Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The things you do for Love..

• Registered Users Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

This isn't the first story I've heard about this OP, I knew a guy who went to Argentina to meet his true love and later married her....so good luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

So I'm sitting here with a sore arm and a sore arse, because I got 7 vaccines to go to South America, to meet a woman whom I'm madly in love with.

We knew each other online for ages, and back in September bought a ticket to Buenos Aires on the spur. I only work part time, so I chucked the idea of getting a car, or moving to Dublin for the time being.

I regret nothing though :o

So just out of curiosity, what things have fellow boardsians done for love? <3

I'd consider a quick re-phrase if I were you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Congrats Cherryghost, goes to show those women on the interent are real!:p

A long,healthy and happy life together to ye both.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

orourkeda wrote: »
    I'd consider a quick re-phrase if I were you.

>quick rephrase
    >thread is months old

• Registered Users Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭curlzy

RoisinDove wrote: »
    Jesus and I thought my mate was mental for getting engaged after 6 months. :p

You know Jesus??? Really???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

I went out with a girl for 2 years and for both of the valentines I made her pay for her own dinner. I can feel my face reddening as I type this. It was about 10 years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭curlzy

Just read the whole thread from start to finish! O M G! Girly squeal.... BEST THREAD EVER!!!! You should totally print this thread off and keep it as a reminder of how brave you were to say "f*ck it, I'm going to follow my dreams", I'm so glad it turned out well for you. Fair play to you both!!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 200 ✭✭RoisinDove

curlzy wrote: »
    You know Jesus??? Really???

Yeah, loads of em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

And few months on, and still no pics of any south American women...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭03046290

OP Great ending.

Hope you both have a lovely day and a brillant life together.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,032 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

steve06 wrote: »
    And few months on, and still no pics of any south American women...

Read through the thread again...

• Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭teaholic

Its all official! Hes a married man! :-) they are a well suited couple ans Andrea is a lovely girl!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,805 ✭✭✭take everything

Was reading the first page going "aww..." to myself.
    Then my eyes scan down to the tags.
    LOL.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,021 ✭✭✭LadyE

This is a lovely lovely thread!!

Congrats OP and Andrea :)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,805 ✭✭✭take everything

Wow.
    Congrats OP.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Great story.. congrats OP..:)

• Registered Users Posts: 597 ✭✭✭Cook my sock

tl;dr

I would do anything, but I wont do that.

• Registered Users Posts: 597 ✭✭✭Cook my sock

Actually, im gonna give it a full read!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

I don't blame you, OP, I'd probably do the same for an Argentinian lady :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

There's a movie in this somewhere.

Just don't let Cecilia Ahern near it ffs.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,133 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Wow... didn't expect such a reaction! Just back home this afternoon, got some photos up.

Was very lucky with the weather, between some showers we managed to get some photos up
    http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/hs739.ash1/163124_192626337414727_100000020878566_756456_8205579_n.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs1369.snc4/164165_192626687414692_100000020878566_756474_4157302_n.jpg

Kissing the bride at the end of the ceremony :pac:
    http://l16.sphotos.l3.fbcdn.net/hphotos-l3-snc4/hs1336.snc4/162854_1744083732243_1543256178_31755444_2236337_n.jpg

Zee champagne in the lovely country house
    http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs1357.snc4/162936_192630054081022_100000020878566_756562_3527443_n.jpg

Our first dance
    http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/hs760.ash1/165195_192632490747445_100000020878566_756618_2691809_n.jpg

It was a great day, and to celebrate it more we booked 5 days in Paris next month for Valentines :)

And thanks for all your support!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭kev9100

Just read through most of the thread, An incredible story OP. Just goes to show that true love really does exist. I couldn't see myself ever taking such a huge risk though. Fair play man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

ah jaysus, congrats cherryghost. photos are lovely, LOVE the style, you both look gorgeous! now just pop up a video of the wedding night and we'll all give you marks out of ten :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭hunter164

Congratulations, brightened up my day reading the story. I hope you have a lovely life.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

Congratulations CherryGhost looks like you both had a wonderful day:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

Congratulations Cherry, wish you and your wife all the best :)

Took me awhile to realise it was you that does the commentaries over in CoD forum :p

• Registered Users Posts: 33 graphy

Aw, and to think I didn't believe in fairy tales! Congratulations OP :)

• Registered Users Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Awh! (: Congratulations cherryghost! Hope you guys have a great time in Paris!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭SadieSue

Yay Congratulations! The photos are lovely too :)

• Registered Users Posts: 486 ✭✭jackie1974

OH Wow just read this thread from start to finish, the most fabulous story, that really made my day. I wish you both years of happiness together. :):):)