Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Archie's World Cup Betting Game

• 13-05-2010 3:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭

Okay, so I got this idea from another forum and it's really good fun, and a great little way to spice up the World Cup seeing as we're pretty much neutrals here.

Since Im such a nice guy, I'm giving you all 100 credits to bet at the forthcoming World Cup. The aim of the game is to make as big a profit as you can from those 100 credits. Some ground rules:

1. You can make a minimum of 1 and a maximum of 5 bets.
    2. The odds must be obtained from a reputable site (i.e. PP, Betfair, Bet365 etc.)
    3. You must post a link to the exact page/site where you found the odds when posting your bets, or put the name of the site in brackets after each bet.
    4. No accumulators. Sorry, but its easier keep track this way.
    5. Deadline: Midnight on Thursday 10th of June. You may change your bets anytime up to then.
    6. Please post fractional odds. If you can only find decimal, just google odds converters. There are plenty available.
    7. To make it interesting, on the eve of the World Cup final, anybody who has made any returns (not necessarily a profit) can place one new, single bet on the World Cup final in a last ditch attempt to win the game. Example: I bet my 100 credits, and by the time the WC final comes round, I've only returned 50 credits - I can bet those 50 credits on any World Cup final match-specific event in an attempt to try and win.

Other rules will inevitably be decided on as the thread progresses, so keep an eye on this opening post. I'll also edit this every few days to keep track of everyone's bets. Hope this turns out to be fun, so enjoy! :)

www.oddschecker.com is great for comparing odds throughout loads of websites. I strongly recommend it ;)

I'll go first. Please use this as a general template for how you'll place your bets:

Archimedes

1. 20 credits on Chile as Group H winner @ 11/2 (Betfair)
    2. 30 credits on Group H to have most group goals @ 5/1 (bwin)
    3. 25 credits on Spain to be eliminated in Last 16/First Knockout Stage @ 3/1 (Skybet)
    4. 20 credits on Cristiano Ronaldo to score 0 goals @ 5/2 (William Hill)
    5. 5 credits on Javier Hernandez to be Top Scorer @ 150/1 (bwin)

DaPoolRulz

1. 5 credits on Argentina 1st, Germany 2nd @ 80/1 (PaddyPower)
    2. 20 credits on Honduras to get 0 points in Group H @ 21/10 (PaddyPower)
    3. 20 credits on a South American winner @ 2/1 (PaddyPower)
    4. 30 credits on England eliminated in quarter-finals @ 10/3 (PaddyPower)
    5. 25 credits on South Africa eliminated in round 2 @ 10/3 (PaddyPower)

Headshot

1. 20 credits on South Africa to finish bottom Group A @ 7/5 (PaddyPower)
    2. 10 credits on Mexico and Uruguay to advance Group A @ 7/1 (PaddyPower)
    3. 10 credits on Netherlands for team scoring most goals @ 8/1 (betfair)
    4. 10 credits on England to win a match on penalties @ 4/1 (William Hill)
    5. 50 credits on England to win all their group matches @ 13/8 (William Hill)

Warper

1. 100 credits on Brazil to win the WC and David Villa top scorer @ 66/1 (PaddyPower)

x PyRo

1. 100 credits on Robin Van Persie top scorer @ 33/1 (Bet365)

ScienceNerd

1. 20 credits on Ivory Coast to be top African Team @ 6/4 (PaddyPower)
    2. 20 credits on Luis Fabiano Top Scorer @ 12/1 (PaddyPower)
    3. 20 credits on S. Africa to finish Bottom of Group @ 7/5 (PaddyPower)
    4. 20 credits on Brazil to win World Cup @ 5/1 (PaddyPower)
    5. 20 credits on Spain and Brazil final @ 11/1 (PaddyPower)

Park Ji Sung

1. 50 credits on Cristiano Ronaldo top scorer @ 20/1 (PaddyPower)
    2. 50 credits on Spain to win World Cup @ 4/1 (PaddyPower)

Gavin "shels"

1. 30 credits on David Villa top scorer @ 10/1 (Boylesports)
    2. 10 credits on Klass-Jan Huntelaar top scorer (Each Way) @ 50/1 (Boylesports)
    3. 30 credits on New Tounament Winner @ 6/4 (Boylesports)
    4. 10 credits on Cameroon to qualify from group @ EVENS (Boylesports)
    5. 10 credits on Serbia to qualify from group @ EVENS (Boylesports)

useurename

1. 50 credits on Brazil to win WC and Robinho top scorer @ 66/1. (Confirmation Needed)
    2. 25 credits on England to be knocked out in the semi final @ 7/2 (Confirmation Needed)
    3. 12.5 credits on Gilardino as top scorer (Each Way) @ 33/1 (Confirmation Needed)

judas101

1. 15 credits on Brazil 1st, Spain 2nd @ 22/1 (PaddyPower)
    2. 25 credits on Germany to win @ 13/1 (PaddyPower)
    3. 40 credits on Top Scorer: Rooney @ 14/2 (PaddyPower)
    4. 10 credits on Top Scorer: Podolski @ 60/1 (PaddyPower)
    5. 10 credits on Top Scorer: Lampard @ 50/1 (PaddyPower)

Nozebleed

1. 20 credits on Carlos Tevez top goalscorer @ 50/1 (888)
    2. 20 credits on Sergio Aguero To Win Golden Ball Award @ 100/1 (Boyles)
    3. 20 credits on Ghana To Reach Quarter Final @ 4/1 (Powers)
    4. 20 credits on Jermaine Defoe First player to score 3 goals @ 20/1 (Sky Bet)
    5. 20 credits on France Highest Scoring Team @ 20/1 (W.Hill)

adamski8

1. 100 credits on South Africa to win Group A @ 7/1 (Sky Bet)

Maloney_o9

1. 30 credits on Brazil Outright @ 5/1 (Paddy Power)
    2. 20 credits on Spain 1st Switzerland 2nd Group H @ 3/1 (Paddy Power)
    3. 10 credits on South Korea to beat Argentina @ 8/1 (Paddy Power)
    4. 10 credits on Mario Gomes Top Scorer @ 80/1 (Paddy Power)
    5. 30 credits on New Tournament Winner Special @ 6/4 (Boyles)

CSF

1. 20 credits on Group F Straight Forecast: Italy 1st Slovakia 2nd @ 10/3 (Paddy Power)
    2. 20 credits on South Africa to qualify from Group A @ 2/1 (Betfair)
    3. 10 credits on Group G Dual Forecast Portugal and Ivory Coast @ 15/2 (Betfair)
    4. 50 credits on North Korea to get exactly 0 points @ 4/7 (Paddy Power)

Gillington

1. 25 credits on Straight Forecast Group D 1. Germany 2. Serbia @ 4/1 (Bet365)

flahavaj

1. 100 credits on Brazil to win WC @ 5/1 (PaddyPower)

smallerthanyou

1. 20 credits on Chile as group H winner - 11/2 (betfair)
    2. 20 credits on North Korea to score 0 goals (to be confirmed)
    3. 20 credits on Ghana to be top African team (to be confirmed)
    4. 20 credits on Fabiano to be top scorer - 12-1 (PP)
    5. 20 credits on Germany to win WC - 13-1 (PP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,682 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

nice one arch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Great idea, will look at odds when I have more time in work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Archimedes wrote: »

Other rules will inevitably be decided on as the thread progresses, so keep an eye on this opening post. I'll also edit this every few days to keep track of everyone's bets. Hope this turns out to be fun, so enjoy! :)

You'll need a mods help to edit the opening post after 48 hours from creation.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Looks fun, will look at odds later

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

mike65 wrote: »
    You'll need a mods help to edit the opening post after 48 hours from creation.

Ah right, cheers for that info. I'll type up what needs to be edited, bold/italics tags and all and just ask one of our friendly, all too happy to oblige mods to plug it in for me :)

i presume you can do singles like mexico to bet south africa etc ?

Headshot wrote: »
    i presume you can do singles like mexico to bet south africa etc ?

Yup. Any bet that you legitimately place on a website, as long as you can provide the link/site to where you can place it. Just no accumulators, I'd rather just keep it to single bets. Having said that, if theres some sudden outcry for accumulators to be included, I might just cave :p

nice one

Im looking forward to this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Nice short one

100 credits
    Brazil to win the WC and David Villa Top-scorer - 66-1 Paddy Power

Just saw that there - lovely odds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Great idea Archie

5 credits on Argentina 1st, Germany 2nd @ 80/1 (PaddyPower)
    20 credits on Honduras to get 0 points in Group H @ 21/10 (PaddyPower)
    20 credits on a South American winner @ 2/1 (PaddyPower)
    30 credits on England eliminated in quarter-finals @ 10/3 (PaddyPower)
    25 credits on South Africa eliminated in round 2 @ 10/3 (PaddyPower)

Group A finish bottom
    south africa 7/5 stake 20 credits (PP)

Group A dual forecast
    mexico & Uraguay 7/1 stake 10 credits (PP)

Worldcup team scoring most goals
    Netherlands 8/1 stake 10 credits (betfair)

England to win a match after penalty shoot out
    YES @ 4/1 stake 10 credits William Hill (William Hill)

England to win all their group matches
    yes @ 13/8 stake 50 credits (William Hill)

• Moderators Posts: 8,728 ✭✭✭x PyRo

100pts - Robin Van Persie to be top scorer @ 33/1 (Bet365)

Having a big bet on this myself. I think he's way overpriced and i fancy the Dutch to do well for once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,459 ✭✭✭T-b0n3

Great idea, should provide some good entertainment and competition. Will post back with my picks. Thanks

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Ivory Coast to be top African Team - 20 Credits @ 6/4
    Luis Fabiano Top Scorer - 20 Credits @ 12/1
    S. Africa to finish Bottom of Group - 20 Credits @ 7/5
    Brazil Outright - 20 credits @ 5/1
    Spain and Brazil final - 20 credits @ 11/1

All odds from PP

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭CR 7

Gonna take safer options:

50 credits: Ronaldo top scorer 20/1

50 credits: Spain to win the tournament 4/1

Both paddypower

357hcas.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

David Villa top scorer @ 10/1 30pts (Boyles)
    Klass-Jan Huntelaar @ 50/1 10pts e/w (Boyles)
    New Tounament Winner Special @ 6/4 30pts (Boyles)
    Cameroon to qualify from group @ EVENS 10pts (Boyles)
    Serbia to qualify from group @ EVENS 10pts (Boyles)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

Sorry, am I not understanding the OP properly?

Surely it'd make more sense to not bet all 100 credits now so you definitely have something left to stake on the final? Or do you have to stake your entire 100 in advance?

• Registered Users Posts: 318 ✭✭useurename

il have 50 on robinho as top scorer and brazil at 66/1.
    and 25 on england to be knocked out in the semi final at 7/2
    and 12.5 ew on gillardino as top scorer at 33/1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭judas101

Brazil 1st, Spain 2nd, 15 Credits, 22/1 (P.P.)
    Germany to win, 25 Credits, 13/1 (P.P.)
    Top Scorer: Rooney, 40 credits, 14/2 (P.P.)
    Top Scorer: Podolski, 10 credits, 60/1 (P.P.)
    Top Scorer: Lampard, 10 credits, 50/1 (P.P.)

Anyone else notice that Buffon is 33/1 to be top scorer on P.P.? Hahaa!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

yahoo_moe wrote: »
    Sorry, am I not understanding the OP properly?

Surely it'd make more sense to not bet all 100 credits now so you definitely have something left to stake on the final? Or do you have to stake your entire 100 in advance?
    no you didnt understand it. if you make any return by the final comes ie, you've bet on brazil to win their group and now have say 300points from that, you can now make a bet on the final itself with those points you've won

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

1. 20 on Carlos Tevez top goalscorer 50/1 (888)
    2. 20 on Sergio Aguero To Win Golden Ball Award (Boyles)
    3. 20 on Ghana To Reach Quarter Final 4/1 (Powers)
    4. 20 on Jermaine Defoe First player to score 3 goals 20/1 (Sky Bet)
    5. 20 on France Highest Scoring Team 20/1 (W.Hill)

All Odds taken from Oddschecker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

100 on south africa to win group A 7/1 (Sky Bet)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

It'd be more fun if it was 20 quid to enter.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭Luap

Brazil Outright 5/1 30pts (Paddy Power)

Spain 1st Switzerland 2nd groups 3/1 20pts (Paddy Power)

South Korea to beat Argentina 8/1 10pts (Paddy Power)

Mario Gomes Top Scorer 80/1 10pts (Paddy Power)

New Tournament Winner Special @ 6/4 30pts (Boyles)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,622 ✭✭✭✭CSF

1.20 credits on Group F Straight Forecast: Italy 1st Slovakia 2nd @ 10/3(Paddy Power)
    2.20 credits on South Africa to qualify from Group A @ 2/1 (Betfair)
    3.10 credits on Group G Dual Forecast Portugal and Ivory Coast @ 15/2 (Betfair)
    4. 50 credits on North Korea to get exactly 0 points @ 4/7 (Paddy Power)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

100 on this to be a scam and Archie to leg it to the Cayman Islands with all our hard earned credits.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

nice wan. will have my bets up later.

to the batcave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

25 on Straight Forecast Group D 1.Germany 2.Serbia 4/1 Bet365

Will come back with more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Wan hundred credits on Brazil to win the whole yoke.

I've updated the first post. I've left out a few of the latter bets, i'll add them in tomorrow because Im slightly pissed (but not to the extent of affecting my grammar or spelling, thank you very ****ing much :) ) !!!

Thanks for all the interest shown, should be a bit of craic if nothing else!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

adamski8 wrote: »
    no you didnt understand it. if you make any return by the final comes ie, you've bet on brazil to win their group and now have say 300points from that, you can now make a bet on the final itself with those points you've won
    Yes but seeing as you don't have to make a profit (see OP), just have some money left, I'm just asking whether you have to stake the whole hundred.

I'm guessing keeping 10 credits back doesn't count as a 'return' but it's a different question to what you answered.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭smallerthanyou

In work so can't check all odds, the ones I have I just copied from other posts. I'll update at home.

My hard earned credits will be spent as follows:
    20 on Chile as group H winner - 11/2 (betfair)
    20 on North Korea to score 0 goals
    20 on Ghana to be top African team
    20 on Fabiano to be top scorer - 12-1 (PP)
    20 on Germany to win - 13-1 (PP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Sounds fun. May just decide to partake. Will have a wee look at odds a bit later. :)

First post updated. A couple of people need to confirm odds/sources of odds but there's no rush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭gocall01

Gocall01

1. 10 credits on Argentina 1st, Germany 2nd @ 80/1 (PaddyPower)
    2. 10 credits on Carlos Tevez top goalscorer @ 50/1 (888)
    3. 30 credits on Netherlands for team scoring most goals @ 8/1 (Betfair)
    4. 30 credits on Robin Van Persie top scorer @ 33/1 (Bet365)
    4. 20 on Jermaine Defoe First player to score 3 goals 20/1 (Sky Bet)

Good Craic!!
    Cheers,
    Ger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Just looking back on it, I just realised how cr4p an idea Argie 1st, Germany 2nd was, so I'm changing my bets to:

DaPoolRulz

20 credits on Slovenia to finish bottom in Group C @ 2/1 (PaddyPower)
    2. 20 credits on Honduras to get 0 points in Group H @ 21/10 (PaddyPower)
    3. 20 credits on a South American winner @ 2/1 (PaddyPower)
    4. 20 credits on England eliminated in quarter-finals @ 10/3 (PaddyPower)
    5. 20 credits on South Africa eliminated in round 2 @ 10/3 (PaddyPower)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Unitedirishman:
    10 Credits on Robin Van Persie Top Scorer @ 33/1 [Expekt.com]
    20 Credits on France/Mexico Straight Forecast in Group A @ 4/1 [paddypower.com]
    50 Credits on Germany/Serbia Dual Forecast in Group D @ 7/5 [paddypower.com]
    20 Credits on Luis Fabiano Top Scorer @ 12/1 [bet365.com]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Rockman

30 credits Argentina to Win 7/1... Paddypower
    30 credits Regional Winners CONMEBOL [South America] 2/1.... Paddypower
    20 credits Top Scorer G Higuain 18/1 ..Paddypower
    10 credits Name the Finalists Brazil v Argentina 20/1... Paddypower
    10 credits Mascherano to commit most fouls in tournament 16/1... Paddypowers

Will one of the mods edit the opening post for me if I PM them the text I want put in? Cheers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭irishturkey

irishturkey

30 Credits on England to win tournament outright @ 6/1
    10 Credits on England 1st/Portugal 2nd @ 90/1
    10 Credits on Rooney to be top scorer @ 14/1
    20 Credits on Holland to go out at the SF stage @ 11/2
    30 Credits on France to go out in 2nd round @ 2/1

All from paddy Power.

It pains me to be so sure of an English success. I haven't seen the draw for the knockout stages but England/ Portugal final at 90/1, I'll have some of that please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Ian_K

Ian_K

All on Slovakia to win group F @ 7/1

Paddy Power ;) Cheers Archie

• Registered Users Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭smallerthanyou

In work so can't check all odds, the ones I have I just copied from other posts. I'll update at home.

My hard earned credits will be spent as follows:
    20 on North Korea to score 0 goals
    20 on Ghana to be top African team
    20 on Germany to win - 13-1 (PP)

Sorry had to make changes cos couldn't find the odds I was looking for. And cos Ballack is injured.

Smallerthanyou
    20 on Argentina to get knocked out in the quarters - 13/5 (PP)
    20 on Germany 1st, Ghana 2nd in Group D - 7/2 (PP)
    20 on Holland to win - 12-1 (PP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

Fair play to ya OP and the mods that help, I did one of these on a much smaller forum and it was time consuming to say the least even with help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Alright here goes (subject to change of course!) -

10 credits on Australia to be eliminated in the quarter finals - 10/1
    20 on Group F to have the most goals - 6/1
    20 on Conmebol to be the winning confederation - 9/4
    20 on Group H - Spain 1st/Honduras 2nd - 7/1
    30 on Forlan to be top scorer - 74/1

All odds from Betfair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

30 credits on Holland to win WC - 12/1 (PP)
    20 Credits on Uruguay to win Group A - 9/2 (Betfair)
    10 Credits Huntelaar top goalscorer - 80/1 (Betfair)
    20 Credits Group with most goals - Group G - 4/1 (Betfair)
    20 Credits Spain v Holland Finalists - 22/1 (PP)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

30 credits on Portugal to win the World Cup 25/1 (PP)
    25 credits on L. Suarez to be top goalscorer 66/1 (PP)
    20 credits on Switzerland to finish bottom of Group H 11/4 (PP)
    15 credits on Portugal to win Group G 3/1 (PP)
    10 credits on Slovenia to finish bottom of Group C 2/1 (PP)

• Registered Users Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Kingdom

Kingdom

All from Paddy Power website:

1. 15 credits Serbia to reach Semi-finals (9/1)
    2. 20 credits Denmark to reach Quarter finals (4/1)
    3. 10 credits Nigeria to finish bottom of Group B (3/1)
    4. 25 credits Greece to be eliminated at the L16 stage (13/5)
    5. 30 credits Spain to win World Cup (4/1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,164 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

20 credits on John Terry to be 1st England goalscorer 17/1 (PaddyPower)
    20 credits on Ronaldo to be top club scorer(Real Madrid)15/8 (PaddyPower)
    30 credits on Spain 1st and Villa to be to scorer 22/1 (PaddyPower)
    20 credits on group F to have most goals 11/2 (PaddyPower)
    10 credits on England to reach the final 5/2 (PaddyPower)

Good idea Archimedes.
    Short enough odds but sure might as well give it a lash

Just to repeat what I told Cypher via PM, the opening post will be updated on Tuesday so feel free to fire in any changes even if youve already laid bets.

• Moderators Posts: 8,728 ✭✭✭x PyRo

x PyRo wrote: »
    100pts - Robin Van Persie to be top scorer @ 33/1 (Bet365)

Having a big bet on this myself. I think he's way overpriced and i fancy the Dutch to do well for once.

Looks like great value now, 14's in places. :eek: