Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Slapped by my GF's friend - what to do next?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭sage4me

OK,

Oh My God ....

I am a married women with two children and believe me .. if any of my 125lbs friends lightly slapped by husband I would have dropped kicked them across the room - and no I am not actually violent.

How flippin dare she ...you made an off the cuff remark about 'this being prep work' - big deal.. if she was offended she should have told you that instead of smacking you.

It is not acceptable that a) she slapped you and b) your girl friend said nothing...

Not getting on any band wagon - but I would be mighty pissed :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Floppybits wrote: »
    have her arrested and tar her with being the biggest c*nt this side of the atlantic.

Hey Flobbybits,

Let's just knock this on the head (pun intended) right now: there is no chance in hell of me bringing the cops into this. They've enough to be doing without having to deal with cases of assault where no pain was experienced by assault victims. I'm big enough and bold enough to handle it myself. I don't want to ruin the girl's life or anything.

Thanks for the input anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,984 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Hey Flobbybits,

Let's just knock this on the head (pun intended) right now: there is no chance in hell of me bringing the cops into this. They've enough to be doing without having to deal with cases of assault where no pain was experienced by assault victims. I'm big enough and bold enough to handle it myself. I don't want to ruin the girl's life or anything.

Thanks for the input anyway.

Thats all well and good dont get the cops involved but let me ask you, what would have happened if the roles had been reversed? do you think you would now be free or do you think you would have charges pending against if it was you that hit her? If you read other threads on here where the guy is the is the one doing the slapping, you will see a different attitude to the one here which is let it blow over and that is wrong, it is double standards. just look at the thread where the girl has said her boyfriend threatened her to see the responses there.

Its all well and good taking her aside and have a talk but I don't think that will work with a girl like Sandra, Infact I reckon you could end up getting another slap and she will hate you. Your GF attitude is also a bit shocking in this as she is just content to let her mate get away with hitting which is not on either. If anyone should be saying something it is her not you, her friend will take it from her but she will certainly not take it from you. If do intend to say it to her I would make sure you do it with some one else present as you do not know what way she will react when you speak with her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭katie99

Perhaps Sandra was just fed up with you acting the joker all night?
    Your double meanings could have made her fed up listening to you all night trying to be the funny guy.
    I've met guys like you and you know five minutes of your 'standup' comedy is enough to do me a month!!
    So, it was her night out, regardless of how many or how few friends were there.
    I would ask her why she slapped you.
    And a word to the wise: Not everyone wants to hear a joker in the pack all night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭OS119

katie99 wrote: »
    Your double meanings could have made her fed up listening to you all night trying to be the funny guy.
    I've met guys like you and you know five minutes of your 'standup' comedy is enough to do me a month!!
    And a word to the wise: Not everyone wants to hear a joker in the pack all night.

sexist much?

if, as you think, she's not a nutjob but just a normal girl who got pissed off with unfunny jokes - would you like to hazard a guess as to why she didn't just mumble sotto vocé 'twat' when these jokes were made, or indeed just leave as it became obvious she wasn't enjoying herself, or, after a particularly dire 'joke' say deadpan 'i'm glad i wore a belt, or otherwise my sides would have split', or 'i prostrate myself in front of the worlds greatest living comedian'?

you know, just like a normal person?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,394 ✭✭✭ManOfMystery

So what if she was fed up?

I've had numerous nights out with groups of friends/colleagues and on more than one occasion there's been someone irritating, or someone trying too hard, or someone who was just plain annoying. I didn't hit them.
    That's not to say the OP even did what you imply, he could have said nothing 'funny' until the very end.

Someone being irritated doesn't give them justification to phsyically attack someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

Do you really feel the need to accost a girl for a gentle slap? If you really feel agrieved, figure out whether she regrets it or not. I'd say she is mortified, therefore you can make a quick joke/dig & let it go without the need for full-scale intervention.

I know the PC brigade will be out in force but its completely different for a woman to slap a man than visa versa.

That said, contsant double entendré's from a guy is one of the most annoying traits I've ever encountered in another human being.

I would challenge Jesus H Christ himself not to lose the rag with a fullgrown man who interrupts every conversation & situation with d/e jokes.
    It's just wears ya down & after an evening of it I'd say she snapped.

It ruins conversations, people cant hug, or touch physically in any way, or do anything with a-typical sleaze-face suggesting something sexual.
    The whole evening is changed as people double-think what they can & can't say without diaper-boy crackin a funny! Sheesh, I been there before & I gotta I snapped.

She couldnt even hug her mate goodbye with out you suggesting a 3some.............I mean come on FFS. Do you not realise how much your bugging people.
    You mates realise your a nice guy underneath it, but come on, you do this with strangers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

That said, contsant double entendré's from a guy is one of the most annoying traits I've ever encountered in another human being.

I would challenge Jesus H Christ himself not to lose the rag with a fullgrown man who interrupts every conversation & situation with d/e jokes.
    It's just wears ya down & after an evening of it I'd say she snapped.

That would be all well and good if I had been talking sh*te all night long, like you two seem to have decided that I was. Where exactly did you get that from? What I said at the end was the first comment of that ilk I'd made all evening. I had been a perfect gentleman up until that point. In fact, I would go so far as to say that I've always been that way to Sandra.

You're being a bit presumptuous there Katie. You don't know me at all, and I'm sure we're both perfectly happy keeping it that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

"She does need to learn the error of her ways now, before she raises her hand to the wrong guy. One doesn't get too many Get Out of Jail Free cards in life; she got one on Saturday when I walked away."

if she's the type to slap a virtual stranger because you made a joke, I doubt having a "stern word" with her is going to have the effect you want it to. I doubt she'll apologise, if anything she'll get defensive - I'm pretty sure that you'll just end more frustrated than you are now. I'm not saying it's the wrong or right thing to do, but for me it wouldn't be worth the effort. let her learn the hard way, she won't thank you for trying to set her straight.

If it were me, and you're not willing to bring the cops into it, then I'd just ignore her in future tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

Do you really feel the need to accost a girl for a gentle slap?

Hang on a minute... you're giving out to him for "accosting her over a gentle slap", but it's ok for her to ASSAULT him over a JOKE?

OP, this girl was way out of order. You don't raise your hand to anyone, male, female, bigger than you, smaller than you, funny, sleazy, unfunny or whatever, except in self-defence. That's how I was brought up, I fear for my personal safety if the majority of people think it's ok to hit someone who just isn't their cup of tea.

Mention it to your girlfriend, tell her it's not acceptable, and if it happens again, read the friend the riot act.