Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Protesters storm the Dail??

• Registered Users Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

who you're marching under is irrelevant...particularily when your protesting against a corrupt government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Nozebleed wrote: »
    who you're marching under is irrelevant...particularily when your protesting against a corrupt government.

So a KKK march against the govt you'd be there right ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

Morlar wrote: »

argumentum ad absurdum.

In case you missed it this is the absurdity ;
    who you're marching under is irrelevant...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

who's been watching too much tv?

• Registered Users Posts: 415 ✭✭shaneybaby

Mister men wrote: »
    Disgusting to see our police forces draw batons and use them on people in this way. Funny how you don't see them baton charging the taxi drivers when they decide to block up the countries main streets for little or no reason.

Funny how you don't see taxi drivers trying to break through a cordon of Gardaí.

In case you missed it this is the absurdity ;

No, there's a difference between saying the banner of who is marching to the dail to protest the currect situation (which makes the assumption regarding what groups are likely to do so) and picking an extreme example, which is extremely unlikely to ever happen, to discredit the point he was trying to make.

who's been watching too much tv?

Snappy retort you got there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

why did the gardai not close the gate..were they entertaining themselves or looking to teach some protesters a lesson?

shaneybaby wrote: »
    Funny how you don't see taxi drivers trying to break through a cordon of Gardaí.

If there had been Gardai stationed at the door at the recent occupation of offices by taxi drivers then they would have tried to break through.

moonpurple wrote: »
    why did the gardai not close the gate..were they entertaining themselves or looking to teach some protesters a lesson?

Perhaps it's their job to keep the gate open and secure ? Closing it could be the last option rather than the first response. A bunch of thugs should not be trying to force the gardai into doing anything, whether it's closing a gate or getting out of their way.

If there had been Gardai stationed at the door at the recent occupation of offices by taxi drivers then they would have tried to break through.

argumentum ad absurdum.

Actually, it isn't.
    "a method employed to disprove an argument by illustrating how it leads to an absurd consequence"

The taxi drivers have shown they have no qualms with a more direct approach to their protests, so it's not absurd to think they would have tried to "storm" the offices of the building they occupied recently if there was a gardai presence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 dan_d_lion

Perhaps it's their job to keep the gate open and secure ? Closing it could be the last option rather than the first response. A bunch of thugs should not be trying to force the gardai into doing anything, whether it's closing a gate or getting out of their way.

In a crowd control situation every measure would be taken to ensure the safety of the public. If that means preemptively closing a gate, then yes it should of been done. Given the nature of the protest I would of thought it was a no-brainer to be honest. People are angry, however, the protest was largely peaceful and calm up to that point so obviously the Gardai were taken by surprise with the surge of people towards the gate, panicked and started swinging batons. This lasted all of 5 minutes, order was restored, and nothing more came of it.

Actually, it isn't.
    "a method employed to disprove an argument by illustrating how it leads to an absurd consequence"

The taxi drivers have shown they have no qualms with a more direct approach to their protests, so it's not absurd to think they would have tried to "storm" the offices of the building they occupied recently if there was a gardai presence.

"If" "Maybe" "Kinda". All i hear is noise. Those thugs deserved what they got. end of.

Good retort there. You misuse a phrase you don't understand, and when that's explained to you it becomes "noise".

• Registered Users Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Mister men wrote: »
    Disgusting to see our police forces draw batons and use them on people in this way....

I have yet to see any evidence of anyone having being hurt or injured by a garda baton. Any clips showing baton, telescopic baton btw not truncheon was merely using it to keep people back, not to beat on people.
    dan_d_lion wrote: »
    People are angry, however, the protest was largely peaceful and calm up to that point so obviously the Gardai were taken by surprise with the surge of people towards the gate, panicked and started swinging batons. This lasted all of 5 minutes, order was restored, and nothing more came of it.

The protest was always calm and peaceful. You can see in videos from last night the protest was on the oppsite side of the street behind railings. A group of scumbags intent on causing trouble tried to rush the gates away from the main body of the protest. They were repulsed legitimately and professionally. Job well done by the gardaí on duty.

Plus the ppor victimised gobshíte Vincent Brown was on the spot to interview with blood coming from his head from garda brutality... sorry lad you've been caught on camera clearly getting a smack to the back of the head from one of the other protestors waving a flagpole.

Much ado about nothing tbh.

Good retort there. You misuse a phrase you don't understand, and when that's explained to you it becomes "noise".

Sound. And Gardaí hanging around random offices waiting for Taxi drivers to protest isn't absurd? Up there with the random far right groups protesting i'd say.

Those lads and lassies deserved what they got. Vast majority stayed behind the barriers and had a dignified protest. Thugs and muppets go run at the Gardaí and they deserve a wallop.

In a crowd control situation every measure would be taken to ensure the safety of the public.

We are not talking about the safety of the public, you are talking about doing what some hard left thugs wanted to force the Gardai into doing - ie close the gates.

Personally I think it's right that this was the Gardai's last option rather than their first response. If they had locked the place down in advance obviously this exact incident would have been avoided but it's likely the swp mongoes would have found some other govt building to try to trigger a conflict at.
    Gardai were taken by surprise ......... panicked and started swinging batons.

I thought their response was professional and restrained. They did appear to be taken by surprise to begin with but I didn't see them panicking.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

If they had locked the place down in advance obviously this exact incident would have been avoided but it's likely the swp mongoes would have found some other govt building to try to trigger a conflict at..

Not to mention that had they locked the gate, the same people would be arguing that they should have left them open because somebody got crushed by the pressing crowd. :rolleyes:

Sound. And Gardaí hanging around random offices waiting for Taxi drivers to protest isn't absurd? Up there with the random far right groups protesting i'd say.

it wasn't a random office, it was the taxi regulators office. Keep clutching at straws.
    A small group identifying themselves as ITC representatives forced entry to commission's office at Fitzwilliam Square, Dublin, yesterday afternoon and refused to leave the lobby area. It is understood that up to seven taxi drivers were initially involved in the sit-in, but just two remained in the office today.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2010/0309/breaking22.html

it wasn't a random office, it was the taxi regulators office. Keep clutching at straws.

So you're saying the Gardaí should baton charge the Taxi regulator.....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭eightyfish

I think you'll find that the protesters charged at the Gardai, not the other way around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

A sit in is a little bit more dignified then trying to smash the cops face with a placard, no?

yes, got it in one, the sum total of what I'm trying to say in this thread. spot on. you hit that bullseye, the rest of the dominoes should fall like a house of cards. Checkmate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

I despise the socialist wanker and everything they stand for, but still, fair play to them for doing something. Certianly beats anonymously complaining about the government on the internet anyway.
    Classy

yes, got it in one, the sum total of what I'm trying to say in this thread. spot on. you hit that bullseye, the rest of the dominoes should fall like a house of cards. Checkmate.

?? No need to get all sarky. It's either absurd or it's not.

it wasn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

it wasn't.

Maybe so, but it was still a load of bollocks that you made up and used to try and prove an unprovable point about something that never happened

• Registered Users Posts: 647 ✭✭✭simonw

some good footage from the protest and "storm in a tea cup" incident

the guy getting treated by his doting other half at the end of the clip appears to have been struck on the head at 5.06 by one of his fellow supporters.

hope the missus gave him another clip around the ear when he got home for acting the maggot :)

Hope someone explains to Biddy at the end there that you do not have a democratic right to stage a sit-in in the Dail