Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You are not a f*cking DJ. You’re an overpaid, untalented, cake-throwing c*nt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

joker77 wrote: »
    Believe me I was hammered. Prob 3 hours missing from the night, no recollection whatsoever of coming home. As I say - waking up screaming beside a geriatric ladyboy is not my idea of fun!

FYP!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

I went completely blind the only time I had absinthe. It was in a chef's house and he had just come back from Prague with the stuff. He did all the fancy preparation etc. and I thought it a nice little kick from it as soon as I drank it. Fast forward an hour later and I couldn't see a thing. Only lasted a while, but the nightmares I had were unbelievable that night. Yeah and proper full on panic the next day.

Meh, alcohol can cause all those things (and this was back in my heavy drinkin days), so I just put it down as one of those nights.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

Ah here whats all this about nightmares lads:confused:

Last time i went at it i consumed about 250mls of it, an acid called 'the end', a rake of pints in fitzsimons i think it was (was well on then so could have been anny boozer around there), back to mates gaff for cans & next day brought the kids to the park.

Meh, fuc.kin lightweights:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

Got a chuckle from the New Ryanair add :D

1zdiio.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Ya can't make this sh1t up.
    What was he thinking. With a name like that something like this was always on the cards!
    DJ Ironik Stabbed By Robbers Who Stole His Jewellery

DJ Ironik is back home and resting after he was attacked and stabbed by muggers who robbed him of his jewellery in North London at the weekend.

The rapper and campaigner of anti-knife crime was assaulted by two men in hooded tops in the early hours of Saturday morning, 6th November. He was rushed to hospital for treatment. The attackers managed to get away with jewellery belonging to Ironik, however personal items were later recovered by police.

Ironik received a knife wound in his buttock.

The “Falling In Love” rapper has let fans know that he is okay through his Twitter page tweeting, “It’s been a crazy last couple of days and this whole experience is quite surreal. But they say what doesn’t kill you only makes you stronger.”

Scotland Yard have said that no arrests have been made yet.

http://www.misformusic.com/2010/11/dj-ironik-stabbed-by-robbers-who-stole-his-jewellery/

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Ya can't make this sh1t up.
    What was he thinking. With a name like that something like this was always on the cards!

http://www.misformusic.com/2010/11/dj-ironik-stabbed-by-robbers-who-stole-his-jewellery/

That really is the best story I've ever read. See Alanis, that's what ironic means!

Don't know what way to feel about this coming weekend's rugby. Will be great to see New Zealand play etc., but Jesus I have a feeling we're gonna get mangled by them.

This Sonny Bill Williams guy is just a beast. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sonny_Bill_Williams

What a man. Described training for his PROFESSIONAL BOXING debut as some 'good off-season training'.

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

jtsuited wrote: »
    Not being one from shying away from a challenge........or being far too competitive for my own good....

Dub Techno - Coconut Creams - Soft and mushy with a solid base. Simple, soft, uniform. Nothing fancy just a big fat load of yumminess, accentuated with only a slight bit of coconut. If it were a girl, it'd be a slightly fat bird with whopper boobs, great to snuggle up to after pullin a sickie. Warm and round and comforting.

Techno - Plain Digestive - Raw and to the point. Heavy going. If it were a girl, she wouldn't be great looking, but you definitely would, and be rewarded handsomely for it. We all need digestives.

Chainsaw Dubstep/Wobbly Nonsense/Brostep - Ginger Nuts - Any sort of pleasure gained from the texture is immediately booted by the obnoxious flavour and unpleasant aftertaste. If it were a girl, it'd be a dyke who's not a lesbian, and completely devoid of grace or elegance. Steer clear even if they do seem interesting. Irritating and obnoxious in the extreme.

House - Kimberley - A bit reminiscent of coconut creams but less full on and the sweet jam in the middle can either be great or awful depending on what mood you're in. If it were a girl, she'd be relationship material - well rounded in her interests, sexy, a bit edgy, but can send you round the bloody bend after a while.

Drum n Bass - Toffypops - Best approached with caution and eating more than one will cause a blood sugar spike that may require and insulin shot soon after. Best delivered in short sharp shocks as extended exposure will most likey induce nausea. Can be too sweet, too heavy going, and just too bloody much at most times of the day.
    If it were a girl, it'd be the one you always know is a sure thing, and will probably do anything, but you'd never be caught dead in civilised company with her.

Ambient - Rich Tea - only truly appreciated during a horrible hangover, where it seems like pure manna.
    If it were a girl, she'd bring you tea and bickies on a comedown and make the landing as soft as possible. The Florence Nightingale of musics/biscuits.

Ah I see what you did to avoid any ghey label, nice mix of ladies in there just to macho up the biscuit-genre thing.

Well, he gets all hot and bothered thinking about the ladies and then plays the biscuit game by himself.

Ah I see.

Surprised there was no biscuit nomination for electro-house or hardcore breaks.

That said, its time to move on from those few hours of food being music and music being food.

Supposed to have another cold winter, or so they say on the weather forum - this guy got it pretty spot on last winter apparently. I like snow and say bring it on. Until of course like last year it fcks up business more than its already fcked.
    Time to confirm what I've been hinting at here and in the daily forecast thread.

My long-range seasonal outlook calls for colder than normal temperatures for most of the winter months, and higher than normal snowall amounts.

Expect periods of very cold weather to develop late November and through much of December as blocking high pressure becomes well established over the Baltic regions. While the Atlantic will occasionally push back and bring milder, wet conditions, the frequency of east winds and cold combined with a storm track close to the south coast of Ireland and into the southern half of the U.K. should make for frequent snowfalls in many parts of Ireland and the U.K. Predicting temperatures to average 1.5 to 2.0 C below normal in December and some stretches possibly sub-freezing, with snowfall likely before Christmas making for a white Christmas for many.

The January outlook calls for this cold to deepen for part of the month before a brief reversal indicated by some of the research index values. Therefore the month may feature some major winter storms mid-month as this pattern reversal begins. Despite the milder end, the month is likely to continue to average below normal by about the same amount as December, 1-2 C and possibly more.

February was less conclusive from the research index values but unless the January reversal is highly energetic, could see the blocking redeveloping and leading to a colder than normal February as well.

Given the strength of cold in the outlook and the dependence of mean winter temperatures on snow cover near the lower end of the spectrum, one cannot rule out a sort of near-extreme or even extreme outcome, since mean monthly temperatures below 2.0 tend to promote continuous snow cover and therefore a fairly easy slide down to sub-freezing values from the same air masses as are present for 2-3 C.

In other words, I'm predicting a cold winter with lots of snow, that could become an epic winter. Stay tuned.

One other detail to note, the storm frequency from my research should be on a fairly well-modulated 3.5-day cycle with stronger events every seven days or so (this is not exact so it won't work out to the same day every week). The stronger events are likely to produce their share of slow-moving but deep "Channel" or French lows promoting a strong east wind and outbreaks of snow. One of the better scenarios I foresee for snowfall comes with the December full moon and "northern max" event of 21 December. This is bound to produce an intense storm over western Europe and I am giving something like 2-1 odds for this to be a cold weather storm event with at least some snow or sleet in the mix for Ireland, whereas if the pattern happens to be stuck on mild then, look for a very mild and windy sort of event followed by much colder weather.

In general, through the mid-winter period, the stormy episodes will fall at full and new moons, and approximately mid-way between them with a second set of high-energy peaks. This pattern will continue into late winter but with the secondary energy peaks decoupling from the primary (full/new) this gives a more frequent distribution of storms that, if coupled with a cold pattern in February, could lead to a steady parade of disturbances around the southern flanks of blocking high pressure to the north and northeast.

Anyone interested in a more detailed forecast could find one later today on Net-weather posted by my research associate and friend, Blast from the Past as he is known to the weather forum world. That will be UK-centric but after all, the winter patterns are bound to be quite similar, and the general theme appears to be cold winning out over mild again this winter.

Looks like this pattern could be setting up gradually later this month, and I would not be surprised if there is some snow even in late November.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=69033898&postcount=767

I had to go to a work dinner thing tonight and I was pretty amazed at how packed the restaurant we ate in was - overheard a staff member tell 3 people looking for a table that it would be at least 2 hours! Then walking back across town to my car after (in the pissing wind and rain) I noticed most restaurants were pretty full, on a Tuesday night... still money floating about for sure.

Strangely enough, work wise this has probably been my busiest year in a very long time. There's still work there, the biggest problem for companies is getting paid once you've done the work. But even so, the world still turns, people still need food, fuel, services, etc. We're in bad times, but I'm old enough to remember how bad they were in the 80's, even though I didn;t particularly notice as I was a kid. But having spoken to my parents, I never realised just how bad they were. As a kid you don't notice you're too busy being a kid. It's sh1t for a lot people at the moment but it'll all be a memory soon enough.

Nobody in this country's media wants to address the elephant in the room right now - that of massive inequality for future generations.

Like Scuba, I've seen certain businesses carrying on much in the same way as they did pre-bust, and the profit margins are still just as juicy. The government like to spout all this 'we all need to take the hit together', but 6 years ago they were trying to sell us Reagan-Thatcher ideals of 'no society, just individuals' when the incredibly wealthy were buying their 7th yachts.

Vincent Browne has recently started having a go at the dickheads who, for the boom years were calling him a commie pinko liberal, but now have him as an esteemed commentator on their radio/tv shows (him and George Hook got into an hilarious fight on air two weeks ago).

Really grinds my gears to see so many people try and portray themselves as 'men of the people' in Irish print media and broadcasting right now.
    5 years ago they were demonising anybody who wanted to lay any sort of foundation for a social democracy in this country.

Ivan Yeats on the newstalk breakfast show is just too perfect sometimes. A multi-millionaire bookmaker turned right-wing-politician-turned-radio presenter suddenly having a societal conscience. Hilarious.

This is why we need to figure out the goals of the nation state now rather than later, because when times are good, we won't give a sh1t about anyone else, and when times are sh1t, we all try and be as populist as we can by talking about the 'ordinary taxpayer'.

Bang on. As a nation we need to decide what exactly what we want to be, instead of the talking Left, acting Right nation we are at the moment.

Did you hear Brian Lenihan on Morning Ireland. What a fookin' joke. They won't tell the Irish people a thing about what they are planning to do even though the bailout is inevitable. They have permanently fooked this country and seem to not care at all about the consequences or the effect its having on people.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

No Jt that is self relection you are stating there, as you said already,

"You are a capitalist when your winning, a socialist when your not"

The true test of self values is to stick to your beleifs & not have them influenced when the social & economic temperature changes such as vincent brown as you have pointed out, i did hear that exchannge on newstalk & he nailed it perfectly about hook, he doesnt know really where his political allegiance lies contrary to that yates as.shole, he is an out an out capitalist who understands the con of the 'money markets' 100%.

I have always despised corruption & injustice, as far back as the famine in ethiopia when the the EU was awash with surplus food mountains etc but took a group of musicians to make a difference i have even from that young age noticed the poweerful screw the weakest.

Here is a letter i have drafted i intend to send into a national paper with the hope to be published,

The ruling elite have ruined our country by feathering their own nests & their cronyism; this is not in dispute & was certainly not by accident. The blatant corruption for years fuelling an unsustainable property boom leaves country now awash with property & government toying with the notion now of a property tax!!!!! (How convenient). This example that has been highlighted again & again around the property boom that ran away with itself is perhaps the most poignant of all as it epitomizes the fundamentals of capitalism, The perceived price being driven upwards by a fictitious demand for said product resulting ultimately in an over abundance of said product worth no where near what it was being portrayed as all the while the elitist are sitting pretty having had their accounts balance awarded credits from the sale of the properties at inflated fictitious prices.
    It’s easy to write that but what does that translate into for the common man? A negative equity mortgage, mortgage coming from the Latin originally meaning ‘dead’ ‘Pledge’ & unfortunately the name is now very befitting for most, as the debt will most likely follow them to the grave.
    Bailing out the PRIVATE companies (banks) that lost their Shirt on the ‘free trade’ markets on the back of the tax payers & allowing the top brass at these banks to walk away scott free with huge bonus, severance & pension packages all the while your average man & woman are having their utilities cut off & creditors breathing down their necks is a crime against the ordinary people of this state, what really is happening there is that the capitalist’s are not allowing their failed system to run its course, instead the capitalist problem of an unsustainable upwards growth only of profitability is being solved with socialist ideas, by borrowing at extortionate rates of interest more ‘credit’ (credit not being actual) from the same elites that have creamed it during the upwards growth on the back of the common man & he now being nominated as the guarantor for this credit.
    Its win win for the elites in times of growth & recession for the masses.
    Allowing the PRIVATE companies that are the ECB & IMF in to run the show who's primary obligations are to its funders & shareholders seeing that they are PRIVATE companies is nothing short of a Bond of slavery that is being proposed as we as a nation are being sold to the highest private lender, the end game is & has always been the privatisation of the world & the ‘free market’ capitalists have almost succeeded. This may sound absurd but the fact is that the three most banded about names in the news today, ‘The federal reserve’, ‘The ECB’ & ‘The IMF’ are PRIVATE companies, funding from any of these leaves entire nations in debt to a privately owned company & as with any private company policies are driven & ultimately decided by its funders & shareholders in the interests of said funders & shareholders. This also is no accident but has been engineered masterfully to eventually bring us to this end game.
    We are in reality being forced into a modern third world style national debt situation so that it will be kept at the highest price for as many years feasible by the capitalist elite.
    One of the more recent suggestions of ‘Political consensus’ is nothing more than the desperate last throw of the dice by the capitalist’s to try & maintain the grip on power as they see the inevitable rise of the left across Europe & the world to take the rights of people back as, ‘human beings’, that are now suffering from the failed capitalist model & not the ‘Consumers’ that we are told we are & reminded of in business language every day.
    The greatest con ever is the falsehood that is pedaled that their is somehow at the heart of capitalism the principle that peoples liberty & dignity is paramount, the very name is self explanatory 'Capitalism' meaning its primary function & concern is the promotion of an environment that allows the accumulation of capital!!!!!
    People are no longer referred to as people first rather are 'Consumers' in the first instance, I am not a 'Consumer', I am a person (first) that consumes (second) certain items, this shows in its clearest form how the capitalist perceives us, nothing more than ‘Target markets’ to be monitored, graphed & exploited for profit/capital, now more than ever being made easier by the likes of facebook leaking info on its users to corporations & Google sucking your information out of your wifi as it passes.
    The left needs to keep the need for the torch to be shone on the wealthy in Ireland that have €160 billion guaranteed by the working man in the failed PRIVATE companies that are Irish banks.
    The cuts that are proposed in the coming budget could be halved with a 2% tax on the most wealthy that have their money guaranteed by us, that could have disappeared into the ether along with our pension's was it not for our generous government protecting it on our backs.
    The time of capitalism has come to its inevitable end & change is coming for the common man for the better, the more equal distribution of how wealth is taxed is where we need to go for a fairer more equitable society & challenge now is to never let sight of this be diminished once we have a left led government in power & the memory of how corrupt & criminal the forces that have brought this to bear on us all kept to the fore

Bang on. As a nation we need to decide what exactly what we want to be, instead of the talking Left, acting Right nation we are at the moment.

We also need to get down to the nitty gritty of the ethics of the ideologies too. Our whole purpose as a nation seems devoid of anything except 'We're not British ok!'
    Personally I think we can learn a thing or two from the Scandies, although our tendency towards laziness and inefficiency (of which I am criminally guilty of) might throw a spanner or two into that.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭francois

No Jt that is self relection you are stating there, as you said already,

"You are a capitalist when your winning, a socialist when your not"

The true test of self values is to stick to your beleifs & not have them influenced when the social & economic temperature changes such as vincent brown as you have pointed out, i did hear that exchannge on newstalk & he nailed it perfectly about hook, he doesnt know really where his political allegiance lies contrary to that yates as.shole, he is an out an out capitalist who understands the con of the 'money markets' 100%.

I have always despised corruption & injustice, as far back as the famine in ethiopia when the the EU was awash with surplus food mountains etc but took a group of musicians to make a difference i have even from that young age noticed the poweerful screw the weakest.

Here is a letter i have drafted i intend to send into a national paper with the hope to be published,

The ruling elite have ruined our country by feathering their own nests & their cronyism; this is not in dispute & was certainly not by accident. The blatant corruption for years fuelling an unsustainable property boom leaves country now awash with property & government toying with the notion now of a property tax!!!!! (How convenient). This example that has been highlighted again & again around the property boom that ran away with itself is perhaps the most poignant of all as it epitomizes the fundamentals of capitalism, The perceived price being driven upwards by a fictitious demand for said product resulting ultimately in an over abundance of said product worth no where near what it was being portrayed as all the while the elitist are sitting pretty having had their accounts balance awarded credits from the sale of the properties at inflated fictitious prices.
    It’s easy to write that but what does that translate into for the common man? A negative equity mortgage, mortgage coming from the Latin originally meaning ‘dead’ ‘Pledge’ & unfortunately the name is now very befitting for most, as the debt will most likely follow them to the grave.
    Bailing out the PRIVATE companies (banks) that lost their Shirt on the ‘free trade’ markets on the back of the tax payers & allowing the top brass at these banks to walk away scott free with huge bonus, severance & pension packages all the while your average man & woman are having their utilities cut off & creditors breathing down their necks is a crime against the ordinary people of this state, what really is happening there is that the capitalist’s are not allowing their failed system to run its course, instead the capitalist problem of an unsustainable upwards growth only of profitability is being solved with socialist ideas, by borrowing at extortionate rates of interest more ‘credit’ (credit not being actual) from the same elites that have creamed it during the upwards growth on the back of the common man & he now being nominated as the guarantor for this credit.
    Its win win for the elites in times of growth & recession for the masses.
    Allowing the PRIVATE companies that are the ECB & IMF in to run the show who's primary obligations are to its funders & shareholders seeing that they are PRIVATE companies is nothing short of a Bond of slavery that is being proposed as we as a nation are being sold to the highest private lender, the end game is & has always been the privatisation of the world & the ‘free market’ capitalists have almost succeeded. This may sound absurd but the fact is that the three most banded about names in the news today, ‘The federal reserve’, ‘The ECB’ & ‘The IMF’ are PRIVATE companies, funding from any of these leaves entire nations in debt to a privately owned company & as with any private company policies are driven & ultimately decided by its funders & shareholders in the interests of said funders & shareholders. This also is no accident but has been engineered masterfully to eventually bring us to this end game.
    We are in reality being forced into a modern third world style national debt situation so that it will be kept at the highest price for as many years feasible by the capitalist elite.
    One of the more recent suggestions of ‘Political consensus’ is nothing more than the desperate last throw of the dice by the capitalist’s to try & maintain the grip on power as they see the inevitable rise of the left across Europe & the world to take the rights of people back as, ‘human beings’, that are now suffering from the failed capitalist model & not the ‘Consumers’ that we are told we are & reminded of in business language every day.
    The greatest con ever is the falsehood that is pedaled that their is somehow at the heart of capitalism the principle that peoples liberty & dignity is paramount, the very name is self explanatory 'Capitalism' meaning its primary function & concern is the promotion of an environment that allows the accumulation of capital!!!!!
    People are no longer referred to as people first rather are 'Consumers' in the first instance, I am not a 'Consumer', I am a person (first) that consumes (second) certain items, this shows in its clearest form how the capitalist perceives us, nothing more than ‘Target markets’ to be monitored, graphed & exploited for profit/capital, now more than ever being made easier by the likes of facebook leaking info on its users to corporations & Google sucking your information out of your wifi as it passes.
    The left needs to keep the need for the torch to be shone on the wealthy in Ireland that have €160 billion guaranteed by the working man in the failed PRIVATE companies that are Irish banks.
    The cuts that are proposed in the coming budget could be halved with a 2% tax on the most wealthy that have their money guaranteed by us, that could have disappeared into the ether along with our pension's was it not for our generous government protecting it on our backs.
    The time of capitalism has come to its inevitable end & change is coming for the common man for the better, the more equal distribution of how wealth is taxed is where we need to go for a fairer more equitable society & challenge now is to never let sight of this be diminished once we have a left led government in power & the memory of how corrupt & criminal the forces that have brought this to bear on us all kept to the fore

tis a good letter (although paragraph that thing yo!).

I actually do have a little bit of a solution brewing in my brain lately. When we talk about the market letting the concepts of supply and demand dictate everything, I think we leave out one very crucial point.

Us humans can only put a value on something when we exchange something in return for it there and then. The problem with the property market and all the sh1t that goes with it (which has put us where we are), is that we can't value something because of credit.

The abundance of credit is the thing that drove up the market. That's where we need the control. The only problem is, if you start controlling it now, everybody that 'owns' a house on credit right now is going to lose so much more than a few grand of negative equity.

The simple solution is lending laws. As in, you have to have this much of a deposit, you can only pay this amount of your salary in mortgage and you can only pay it over a certain amount of years.
    If credit is decided based on this, defaults and foreclosures become far more improbable, and more importantly, the market becomes far more stable and realistic.

The negative equity generation are just going to have to take it on the chin for the good of the nation unfortunately. Because if we try to delay or prolong their suffering, you can be guaranteed there's a whole plethora of generations to come who are going to be suffering in the exact same circumstances.

The simple solution is lending laws. As in, you have to have this much of a deposit, you can only pay this amount of your salary in mortgage and you can only pay it over a certain amount of years.
    If credit is decided based on this, defaults and foreclosures become far more improbable, and more importantly, the market becomes far more stable and realistic.

The negative equity generation are just going to have to take it on the chin for the good of the nation unfortunately. Because if we try to delay or prolong their suffering, you can be guaranteed there's a whole plethora of generations to come who are going to be suffering in the exact same circumstances.
    There were lending laws in place, they just weren't enforced.

That was one of the biggest problems.

But I mean real big archaic fcuk off laws like this is the minimum deposit percentage, this is the max percentage of salary payable, and a 20 year limit. End of story. It means there'll be no money left in property speculation (excluding for inflation of course), no dicking around trading bad loans and good loans etc., just an absolute concrete way of figuring out how much each person can afford to spend.

It'll kill competition between banks but at this stage of the game, I reckon we can live with that.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭ianuss

They're not laws, they're principles. But you're right, they were ignored. And the Regulator and the ODCE failed to act.

And also, JT mentioned the difficulty in assessing value. I don't agree with him though. Auditors/accountants should be able to do this - after all, prudence is supposssed to be one of the corner-stones of the accounting profession. You just take the lowest estimation of net realisable value or cost as its carrying value. Simples.

The real failure is theirs in not doing their jobs at the time. And these people were rewarded with nice NAMA and other financial intsitution contracts. That is absurd. After Enron, Andersen Consulting went to the wall - and rightly so. Ireland is a moral toilet when it comes to business ethics.

But I mean real big archaic fcuk off laws like this is the minimum deposit percentage, this is the max percentage of salary payable, and a 20 year limit. End of story. It means there'll be no money left in property speculation (excluding for inflation of course), no dicking around trading bad loans and good loans etc., just an absolute concrete way of figuring out how much each person can afford to spend.

It'll kill competition between banks but at this stage of the game, I reckon we can live with that.
    Oh I agree, and afaik they once were that strict. But what happened before, and will happen again, especially when the good times come around again, is that you’ll have complaints that the restrictive lending laws and regulations are stopping “us investors” from soaring to the dizzy heights of the multiple property owner that we all aspire to be.

Personally, I think that we need to stop our obsession with owning property. Maybe that’s a throwback to our British Rule days, I dunno, but either way it needs to stop, or at the very least curtailed.

As a nation we don’t see long term renting as a viable option. You have to own a house. The fact that there are no real rights as a tenant doesn’t help, and also the fact that during the boom it was felt acceptable by the planning authorities to allow developers build dog boxes and call them luxury apartments didn’t help either. Why would you rent one of those instead of buying a house? It doesn’t make sense. And building 1 bed apartments in Monaghan and Cavan? WTF?!?!

We’ll have another property boom when all the monstrosities that were built, to essentially house the Eastern Europeans that were building them, eventually turn to slums and need to be torn down and rebuilt. We can only hope that by then enough lessons are learnt that it won’t happen again.

What I find absolutely dumbfounding is that the party who got elected pretty much solely on the premise of letting business run itself without government regulation were the Progressive Democrats, whose final remaining outpost is the Minister for Fúckin Health.

Think about that. Add that to the fact that she's morbidly obese, and quite clearly a bloody wagon, and you have a situation that if it were to happen in a dream, you'd immediately come to the realisation of 'oh this is a dream, it's far too ridiculous and surreal for the real world. time to get up and make the cofee'.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭ianuss

the fact that during the boom it was felt acceptable by the planning authorities to allow developers build dog boxes and call them luxury apartments didn’t help either. Why would you rent one of those instead of buying a house? It doesn’t make sense. And building 1 bed apartments in Monaghan and Cavan? WTF?!?!

This is truly criminal planning. This insane splurge in apartment building means that, most likely, those who bought apts. at/near the peak will never recoup the value of their purchase.

A solicitor friend of mine who works in conveyancing (poor bastard), was recently telling me that a certain bank gave a €350,000 mortgage to a customer but refused to release the funds when they found out it was for an apt.

What I find absolutely dumbfounding is that the party who got elected pretty much solely on the premise of letting business run itself without government regulation were the Progressive Democrats, whose final remaining outpost is the Minister for Fúckin Health.

Think about that. Add that to the fact that she's morbidly obese, and quite clearly a bloody wagon, and you have a situation that if it were to happen in a dream, you'd immediately come to the realisation of 'oh this is a dream, it's far too ridiculous and surreal for the real world. time to get up and make the cofee'.

Yeah, that is the one thing that baffles me. Anyone else notice the expenses issues that seemed to have occurred in the departments/organisations she ran. First FÁS and now the HSE.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

I find it hard when thinking or speaking about Harney not to fly into a rage and start smashing things around me.

The Minister for Health - herself a picture of ill health. She has no mandate to do that job. She has no party, and should not be in a power position in government. However, after a good few bad years, FF knew only too well that it is a poisoned chalice (Michael Martin nearly ended his career there) - and they have someone willing to do it. She knows it's her last ever power position - once she loses the Health portfolio she's gone from the Cabinet, in my opinion. Like a lot of people in power, she cling onto it for as long as she can.

She is a picture of everything that is wrong with the FF party, and this government.

ianuss wrote: »
    This is truly criminal planning. This insane splurge in apartment building means that, most likely, those who bought apts. at/near the peak will never recoup the value of their purchase.

A solicitor friend of mine who works in conveyancing (poor bastard), was recently telling me that a certain bank gave a €350,000 mortgage to a customer but refused to release the funds when they found out it was for an apt.
    I know Morgan King said that the next big banking crisis will come in the form of home owners defaulting on their mortgages. He may be right, but I’d say it’ll be in the form of Apartments not Houses. Think of all the couples (or singles for that matter) starting out a few years ago and decided to buy an Apartment. They now want to start, or already have started a family. How long are they gonna live in the Apartment?

If it was bought at the top it was bought for anything up to €450K and I’d say any Apartment now is worth half of peak values. That’s some amount of negative equity to have if you’re trying to start a family. Selling won’t be an option as people generally don’t buy second hand apartments in Ireland, unless it’s in a really nice urban location, which incidentally is the point of apartments. So what do they do? No option really.

Always amuses me how busy this place is during office hours - Do you all have very lenient bosses and you can happily post on boards all day long?!

Boss: I need you to finish this report and have it back to me for lunch, ok?

Boards Member: I'm actually busy discussing sh1t on the Adhesive History & Nomenclature thread right now so I'll get back to you later.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

I'm quiet here in work at the moment, the main project is kind of on-hold till after Christmas.

I work for an I.T. solutions company, and for the past couple of years have been working on projects for a large US multinational based in Leixlip (hope I'm not giving too much away...;)). While the main project is on hold, I've a couple of smaller ones, but these don't take up much time. So boards keeps me amused.

I've other stuff I could be doing.... but procrastination has got the better of my this last while...

Edit: Oh, and my internet is not blocked or monitored.