Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

help with hardware synth MIDI set up

Options
2»

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 loko90210

I will do the latency test now or tutorial sorry,

I'm not a big professional composer or anything so I don't care if there is latency when I am playing the nord via the usb keyboard, but what I do want and NEED is when I press play in ableton it plays the midi notes from the nord in time with my track,

Track played back in time the way I want;
    Kick-Kick-Kick-Kick
    Snare Snare
    Nord Nord

Currently plays back like this;
    Kick-Kick-Kick-Kick
    Snare Snare
    Nord Nord

ughhhhh such a great synth, my first bit of HW and yet this smelly latency problem is killing me!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D1UfTv1qcxo
    skip to 1.20

This is what I want,

track playing in ableton, playing from the HW synth, no delay as he tweaks the synth!
    :(

Update:

Finally got the nord to play back the way I want :D I changed the audio settings in ableton to ASIO and it worked.

Now just horrible audio drop outs! :(

God dam latency, anyone have any luck with getting there settings right? i have tried messing around with the settings but still getting many drop outs!

Nearly there lol,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭Quiggers

as you have the nord midi in and out connected, have you selected the Local Off option on its internal menu, the latency from a knob turn could be caused by a midi loop problem.

I'm not familiar with the nord but all synths have this option, a quick rtfm will find it.

also with the dropouts, have you selected the asio driver in abletons preferences,