Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things you miss about Dublin the most

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

the old man/regular type of pubs that are vanishing fast

• Registered Users Posts: 9,576 ✭✭✭lord lucan

A boozer that serves a proper pint of Guinness. It's the home of the black stuff FFS!!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I miss it having character.

It's basically just the same as any other metropolis now.
    Still has that same Liffey smell though...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Regional North Mods, Regional West Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Regional North East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 8,032 CMod ✭✭✭✭Gaspode

Murphs
    Solomon Grundy's
    The Grove
    The Berni Inn
    Pints for 2 quid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Bus conductors.
    Being able to hop off the 'banger'/routemaster buses when they turned the corner at the end of my road and near primary school.
    The 'hard about fellas' with their newspapers (the ones Lux23 was talking about).
    The Herald scooters dispersing from Abbey St.
    When Grafton St was two-way with buses.
    The 88 bus route.
    The pond and waterfall in St Anne's.
    Snooker in Johnnies (now 4 Dame Lane).
    When the Stag's Head was a great pub.
    Good pubs now gone. Especially the Phoenix on Dominick St (go on, live up to your name)
    Many gig and nightclub venues and years of ligging into most of them. Sides and McGonagles as already mentioned.
    A lot fewer traffic lights, one way streets and some more sensible speed limits.

I could go on....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

spurious wrote: »
    Downstairs in Roches Stores - all sorts of interesting things for sale.

Roches Stores being there at all!
    tricky D wrote: »
    The 'hard about fellas' with their newspapers (the ones Lux23 was talking about).
    The Herald scooters dispersing from Abbey St.
    Me Da used to call those lads "Lock Hards", as in lock her hard there missis!
    And I remember the scooters coming down the lane on Abbey street, loaded up with papers.

To add my own, Hector Greys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 stroopy

The old Eamonn Doran's

• Registered Users Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

I live in the country now... I just miss the hustle and bustle of dublin. That and the fact that I could get a bus to town and fall asleep on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭filthymcnasty

Lux23 wrote: »
    Bus Conductors
    The mad woman mute singing on O'Connell Street
    The floozie in the jacuzzi

ah yes, the hoor in the sewer

When it was easy to get on street parking plus it was free.
    Ricardos pool hall on wexford st, despite the smell of cat piss and
    Dockers pub on sir john rogersons quay.. good times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

stimpson wrote: »
    Bartley Dunnes

The loss is felt even more strongly given the aberration that now stands on the hallowed site..

• Registered Users Posts: 37,301 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Ambassador, when it was a cinema.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,576 ✭✭✭lord lucan

the_syco wrote: »
    Ambassador, when it was a cinema.

I seen "The Empire Strikes Back" there as a nipper,it was a cinema in the late 70's into the 80's and then it closed. It re-opened in the mid-90's iirc as a cinema for a while but closed again and was turned into a music venue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭Mute

Roller Skating at the Olympic

The free meal with your ticket in all nightclubs

Lamp-post swinging

Skipping in the streets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

The lighthouse on abbey street. Saw some terrific films there

• Registered Users Posts: 428 ✭✭bigbadbear

I miss the old banter with people behind the counter in the newsagent.

A conversation the other day.......

Foreign deli assistant: (I'm alone at the counter) "NEXT!"
    ME: "Breakfast roll please"
    Deli assistant: "sorry?"
    ME: "a breakfast roll"
    Deli assistant: "huh?"
    Me: "Bre-ck-fa-st roll"

He looks at me funny. I then point at the breakfast roll on the wall and up at the sign on the wall and see they call it a breakfast baguette. He then says to me "you want breakfast baguette???":pac:

I was looking around expecting Jeremy Beadle and Mike Murphy to be standing behind me. I started laughing at the situation but when I looked up at yer man he had a face as long as a donkey's b**lix. You'd have more craic at a minutes silence than with some of these boys.

Why I always go to the local Mace to buy things because the aul-boy behind the counter always has somethin funny to say.

I miss the green buses too. I hope they bring them back in some form.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

The Annalivia, (huu'or in de sew'or)
    proper halloween bonfires, (without scaldies throwing bud bottles at people and scrapping with the cops.)
    The old Point Depot,
    broken gafs (eegaa's)
    Sense of comminuty (when i was small, everyone within a 2 mile radius new who i was and had no probs squeeling on me for getting up to mischief, despite being "miles" away, as it felt. :D)
    Macaroon Bars,
    Fishing in the Canal (they actually used to have fish, believe it or not.)
    Moore Street, ( there's no other street in the capital that says "Dublin" more than Moore street.)
    People Shouting "Baacckkk'oooo" in North Earl street.
    Trees and parking spaces in the middle of O'Connell street.
    Dublin lingo, like when you were bonkin into croker as a young scaldie and your pal would be keepin ello and shout, "sketch, its the law, yill gettin lagged!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

So much.

The Adelphi ..

AdelphiCinemaAbbeyStDublinIreland.jpg

The (old) Lighthouse Cinema.
    Metro Burger.
    The William Tell.
    Being able to drive on the beaches.
    Roads without Speed Bumps.
    The Old Pitch and Putt at the Airport (was right beside the runway :p)
    Crazy Religious O'Connell St Lady :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭gollem_1975

my granny

5 donut for a pound from KC

temple of sound

the riverbank..aka "the hot pot" on burgh quay and their ponderosa burgers.

chatting up women at Taxi queues :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭cosmic

Switzers window at Christmas :(

The Well-Fed Cafe.

The Eager Beaver when it actually was a second-hand clothes shop.

The Abbey Mall when it was full of second clothes shops and record shops.

The Norseman and Foggy Dew before they were renovated.

Little shopping centres like the Tallaght Town Centre and Crumlin Shopping Centre bustling with shoppers

The Crane Bar

Academy(?) cinema on Pearse Street

Bootleg concert tape stalls on O'Connell Bridge

The bicyle park in Temple Bar. Was underground so you could park your bike there for a very good fee. Staff were lovely

• Registered Users Posts: 257 ✭✭Jumbo156

The Tube
    The Tudor rooms ( before the Tube, they served 16 year olds)
    The Berni Inn
    Casper and Gambinis (Remember the phones on the tables)
    The Old Baggot Inn, ( full circle on Saturday nights)
    The End (Phoenix park)
    The Phoenix Park races.
    Dalymount, full houses of 30000, the " dalyer roar"
    The no 30 bus out to Scoil Ui Chonnail in clontarf.

Ah the Baggot Inn. Saw some terrific gigs there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I remmeber the first nightclub I was in was a place called Top Cats.

No idea where it was as I was so out of it, seemed like a keep and must have been to serve us as we were all just 16.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

my granny

5 donut for a pound from KC

temple of sound

the riverbank..aka "the hot pot" on burgh quay and their ponderosa burgers.

chatting up women at Taxi queues :D

do you remember gerry the chef from there

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Regional North Mods, Regional West Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Regional North East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 8,032 CMod ✭✭✭✭Gaspode

Mullets
    Scutting on the backs of lorries
    The rag man

• Registered Users Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Nodster

Lugs Brannigan
    Dandalion Market (no I never made it to U2's first gig)
    Getting bangers in Moore St.
    Grabbing a handfull of sweets as you left Woolworths
    The MV Lady Marinda and the MV Lady Patricia (which one was dubbed locally 'The Olympic Flame' cause it never went out??) :D
    The original In Dublin magazine
    The smelly of the Liffey, the smog....not that I miss either!
    Gig's in The Stadium
    Lighters - four for a pound
    Shivering watching the Paddy's Day Parade
    The 46a when it went down Grafton St.
    The Evening Press/Herald scooters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭Jellybaby1

Walking up Henry Street and meeting at least half a dozen neighbours.
    Roches Stores, Henry Street in the ould days, it had everything, and the staff were always lovely.
    Woolworths, pick & mix, marble cake, and hot roasted peanuts by the quarter pound.
    The Monumount Creamery, cake shop in Henry Street, The Christmas Cake icing was as hard a concrete!
    Going for a walk of a Sunday evening, and buying Burdock's chips, and eating them on the way home - hooray, I can still do that except I can't eat them on the way home anymore, I live too far away now. Sad.
    Penny Lumps and Peggy's legs (sugar overload!!)
    Trigger bars
    Me mammy

Gaspode wrote: »
    Mullets

You're in luck, mate.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Mick Daly

Down and out women taking a dump on Talbot Street.

Stop dumping on a brilliant thread, first & final warning - Mod warning.