case, to hoody tops with track suit bottoms etc etc.

Its a little bizarre to say the least,

Oh, he also has a stone statue goose he puts in different parts of the graden also!!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

has two manequins in the garden & he changes the postion of them regularly, he moves them around the garden to different spots

Of course he does Mise, of course he does. Nurrrrrrrrse!

Anyone ever see the house on the Dublin side of Castledermot with the statues in the porch? I remember one was Elvis but I can't think what the other was. Equally odd as I recall anyway.

Its not often you will hear me applaud Fine gael but credit where credit is due, Kenny was spot on with his attack on the vatican yesterday, now people will say it is easy to row in behind this kind of sentiment towards the vatican if you are opposed to them & there rule (which i am), but kenny as leader of a party whos vote is Rural based & many of whom voted for him may be very devout catholics really showed he is not playing politics on this, his attack potentially could have negative consequnces for the Fine Gael vote but he didnt shy away from what had to be said & must be followed through.

Hard to say but, well done Enda Kenny & Eamon Gilmoreicon14.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

It's interesting alright, very interesting. I think what's happening is there is an attempt by Catholics to distance themselves from what's been going on

Did you see the Dublin Bishop - Diarmuid Martin on the 6 o'clock news? As you know, I've got fairly strong anti-church views, but it was hard not to believe he was genuine in what he was saying - he was on the verge of tears a couple of times talking about the shame he felt over what has happened.

At the same time, he was there standing up for the Vatican though - saying he has always reported to the Gardai any alleged abuse, and hasn't had any negative response from the Vatican on this.

There are some good priests there, I don't doubt that, but given the track record of the organisation as a whole, there's no way I'd let me kids anywhere near it. No chance.

Prison, Closures, Frozen assets.........that would put the shíts up the dresses of the cardinals & Col. Ratzinger.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

Agreed. Any other organisation - would be criminalised and become an offence to be a member of

Careful now lads! Remember the title of the thread

• Registered Users Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

Fair play to Kenny indeed. Gilmore and Quinn are fairly gung-ho anti-church atheists so I reckon we'll see a powerplay on getting assets from the church over the next 2 years. This will most likely include schools (something Labour promised in their electoral material).

It seems as if Kenny's monumental middle-finger to the church is getting him huge popularity so the wheels are now in motion for a proper separation of church and state. All we need now is Norris (a gay and a non-Catholic) being president and we can finally get away from the nonsense that has held this country back for so long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

The Walking Dead - season 2 trailer

Looks good, can't wait :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,480 ✭✭✭francois

jtsuited wrote: »
    Fair play to Kenny indeed. Gilmore and Quinn are fairly gung-ho anti-church atheists so I reckon we'll see a powerplay on getting assets from the church over the next 2 years. This will most likely include schools (something Labour promised in their electoral material).

It seems as if Kenny's monumental middle-finger to the church is getting him huge popularity so the wheels are now in motion for a proper separation of church and state. All we need now is Norris (a gay and a non-Catholic) being president and we can finally get away from the nonsense that has held this country back for so long.

Very true-Though it was a long time coming considering these scandals have been public knowledge for over 10 years. Personally I cannot stand religon, you may as well beleive in the tooth fairy, but if people want to belive that is their perogative (and futile waste of time).
    Religon has no part to play inn how a state is run-it is an insult and those who believe that a society is and should be based on principals which transcend those given in texts (which are dubious in origin to say the least) written millenia ago.
    The situation regarding Norris is pretty scandalous-he is evidently the most popular candidate, but we are going to be offered a series of has-beens. it would be a breath of frsh air, not to mention a kick in the eye of old ireland where a twisted morality has led to the industrial schools, women working in slavery conditions in laundries and gays have been labelled as perverts
    I'm not a fan of kenny but fair dues

• Registered Users Posts: 411 ✭✭NotInventedHere

tumblr_lfnpelVJOw1qdgofeo1_400.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭ianuss

• Registered Users Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

This is up there with the streaker running into the glass.....been laughing all day at this....

Fantasy football league set up again for this coming season.
    Code: 524215-140719
    Pick your team at: http://fantasy.premierleague.com/

Have to get my fantasy team together.

On the topic of football, this keepers playing a football / Kung Fu hybrid :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

milltown wrote: »
    Fantasy football league set up again for this coming season.
    Code: 524215-140719
    Pick your team at: http://fantasy.premierleague.com/

Got my team in.

Oh, i see Aguero was put in today for 11.0

Clanket wrote: »

On the topic of football, this keepers playing a football / Kung Fu hybrid :eek:

That tackle was a touch late alright. :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Clanket wrote: »

Cowardly scum could of broke the guys neck. Doesn't say if he was charged with anything though.

jtsuited wrote: »
    This is up there with the streaker running into the glass.....been laughing all day at this....

That's hilarious.

Some of his quotes are priceless:-

"Cut off your arms, that'll make you the best soccer player in the world",

"Barack Osama Homo Bin Laden wants to bring socialism to the US",

"It's really just as simple as that. Play soccer, go to hell.".

Hahahahaha, perfect for a thread title change

Taken from the music production forum.

A prison in Norway where the mass murderer may be sent. Looks like a great place

http://www.time.com/time/photogallery/0,29307,1989083,00.html

Incredible!! Looks like a lovely place I'd say its great craic! ;)