Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You are not a f*cking DJ. You’re an overpaid, untalented, cake-throwing c*nt.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

Zascar wrote: »
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2010/1122/1224283833850.html

Yeah forget about trying anything else, lets all just get together and Pray that the financial crisis ends!!!

good jesus (the irony). this is why we're fcuked. What an absolutely retarded thing for a minister to say.....i'm fairly dumbfounded by that.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

That was especially for you Jeff - I knew you'd love it!

Reminds me of that Father Ted when Dougal is stuck on the milk float with a bomb - and all they can think of doing to help the situation is have a mobile Mass on the back of a trailer!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

And a new conspiracy theory is born,

The recession is really a plot by the catholic church to get people back into the fold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

Zascar wrote: »
    This is all pretty crazy. I'm struggling to keep up with this thread let alone all the Government/IMF/Green Party shenanigans!

This should put it into perspective:
    randcomix_1993-12-21.gif

http://www.poundart.com/art/randcomix/about.html

• Registered Users Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭ianuss

If you've ever had a cats vrs dog conversation before, this clip should settle the argument (cats are sh1t btw). Nobody would write a poem like this about a cat.....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

This drives my dog freakin' nuts :p

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

ianuss wrote: »
    Ye, you're probably right. But are those who would not qualify based on a means test really going to vote one way or another over a few quid?

This is one of the reasons why I think poltics should be taught from an early age. We need to start producing responsible citizens, not an electorate of 'me feiners'. Change things from the bottom up, cos it's clearly not going to happen from the top down.

Agreed, but clearly ramming Catholicism down the majority of kids throats is much more important than any understanding of politics.

Em, is that literally or figuratively. It's so hard to tell in this country…

• Registered Users Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

Not quite laugh out loud material but amusing nonetheless,

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/dogs/1717055

• Registered Users Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

Hard to keep up today with what's going on. So the Green's say their pulling out of the Government - is that in then - definite election in January? Healy-Rea and Lowry both saying they won't support the budget - how are we fixed if them, the Greens and the Opposition vote against it - it won't get through then... so we don't get the bailout? Haven't heard this being talked about yet. The Greens might vote in the budget if they get the election promise though...

Very very suspicious of the IMF - ever read Shock Doctrine by Naomi Klein? Scary stuff. That money will only come with a whole lot of cutting.

On a positive note, just back from Holles st - the other half is pregnant with our first! She's just 3 months gone, a long way to go yet, but we're both delighted. Bit of a mad time to be having a child, gonna be a tough one next year with only one salary in the house (she's out of work and getting nothing from Social Welfare), but I'm sure the little bundle of joy will be well worth it!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,477 ✭✭✭francois

Without Healy-Rea the coalition have a voting majority of one, I believe.
    Those 2 political mediocrities should be shown the door as well-what a Joke, on the one hand a dodge former FG-er with his ridiculous casino scheme, on the other, the epitome of gombeen localism, as though that cretin Rae gives a sh1t about the national issues, plus his cretinous son in line for his seat.
    Sometimes I wonder if we deserve the people we elect

See this?

Aengus O'Snodaigh (SF) getting a few whacks from the Gardai trying to get in to do his job in the Dail

joker77 wrote: »
    See this?

Aengus O'Snodaigh (SF) getting a few whacks from the Gardai trying to get in to do his job in the Dail

That's one more on the dole queue

joker77 wrote: »
    See this?

Publicity stunt in fairness, they tried to do a sit-in, in a security zone.

Heard there was a protest happening at 1.30, organised by SF, so that makes sense I suppose. "We're all workin class 'n all, fightin the power 'n all 'n anyways"

really annoys me the way sit-down protesters get all antsy after getting a few knocks.

Even annoyed me when I was involved in sit-down protests. I remember a bunch of us ran in front of dempsey's car in NUI Maynooth, and his personal Gardai pulled and dragged us all over the place, and of course accusations of police brutality abounded. FFS, the whole point of sit down protests is to be as much a pain in the ass as possible through civil disobedience.

You can't expect to not get a bit of a thumpin until you're cleared.
    In saying that, I've seen some culchie Guards go feckin mental and push the violence right to the legal limit (which is pretty high).

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Congrats Joker!! Great news, delighted for you!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Publicity Stunt or not I'd be surprised if SF don't make huge gains in the next election. Party of the working man and all that. And I'm sure we'll have one of the biggest turn outs in history too, which will help their cause.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Publicity Stunt or not I'd be surprised if SF don't make huge gains in the next election. Party of the working man and all that. And I'm sure we'll have one of the biggest turn outs in history too, which will help their cause.

The fact that every party member employed by SF takes home the average industrial wage is far more than symbolic, especially when the incumbents are unwilling to surrender their chariots and exhorbitant (and utterly undeserving) wages.

They might-though they have been pretty stagnant in the polls-and they did a lot worse than expected last election. Their candidates need a good 1st preference vote as they don't tend to pick up transfers from the others.

I reckon Lab will win big, especially in Dublin, plus you may see Joe Higgins and Boyd Barrett picking up seats

francois wrote: »
    They might-though they have been pretty stagnant in the polls-and they did a lot worse than expected last election. Their candidates need a good 1st preference vote as they don't tend to pick up transfers from the others.

I reckon Lab will win big, especially in Dublin, plus you may see Joe Higgins and Boyd Barrett picking up seats

Yeah i'd say we could see a huge movement in the people-before-profit camp. And labour could jump on that bandwagon at the drop of a hat.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

That's brilliant.

As for the budget/election, as far as I can tell, it looks like the budget will pass. The greens are voting for it, and one of the terms of Oli Rehn was a cross-party agreement on the budget. Definite election in January, with the greens out all it takes is for them to call a vote of no-confidence, which will definitely go through.

And I'm sure we'll have one of the biggest turn outs in history too, which will help their cause.

I'd be amazed if it's over 45%.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

To be honest i dont follow politics much but my mother harassed me today about registering to vote.

I honestly think it doesnt matter who gets in as there gonna be powerless to stop tax hikes and the likes.

Ill just keep my head down and work away and not waste my time discussing "the state of the country"

seannash wrote: »
    To be honest i dont follow politics much but my mother harassed me today about registering to vote.

I honestly think it doesnt matter who gets in as there gonna be powerless to stop tax hikes and the likes.

Ill just keep my head down and work away and not waste my time discussing "the state of the country"

There's nothing wrong with not talking politics but I do think people should stay informed and vote. While it sounds kinda preachy, people fought and died so we could have the privelege. And we're in danger of going down the US road with ~30% turnout. Apathy negates democracy.

I dont wish to disrespect any of the men who fought in the years gone by but i just dont have any interest in politics nor do i ever seem to feel like any particular party are better than any other when it comes to promises during the campaign and actually delivering them

I find political discussions boring,much like football discussions.You can talk about it all day long but it wont make the slightest bit of difference

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

I wouldn't be much of a political person, but I suppose as you get older you can't help but take an interest, so I wouldn't have known off hand what the usual percentage turnouts are, but 45% seems very low. And especially in times when the country is in a state.

So I did a quick Google and came up with this.

http://www.idea.int/vt/country_view.cfm?CountryCode=IE

According to that, in the last 50 years turnout hasn't dropped below 66% so if those figures are true I'd say you're waaay off with 45%

Did you just make that number up or are those figures in the list wrong?

What's the point in registering then if you're not bothered?

Now I'm as guilty of this as the next person, but there's an argument to be had for saying that that type of attitude has gotten us in the mess that we're in.

What's the point in registering then if you're not bothered?

Im not gonna vote so i didnt register but the mother was hassling me to register
    Now I'm as guilty of this as the next person, but there's an argument to be had for saying that that type of attitude has gotten us in the mess that we're in.
    Ah not really,I do think people have to be held somewhat accountable for there spending and loans but personally ive never lived outside of my means.
    i simply had no choice,but im glad it was the case as it taught me a good lesson

I had a big speech written out but it was a bit insensitive.Ill just say that my way of thinking and working is working out fine for me thank goodness,might not be for everyone though