Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

[Competition] Mad for Style? Go Doo-Lally.com!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭PunkFreud

Simply put: Black & Navy

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Regional North Mods, Regional West Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Regional North East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 8,037 CMod ✭✭✭✭Gaspode

Rupert the Bear style tartan trousers with Black shirt, pencil tie and topped off with a lemon jacket with the sleeves rolled up. The eighties were great, weren't they!!!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭MiciG91

When i was about 7 i was a big Mike Tyson fan loved my boxing...Wanted to be a boxer etc so when my mam got me boxer shorts i kind of got the wrong idea :rolleyes: I flipped when she made me where shorts over them to mass.

So i went out to the bathroom and came back after discarding my shorts to a packed church still havent lived it down !:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭Smur

When I was 13 me and my two best friends went to a Bewitched concert in the RDS:rolleyes:. We thought it would be a great idea to wear matching outfits which consisted of patchwork denim flared jeans, a baggy denim shirt, black platform sandals and denim cowboy hats. We thought we were the height of cool :o To make it worse, I had searched high and low for the denim cowboy hats (I even travelled to London on my search) because I thought it was exactly what we needed to give the outfits the 'wow' factor!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭pog it

Ah that would be an entire outfit.

And this was my "coolest" clothes outfit for me on the no-uniform day in 3rd year of secondary school.

Coffin-sized plain black canvas schoolbag, heavy coat lined with thick faux sheep's wool, long chequered green shirt with big box pattern, green with thin red lines worn outside high waist black jeans that narrowed more and more towards the end. Finished off with black leather shoes.

How did I not know better :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Thumpette

My cringe-when-i-think-of-it outfit is probably my early 90s combo of black leggings (and sometimes ski pants) with green slouch socks and a matching green hugely baggy wooly jumper. I topped this little ensemble off with bright white runners! What a look. I also has jumpers and slouch socks matching in a few different colours!

Just lost a load of weight and none of my cothes fit me anymore.... would looooove this prize! Pretty please!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭smileyxx

Good god..where do I start?I think my worst outfit was when I went through a knitting phase when I was 15, and I knitted a poncho.Sadly,I wasn't a great knitter and the poncho had a few, okay many, holes. I wore it anyway,even though it was too big for me and kinda drowned me.I was 2 stone overweight anyway,so it wasn't exactly flattering!I wore it with ripped faded cloudy jeans...not the best of looks!The outfit was topped off with disastrous...doc martens.

Why was I let out of the house?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭nicola09

Has to be me and my best friends teenage disco attire when we were in the middle of a goth phase age 14: black nylon ra ra skirts, studded belts, black fishnet tights, knee high Converse red and black boots, black vest tops and black Nirvana hoodies stolen from her older brother. Add in a couple of nose-studs and we were the height of cool (or so we thought!) We presumed everyone was staring at us because we looked so great!! The weird thing is I'm a total girly girl so that look in no way reflected my personal style, it goes to show how easy it is to follow the crowd! lol!;)

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭Boom Boom

Naff Jacket

black eclipse baggy jeans (the ones with the handle on the leg)

Desert boots

I didn't think it was too bad but then me ma stitched on a jason donovan patch onto the back pocket of me jeans to cover up a tear

and made me wear them out in public. have never worn black jeans since.

edit: Just realised the site is for wimmins no mens gear on it. ah chuck that if I win I'll treat the mrs

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

xworx jeans...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Is_mise_mimi

I saw a picture of it recently, A black poloneck with a blue jumper over it that had the most uncool teddybear on the front. This was teamed with illuminous blue leggings, pink slouch socks and brown desert boots.... How did i not get bullied!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Black ski-pants, a pink jumper with an applique bunny, and Doc Martins.

OR

Blue striped knit halterneck dress, kneesocks and denim wedges. I looked like a reject from Clueless.

OR

Wearing a huge men's purple suede waistcoat and a top hat. I think it was during my 'goth' phase. It took days before I realised how stupid I looked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭smallgarden

i could have a fashion fauxpas nearly every second day of the week,a few more memorable ones come to mind

when i was around 12(old enough to know better) i had a pair of bright orange and pink stripey skipants with minnie mouse all over with matching bright pink and orange top with large picture of minnie mouse on the front.the worst bit about the outfit is that when wearing it i saw a neighbour of mine around half my age wearing the exact same outfit,cringe!

on a pure dumbass note,when i was really small and the first time i went swimming with my friends.i wasn't sure if i was to wear knickers or not so left them on underneath my swimming togs.least to say i got some slagging for that!

• Registered Users Posts: 12 irishbatgirl

1.Poppers- u know what i'm talkin' about and they weren't even the cool Adidas ones..Wore them everywhere, nice n breezy!

2.Spice Girls 'space boots'- if anyone else had these it would be a miracle. they were the bomb! :L silver & black with the gals on the side.

3. my mum once put me in bright ORANGE jeans i mean so bright your eyes would hurt & a really heavy blue knitted jumper in summertime. the worst part was i was around 10 or 11. oh and i have red hair!

so those are my top 3,
    suffice to say i really love fashion now & pick my clothes MUCH more carefully :)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,968 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

cream plaid combats and purple wool pinstripe combats.
    I loved them but thinking back they were pretty bad!

• Registered Users Posts: 277 ✭✭Blue_Seas

I'm only 15... still making all the mistakes I'll regret later in life!

When I was younger however my mother forced me in to denim dungarees. That matched that of my younger sister. We had giant glasses to match :pac:

And then St. Patricks' day came around and we were shoved into the poofiest bright green dresses known to man.

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭Sheebs

This is what I wore when heading to a teenage disco aged around 15:

(It's hard to even type this...)

• White belly top with silver playboy bunny printed on it, covered with netting.
    • Itsy bitsy white pleated skirt.
    • Fluffy white knee high shoe covers.
    :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

How did my mother leave me out of the house!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

I had a lime green drape with a black velvet collar... in the 80s.

I had a black pair of spice girls platform runners that I wore with orange denim leggings and a matching pepe jeans orange over sized t-shirt, it was my fav outfit forever
    Oh god I cringe even now ;(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭littleoulme

Definately my confirmation outfit. Royal Blue Mohair cardi with three white stripes on the sleeve, fuzzy perm, white pencil skirt, white tights with polkadots on them, white blouse with a cameo broach on top. Bleh.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭dellas1979

If ye get to reading this far on the thread, fair play to ye :p

Well, I would have to say, I went through a phase when I was about 11 years old...of wearing nothing but purple...for about 2 years.

Purple headband (oh yes)
    Purple top
    Purple glasses (thick purple rim. ahem you could only get plastic ones back then...none of the fancy ones they have nowadays)
    Purple skirt/pants
    Purple socks/tights and
    Purple shoes (ye remember the ones with the key in the heel)

By God I thought I was the bees knees.

Anywoo, to make it worse, other than walking around dressed like barney all day for 2 years, this phase is forever memorable because I ended up on a quiz on RTE called "Slam" (remember Kevo?).

Now I know why people were sniggering all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭pawrick

communion outfit

Brown suede type suite - ok that wasn't so bad but it was the thing attached to it! (not me) - it was some sort of frill button on cravat thing attached to the shirt - not sure what it's called and haven't seen anything like it since but it was white with brown flecks - I called it a vienetta. my pics look like it's attacking me and going for my neck been terrified of them since :pac:

number two...

used to wear a lot of baggy/big clothes when i was a teenager - big kangol jackets with glow in the dark stripes etc...thought I was great at the time but got the nick name pdiddy...i stopped that.

feck just saw it's all womens clothes on the site and here was me looking forward to a few new tshirts ah well maybe some of the rings could pass as bling on a guy...or i could pass on the voucher to my sis.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,336 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

There's no doubt that Old Goat has this one sewn up, but I may as well confess my crime anyway. It's cathartic, apparently. :)

In my defence your honour, it was the 80s and Miami Vice was rather popular at the time. That said, it doesn't excuse the pale blue flecked Miami Vice suit that I wore (with sleeves rolled up of course). With it I wore a mainly white shirt with lots of typical 80s blue and black zigzag pattens. Can't remember what shoes I wore with it, but I'm pretty sure it wasn't my white sidelace shoes. I only wore them with my white jeans. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭teddy_303

A Grey/silver suit (with multicoloured flecks) with the trousers taken up 2 inches too far, a peach coloured shirt, red tie, all set off with a nasty cheap pair of black slip on shoes with brilliant white toweling socks, which are highly visible thanks to the overly raised trouser leg length. Oh, and a "Blue Oyster Bar" style mustache (Biker) and topped off with a cheap ear ring! Nice!

• Registered Users Posts: 47 Soccertainer

Disaster.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

Has to be thinking wearing bowling shoes were funky / cool.

it REALLLLLLLLLLLY wasn't :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭fikay

In my mid-teens i wore Purple corduroy flares, doc's, and either early 90's rock t's or some variation of tie dye for about a year. Along with my long hair with an 'undercut' (like an over grown step) and my perma-stoned expression, I thought I was the epitomy of all that was cool.
    I was not!
    I grew out of this phase and replaced it with a love of coloured camouflage combats, the baggier the better. I also had one of those green jackes wih a German flag on it, as if I was going to be conscripted to fight in sombody's cliched acid flashback army.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,364 ✭✭✭campo

worst ever for me was

Black tight denim jeans
    Brown shoes
    Red Shirt
    and Black leather waist coat and I actually brought a girl out on a date wearing this and to make it stranger two years later she married me mind you two years after that she divorced me, I blame specsavers for giving her sight back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭ordinary_girl

My worst fashion faux pas was allowing my mother to dress me (well, I didn't actually have a choice in it of couse!). All the pictures of me as a child are blemished with ill-fitting jumpers that my brothers used to wear - I'm a girl - and bad, baddd hairstyles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

I used to be a bit of hip hop fanatic when I was younger. When I was around 16, we went on a school trip to Strasbourg. Over there I found The Kamp Hip Hop Store as its called, which specialises in hip hop fashion - oversized everything, jeans that are supposed to be worn around your knees - all that carry on. I ended up buying a football jersey similar to this:

fubu.jpg

Only it was a very shiny navy, with side panels of bright, illuminous orange and criminally white piping, and large, shiny white plastic numbers. And it was about 2 - 3 sizes too big for me, but sure that was the "style". I also bought with it quite a large, oversized Phat Farm hoody, not too dissimilar to this one:

2504476.jpg

And I also bought in one of those knock off stores that you get all over Europe, a Death Row Records pendant, just like my idols 2pac, Snoop Dogg and Dr. Dre. Only I doubt theirs cost a fiver like mine did.

bg2141157125453deathrow2pac%20chain.jpg.JPG

These are all still at home in my wardrobe, so I can provide pictures the next time Im home as proof. But far beyond the criminality of buying all those and wearing them together was the mistake I made when I get home. Where was my first choice of venue to wear this outfit upon being back in Ireland?

At the local GAA pitch for a minor hurling match. I got the feck slagged out of me, and theres a couple of lads who love to, instead of saying hello, say "What up gangsta?" when Im back home with company, so they get the chance to tell the story to a new face. I'll never live it down, but I have no choice but to laugh at how stupid I was :o

• Registered Users Posts: 18 DubzSon

I remember when I was a kid, I had dungarees and I always wore a white T-Shirt with them. And to add to the embarassment, I was obsessed with wearing a straw bailed hat at the time, but I was also losing teeth at the time, so needless to say I looked like a hillbilly.:eek: Awful pity no one decided to tell me that I looked like one. Would have saved me the embarassment of having to admit that now. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 33 ex6

My first biggest fashion faux pas was wearing clothes on the nudist beach ... and my second one was NOT wearing any clothes at regular beach.

100% true story! (or not) :D

• Registered Users Posts: 365 ✭✭Savage_Henry

A true classic:
    Socks and sandals :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 12 lilmissgiggles

When I saw this thread, I immediatley hung my head in shame!
    My sister and I, 12 and 10 respectively wore co- ordinating outfits to a free dress day in primary school and I can't even blame it on our mother. It was our fashion faux pas that we planned for hours the evening before. I had a green and white tie died dress to the knee and hers was the same but in blue and white. I had blue leggings, she had green. Then to top it all off, we had these LA Gear boot runners that had a velcro tie, hers were black, mine white and both we covered in silver shiny studs. We went to school so confident that day, thinking we had nailed it, but came home with a different opinion of our selves after everyone looked on in horror. All clothes came from America courtesy of out very eccentric aunt. OOOO the shame!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 outdraw

wearing ripped jeans when i was living in the country looking the part of the beach bum. Standard question was "were you attacked on the way over here".

holy_jeans.jpg

Don't do it!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ynfWxem_qvo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

Pimp canes for me!

97qqg6.jpg

Drive me mad every time! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭kazza90210

When I was 9 I had the "coolest" leggings EVER! they were white with orange stripes, with pictures of simba(from the lion king) and black paw prints on them, I loved them and wore them til the knees had holes!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭otwb

My 6th year warderobe:-

Black leggings, white socks over them, white runners, black baggy T-shirt and an oversize paisley shirt hanging open....

Still went out with the best looking bloke in school :D

...or the time that I thought that just wearing jeans that were too small was the same as wearing skinny jeans....bad, very bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 muireann =]

wheelies, pink and black stripey long socks, black ra-ra skirt,net black top with a sports bra underneath and a skull hair band with really bright pink extensions :eek: dreadful, wore it to a school disco lol

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭roseym

memollyorlaithandgizmointhegarde-1.jpg
    I wore these fetching mustard, olive green and purple tracksuit bottoms until they fell apart. What I was thinking I will never know! And how the hell did some shop think it was a good idea to stock them in the first place? This is one of the great unsolved mysteries of the 80's.
    The shoes and white socks were super cool with them, weren't they...and oh, the glasses. How I loved those glasses. Kicked up a stink in the shop until Mam agreed to get them for me, they were navy with little pale blue squiggles on them. I wore them for years (until my head actually fitted them) :D

• Registered Users Posts: 354 ✭✭puffdragon

When I was wee my sisters made me a Bay City Rollers outfit, you know the one ,Bell bottoms and a waistcoat with tartan stripes down the outside of the legs and on the waistcoat a wee tartan pocket and all.I must have been a sight but I remember thinking I was cool at the time ,
    It was made just like a school sewing project you know threads hanging everywhere and ruffled seams where the thread was pulled too tight . I`m sort of afraid to talk about it in case it could have scarred me for life,maybe its a form of abuse dressing your wee brother up for the craic and sending him out to play dressed like an edjit!! I have a photo somewhere but that would be just too painful!
    I wish I could find it and ceremoniously burn it ,it might be good therapy!!

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭princess_calico

I think the Spice Girls are to blame for a lot of our fashion faux pas!

My most embarrassing one was probably a few years ago when I thought that Licra shorts were acceptable... Not just any Licra shorts however, but lime green ones! I paired them off with a red belly top with "Surfer Babe" emblazoned on the bust and a pair of

SILVER PLATFORM RUNNERS!!!! SPICE GIRLS EAT YOUR HEART OUT!!!
    To this day it's still quite emotional looking back on them..........[/SIZE]

What kind of a child was I?:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭denballs

my wardrobes generally messed up........i usually buy summer clothes in winter and winter clothes in summer.......{i keep getting colds in winter and i smell manky in summer.........because summer/winter clothes are on sale when its not that season...............

right now all i have is like 10 pairs of sweat pants and about 50 hoodies..........all grey............everyones always asking me if im on my way to a gym or out jogging............

ITS A NIGHTMARE.........:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 72 ✭✭peteandjenn

IMG_0158.jpg

Well need I say more!!!!!!!!!! :cool: :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 40 Kasycas

Doc Martin metallic wine-coloured heels. Yes, heels. I never saw anyone else with them funny enough!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭Lizard Queen

when the mesh tops were all the rage a few years ago i got a red see through one thought i was the sh1t

doc martins with track suit bottoms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Miaireland

Suit jackets when I was 13/14. I thought they made me look grown up and Sophisticated. They were awful things in terrible colours and had huge shoulderpads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Niamhyyyy

Oh god. Has to be a long sleeve white tshirt with a glittery playboybunny emblem on the front. A MESH camoflague top over that (shudder), flared jeans that had cord plaits up the side and dare i say... SKETCHERS. Oh god and i think it was my confirmation outfit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 linkcrof

Faux suede camel coloured hipsters, (skin tight); a black belly top with a red glittery heart, and Emma B (of Spice Girls fame) white platform runners. 'Nuff said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Funnegan

"pedal pushers" with socks and sandals with a nice lagging jacket style "body warmer" when all we could afford to flaunt in those summers were our arms and ankles ! the shame....