Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Photography on the Internet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Thecageyone

Boom tish!

I do love how the way I input words gets up noses so quick. Must be this dodgy keyboard? :D

Another thing wrong online, how people are too quick to read in the wrong tone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

Boom tish!

I do love how the way I input words gets up noses so quick. Must be this dodgy keyboard? :D

Has it occurred to you at all that the problem may lie with the way you write?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭eobphotography

This not a debate about which one is "better", traditional media (print) or modern technology, as it is one of those neverending debates (like Pix VS Flickr, SRL vs DSRL etc).

i dont post here often, but is it normal for posters to tell other people what they can post? if it is I'll not be dropping by much. From my reading of the original post it is in fact a discussion about the pros and cons of cyber versus real world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,570 ✭✭✭sNarah

i dont post here often, but is it normal for posters to tell other people what they can post? if it is I'll not be dropping by much. From my reading of the original post it is in fact a discussion about the pros and cons of cyber versus real world.

Well yes it is actually, what I meant is that it is very hard to decide which one is "better" - objectively - print or cyber - because it is impossible, as both have their pros and cons, like you say. What I meant was, that is much more so a discussion which is very subjective and emotional related rather than pure logics.

And everyone around here is free to post whatever their opinion is on whatever subject that is being discussed. I never mentionned "not allowed" so.

well like most forums this one seems to have decended into personal attacks on peole trying to engage with others. I'm out.

Boom tish!

my advise is just talk to real people in the real world :) I have only come online tonight and joined this discussion for the first time in months and instantly got turned off the way people use a perfectly reasonable discussion to target others. This is why I dont like the net. But i will still LOOK at photos online!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,368 ✭✭✭Covey

well like most forums this one seems to have decended into personal attacks on peole trying to engage with others. I'm out.

No it hasn't... not by a long way.

People are allowed (encouraged even) to express opinions and others to disagree with those and post opposite ones. Such is the world. Lighten up a bit, join in maybe and enjoy the place.

A smilie here and a smilie there and the world's a better place and all that.

I'm sure you've got a viewpoint on this. It mightn't be mine but do share it. I might even come back with a retort, god forbid. And sure I'll buy you a pint and tell you I was definitely right the next time we meet :P:pac:

Calina wrote: »
    Has it occurred to you at all that the problem may lie with the way you write?

No. Because from this side I know I mean no harm ;)
    my advise is just talk to real people in the real world :) I have only come online tonight and joined this discussion for the first time in months and instantly got turned off the way people use a perfectly reasonable discussion to target others. This is why I dont like the net. But i will still LOOK at photos online!!

I do that too :) I have felt the wrath of others here and often for no real good reason, other than I speak my mind. But, you will get that, and it's easy enough brush off as you go along. Bluntness, honesty and difference of opinion should never be an ousting point. This is not draconian Eire ... or I used to think so. Again tonight, simple comments by me have stirred up interest in a Mod ... Big Brother much about here? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭katiemaloe

Hey Covey,

I hear ya. I do enjoy the photography forum here and have met some fantastic people (including your good self of course!) I have learnt a lot here too from watching and asking and reading.

But every now and again I get completey fed up of it and I just want to go outside and actually take photos and mix and create and experience and learn and enjoy and get the fcuk away from looking at the screen photos and start taking and looking at new real photos.

I have started selling some of my photos in Temple Bar over the last few weeks (along with Humberklog) and several people have asked do we have a website. Now I'm thinking.... this person is standing here in the street, with about 60 very different images straight in front of them, all framed up and gorgeous in the sunshine. Why on earth do they want to go and look at them online? When they are here in front of them and talking face to face with the photographer? Humberklog and I have spoken about the idea of a webpage and thankfully decided against it, in favour of our photos being here and real. If people want to see them or talk to us then they can come and visit. In a real, normal, old school, friendly style.

So basically the internet is fab, but it is only a gateway to actually going out there and getting stuck in, meeting people and having fun. Seeing things that catch your eye. A beautiful photo, printed up nicely, can never be beaten by a picture viewed through a screen. Real actual printed photographs definately win for me.

I'm really sorry you feel that way as it is not how this forum works imo and I can guarantee - that from my side at least - there is no personal attacking involved whatsoever. Anyho, again, this thread has strayed off way out of space so will we put back on track then?

Please don't leave us just yet, you'll see, this is a grand place altogether. What's your point of view EOBphotography, do you feel the internet has somewhat taken away the magic of photography or has it contributed to making it better?

(and this is meant genuinly just to avoid any confusion, as typing how you hear it your head can really sound different then how it comes across).

Hi Katie,

Yeah heard that from the man himself last week.

I think your right tbh. Websites are great (I have one, it's fantastic ;);) ) but it's often just massaging the ego, and I'm not putting that down either. Often thats what you do need to get a kick start.

It's certainly not a way to sell thats for sure, maybe if you're very lucky a way to promote to where you do actually sell.

Ye guys have done fanbloodytastic and deserve it all. Great images, practical approach and it's working. I'll be in soon... Take care.

T.

Not stirring anything, but you were very quick to jump all over my post when it was actually on topic sNarah ...

It's hard to talk about photography online without Flickr and Pix.ie entering at some stage, as most people here use one or both.

They're not dirty words loike :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭katiemaloe

Cheers Covey. very nice of you to say that.

Yeah I don't think a website would help us sell any more. I always think that people who ask if we have a website are probably hoping to print a few pics off from it, to try and save the massive €4 that we charge :D Nothing wrong with a little ego massage at all. Everyone likes getting "thanks" A nice little encouragement!

Do drop by with your lovely lady, would be nice to see ye both. :)

Will do, promise.:)

Don't forget the power of differentiation either. Someone goes home with a print and says "you won't see that on the net" . It's exactly the way the "Good and the Great ( or not so maybe) who populate the expensive galleries operate.

Covey wrote: »
    Will do, promise.:)

Don't forget the power of differentiation either. Someone goes home with a print and says "you won't see that on the net" . It's exactly the way the "Good and the Great ( or not so maybe) who populate the expensive galleries operate.

There a wee gallery at the back of Dublin castle, can't remember the name now, but we've popped into that one a few times. The prints always look so lovely and I'd love to buy some most of the time... untill I look at the pricetag... A5 image, 600 quid. Auwtch. Depresses me slighty for being so unaccesable.

Katie, I love what you and Humber are doing, it's so simple and honest. I fully understand why you guys choose to steer away from the interweb, as it just suits the philosphy the 2 of you stand for. The again, like Covey says, suppose it's all about finding what's right for "you". I imagine a wedding photographer would not be able to sell his work without a proper website these days. It's all about what's right for "you" really isn't it?

sNarah wrote: »
    I imagine a wedding photographer would not be able to sell his work without a proper website these days.

I'd say that might not be so true as it looks/sounds.

I was talking to a guy only today, who is getting married later this year - they're paying €1450 [originally €1750, the 'tog claims he's giving them a discount ... ] - This includes pre-wedding shots from both bride and groom's houses, all the way up to first dance. They would not have found him off line. I think he's a bit steep ... but they were able to view his work on the net, and are happy with what they seen.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,523 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

I think he's a bit steep
    if you want to make your living from wedding photography and wedding photography along, you can probably depend on 30-40 weddings per year; at one and a half grand a pop, you might be lucky to pull in 60 grand, gross. add in all the equipment, printing, and related costs, and it's not a huge earner.

They would not have found him off line.

Matter of opinion really. A hell of a lot of wedding work is by word of mouth referral. If you operate outside the box, I imagine that goes up even more, maybe even 100%!.

Well, it's not really. They would have found someone, but not him specifically. His website gave them the opportunity to view his work online. They viewed many, process of elimination via the net, brought them to him.

Of course not.. you're right once again, whats new!.
    There is no other world than a "cagey" world. Little wonder you ruffle a few feathers, eh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

katiemaloe wrote: »
    Cheers Covey. very nice of you to say that.

Yeah I don't think a website would help us sell any more. I always think that people who ask if we have a website are probably hoping to print a few pics off from it, to try and save the massive €4 that we charge :D Nothing wrong with a little ego massage at all. Everyone likes getting "thanks" A nice little encouragement!

Do drop by with your lovely lady, would be nice to see ye both. :)

Where is your stand located. I'd love to visit :)

Of course not.. you're right once again, whats new!.
    There is no other world than a "cagey" world. Little wonder you ruffle a few feathers, eh.

:rolleyes: Was only a fact, maybe you really should step away from the pc ... I stated something that actually happened today ... in relation to the topic. here's you slating it because ... i didn't just say, 'You're dead right' ...

What's with the "once again"? You must be one of them then eh? ... riiiiight.

Please point out where I think I'm always right, love to read it. Fact: they wouldn't have found the guy without the net. Fact: Internet helped that guy get a wedding job.

My world = nowt to do with it.

:rolleyes: Was only a fact, maybe you really should step away from the pc ... I stated something that actually happened today ... in relation to the topic. here's you slating it because ... i didn't just say, 'You're dead right' ...

Ah sure you must be right ! :rolleyes: No. I'm me, stand by what I say, address whatever to me as I don't know who "them" are?

Those who dance all over forward opinion at every turn ...

Seriously, I was just pointing out that the guy I was chatting to, found his photographer online. He wouldn't have found this particular guy without the net. Where am I wrong or all about me?

Go back to Calina and take her advice maybe, It was pretty good advice in fairness.

Her post, off topic, that was pretty much nit-picking yet another one of my posts for the sake of it? oh right ...

You're not even bothering to read the sense in my post. Seems to me you're the one all about yourself ... thought you were leaving?
    any comments?

You should re-phrase that to 'any comments that suit me?' ... perhaps.

Her post, off topic, that was pretty much nit-picking yet another one of my posts for the sake of it? oh right ...

You're not even bothering to read the sense in my post. Seems to me you're the one all about yourself ... though you were leaving?

I never said I was leaving, where did you get that from? I've been here a while and don't intend moving.

Anyway , no bother, not interested in conversing with you any further.

Believe it or not there are some very interesting people on here, but I don't think you'll be around to realise that.

Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭charybdis

Christ.

charybdis wrote: »
    Christ.

Ah, the Hurler without a ditch :p:pac:

I never said I was leaving, where did you get that from? I've been here a while and don't intend moving.

Anyway , no bother, not interested in conversing with you any further.

Believe it or not there are some very interesting people on here, but I don't think you'll be around to realise that.

Good luck!

That is the most anal post I've seen here in a while.

And I think it's pretty sly and obnoxious of you to say such a thing. But hey, that's what I get for contributing to one of your threads, more so than some who just came in to nit-pick.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

meeeeeeoooowww

So tempted to work 'pussy' into a response to that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

Okay.

Enough.

either you lot get back on topic or I start banning users who ignore this warning.

Is that clear?

Calina wrote: »
    Okay.

Enough.

either you lot get back on topic or I start banning users who ignore this warning.

Is that clear?

All of your posts have been off topic. I was completely on topic before you side tracked me. Does your warning go for melekalikimaka too? as well as all others? or am I special?

On topic: Photography online, hmmmm, be sure not to speak your mind in the 'tog forums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Eh Tommie, the books/exhibitions and coffee mornings with friends are looking much rosier without the "net"

I think I will join you!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭stcstc

one thing that could be cool is a print exchange

get a bunch of people together

we all do a print for each person on the list and get a print from everyone

that way we get to look and touch

so say there was 10 of us, we all send 9 prints out and get 9 back

just an idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Chorcai

stcstc wrote: »
    one thing that could be cool is a print exchange

get a bunch of people together

we all do a print for each person on the list and get a print from everyone

that way we get to look and touch

so say there was 10 of us, we all send 9 prints out and get 9 back

just an idea

once every 3 or 4 months ?

Am I getting this right...
    I see a pic of yours and ohh thats nice I'll have that one...
    you see a pic of mine that you want....
    we meet, swap, love is in the air

but...

what if you don't like any of mine :confused::p but I like yours ?

All sounds very show me yours 1st Ill show you mine then (aww when you were young doc n nurses !! :eek::P)

sorry what i ment was we arrange it, say 10 people sign up

and we all make 9 prints and send them to the other 9 on the list, so we all end up with 9 prints plus our own

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭pullandbang

and we all make 9 prints and send them to the other 9 on the list, so we all end up with 9 prints plus our own

Interesting idea Steve. The arranging can be done online but then we get to see real prints and real people in the real world - damned good idea methinks.

ok well start a thread

get people to commit

and we will get it going

maybe limit it to around 15 people so noone has to do to many prints

and we can just post prints to people, maybe do 10*8 or 12*8 type size prints

i would join in, like the idea of having other peoples prints to look at and maybe hang on my wall

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

they do this in the photo ireland forum. great idea, seems to work well. i'd be game.

and yes thecageyone, I've gotten my fair wrist slappings here for being a smartass. one thing i have learnt, its not wise to challenge the mods, Calina dont take no guff :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,615 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

I tire of looking at photos on line, such much so that I don't often pay much attention to it. I like a quick scan through the random thread and an even quicker look at the occassional C+C thread. But I have learned an awful lot about the process of taking a photo to presenting and selling it. A year ago I didn't even know how to upload onto a memory card, or burn a disc. I didn't know how people printed a photo or where to go to get it done. As I only do film I thought I was an extinct species. But by inputting into an online community the whole process of production was easily revealed and described.

I'm often asked "how do you do what you do?" (as in: take artistic pictures and present them in such a way that people buy them). My advice is always the same: seperate from your partner and disown your family for their advice and input will only corrupt or crush you and if I think I like the person and they appear reasonable I recommend joining an online community as you will get honest feedback about your work and advice on any single topic.

The benefit for me more than any other though is the personal relationships and connections that have developed from being pro-active in meeting people in the real world. Priceless, both on a personal and professional level.

Begorrah Covey, quite a while back I got an overload of looking at photos on line. Nothing comes close to a pic in the hand, however, in these modern times of instant, nothing will get you closer and more quickly to achieving that than using on line communities.

• Registered Users Posts: 250 ✭✭Ettna

Go to an exhibition, ended up in London on Wednesday, victim of ash, flight home from Milan cancelled, so flew to London instead. There is a great exhibition in National Portrait Gallery, Irving Penn Portraits,with work from 1944 to 2007, even non photographic interested oh was fascinated (photographs of lots of cinema stars and writers got him interested) . Hadnt got the time, but you could spend the day in that place, as well as paintings, loads of other photographs of interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭artyeva

sign me up scottie

[errr steve... ah...you know what i meant]

to answer covey's original question - i don't really tire per se of photos on the net - i just find myself getting more and more adept at filtering out the crap.

i will echo a bit of what humberklog has said though - i've learned a hell of a lot from t'internet but i kinda feel like every now and again i naturally move away from looking at pixels and towards walking into a gallery/bookshop and getting my fix there. and now that i finally have a heap of white walls [that's an architectural term btw;)] i find myself editing my purchasing choices
    even more.

given my backround i find it refreshing that with age and leaving art college behind, i've grown out of my uber conceptual '' true art is only for galleries'' and ''hopefully one day Charles Saatchi will discover me'' phases into ''this is an amazing image but could i live with it every day on my wall?'' phase.

of course, if Charles Saatchi was to see one of my photos of my mother's dog on flickr and want to put me into his new show i'd ATE the hand off him...:rolleyes:

Ballycroy has a lot to answer for ;):p:)

ha - not forgetting aras inis gl.... glui.... gluir... err... gluna!!!? :p

artyeva wrote: »
    ha - not forgetting aras inis gl.... glui.... gluir... err... gluna!!!? :p

You sound like you've fallen into that bloody bog ... need hel.......?

tis more than that i need :eek::eek::eek:

you wouldn't ring yer man that runs the gallery of photography, erm, the guggenheim, and yeah - maybe whoever is the head of the tate these days and tell them we're in dire need of more gallery space here in north mayo - gallery space that isn't exclusively for the exhibiting of the administrator's granny's paintings of cats :mad::mad::mad:

artyeva wrote: »
    tis more than that i need :eek::eek::eek:

you wouldn't ring yer man that runs the gallery of photography, erm, the guggenheim, and yeah - maybe whoever is the head of the tate these days and tell them we're in dire need of more gallery space here in north mayo - gallery space that isn't exclusively for the exhibiting of the administrator's granny's paintings of cats :mad::mad::mad:

Last you said you had great space :confused: All changed?