Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You are not a f*cking DJ. You’re an overpaid, untalented, cake-throwing c*nt.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭ianuss

This is pretty sizeable but you it shows you how small and interconnected Irish business life is.

http://www.tascnet.ie/upload/file/MtGC%20ISSU.pdf

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Fixed the problem for anybody that gives a sh1t.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Just a tad extreme. I have it on another full Microsoft scan now. If that doesn't work I'll try uninstalling and reinstalling Chrome and if that doesn't work I'll just do a system restore to a couple of weeks ago. That normally works.
    The old laptop in the sitting room that only gets used for interwebs needs a wipe. Have various flavours of Windows on DVDs, but am going to give Ubuntu another whirl - downloading v12 now. Many linux users here? I don't want to have to know anything about it, want to be a dumb end user and see does it all install and work with point and click - I'm assuming it will

joker77 wrote: »
    The old laptop in the sitting room that only gets used for interwebs needs a wipe.
    I bet it does ya durrty monkey!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,480 ✭✭✭francois

The old laptop in the sitting room that only gets used for interwebs needs a wipe. Have various flavours of Windows on DVDs, but am going to give Ubuntu another whirl - downloading v12 now. Many linux users here? I don't want to have to know anything about it, want to be a dumb end user and see does it all install and work with point and click - I'm assuming it will

yeah go for it, it is dead simple if you are just going to use it for browsing and email-setup is simple and you can always try a live cd version to test-but in terms of old laptops it will run a lot better than windows, any probs PM me

set up my folks on it and they love it-no worries about viruses in general either

francois wrote: »
    yeah go for it, it is dead simple if you are just going to use it for browsing and email-setup is simple and you can always try a live cd version to test-but in terms of old laptops it will run a lot better than windows, any probs PM me
    Nice one - cheers

I'm hoping it runs a bit quicker - really just want it for browsing and listening to music

Nice one - cheers

I'm hoping it runs a bit quicker - really just want it for browsing and listening to music

beware that to play mp3's you'll need to do a small bit of config-but it is dead easy to do-and the support forums are really good and will show you how to do it

Hmmm, what's the craic with Ubuntu? I have an old PC that I used to use as a Media Centre, kinda got fed up with it grinding to a halt under the stress of Windows. Would Ubuntu be a good stable option for music storage and maybe pictures? Videos even?

Very straightforward install, nearly done

Hmmm, what's the craic with Ubuntu? I have an old PC that I used to use as a Media Centre, kinda got fed up with it grinding to a halt under the stress of Windows. Would Ubuntu be a good stable option for music storage and maybe pictures? Videos even?

Most definitely-very stable-faster on older systems, really easy to use-probably less messy than win 7, all the software is free and really configurable-if you want you can even make it look like windows-it's memory handling and file storage is way better as well. Seems daunting at first, but after an hour you'll be flying-you even can choose what type of desktop you want ( google gnome and KDE desktops for screenshots)

Video and pics are out of the box-there is even a free alternative to photoshop called GIMP, audacity etc work as well

Excellent. Must give it a bash so. It's just gathering dust at the moment so I might as well put it to use. Be prepared for a load of wreckthehead questions when I do get around to it!

no probs-welcome to the world of linux!

francois wrote: »
    Most definitely-very stable-faster on older systems, really easy to use-probably less messy than win 7, all the software is free and really configurable-if you want you can even make it look like windows-it's memory handling and file storage is way better as well. Seems daunting at first, but after an hour you'll be flying-you even can choose what type of desktop you want ( google gnome and KDE desktops for screenshots)

Video and pics are out of the box-there is even a free alternative to photoshop called GIMP, audacity etc work as well
    Cheers for that, I'll definitely look at skinning the desktop because that was one thing that put me off last time

Gimp is pretty cool alright - there's a windows version as well

The Media Centre setup I used to have was fantastic though. A mate basically set it up for me so I didn't have to do too much thinking about it, but it was years ahead of itself. All the Smart TV's are only catching up to it now, and even at that they're nowhere near as good.

I just use my work Laptop now and stream videos over Allshare which is actually really handy, but I'd still like to have everything backed up on a home PC though.

Cheers for that, I'll definitely look at skinning the desktop because that was one thing that put me off last time

Gimp is pretty cool alright - there's a windows version as well

KDE is easy, I'm a firm believer that if you can work a mobile phone you can work a computer whatever the flavour of OS!
    GIMP is really fast under linux

First post from Ubuntu 12. Definitely feels a lot faster. Wonder what herself will make of it in the morning, ha

I said it was like moving from iOS to Android

First post from Ubuntu 12. Definitely feels a lot faster. Wonder what herself will make of it in the morning, ha

I said it was like moving from iOS to Android

both have their roots in Unix, so you are right ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭Clanket

Speaking of Linux, my Rasberry Pi arrived yesterday.

I need to buy a few things to get it running but it really is an amazing piece of kit. A computer the size of a credit card (with 2 USB ports, 1 HDMI and a few others) for €45.

I can't wait to start messing around with it. I think it will be used mainly for streaming stuff to my TV. I use an XBox360 at the minute but it can be quite loud because of the fans.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

haha, a certain boardsie has trolled my soundcloud account. i'm leaving his comments as they're very very funny......

http://soundcloud.com/bawdcaster

• Registered Users Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭BetterCallSaul

The Olympics opening ceremony tonight could be interesting with Underworld and Danny Boyle involved.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,616 ✭✭✭milltown

jtsuited wrote: »
    haha, a certain boardsie has trolled my soundcloud account. i'm leaving his comments as they're very very funny......

http://soundcloud.com/bawdcaster

"stick ur demo mix up ur hole ya skinny lil hippy"

Guessing this guy hasn't met you?
    Who is he?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭ianuss

He's my old pal. The label head of Sh1tty Sh1tey Records

So what did people think of the Opening Ceremony of the Olympics? I have to say I was really impressed, thought the musical score was fantastic. Didn't realise that Underworld had such a heavy involvement with it.
    By far the best piece of the night was the Pandemonium section, and I didn't realise until today that that piece was written by Rick Smith of Underworld (but just credited to Underworld). He also wrote the final piece too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭BetterCallSaul

So what did people think of the Opening Ceremony of the Olympics? I have to say I was really impressed, thought the musical score was fantastic. Didn't realise that Underworld had such a heavy involvement with it.
    By far the best piece of the night was the Pandemonium section, and I didn't realise until today that that piece was written by Rick Smith of Underworld (but just credited to Underworld). He also wrote the final piece too.

Bit of a two months off sample going on in there ^, the score was epic for an event like that, the athletes strolling out to Dark and Long, never thought I'd see that!

I was so blown away by the olympics ceremony I had quite a spectacular sh1tfit on Twitter and facebook.

It was almost like Danny Boyle had thought 'this one's for all the cynics and curmudgeons'.

Strangely enough, the type of people who normally like Opening Ceremony type sh1te (and parades, and the Galway Arts Festival, yadda yadda) seem to be less than impressed with the whole thing, whereas every dyed-in-the-wool cynic I know was blown away.

It pains me to say it but fair play to the British. The industrial revolution, universal suffrage, socialised medicine, the internet, etc. Some of the better achievements of mankind.

I was so blown away by the olympics ceremony I had quite a spectacular sh1tfit on Twitter and facebook.

It was almost like Danny Boyle had thought 'this one's for all the cynics and curmudgeons'.

Strangely enough, the type of people who normally like Opening Ceremony type sh1te (and parades, and the Galway Arts Festival, yadda yadda) seem to be less than impressed with the whole thing, whereas every dyed-in-the-wool cynic I know was blown away.

It pains me to say it but fair play to the British. The industrial revolution, universal suffrage, socialised medicine, the internet, etc. Some of the better achievements of mankind.
    The only bad bit (although some of the music was great) was the parading of the athletes. I swear to Jaysis they were just making up names of countries!
    What's the dealio with the 3 athletes that didn't have a country to represent? What happens if they happen to win an event? Do they get to choose their own anthem? :)

I loved the bit about the Industrial Revolution. It was very clever how it was conceived, especially the way they used the cast stripping away the set as an integral part of the show; the movement away from a pastoral countryside society to an industrialised society. All the musical and cultural references were great too. The soundtrack is now available... some great stuff on it.

Isles of Wonder: Music for the Opening Ceremony of the London 2012 Olympic Games

Honestly, when the jocks started walking out, the whole planet went 'whatever, give us some more mad sh1t'.

Haha, so true.

I found it mad that some people in the British media seemed almost apologetic that the 'merkins didn't quite get the eccentricity of the show. I was like Fvk that! You paid for it. Do what the hell you like......plus it was deadly!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Haha, so true.

I found it mad that some people in the British media seemed almost apologetic that the 'merkins didn't quite get the eccentricity of the show. I was like Fvk that! You paid for it. Do what the hell you like......plus it was deadly!!

There's a bit of kerfuffle about NBC not broadcasting the 7 July tribute part of the ceremony because it wasn't 'tailored for America audiences'

http://www.metro.co.uk/olympics/906659-opening-ceremony-choreographer-horrified-7-7-tribute-cut-by-nbc