Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You are not a f*cking DJ. You’re an overpaid, untalented, cake-throwing c*nt.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

It's better giving the lower echelons of society something to do, rather than have them at nothing.
    Two words.
    Road Building.

That's how many of the great American highways were built, with cheap labour in postwar America.

Seems that FAS runs all sorts of ridiculous things like IT and sports coaching that are entirely useless compared to actual qualifications in those areas.

So get em out building roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

jtsuited wrote: »
    hmmm...well if you were say an evolutionary biologist and you did some amazing work in that field that explained some vital conundrum about something that nobody else could figure out, I'd say you'd be very very beneficial to pretty much any business, provided you're not an idiot-savant.

Which happens all they time in colleges!

'What's that noise'
    'Oh, it's O'Leary. He's just explained some vital conundrum.'
    'Not another one. That's the fifth this week…'

• Registered Users Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭ianuss

I don't know how much business acumen they need but they definitely need good communication skills and a decent grasp of the English language which is what I espoused in my original post. I also think a basic grasp of employment law would be of benefit to anyone working for someone.

For sure man, not disagreeing about the good communication skills part at all. As for the english language, that's a matter for secondary schools, not colleges. My point was that I don't believe there should overlapping of non-course related subjects just because it may be beneficial to some students in later life.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

Two words.
    Road Building.

That's how many of the great American highways were built, with cheap labour in postwar America.

Seems that FAS runs all sorts of ridiculous things like IT and sports coaching that are entirely useless compared to actual qualifications in those areas.

So get em out building roads.
    Couldn't agree more.

After being essentially a third world country for so long (and I'm sorry but I kind of have to agree with FF here) - we have an infrastructure deficit.

So cheap labour (and maybe community service / prison rehab thrown in) - get them roads built.

jonnny68 wrote: »
    yes that's true but i wouldn't be going for any type of IT job nowadays,if the truth be known it's that long since ive studied IT i cant remember half the stuff i done:o:D

ok I'm gonna put this simply....

You said you've little to no chance of getting a job in Dublin.

I corrected it saying you've little to no chance of getting a job in Dublin if it requires no education or specific skills.

As a rebuttal, you said you were educated.

I asked what type of qualification you had.

You said none, as you had just done a few years of IT.

My point is, that in the context of the issue, you have no education or specific skills.

Jesus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

BaZmO* wrote: »

I'm sorry but that's just plain wrong.

I think it is, things were bad back then but this is, as they are referring to it as a "double dip recession" therefore i believe it's worse this time around as it's still happening and is getting worse all the time unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

ok I'm gonna put this simply....

You said you've little to no chance of getting a job in Dublin.

I corrected it saying you've little to no chance of getting a job in Dublin if it requires no education or specific skills.

As a rebuttal, you said you were educated.

I asked what type of qualification you had.

You said none, as you had just done a few years of IT.

My point is, that in the context of the issue, you have no education or specific skills.

Jesus.
    are you deliberately looking to start an argument here cos your talking absolute rubbish here, your definition of "education" it appears is for someone to have a degree or masters which is rubbish,so your trying to imply because i didn't finish my degree in IT i have no education and specific skills yet ive worked for over 20 years and in the same field the last 13+:eek: please man do me a bleedin favour will ya,jesus wept indeed

But if you want to teach people something really useful. Something that everybody willl benefit from. Teach them tax.

ianuss wrote: »
    For sure man, not disagreeing about the good communication skills part at all. As for the english language, that's a matter for secondary schools, not colleges. My point was that I don't believe there should overlapping of non-course related subjects just because it may be beneficial to some students in later life.

I am sorry, I disagree. Your English education shouldn't stop at secondary school if you ask me. There are plenty of people who got honours in English in the Leaving Cert whose use of the language is absolutely appalling. If you have a degree in a certain subject, you should be able to communicate your knowledge of that subject and one of the essential tools for that is a proper command of knowledge of grammar and sentence structure. Seriously, it may take an hour every week and nothing more but it would be of infinite benefit to you. Most people graduating college will end up working in an office of some sort so I don't see it as only benefitting some people.

I think it is, .

irrelevant.

Comes down to simple things like Unemployment Rate, GDP, government surplus (or deficit:D), etc.

I have no idea what the figures are off the top of my head (but I'm sure a couple of esteemed fellow boardsies do), so it's not really a case of opinion.

Oh that's another thing that a well rounded education teaches you, how to acknowledge the fact that there are dudes out there who know far more about the specific facts that you do.

I'm no eejit but I have enough sense to know that if there's a general consensus between certain expert groups, their opinion is infinitely more valid than mine.

your definition of "education" it appears is for someone to have a degree or masters which is rubbish,
    In the eyes of the current labour market it is certainly not rubbish. If you would like to see why, I recommend you read the vacancies on any jobs site.
    so your trying to imply because i didn't finish my degree in IT i have no education and specific skills yet ive worked for over 20 years and in the same field the last 13

so you do have specific skills then? Well then that's an entirely different thing. You said you were educated. That's why I corrected you.

I am sorry, I disagree. Your English education shouldn't stop at secondary school if you ask me. There are plenty of people who got honours in English in the Leaving Cert whose use of the language is absolutely appalling. If you have a degree in a certain subject, you should be able to communicate your knowledge of that subject and one of the essential tools for that is a proper command of knowledge of grammar and sentence structure.

Not to mention the necessary use of paragraphs!!:p

Only messin, my grammar, punctuation and syntax are fcukin abominable on internet forums (fora?).

I am sorry, I disagree. Your English education shouldn't stop at secondary school if you ask me. There are plenty of people who got honours in English in the Leaving Cert whose use of the language is absolutely appalling. If you have a degree in a certain subject, you should be able to communicate your knowledge of that subject and one of the essential tools for that is a proper command of knowledge of grammar and sentence structure. Seriously, it may take an hour every week and nothing more but it would be of infinite benefit to you. Most people graduating college will end up working in an office of some sort so I don't see it as only benefitting some people.

I can't really disagree with what you've said. But it's not really fair on a science faculty or whatever to be having to teach science students english spelling and grammer. By the time you get to college you should be able to do these things already. If you can't, you need to look at the secondary schools who are failing students by not educating them properly.

well to be honest, most humanities courses in University require honours english. I shudder to think that people who could not do honours english in the leaving cert would ever attempt to write an academic paper (no offense to anyone who did pass English btw).

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

joker77 wrote: »
    She also said we as a country are a bit of a laughing stock, like a young child who was playing with our toys in the corner, but the big brother has to step in now to clean up the mess...
    As a country, why are we so obsessed with what others think of us. It seems to be the lead in sentence for reporters on every story about the mess we're in. We even had the Teashop referring to it. :rolleyes:

That said, we do seem like a teenager who's father won the Lotto a few years and blew all the money in a five year blow out.

ok, i'm gonna admit ignorance on this one, because the only time I've ever heard the term FAS it's been in the context of some yobbo telling me 'I'm doing a college course out in Fas three days a week. I'm gonna be ballin with all me extra benjamins after. you lookin for yokes?'
    FÁS took over from Manpower for training of Aprrentices, which is actually a well run and well respected part of their scope. Although, a lot of the course they do aren't just there to get people off the live register and quite useless in the greater scheme of things. It's also worth noting that all the scandals of excessive spending, and basically p1sstaking, happen with subcontracted agencies.

I think it is, things were bad back then but this is, as they are referring to it as a "double dip recession" therefore i believe it's worse this time around as it's still happening and is getting worse all the time unfortunately.
    Double Schouble! The standard of living at the moment is exceptionally higher now than it was during the 80's recession.

Not to mention the necessary use of paragraphs!!:p

Only messin, my grammar, punctuation and syntax are fcukin abominable on internet forums (fora?).

In fairness, I hate debating about the need for proper English on a forum because you're guaranteed to make a balls of it with a stupid grammatical mistake.

I've done it soooooo many times. Ah we've all done it. We should start a support group.

'Poor Pedantry Anonymous'.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭francois

Being a pedant for the moment "fora" is the correct Latin plural for "forum", and while acceptable in usage, is gradually becoming obsolete, as "forums" is now the accepted plural

• Registered Users Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

As part of my Applied Sciences degree - I was forced to take French in first year. Waste of time - English would have been a whole lot more useful.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

yeah but sure this is my point. there are real world adaptations going on. Coincidentally got out for a round with my dad the week before last. They charged me a fiver for what used to cost (in 2003 i think), 24 euro.

Btw, if you wanna save an absolute shedload of money,

1. Learn to cook. Properly cook. Fancy sh1t. I've only been learning this recently and it's unbelievable how cheap you can get pretty much everything for in Aldi. Don't get me wrong it's nice to eat somewhere nice, but knowing you're gonna have a whopper dinner every evening for only a couple of euro is deadly for not worrying about money.

2. Roll your own cigarettes. If you know someone coming back from the continent, get them to buy you as much tobacco as is legally allowed and your weekly cost of smoking will be under 4 euro.

3. Get an espresso machine. If you buy just one coffee for say 3 euro a day, every month you're gonna be saving 60 euro plus per month.

You can add into that which i do myself,

4. Homebrew your own beer, cider, wine.

5. Make your own Bio Diesel (not yet but have all the equip as of this weekend so will report back how successful it is)

6. Buid your own DIY projector for €38.00:D

7. Do all your own audio/visual wiring (soldering iron necessary)

8. Do al renovations at home yourself (dont need a fuc.king masters to do that)
    And as Ianuss says, masters is the least you gotta have these days.

Only if you are looking to get work in a specific field.....if your not a fuc.kwit & have any kind of intelligence you can do well, I have a friend of mine that was fuc.ked out of school when he was in 3rd year (thats 3rd year secondary school) & he is now far far better off than most with a few business ventures. Also a guy i work with is really making his way into senior managment & he could hardly read when he began working here.

I've done it soooooo many times. Ah we've all done it. We should start a support group.

'Poor Pedantry Anonymous'.

Yes i hear ya's.......i remember replying to a comment in haste once & the context was outlining someones inability to even get spelling correct and typed,

'He most likley cant even fuc.king spell correctly'

As soon as i read it back when it was posted up i felt like a right tit.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

Experience is better than a degree in the business world. A degree means **** all actually. What you have actually achieved is way more important. If your looking to go into something specialist like the sciences, engineering etc then a degree is obviously important as it proves your aptitude for said subject where you would need to have a lot of specialist knowledge. It may also matter if you want to go and work for a big big company where they basically take people out of degrees and then mold them into mindless drones.

On the topic of people being out of work. A huge amount of this is in the building trade (obviously). I have a friend who is a plumber who is working 70 hour weeks at the moment and turning work away. His old man who has a small building company has 3 or 4 jobs on the go at any one time and another friends brother is in a similar situation. Why do they keep getting work? Because they are hard working and they are actually good at it.

I'm not saying everyone who is struggling is a cowboy but plenty of cowboys got away with it during the boom years and there is just no room for them now.

I have a friend of mine that was fuc.ked out of school when he was in 3rd year (thats 3rd year secondary school) & he is now far far better off than most with a few business ventures.

If you go through any of the 'rich lists' that you see in papers etc you'll find that less than 10% of them have any educational qualifications. Their success is more to do with entrepreneurial spirit than anything else. And for the most part, that can't be taught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

Two words.
    Road Building.

Thats a very right wing statement, like something id expect from the tea partiers across the water.

The funny thing is, it wasnt even an Irish company which built the motorway from Galway to Athlone, it was a spanish company. Why? Because they were cheaper. The reality is that labourers dont want to work for a fraction of what they could once command.

Was this an indigineous labour force?

The likes of those sports coaching & IT courses are actually very beneficial. Because of those schemes, some people in the community now have competence in computers / the minimum coaching badges required to train youngsters in the local u-12 soccer team.

Coming from a small rural town, I can see the positives gained from these type of courses - people - who would be otherwise sitting on their arses watching sky, eating crisps, chain smoking silk-cut purple cigarettes all day long - giving something meaningful back to the community.

Not everybody is cut out for a manual labour. How many people know the difference between a shovel and a spade.

How many people know the difference between a shovel and a spade.

Guilty :o.

The road building used to be covered by The Office of Public Works going back to the 1700's. During The Famine, the British were loathe to give us money for nothing so they put money into the OPW and demanded roads, bridges etc were built. The OPW couldn't keep supplying useful infrastructure and after a while eneded up building bridges and roads for the sake of it. In certain places bridges were built when there was no need for them, ie., a bridge built in the middle of a field - stuff like that.

Only if you are looking to get work in a specific field.....if your not a fuc.kwit & have any kind of intelligence you can do well, I have a friend of mine that was fuc.ked out of school when he was in 3rd year (thats 3rd year secondary school) & he is now far far better off than most with a few business ventures. Also a guy i work with is really making his way into senior managment & he could hardly read when he began working here.

I'd love to see the statistics showing how many people that drop out of school in 3rd year and become millionaires as opposed to those that drop out and go to jail. Being uneducated doesn't magically endow you with a keen business mind.

Guilty :o.

Ah here, seriously…

Just as an aside and not trying to slag you but do you realize that your user name has anus in the middle. Is that deliberate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

The road building used to be covered by The Office of Public Works going back to the 1700's. During The Famine, the British were loathe to give us money for nothing so they put money into the OPW and demanded roads, bridges etc were built. The OPW couldn't keep supplying useful infrastructure and after a while eneded up building bridges and roads for the sake of it. In certain places bridges were built when there was no need for them, ie., a bridge built in the middle of a field - stuff like that.

One place comes to mind. If you take the old road from Lucan Village into Chapelizod, along the liffey, you will pass under a bridge leading nowhere. If any of you know what im talking about, youll understand the ridiculous nature of it.

1506334558_32a171c24a_z.jpg

Also, in Longford - in the middle of a bog, there's a bridge over the royal canal that leads absolutely nowhere. Supposedly it was built because a community existed there pre-famine, but now it makes sense.

Ah here, seriously…

Just as an aside and not trying to slag you but do you realize that your user name has anus in the middle. Is that deliberate?

And it also rhymes with penis. Go figure.

I'm like the city equivalent of a country bumpkin. At a guess, a spade is for gardening/home use and a shovel is used by builders????

And it also rhymes with penis. Go figure.

I'm like the city equivalent of a country bumpkin. At a guess, a spade is for gardening/home use and a shovel is used by builders????

A username with many offensive connotations. I likes it!

A spade is for digging and turning the ground and a shovel is for, well, shovelling.