Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You are not a f*cking DJ. You’re an overpaid, untalented, cake-throwing c*nt.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭ianuss

Just as an aside and not trying to slag you but do you realize that your user name has anus in the middle. Is that deliberate?

And yours is an anagram of 'do drain'.........

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

I think a lot of people of people are confusing a lack of formal education with a lack of intelligence. You don't need a formal education to be intelligent.

Work wise, it really depends whether or not a degree, masters, 1:2, 2:1 or whatever is of any use to you. Depends on the job.

I come from a working class area, and the college thing was never really seen as an option. You did your leaving and then got a job. I actually had a job since I was 14, and I worked ever since then. However, I also realised the benefit that a formal education can give you, so while in a fairly tedious manual labour factory job I decided to go to college at night to study Engineering as I seen it a my best way to move up "the ladder" And it worked.

I always had the brains, but the college education enforced that to any prospective employer. But even with that, I think my experience in what I do is way more important to employers than the college thing. I've worked with plenty of lads that have a much better CV that me education wise, but haven't a clue about their chosen profession due to lack of experience.....and sometimes just down to a lack of cop on....you can't learn that in college!

Oh and the bridge in Chapelizod, is that not an old Railway Bridge? I used to fish beside that when I was a kid and always wondered what it was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

BaZmO* wrote: »
    I think a lot of people of people are confusing a lack of formal education with a lack of intelligence. You don't need a formal education to be intelligent.

Work wise, it really depends whether or not a degree, masters, 1:2, 2:1 or whatever is of any use to you. Depends on the job.

I come from a working class area, and the college thing was never really seen as an option. You did your leaving and then got a job. I actually had a job since I was 14, and I worked ever since then. However, I also realised the benefit that a formal education can give you, so while in a fairly tedious manual labour factory job I decided to go to college at night to study Engineering as I seen it a my best way to move up "the ladder" And it worked.

I always had the brains, but the college education enforced that to any prospective employer. But even with that, I think my experience in what I do is way more important to employers than the college thing. I've worked with plenty of lads that have a much better CV that me education wise, but haven't a clue about their chosen profession due to lack of experience.....and sometimes just down to a lack of cop on....you can't learn that in college!

Oh and the bridge in Chapelizod, is that not an old Railway Bridge? I used to fish beside that when I was a kid and always wondered what it was.

best post on the subject yet:)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

ianuss wrote: »
    If you go through any of the 'rich lists' that you see in papers etc you'll find that less than 10% of them have any educational qualifications.

that's because most of them actually inherited their wealth in one form or another.

Certain vested interests love to hold up the Alan Sugars of this world as a kind of example of how anybody can make it big in society through hard work etc.
    but the reality of the figures are a lot different.

edit: I'm looking through the UK top ten rich list and the vast majority of them were born into seriously affluent families...
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sunday_Times_Rich_List_2010

The only one that seems not to have had such a privileged background is Roman Abrahmovich, who is the dodgiest crook of all time, and according to his wiki, started out selling stolen petrol while in the army. Nice.

oh and that bridge in chapelizod is farmleigh bridge...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Farmleigh_Bridge

jtsuited wrote: »
    that's because most of them actually inherited their wealth in one form or another.

Certain vested interests love to hold up the Alan Sugars of this world as a kind of example of how anybody can make it big in society through hard work etc.
    but the reality of the figures are a lot different.

edit: I'm looking through the UK top ten rich list and the vast majority of them were born into seriously affluent families...
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sunday_Times_Rich_List_2010

The only one that seems not to have had such a privileged background is Roman Abrahmovich, who is the dodgiest crook of all time, and according to his wiki, started out selling stolen petrol while in the army. Nice.

Yes, I think I may have over exaggerated the entrepreneurial spirit thing somewhat. But the point about the lack of formal education still stands.

In the past, formal education of course meant nothing as it was only the very privileged in society that could realistically afford to go to university.

For a good while now that's not been the case in Ireland. There are plenty of lads in their thirties and up who have done very well for themselves without a formal education as when they laid the foundation of their mega-successful careers, it was superfluous to have a third level degree.
    If they were trying to do the same thing that they did back then in today's society, they would find the lack of formal education a far more serious burden.

Don't even get me started on those 'university of life' plebs who think because they have been in the same job for 15 years they know all about this world of ours (of course these are always the prime candidate for promotions because they'll do a lot more work for a little more pay every time).

It's like people who say 'oh well I'm not booksmart'. I have never ever ever ever ever ever ever met someone who was genuinely smart but who would not be considered 'booksmart'.

Apparently Abramovich is one of the significant AIB bond holders.

In the past, formal education of course meant nothing as it was only the very privileged in society that could realistically afford to go to university.

For a good while now that's not been the case in Ireland. There are plenty of lads in their thirties and up who have done very well for themselves without a formal education as when they laid the foundation of their mega-successful careers, it was superfluous to have a third level degree.
    If they were trying to do the same thing that they did back then in today's society, they would find the lack of formal education a far more serious burden.

Don't even get me started on those 'university of life' plebs who think because they have been in the same job for 15 years they know all about this world of ours (of course these are always the prime candidate for promotions because they'll do a lot more work for a little more pay every time).

It's like people who say 'oh well I'm not booksmart'. I have never ever ever ever ever ever ever met someone who was genuinely smart but who would not be considered 'booksmart'.

I too am struggling to think if I've ever met someone who fits your booksmart/smart paradigm.

Bonus points for using superfluous too. One of my favourite words, that and quintessential. Although I seldom use quintessential as you tend to sound like a knobhead when you say it. I think it's ok to write, you just can't say it.

I too am struggling to think if I've ever met someone who fits your booksmart/smart paradigm.

Bonus points for using superfluous too. One of my favourite words, that and quintessential. Although I seldom use quintessential as you tend to sound like a knobhead when you say it. I think it's ok to write, you just can't say it.

haha my all time favourite word. also my girlfriend's favourite word. great word.
    Quintessential is completely unusable thanks to decades of cúnts using it to describe this season's fashions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

Yes it has become the quintessential fashion word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jimi_t2

My favourite thread on boards.ie outside of the ''cool pics'' one.

The Freemen of Ireland
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055957447

83 pages or something, but just skim bits of it and you'll see why its so good

jimi_t2 wrote: »
    My favourite thread on boards.ie outside of the ''cool pics'' one.

The Freemen of Ireland
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055957447

83 pages or something, but just skim bits of it and you'll see why its so good

I don't get it. Where's the humour? I mean, there's a tonne of retarded posts/people on it, but I don't find it funny........am I missing something?

They've a website don't they. I haven't look at the thread but saw the site before. A complete bunch of spanners who believe that Irish law doesn't apply to them because it's based on maritime law or something vague like that and then are stunned when they get landed with hefty fines and jail time for wasting the court's time. Going to look at that thread now.

Edit love this quote from somebody on there:
    Ok had a look at the charter, So in a moderators opinion, all this freeman talk is ''not rational or acceptable by right minded thinking people'' This does not prove or disprove anything.

Got to love those conspiracy theory nutters.

Its more of a wry smile than a belly laugh - and not in the smug way, more in the schadenfreude derived from people trying to defend the indefensible purely because they've made it a linchpin of their existence and belief structure

Though, to be honest, a lot of it makes me want to hit my head off the table.

Cliffnotes:

http://skepticwiki.org/index.php/Freeman_On_The_Land

(also schadenfreude > superfluous > quintessential. Just to set the record straight)

dingleberries > schadenfreude > superfluous > quintessential. Just to set the record straight

Its more of a wry smile than a belly laugh - and not in the smug way, more in the schadenfreude derived from people trying to defend the indefensible purely because they've made it a linchpin of their existence and belief structure
    The Christianity forum is an absolute lolocaust in this regard.

Good man Pat Rabitte. Given a tongue lashing to that FF gombeen on primetime.

Two politicians I've always held in the highest regard are him and Ruadhri Quinn.
    Actually I'd be in favour of a fairly left government in this country. Mainly because greed and big business are always going to win but if they have to fight a socialist government to get their own way, everyone's a winner.

Guess it's a question of balance really.

Ah here, primetime just took a major nosedive.

Human interest feature on some guy who used his house as collateral on a loan for his kitchen business and now the lenders are comin lookin for the money. Now call me crazy, but the whole point of collateral is???????

Though, to be honest, a lot of it makes me want to hit my head off the table.

Cliffnotes:

http://skepticwiki.org/index.php/Freeman_On_The_Land

(also schadenfreude > superfluous > quintessential. Just to set the record straight)

Okay - got it now. That wiki thing cleared it up for me. It's actually scary how mund-numbingly stupid so called sane people can be at times. How the fukk there's 80 odd pages on the topic is beyond me.

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Well having read the last few pages of office-hour wisdom for today it would appear that I fall into a very undesirable category of uneducated scum... I left school in 5th year so don't even have the leaving cert, let alone college education! It was circumstances at the time and basically not an option for me to continue with school or any plans I had for college.

I could write a book to be honest on my experiences since then but its late and I've had another long day at work. Its 3am and I need to be up again for work at 7am... a nice 4 hour window to sleep :( I'll ramble on some other time.

This should be mandatory reading for every single voter in a democracy, and everyone in general....
    http://skepticwiki.org/index.php/Logic_and_Logical_Fallacies%28index%29

I think we should submit the fallacy of 'argument with rolleyes'.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭francois

Steve-Bell-19.11.2010-001.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

I'd love to see the statistics showing how many people that drop out of school in 3rd year and become millionaires as opposed to those that drop out and go to jail. Being uneducated doesn't magically endow you with a keen business mind.

Who ever said it did?

I was Simply illustrating that having a masters doesnt magically endow you with a keen business mind.
    Good man Pat Rabitte. Given a tongue lashing to that FF gombeen on primetime.

Two politicians I've always held in the highest regard are him and Ruadhri Quinn.
    Actually I'd be in favour of a fairly left government in this country. Mainly because greed and big business are always going to win but if they have to fight a socialist government to get their own way, everyone's a winner.

Guess it's a question of balance really.

Quinn i would have time for but not that rabitte fuc.ker for very good reasons that i cant say on here, but beleive me he's a snake.

hmmmm....really? Because I've had some dealings with him and found him great.
    The one thing that has harmed his public image is his low bullsh1t threshold. He has no problem speaking his mind in most circumstances (evidently last night was one of those occasions!), and he gets genuine pleasure out of calling people out and lambasting them. Not good in the eyes of many unfortunately. Personally I love it.

Well having read the last few pages of office-hour wisdom for today it would appear that I fall into a very undesirable category of uneducated scum... I left school in 5th year so don't even have the leaving cert, let alone college education! It was circumstances at the time and basically not an option for me to continue with school or any plans I had for college.

I could write a book to be honest on my experiences since then but its late and I've had another long day at work. Its 3am and I need to be up again for work at 7am... a nice 4 hour window to sleep :( I'll ramble on some other time.

I don't think anyone is suggesting you're uneducated scum but I think mainly people are illustrating that the criteria expected of job applicants has changed considerably.

Who ever said it did?

I was Simply illustrating that having a masters doesnt magically endow you with a keen business mind.

But you used the story of your friend to illustrate the point that you don't need an education. I think that's wrong.

I don't think anyone is suggesting you're uneducated scum but I think mainly people are illustrating that the criteria expected of job applicants has changed considerably.

yeah we are talking about in the context of current standards not those of 15 years ago.
    there was a very interesting point brought up by one of the professors from DCU in the Irish Times a few weeks back (think he was a professor, one of the head guys anywho) -
    his point was that free third level fees had utterly failed in what it set out to do, which was make the class/third level concept disappear.

The rate of people in the working classes taking up third level education pretty much remains the exact same as when fees existed so therefore it's just giving middle class chancers who could easily afford to pay (for example me) a free way of getting some university education.

btw, Fridays are always good for this thread so let the good times roll!

Although keep all the crazy stuff for the afternoon, I'm off record shopping for the morning. I have to get a tyre fixed, which gives me an excuse to indulge in one of my strangest pleasures - going into mechanics/tyre repair places and taking a huge inhalation of the air. I absolutely love the rubbery/oily smell in those places. Life is all about the small things imo!