Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You are not a f*cking DJ. You’re an overpaid, untalented, cake-throwing c*nt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jimi_t2

ianuss wrote: »
    Irish bank shares are taking an absolute hammering this morning, especially BOI. I wouldn't be surprised if one of AIB and BOI falls.

Yeah down 24% since the markets opened.
    http://uk.finance.yahoo.com/q?s=BIR.IR

Coincidentally, the government announced last night that they were to become the majority shareholder in BOI as part of the bailout
    http://www.examiner.ie/home/state-set-to-become-boi-majority-stakeholder-137392.html

Lovely. Good to see their actions are guaranteeing economic stability.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

Personally, I blame the Apprentice for our troubles. All outside investors have to do is turn on that programme to see 'some of the country's youngest and brightest business and sales people' to know we're fooked.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Words cannot describe how much I hate The Apprentice

• Registered Users Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

Personally, I blame the Apprentice for our troubles. All outside investors have to turn on that programme to see 'some of the country's youngest and brightest business and sales people' to know we're fooked.

You may be right, i have never & never will be a viewer of it but i heard on newstalk one morning one of the tasks they were set was to produce a Viral campaign for something or other & one of the chaps leading a team was on the blower talking about producing a vinyl:confused::D

Funnily enough they only time I saw it was the second half of that episode - Jesus talk about chronic…

Zascar wrote: »

Why is that??

Does it clash with the X-factor & someone else wants to watch it:pac:

English Apprentice
    BARON Alan Sugar - Estimated fortune of over $1 Billion

US Apprentice
    Donald Trump - God only knows; has built a 72 story tower named after himself

Irish Apprentice
    Bill ''Penny Apples'' Cullen - Estimated fortune of about $30 Million. Former Car Salesman. Holds Guinness World Record for largest ever book signing
    http://www.goldenapples.ie/goldenapples/worldrecord.htm

Think that kinda sums it up...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

I've been watching less and less 'regular telly' - I'm downloading a lot of stuff - just can't stick the Ad breaks anymore.

Running out of shows to download though, am quite picky.

Boardwalk Empire has picked up - it's good and building to a big finale. Watched episode 10 last night.

For those Wire fans - word of warning - I'd advise against watching it a second time round. We watched most of it a couple of years ago, have started watching it for the second time and it's really not great. Myself and herself just sit there picking out all the wholes in the stories, we keep saying 'Just watch it and stop analysing it', but it's impossible not to - there's so many glaring ones.

It's no Sopranos, said it before and I stand by it. The Sopranos I've watched a good few times now, it lends itself much more to multiple viewings.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

I just cannot stand the manufactured negativity and blamestorming. Plus from someone who actually works in a sales environment, the majority of them are fairly useless (I've onyl actually watched bits of it a few times though - I'm sure there are some good people in it). My faltmate watches it and I usually put on headphones

I hate Alan Sugar probably more than Bill Cullen. Cullen is just a bit of a Tosser, Sugar is genuinely a horrible horrible person. I wanted a documentary interviewing people who have previously worked for him, absolutely shocking stuff.

joker77 wrote: »
    I've been watching less and less 'regular telly' - I'm downloading a lot of stuff - just can't stick the Ad breaks anymore.
    Yeah I'm totally with you, actually I'm running out of things to watch. Maybe we need a TV thread similar to Scuba's DVD thread!

Or you could pi.ss off whoever you all live with by having half finished electrical projects around the house all slowly getting a little attention before moving on to the next instead of TV:D;)

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Pretty much the only bit of TV I watch is the Apprentice... once a week on a Monday evening I watch it and laugh. I genuinely find it funny to watch the supposed 'best' in sales and marketing make absolute fools of themselves - its absolutely shocking to watch how bad they are.

I do like my documentaries alright and a good movie - the latter obviously increasing lately. Although even with movies I'm increasingly disheartened - I've found myself drifting more and more towards foreign movies from Lazer in town... bought a few lately which I've really enjoyed.

jimi_t2 wrote: »
    Yeah down 24% since the markets opened.
    http://uk.finance.yahoo.com/q?s=BIR.IR
    That's staggering. Looking at the chart, its close to the previous lowest value it was when the madness was happening last year. However, they did creep back up considerably in the months after that.

Their low back in March 2009 was 19p. They then went up to 3.25 by September. If you were lucky enough to get your timing right that would be a massive return you could make on your money. I wonder would it be an idea to punt a few quid on a few of the banks - if this is more or less as low as they get, and they've got the support of the IMF etc - could be some huge money to be made in a short space of time... Just not sure I'm prepared to risk it...

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

That's staggering. Looking at the chart, its close to the previous lowest value it was when the madness was happening last year. However, they did creep back up considerably in the months after that.

Their low back in March 2009 was 19p. They then went up to 3.25 by September. If you were lucky enough to get your timing right that would be a massive return you could make on your money. I wonder would it be an idea to punt a few quid on a few of the banks - if this is more or less as low as they get, and they've got the support of the IMF etc - could be some huge money to be made in a short space of time... Just not sure I'm prepared to risk it...

Haha... sounds like a conversation of a few years back, replace 'banks' with 'property'!

Now, off I go to buy some BOI shares...

Pretty much the only bit of TV I watch is the Apprentice... once a week on a Monday evening I watch it and laugh. I genuinely find it funny to watch the supposed 'best' in sales and marketing make absolute fools of themselves - its absolutely shocking to watch how bad they are.

I do like my documentaries alright and a good movie - the latter obviously increasing lately. Although even with movies I'm increasingly disheartened - I've found myself drifting more and more towards foreign movies from Lazer in town... bought a few lately which I've really enjoyed.

heres one for ya i have on DVD & is surreal to say the least,

Battle Royale

220px-Battle_royale_pochette.jpg

Are we including England as foreign????

Heres another crazy fillm i have on DVD,

Gangster Number 1

gangster-no-1-poster-1.jpg

Another off the wall film also i have on DVD & paid €30 for,

Man bites dog

Man_Bites_Dog_film.jpg

If they dip to .15 but stabilise before they hit .10 pre-Budget I'm going to try and buy a thousand shares and flip them as soon as viable.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭ianuss

I wonder would it be an idea to punt a few quid on a few of the banks - if this is more or less as low as they get, and they've got the support of the IMF etc - could be some huge money to be made in a short space of time... Just not sure I'm prepared to risk it...

Massive gamble! How could you invest in a company with such weak accounts? They're still suffering losses. Plus, the government could end up owning 99% of the bank - your shares would be worthless. There are a million other investments besides the banks. I wouldn't put a cent into an Irish financial institution.

As the old saying goes - don't try and catch a falling knife.

A mate paid for his holiday and spending money to Thailand last year doing this. AIB were at 38c, he got the tip, put in a couple of grand, flipped it at 1.10. Nice little bit of business. I don't really have the spare cash to risk myself though.

ianuss wrote: »
    Massive gamble! How could you invest in a company with such weak accounts? They're still suffering losses. Plus, the government could end up owning 99% of the bank - you're shares would be worthless. There are a million other investments besides the banks. I wouldn't put a cent into an Irish financial institution.

As the old saying goes - don't try and catch a falling knife.

High-Risk investment for a small outlay. I'd consider it the same as putting a few bob down on the grand national. Thousand shares would equate to less than 200 euro and, given that they're being bailed out and nationalised with over 15,000 staff on the payroll, Sterling note-issuing rights in the United Kingdom and the right to print its own Sterling banknotes I think they could possibly be the safest bet for some return in trading from the big four.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

anyone else watching The Walking Dead tv series:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Walking_Dead_%28TV_series%29

not sure if it's started over this side of the big pond but it's up on eztv to grab as a torrent. 4 episodes in and pretty good so far.

the trailer

decent suspense and pretty graphic, mkay

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

I'm downloading a lot of stuff - just can't stick the Ad breaks anymore.
    Media Centre all the way baby!! :D

I watch both Aprrentice shows and the Irish one is an absolutely joke, as is Bill Cullen. At least on the English they have proper tasks and Sugar actually gives them proper advice on where they went wrong. Cullen is a clown, and he's constantly contradicting himself. Don't know why I bothered watching this years one as I said I wouldn't. Kinda stuck watching it now to see who wins it. Although Barry Haesar Cúnt is a shoe in.

It's probably the only trashy tv I watch. I mainly watch tonnes and tonnes of documentaries. And Comedy and Sport.

Any body see this?

child_pa_747424t.jpg

Jesus wept. :rolleyes:

jimi_t2 wrote: »
    High-Risk investment for a small outlay. I'd consider it the same as putting a few bob down on the grand national. Thousand shares would equate to less than 200 euro and, given that they're being bailed out and nationalised with over 15,000 staff on the payroll, Sterling note-issuing rights in the United Kingdom and the right to print its own Sterling banknotes I think they could possibly be the safest bet for some return in trading from the big four.

You must have a pair of them glasses like in National treasure with nicolas cage, flip one set of lenses up & you view in socialist tinted glasses, drop them down & you view with capitalist tinted glasses:pac::pac::pac:

Nowadays it feels a bit more like ''They Live''

I don't agree with it, its a flawed and ultimately broken system, but I might as well try and recoup my losses and get a months rent in London out of it.

Oh and I'm a completely degenerate gambler - it doesn't mean that I don't have a social conscience though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

old gregg wrote: »
    anyone else watching The Walking Dead tv series:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Walking_Dead_%28TV_series%29

not sure if it's started over this side of the big pond but it's up on eztv to grab as a torrent. 4 episodes in and pretty good so far.

the trailer

decent suspense and pretty graphic, mkay

Just downloaded this last night! watched part 1 and 2 . and it's Brilliant!!

Edge of your chair stuff:D

Just downloaded this last night! watched part 1 and 2 . and it's Brilliant!!

Edge of your chair stuff:D

Its on FX at the moment - Fridays at 10pm. It is a great show alright. Only 6 episodes in the first season I read somewhere. The end of the first episode was something else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

Its on FX at the moment - Fridays at 10pm. It is a great show alright. Only 6 episodes in the first season I read somewhere. The end of the first episode was something else.

I will try and download the rest later,is FX showing part 3 this friday?

So... we finished with the economy talk for now or is this going to rumble on and on?

Pretty hard not to talk about it at the moment, really is.

Going to a Thanksgiving party on Saturday - have an American friend and have to say I'm looking forward to it - they put on a savage spread for it.

mmmmmmmmm Pumpkin Pecan Pie......

I will try and download the rest later,is FX showing part 3 this friday?

Part 4 this friday. I think they're showing repeats pretty regularly

• Registered Users Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

So... we finished with the economy talk for now or is this going to rumble on and on?

Pretty hard not to talk about it at the moment, really is.
    yeah, i think today though it finally hit me. I've managed to stay positive and optimistic the whole way through the past year and a half but today it just felt as if things were getting real.
    The budget's not gonna effect me in the slightest but if I were on the dole or a minimum wage worker, I'd be bracing myself for a big bloody hit.

I know it's necessary, and I know even in this thread I've voiced my support for it, but it doesn't change the fact that a lot of people the week after next are gonna be tightening their belts in a major way.
    Hopefully the cost of living will fall quickly enough.

Yea it's gonna be hard.

All this bullshít of 'putting the country first' is irritating. They're all playing political games here.
    The way I see it - Labour / FG will want the budget/cuts to go through so that they won't be the ones to blame. Labour would shy away from all the public sector cuts.
    FF are at the height of it though. Let's all get behind Cowen for now, so that if it's going pear shaped they can remove him, have a scapegoat, and start afresh with a new leader and new election campaign.
    Makes me sick.