Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

a new pistol format

• 08-05-2010 11:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭

I'm sitting here eating some chicken noodles and having a beer thinking about the pistol shoots i've been too this year....
    There has been no shoot that the craic has been flowing as it had been in the last two years
    there has been no NASRPC shoot that had a prize giving
    No WA1500
    Things are changing...
    I believe it's time now for different associations to forget about politics and come together to combine their pool of shooters and shoot together as a group and show the powers that be that we are sportsmen .
    Now who has any ideas on how to grow the sport of pistol shooting ?
    Think of this as a brainstorming session...there are no wrong answers here
    We need a modern solution for a modern problem
    So who has any ideas????????????????????????
    Before we end up with no pistols to shoot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Is the problem really one of sport though?
    I mean, the WA1500 and other centerfire disciplines have taken a hit from the legislative side of things (it's hard to grow a sport when you're looking at shelling out €3k for court cases just to keep the paperwork let alone the equipment itself -- and can't get new licences for love nor money); that's not a problem with the actual sport itself. Meanwhile, ISSF and other rimfire pistol disciplines are only getting started after a thirty-year hiatus really because all the legislation took so long to settle (if it really has, which I don't think it has). All the problems surrounding centerfire licences has had a dampening effect on the other licences - I've heard of clubs and individuals steering clear even of air pistols over worries that were caused by the issues surrounding centerfire licencing. Under conditions like that, it's hard for a sport to develop after the initial novelty value wears off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Bananaman

Xesse,

I've already been on to you about a proposal for a new smallbore pistol match format encompassing more disparate challenges.

As to the lack of NASRPC Prize giving - that is my fault.

I have been up to my eyeballs so have not yet ordered the new medals and there was a lot of rending of cloth and gnashing of teeth around the proposed handicap system so it got shelved. That is also now a re-work in progress.

B'Man

PS: When we get it sorted we must have a knees up and you can bring a wheelbarrow to haul your medals out of there (or at the very least wear a neck brace this time :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

I'm in agreement with Sparks and B'man here (there's a blue moon event ;)). Legislative stuff has put sports stuff on the backburner and there aren't enough people to help with the normal stuff like getting medals and class prizes etc.

Running matches (as you know) takes time and energy as well, so actually doing development work always goes lower down the priority scale because by its nature there are no instant results and it's an open ended task.

What can the competitors do?

Simple stuff like phone around when there's a match on and get people to attend. You don't need a fancy title to do that, it's just a phone call or an email or a facebook post.

Association stuff is association stuff, it doesn't really exist at individual level; if you shoot pistol and there's a match on then you should go if you can. It's that simple. Likewise with rifle.

And try and support your dealers wherever you are. Along with the recession and the licensing problems, most dealers are on their knees. If it costs a quid more to buy your ammo from them, just ask yourself is it worth a quid to have them there near you providing a service?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭BELOWaverageIQ

As a side issue and sorry to jump in but has any new centerfire pistol liscence been issued to a person not having previously held a CFP liscence?
    I have a .22 pistol and several CF rifles and indeed meet the home security criteria.... Just wondering if I would be wasting my time applying.

Ps I am a member of a range and indeed would be prepaired to fight a case if neccessary , just wondered if there was any precident

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

You will be disentitled as the law has been changed. No "new" c/f pistol licences can be issued.

Thanks Bunnyshooter,
    Is that a legal fact or is it simply that Chief Supers are not issuing any.
    Are they now outlawed to new applicants or just restricted?

Legal fact, unless you held a c/f licence on/before Oct. 2008, if I remember rightly, you can't even apply for one :(

Did hear whispers that a case is being taken to challenge this but as I said it's only whispers.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,652 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Unless you held a C/F pistol license PRE 19th Nov. 2008 you are disentitled to apply.
    1) As and from the date of commencement of this section, no applicationfor a firearm certificate in respect of a short firearm shall be considered by an issuing person other than for

A) a device capable of discharging blank ammunition and to be used as a starting gun or blank firing gun

B) a short firearm of a type specified at paragraph 4(2)(e) of the Firearms](Restricted Firearms and Ammunition) Order 2008 (S.I. No. 21 of 2008) and designed for use as so specified.

C) a short firearm for which the applicant for the firearm certificate held a firearm certificate on or before 19 November 2008.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

I was only out by a few days at most :p

A few days could mean alot to some lads.

So let that be a warning to you.......... now ............ so there........... ya young pup ya ..................:p

Jaysus i'm bored. :D
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

This refers to .22 and Olympic standard pistols I presume ( apendix b )
    B) a short firearm of a type specified at paragraph 4(2)(e) of the Firearms](Restricted Firearms and Ammunition) Order 2008 (S.I. No. 21 of 2008) and designed for use as so specified.

Basicly, yes, .22 olympic pistols.
    Doesn't say you couldn't use them for competitions not in the olympic programme (not all ISSF disciplines are in the olympic programme, for example); but it does effectively limit us to that kind of pistol.

SI 21/2008, 4(2)(e)(i & ii) -
    (e) the following short firearms designed for use in connection with competitions governed by International Olympic Committee regulations:
    (i) air-operated firearms of 4.5 millimetres (.177 inch) calibre,
    (ii) firearms using .22 inch rim-fire percussion ammunition.

Getting back to the OPs point - which had nothing to do with licensing - I found it refreshing to actualy have a thread about shooting.

There are plenty of pistols out there - the .22 stuff was largley licensed without problems (I'm not trying to belittle the problems of those that experienced them)

But we are not seeing them in competition. (although there were 30 or so at the Eagles today which was great to see)

We see very little crossover - you only see a few lads who would normally shoot ISSF at NASRPC shoots and vice versa when the vast majority of their firearms are perfectly suitable and competitve in both.

B'Man

Bananaman wrote: »
    We see very little crossover - you only see a few lads who would normally shoot ISSF at NASRPC shoots and vice versa when the vast majority of their firearms are perfectly suitable and competitve in both.
    Yeah, but that could just be personal preference.

Or jingosim through lack of exposure.

I cannot believe that people would not like another challenge - if they would just give it a try.

B'Man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

I love shooting just about any kind of rifles for competition, personally, but time and funds limit me in what I can really do. Shame, that. I expect if I shot pistol, and had a pistol that could be used for various disciplines, I'd probably shoot at least most of them. I think shooting as much of everything as you can is just going to make you a better marksman, and then you can focus on the nuances of your favourite, even if it is to the slight detriment of the rest. To continue the same example, shooting loads of ISSF rifle stuff makes me well able to shoot most other kinds of rifle, but its psychology in terms of long strings and endurance shooting would be slightly different to say imperial fullbore; they'll be complementary, but not identical, and that's why the crossover between the two is a bit limited. I do agree though that people will improve technically by shooting as much of everything as they can.

I'm not sure I'd agree with that - I've not seen evidence for it.
    I cannot believe that people would not like another challenge - if they would just give it a try.
    Well, speaking personally, I've seen my shooting fall off severely in the last few months because of things outside of shooting (work, money, wedding stuff and the like); I've seen that happen to a *lot* of other shooters too - the economic downturn hit a lot of people hard. Between that, the legislative/licencing issues, and the point that people have individual preferences, there's a lot of cause for a falloff in the last while. I don't think there's anything major that folks have failed to do.

For example, I've been meaning to get to a VCRAI shoot for nearly 18 months now to give a Mark III lee-enfield a shot to see what my great-grandfather used back in the first world war; I just haven't been able to find time and money to get there. I've missed several airgun shoots and haven't been out to WTSC in ages because of work and family. I'm hoping all that will pick up again after the wedding, but it's not down to the NTSA not running the right matches, it's just the rest of life being a lot of work right now.

• Registered Users Posts: 314 ✭✭Kryten

you only see a few lads who would normally shoot ISSF at NASRPC shoots and vice versa when the vast majority of their firearms are perfectly suitable and competitve in both.

B'Man

This is true, for example, at the Eagles shoot, there were several shooters with "olympic" pistols. A GSP, Hammerli 208 (I think thats what it was) and an AW93. We should now get these lads to give ISSF stuff a try.

B'Man
    Horlicks! :D

We shoot ISSF and NASRPC matches in Rathdrum, in fact we designed the course of fire for NASRPC benchrest pistol and most of our lads take part in those matches.

The primary issue is really about time available to people and the inevitable clashes that a busier calendar produces. How many times this year have we seen people complain about the fact that they can't be in two places at the same time?

People also find that shooting pistol one-handed at 25m too difficult; that's an observation I've heard on many occasions, they turn up once, have a go and then disappear. We've a few members who just won't do it, and some like me who don't embarrass easily :D

The other issue is specialisation; the demands of particular disciplines and the skillsets that are developed to be competitive can sometimes mitigate against other disciplines, so an air pistol shooter can't manage other disciplines that have heavier trigger pressures or involve recoil and still improve their air pistol scores. This is at the higher end of the scale obviously because at the lower end, that distinction is less stark. But equally a guy who's used to centre fire rapid shooting finds slow fire precision shooting counter intuitive to their existing skillset and often come to a point where it's an either/or decision.

This is in sharp contrast to rifle shooting. Rifle shooters, by and large can transfer quite easily from centre fire to rimfire and from sporting rifle to target rifle and vice versa very easily with no real loss of performance once the intial learning curve is completed. Pistol shooting seems to require a greater degree of specialisation. Discussions on this contrast have taken place on other fora such as target talk in the US where the lament was that the US which has such a huge volume of pistol shooters can't even come close to competing with the likes of the Germans or Russians in precision events.

Another issue is ranges and how they are set up. Some ranges can't do some events either because of their size, the equipment they have or their authorisation. People are not that inclined to turn up to an event they've never practised on their home range.

That's not even touching on the personal preference issue which Sparks alluded to.

Sparks wrote: »
    I've seen my shooting fall off severely in the last few months because of things outside of shooting (work, money, wedding stuff and the like); I've seen that happen to a *lot* of other shooters too - the economic downturn hit a lot of people hard. Between that, the legislative/licencing issues, and the point that people have individual preferences, there's a lot of cause for a falloff in the last while. I don't think there's anything major that folks have failed to do.

As have I - had a new baby last year which cramped my style a bit - also had the legislative waffle, the furore over IPSC and the attendant gnashing of teeth, rending of cloth and politics taking over from the sport. But I still get out when I can and shoot every discipline I can. But that's just me.
    Sparks wrote: »
    it's not down to the NTSA not running the right matches, it's just the rest of life being a lot of work right now.

This is not about who has done what - as the OP said - and I agree with him - there are a lot of firearms and not a lot of participation. This should not be about which association rounds them up. It should be about providing types of competition that attract all of them.
    rrpc wrote: »
    Horlicks! :D
    Touché
    We shoot ISSF and NASRPC matches in Rathdrum, in fact we designed the course of fire for NASRPC benchrest pistol and most of our lads take part in those matches.

And you are to be applauded for it. Like I said this is not about what is being done - it's about trying to add something new - a new attraction for the great unwashed who do not compete.
    The primary issue is really about time available to people and the inevitable clashes that a busier calendar produces. How many times this year have we seen people complain about the fact that they can't be in two places at the same time?

A bit of co-operation between NASRPC and NTSA on calendar would iron out most of the clashes. Availability we can't do anything about.
    People also find that shooting pistol one-handed at 25m too difficult; that's an observation I've heard on many occasions, they turn up once, have a go and then disappear. We've a few members who just won't do it, and some like me who don't embarrass easily :D

So shoot pistol one handed at 3, 7, 10, 15 or 20 metres - when you're comfortable with it you may have a go at the 25m variant.
    The other issue is specialisation; the demands of particular disciplines and the skillsets that are developed to be competitive can sometimes mitigate against other disciplines, so an air pistol shooter can't manage other disciplines that have heavier trigger pressures or involve recoil and still improve their air pistol scores. This is at the higher end of the scale obviously because at the lower end, that distinction is less stark. But equally a guy who's used to centre fire rapid shooting finds slow fire precision shooting counter intuitive to their existing skillset and often come to a point where it's an either/or decision.

There are at most a dozen highly competitive individuals in each discipline and they are the ones who do shoot cross discipline. We need something to get more people involved. If they turn out to be competitive that would be good too.
    Another issue is ranges and how they are set up. Some ranges can't do some events either because of their size, the equipment they have or their authorisation. People are not that inclined to turn up to an event they've never practised on their home range.

So come up with disciplines that will work on the majority of ranges - don't do anything that limits the possibility of people doing it 'at home'

B'Man

And you are to be applauded for it. Like I said this is not about what is being done - it's about trying to add something new - a new attraction for the great unwashed who do not compete.
    Which was what benchrest pistol was about; getting people used to sighting and dealing with recoil with the stabilisers on as it were. A lot of people seem to have stopped there though, not willing or confiident enough perhaps in taking the next step.
    A bit of co-operation between NASRPC and NTSA on calendar would iron out most of the clashes. Availability we can't do anything about.
    Been there, worn the teeshirt and eaten the pies ;), even created a google calendar for NASRPC so that clashes could be spotted in advance and correlated with the individual clubs. But realistically speaking, clashes are unavoidable at this stage, there are just too many disciplines and not enough weekend days, we even had to run an eveing detail in Rathdrum recently to assist people who wanted to shoot in Midlands on a clashing date.
    So shoot pistol one handed at 3, 7, 10, 15 or 20 metres - when you're comfortable with it you may have a go at the 25m variant.
    That's not as easy or as simple as it sounds. To maintain range safety and stay in line with the range safety template, it may not be possible to either move the firing point or the targets to facilitate this. Moving the firing line forward defeats baffling and noving the target line forward defeats range floor safety measures, even if it were possible, which in Rathdrum for example it is not.
    There are at most a dozen highly competitive individuals in each discipline and they are the ones who do shoot cross discipline. We need something to get more people involved. If they turn out to be competitive that would be good too.

So come up with disciplines that will work on the majority of ranges - don't do anything that limits the possibility of people doing it 'at home'

B'Man
    Benchrest pistol should have been the catalyst here as it requires very little in the way of specialist range setup and can be shot at any distance, I know one of the problems is availability of targets; pistol targets are very expensive to ship because of their size. Currently, the whole licensing issue is putting people off investing or taking part until all the dust has settled as well as the costs of implementing the new range safety certification system.

Just keep running the competitions and encouraging people to attend is all we can do at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭xesse

A format that would work would be a centrefire ISSF style shoot
    25m 20 precision 40 rapid
    All we need is a range and a course of fire