Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Charleville Castle Photography Weekend 26/27th June 2010

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

Would someone do a demonstration of dark room techniques?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭Sebzy

kittykrazy wrote: »
    Is there many on the waiting list? Just saw the trip and would love to come and talk clicky.

The list posted a few days ago is already puching our numbers. On the 19th I'll set the list in stone and there wont be any more additions. So add your name and I'll be in contact if a place comes up.

The Big List
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=66192346&postcount=143

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,570 ✭✭✭sNarah

sheesh wrote: »
    Would someone do a demonstration of dark room techniques?

I like that idea.

Bit hard to organise though no? (i.e. getting chems and all - and stuff, I don't have a clue :o)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭trishw78

I'm going to have to put a question mark on me attending. Will know more closer the time...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭kittykrazy

Sebzy wrote: »
    The list posted a few days ago is already puching our numbers. On the 19th I'll set the list in stone and there wont be any more additions. So add your name and I'll be in contact if a place comes up.

The Big List
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=66192346&postcount=143

Thanks for getting back to me. I did the registration googledoc thing a few days ago. Is that what you mean by add my name? Or should I quote the list the link is to and add my name on another post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭GristlyEnd

How about rockband with the projector very, very late at night. Could be a bit of fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭whyulittle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭Fionn

Hi Seb,
    I was booked up for the weekend of the 26th, but now i'm free, missed last year too!!!

is there any chance could I be put on a sub's list? if someone drops out.

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Whey! Would be great to see ye there Bobby!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,763 ✭✭✭Fenster

I'm going to have to unfortunately bow out of of the Charleville trip. I've spoken with several people on Twitter was am given to understand that Fionn was looking for a place. I've sent him a private message explaining this and should he pop up here I'd like my place to go to him. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭DK32

@Sebzy - I may have a +1, if any more free slots open up, please let me know.

Picked up my tent & sleeping bag today :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭eas

I'm disappointed to have to step out as well. :(

I'm sure there's a few people anxious to take my spot.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Stupid question but I presume we are sleeping indoors and not in tents? I have an inflatable mattress but no tent so I presume thats ok?

Getting all excited about this now, so far nothing has arisen to stop me going :):) (touches muchos wood!)

DeV.

You can sleep indoors like previous years but I think quite a few of us are setting up tents outdoors. Believe me it can be warmer outside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭ThOnda

DeVore - I am sleeping in my bed at home ;) But you are not invited, sorry...

Ok will update the list in the morning as there has been quite a few changes.

I am encouraging people to stay outside this year as our numbers have increased quite a bit and the morning room sleeps about 15 or so.

It will be warmer outside and the plan is to have a camp fire going too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Cool. Have tent and airbed. Confirmed that I will be going.

If anyone is camping, get an airbed if you can. You won't regret it, and you'll have a much more pleasant sleep. Also, from experience, if camping, get a one hole balaclava, or wholly hat. Nothing worse than getting a cold cos you thought it was warm at night (due to alcohol :P).

I'll be without internet from Wednesday 16th to maybe Wednesday/Thursday 23rd/24th (will be camping at Hellfest)... so won't be able to reply here should anything pop up.

01 Kjt
    02 Tallon
    03 Theboat
    04 Trishw78 (??)
    05 Slidinginfinity
    06 Xia
    07 oshead
    08 Thomas gee
    09 MIG21
    10 Cabaal
    11 Dakar
    12 Fajitas!
    13 Jemmy
    14 Elven
    15 Rymus
    16 DutchGuy
    17 PCPhoto
    18 Kensutz
    19 Cork_girl
    20 Snorlax
    21 Jao
    22 the_syco
    23 m s nixon
    24 ThOnda
    25 Rahtkennades
    26 Fionn (Fill out the form please)
    27 sNarah
    28 kazujo
    29 Buzzlightyear
    30 Sineadw
    31 humberklog
    32 DK32
    33 Foto Joe
    34 Homer_Simpson
    35 Lagnagouhsse
    36 nilhg
    37 RoryW
    38 sheesh
    39 DeVore
    40 DarrenG
    41 kittykrazy

If your not on the list that means i've made a mistake or you have not filled in the registration form

thanks to Mark and Seb :)

and i've filled in the form!!

i'll bring up some photography vids and stuff on my laptop if anyone is interested.

cheers

Bobby

ps if anyone needs a lift from the south east direction - contact me :)

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

DarrenG wrote: »
    How about rockband with the projector very, very late at night. Could be a bit of fun

This.... must be done. :)

Does anyone have the rockband kit? I might be able to source a projector (or is someone bringing one already?). Xbox?

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

DeVore wrote: »
    This.... must be done. :)

Does anyone have the rockband kit? I might be able to source a projector (or is someone bringing one already?). Xbox?

DeV.

I can bring PS3 with rockband, guitar hero 3 and 8-man-Buzz :)

5F25A2C569A347D2B39BC7D6F7667757-500.jpg

you have the full rockband gear??

(rockband beats GH imho). 8 person buzz is great craic too!

Is there a TV there or should I look for a projector? (or does anyone have one?)

DeV.

you have the full rockband gear??

(rockband beats GH imho). 8 person buzz is great craic too!

Is there a TV there or should I look for a projector? (or does anyone have one?)

DeV.

2 Guitars, drums & a mic

I can probably source a projector. If we had two I could bring splitters :D

I have the full Rockband setup including 2 wireless mics and 1 wired mic. I'll bring them along with my xbox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Slidinginfinity

Tallon wrote: »
    I can bring PS3 with rockband, guitar hero 3 and 8-man-Buzz :)

5F25A2C569A347D2B39BC7D6F7667757-500.jpg

If you guys are going to go to all the trouble shouldn't someone source a good projector and play some vintage games on the side of the castle?:D

http://pix.ie/tallon/1313108/size/800

jasus lads!!

is this a photo meet or a music/xpox/praystation one???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

Really can't wait for this - hoping to pick your brains while I'm there (not literally.. you can sleep safely in your tent, I promise!) about getting my first DSLR :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

If you guys are going to go to all the trouble shouldn't someone source a good projector and play some vintage games on the side of the castle?:D

http://pix.ie/tallon/1313108/size/800

Worms 2 on the Playstation at 32 feet by 18 feet... please.

Fionn wrote: »
    jasus lads!!

is this a photo meet or a music/xpox/praystation one???

Ok lads have to agree with Fionn here. This is a photography weekend and the emphasis should be on that. If you want to bring your entertainment systems down by all means go ahead but your going to be missing out on what makes these weekends so special.

Oh yea
    - Power is limited as this is a castle with very old wiring just one or two sockets per room and their usually snapped up for chargers on the night and no TV's to speak of.

Ok lads have to agree with Fionn here. This is a photography weekend and the emphasis should be on that. If you want to bring your entertainment systems down by all means go ahead but your going to be missing out on what makes these weekends so special.

But, but, but.....

2708_libertyhall_HA_384780t.jpg

Doesn't have to be just games, after the latest PS3 update I can now show you's 3D Visualisations :)

I'm going to shoot until my fingers bleed but in the late evening it might be cool to socialise a bit and music (ok, kinda karaoke) or a quiz-game might be fun! (I guess people can always sit around a fire too if they wish, there are going to be 45 of us) :)

I will be bringing my beloved nifty fifty and my faithful 400D but I'm hoping someone can show me how to make the most out of it! :)

DeV.

Two spaces just popped up due to cancellations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,319 ✭✭✭sineadw

I won't be able to make the Saturday :( I'm hoping to get down Sunday, but if the place needs to be given away that's fine.

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭couscous007

Very interested.

Is this still open?

We need people to volunteer to help out with the following. Just PM me or reply to the thread.

- BBQ Setup
    - BBQ Cooking
    - Firewood Collection for camp fire
    - Tutorials/workshops on the day.

============== The revsed schedule ==============

Saturday

11:00 Sign in and safety briefing. It's important that eveyone is here for this.

12:00 Tour of the castle and grounds

13:00 ==== Black and white technique tutorial ====
    Duration : 45 Minutes

14:00 ==== Spooky technique tutorial ====
    What to bring : Tripod, torch, Imagination, incense stick.

19:00 ==== BBQ ====
    What to bring : Food and drink

22:00 ==== Light Painting thing ====
    What to bring : Tripod, torch and anythign else you can think of.

Sunday

12:00 ==== Post Processing your images workshop ====
    What to bring : laptop and images.

Things to know

The castle is under constant restoration and for that reason several areas are off limits to us. But first the areas we do have access to.

- Morning room (1st Floor)
    - Ball room
    - Library
    - Red Room
    - Main staircase (Harriot's)
    - Surrounding grounds.
    - Chapel area
    - Dungeon
    - Basement Kitchen
    - Servants area in basement (waste not want not room)
    - Basement toilets
    - Outside toilets (Handy for BBQ time)
    - Horse yard in forest (Big circle thing well hidden)

Off limits areas are
    - Roof and tower
    - Third floor rooms (Construction site and storage)
    - Second floor rooms (Resident area)
    - Stables (Still under legal dispute)
    - Bonnie's vegetable garden around back (Bonnie will hurt you if your found there)

The castle crew and residents

Both Bonnie and Dudley live in the castle and are the driving force behind the whole restoration project. Myself, Terrie, Fiona and Niall are the castle crew and will be there to make sure things run smoothly.

Some basic castle rules

- Keep all doors closed.
    - Clean up after yourself. Previous years we have had complains from the residence about the kitchen being left dirty.
    - Do not go into dangerous or restricted areas.
    - No cats in the kitchen.
    - If leaving castle grounds let someone know as we will organise a search party and check whole whole castle. The castle can be dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Kazujo

I have a spare tent and airbed is anyone needs them.

Kazujo wrote: »
    I have a spare tent and airbed is anyone needs them.

I would love to borrow the air bed! :D

- No cast in the kitchen.

What does this mean? "Cast" in this sense is a term I am unfamiliar with. :confused:

Yea no cast with their paws and hungry eyes.

Look at sebs avatar

Oh forgot to say their was a fresh batch of little kittens just last month so their all cute and photogenic now. Oh yea and about a dozen adult cats roaming the grounds too.

FREE KITTENS!!!

Yet another notice about volunteering but this time about the castle in general.

The castle only survives to this day through the hard work of volunteers. People like you who give up their skills and free time to make a change.

Quest - The not-for-profit voluntary organization formed in 1996 behind the castle.

Updates on events run by quest at the castle.

Right thought the year the castle need people to volunteer to help in a wide variety of activity's from festivals to restoration work so if you think you can help please get in contact with Terri during the weekend as she acts as the volunteer coordinator.

Just as an example of some of the volunteer activity's that come up.
    - Restoration work all around the castle
    - Stewarding at ShakeFest dance festival
    - Stewarding at Castlepalooza Music & Arts Festival
    - Grounds maintenance.
    - Event organisation such as this trip
    - Operation lift Blog updates
    - Web design and maintenance

I need to be back in Dublin for 7pm at the latest on Sunday evening? Is that realistic?

I dont drive so I will either have to scrounge a lift with someone or get the train (should we start to organise transport about now or am I getting overly excited??)

DeV.

Regarding food and drink.

We will have use of the volunteers kitchen/fridge to sort out food and the BBQ for cooking

Upon arrival and sign in we will sort out the BBQ. There will be four options.

1. Bring your own grub to BBQ

2. Bring food to share

3. Contribute €5 towards a kitty to buy food and BBQ coals (this one is best)

4. Opt out

Option 3 is by far the best as we will stick all the money together and send one or two people off to Tesco/Lidl to do some shopping. Burgers, sausages, bread, sauce, salad, drinks and charcoal will all come from the kitty if enough people chip in. Vegetarians will be catered for too but you have to let us know or bring your own.

Now regarding booze down at the castle it's quite simple. Drink responsibly and share :)

I really hope there is fish this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

1. Bring your own grub to BBQ

3. Contribute €5 towards a kitty to buy food and BBQ coals (this one is best)
    I'm thinking of "pop a fiver in", and maybe bring some of my own munchies.

I'm taking an 8-plug adapter thing would work off the plugs? Will bring one if I remember.

I would love to borrow the air bed! :D

No worries the airbed is yours

I'd go with option 3 too, it worked well last year,

I have a couple of disposable BBQ's and a little gas stove I'll throw in the car too incase we need some extra cooking space, might have some coal too will have to check.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

I need to be back in Dublin for 7pm at the latest on Sunday evening? Is that realistic?

I dont drive so I will either have to scrounge a lift with someone or get the train (should we start to organise transport about now or am I getting overly excited??)

DeV.

will offer a lift ... have a ford fiesta van ...so plenty of room for extra gear and a passenger.