Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help a Cork girl please?

• 10-05-2010 1:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭

Hi All,
    Myself and a few friends are thinking of heading to Clare in a few weeks. We are in our mid 20s and like drinking;) So was hoping someone might be able to recommend a hotel close to the nightlife, and a few bars or clubs?
    Thanks.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭ktc1

Cadyboo wrote: »
    Hi All,
    Myself and a few friends are thinking of heading to Clare in a few weeks. We are in our mid 20s and like drinking;) So was hoping someone might be able to recommend a hotel close to the nightlife, and a few bars or clubs?
    Thanks.:)

For hotel go with Temple Gate, it's in the middle of town, modern and close to everything. Others will update you on the pub scene, the only decent nightclub is attached to the Queen's hotel (another potential place to stay) at the bottom of Abbey St. It's been done up recently and is supposed to be quite nice. Some of the pubs in town have late licenses as well I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,735 ✭✭✭Stuxnet

the queens hotel is probably your best bet, I see busloads of hen parties arriving there most Friday's, they own the largest night club in town and most of the biggest bars in the town, the cloister is nice to the left of the queens, and the library bar across the street is popular with the 20's crowd ! shocked at myself for saying that im 30 !!) everything is pretty much on the same street so ya cant get lost moving pubs etc !! :D
    i think the temple gate as mentioned above would be a nicer place to stay, only a minute walk from all the action also

http://www.queenshotelennis.com//
    http://www.templegatehotel.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

Hotels in town

Queens hotel
    Temple gate
    The old ground

pubs

knox's
    ciarans
    charlie stewarts

check out the web sites for the hotels, temple gate would probably be the best.

I grew up in cork......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭Cadyboo

BOBBY wrote: »
    the queens hotel is probably your best bet, I see busloads of hen parties arriving there most Friday's, they own the largest night club in town and most of the biggest bars in the town, the cloister is nice to the left of the queens, and the library bar across the street is popular with the 20's crowd ! shocked at myself for saying that im 30 !!) everything is pretty much on the same street so ya cant get lost moving pubs etc !! :D
    i think the temple gate as mentioned above would be a nicer place to stay, only a minute walk from all the action also

http://www.queenshotelennis.com//
    http://www.templegatehotel.com/

Just checked them both out thanks, 70e a night for queens, 100e for templegate. More drink money with queens me thinks.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,735 ✭✭✭Stuxnet

lol very important !
    if ye wanted a bit cheaper, there is Woodstock, which is ten mins by taxi from town, its really nice, and cheaper, pool and spa but defo taxi in and out from which mightn't suit ye !
    http://www.woodstockennis.com/

The temple gate has a walk in rate of either 59 or 69 euro room only. (there is a poster on the side of the wall leading on to the plaza from the car park)

If you phone them up and ask about this rate they might give it to you, ( or say thats only the walk in rate but if you tell them your of to the queens for 70€ they might change their minds) also they except hens and stags but require a 300 deposit. I know cause i used to work there......

(also queens has no car park, you have to use the public car park)

BOBBY wrote: »
    lol very important !
    if ye wanted a bit cheaper, there is Woodstock, which is ten mins by taxi from town, its really nice, and cheaper, pool and spa but defo taxi in and out from which mightn't suit ye !
    http://www.woodstockennis.com/

there is also the west county with lesuire centre and the auburn lodge the owners of the aurburn lodge also own the queens.

http://www.centralr.com/select_a_room.asp?ExactSearch=1&countryRef=-1&regionRef=-1&cityRef=1088&hotelRef=-1&langId=1&searchDescription=Ennis&RoomType=5&searchText=Ennis&txtCheckIn=24%2F05%2F2010&txtCheckOut=25%2F05%2F2010&selRooms=1&selAdults=1&selChildren=0&as_hotelstars=&as_city=&as_airp=&as_metro=&as_less=&CurrencyID=1

http://www.goireland.com/clare/hotels-in-ennis-page1.htm

when working at reception these 2 site offered better than what the hotel did.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,014 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

The Queens has free entry for residents I think so that's another €10 saved :)

As for pubs, the Queen's is pretty much the center of the universe :) There's a couple of bars in there, there's the Library across the road, then if you go left (with your back to the Queens) you'll have Knox's,The Brewery and O'Halloran's, keep going down past that pub you'll find Charlie Stewarts, but your best bet is just to follow your ears. There's also plenty of nice places to eat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭CoalBucket

Stayed in the Templegate, and it's grand, not too fond of the late night parties though :D.

Been to Ennis lots of times. As a Cork man I can give you a comparison.

The Queens = Cubans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭irishturkey

Templegate, templegate, templegate!!! Wouldn't go near the Queens!

As for nightlife... walk out the front of the Templegate turn left and go to the Diamond Bar across the road. Back out, take a left you reach the height, keep right down to the bottom of the street, take a right and go to Ciarans. Back out, go left and up to the height again, cross the street and go to Knoxs for the late bar or keep going past it down to the bottom of the street to Charlie Stewarts.

If you must go near the Queens, make sure you're extremely intoxicated.

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭roseym

If you're a hen party looking for a more lively night, which I would imagine you are, then stick to Queens/Knox's and the other pubs in that area. Similar to Soho, Reardons, Bailey kind of scene. Generally just follow your ears in that area - there are usually live bands in some of the pubs around there at weekend too. Queens nightclub has rooms with different types of music so it's a safe enough bet for different tastes (unless you're looking for quiet that is). The diamond and ciaráns would compare with the Rob Roy, busy enough and good craic but with a quieter buzz about them, and not as dressy as other places. Also, speaking as someone not from here, charlie stewarts is a bit too out of the way if none of ye are familiar with Ennis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭romah

why not try a hostel ..cheaper even..

http://www.rowantreehostel.ie

haven't stayed there myself but word is good about it...also very close to the Queens...

and has a nice restaurant attached as well..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭Nevermind_

Templegate, templegate, templegate!!! Wouldn't go near the Queens!

As for nightlife... walk out the front of the Templegate turn left and go to the Diamond Bar across the road. Back out, take a left you reach the height, keep right down to the bottom of the street, take a right and go to Ciarans. Back out, go left and up to the height again, cross the street and go to Knoxs for the late bar or keep going past it down to the bottom of the street to Charlie Stewarts.

If you must go near the Queens, make sure you're extremely intoxicated.

the Diamond and Ciarans for a Hen/Stag night???:D
    Are you taking the piss? theyre not exactly party pubs for a young crowd now are they?

Charlies is grand but too far away from the other lively pubs.
    The abbey st area is your best bet for stags/hens, its easily the busiest area in town, and close to the queens/templegate/rowan tree whichever you choose to stay in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,487 ✭✭✭finbarrk

The op said Clare, not Ennis. She could also try Lahinch or Kilkee. There is a night club in both towns.

Nevermind_ wrote: »
    the Diamond and Ciarans for a Hen/Stag night???:D
    Are you taking the piss? theyre not exactly party pubs for a young crowd now are they?

Charlies is grand but too far away from the other lively pubs.
    The abbey st area is your best bet for stags/hens, its easily the busiest area in town, and close to the queens/templegate/rowan tree whichever you choose to stay in.

I do believe the thread started with...

"Hi All,
    Myself and a few friends are thinking of heading to Clare in a few weeks. We are in our mid 20s and like drinkingwink.gif So was hoping someone might be able to recommend a hotel close to the nightlife, and a few bars or clubs?
    Thanks.smile.gif"

Who's hen/stag party are we talking about now? Can I come to it? Anyway, people will make their own fun wherever they go, if you're out at 6 or 7 of a Saturday night in somewhere like Knox's, theres a good chance you'll be the only people there so somewher like Ciarans or the Diamond would be ideal.

Each to their own really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭Nevermind_

I do believe the thread started with...

"Hi All,
    Myself and a few friends are thinking of heading to Clare in a few weeks. We are in our mid 20s and like drinkingwink.gif So was hoping someone might be able to recommend a hotel close to the nightlife, and a few bars or clubs?
    Thanks.smile.gif"

Who's hen/stag party are we talking about now? Can I come to it? Anyway, people will make their own fun wherever they go, if you're out at 6 or 7 of a Saturday night in somewhere like Knox's, theres a good chance you'll be the only people there so somewher like Ciarans or the Diamond would be ideal.

Each to their own really.

i take your point about 6 or 7 in the evening (although Knox's usually has a few at that time) and theres nothing wrong with the diamond or ciarans but most mid 20's on a stag are looking for somewhere a bit more lively.
    If I wanted a nice pint and a chat then fine, but youre not going to pull or meet another hen/stag in those pubs now are you.

Nevermind_ wrote: »
    i take your point about 6 or 7 in the evening (although Knox's usually has a few at that time) and theres nothing wrong with the diamond or ciarans but most mid 20's on a stag are looking for somewhere a bit more lively.
    If I wanted a nice pint and a chat then fine, but youre not going to pull or meet another hen/stag in those pubs now are you.

Yet again it seems I must clarify myself... obviously its my own doing. The original post never mentioned stag or hen party, they're a young gang but no mention of an occasion of any sort. Where would you start a night out if you were out early in the evening? Go to KNox's early, stay till late, then the Queens??? Hardly worth travelling from Cork if you're just gonna do the basics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭Shapey Fiend

Eugh.. Cubins. I'd say the Queens (now it's been remodeled) is a lot nicer than most nightclubs in Ireland. I don't really like nightclubs though so maybe I'm not an expert on the matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭Cadyboo

Thanks very much for all your replies, will let you know how we get on. Sure we might even bump into some of you:D
    Thanks again:D:D