Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are we going to do with the sh*t stirrers after tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Crosáidí wrote: »
    Brian Cowen is that you?

Yeah it is, how are you buddy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭100gSoma

Fuhrer wrote: »
    ahh, what do you know. More "If you dont protest then you're bending over and taking it" from the typical public sector gimmie gimmie gimmie lot.

As I said, normal private sector workers are impotent and thus will actually rely on the public sector unions to bring down this government. That does not mean I want their wages upped. but hey, if they can use their significant numbers and influence to get cowen et al out, great job. bigger picture etc.
    Lux23 wrote: »
    I don't think this lot are genuinely upset by NAMA or the bank bailout and if they really wanted to get people out on the streets why have they taken so long to get organised.

your right. It's not all about NAMA. It's a generalized social unease brought about by the fact that the poor people of this country are bailing out the rich. People don't need to understand the maths or accounting involved to understand that the bankers and developers who crated this crisis are still living 5 star lives and playing golf in Vilamoura while the average joe has seen his income cut, or worse his job evaporate and his mortgage rates go up and a raft of other taxes be imposed on him. what did average Joe do to deserve this. Nothing! The banks threw money at him. 100% loans etc. go on Joe, have some money. and now he has to pay back 81 billion of bad debts? It's typical robin hood rich raping the poor stuff. People don't know the details but they know their backside is sore.... that is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

There was no looting during the Love Ulster riot. I won't diagree that one of tha major reasons for the trouble was that a load of scumbags to the chance to wreck thge gaff, but there wasn't any actual looting done.

Oh really...
    18. Ion Brodescu (24), Summerhill, Dublin.

The former Moldovan trainee police officer was given a one-year sentence for burglary of two Dublin city centre shops during the riots.

25. A 16-year-old from Georgia who took part in looting during the riots was given an eight-month suspended sentence, on condition of good behaviour. The teenager was living in Ireland without any parents. [Was 17 when charged, 16 at the time of incident.]

26. A 16-year-old homeless boy was charged with taking part in looting during the riots. He was charged with burglary of the Footlocker Shop on O'Connell Street but the judge directed he be released without charge

http://www.tribune.ie/archive/article/2009/jan/11/the-26-who-were-convicted-for-their-part-in-the-20/
    Behind the lines of the rioters, looting broke out. Although I didn't observe it, witnesses report that several women from the inner city were seen filling bags full of shoes from the shops and engaging in a bit of 'discount shopping'. The police were not even nearly in a position to do anything about it.

http://www.indymedia.ie/article/74528
    Soon after, two or three youths starting hurling bricks at the Schuh shopfront. Within minutes the windows had been smashed in, with floods of rioters streaming in and looting the shop. Subsequently the front of Foot Locker was also kicked in with a small group of rioters pulling up steel barricades and slipping into the store.
    Clothes and shoes from both of the shops was soon strewn across the street with one young boy - no older than 13 - leaving Schuh with two bags filled with shoes.

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/how-an-ugly-and-organised-mob-fought-for-the-city-127098.html

Sounds like looting to me.

100gSoma wrote: »
    As I said, normal private sector workers are impotent and thus will actually rely on the public sector unions to bring down this government. That does not mean I want their wages upped. but hey, if they can use their significant numbers and influence to get cowen et al out, great job. bigger picture etc.

Ah, my mistake.

I forgot that Unions control the general election.

It's a generalized social unease brought about by the fact that the poor people of this country are bailing out the rich.

How much of the bailout money is coming from the poor do you reckon? Proportionately?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Banned Account

A protest will change nothing, we will all wake up tomorrow morning to the same old crap. The reason that the protest will change nothing is that it is (despite being billed as a pro-jobs protest) an anti - bailout/nama/government march. One of the speakers is a recent evictee protesting about her eviction.

All i hear and see about this protest and it's organisers is negative sentiment at the current situation, I see nothing positive, no alternatives to the status quo, just an excuse to have a mindless rant. I do realise that in a democracy, one is perfectly entitled to have a mindless rant, but don't get incensed when people get annoyed with you for being a ranting nuisance.

If all the time and effort out into organising and edfending this pointless event were to be put into creating a workable alternative to present to the people, you would have a lot more support, heck, I might even march with you to present the document to the government. I suspect though, that an alternative will not be found because no-one has come up with a palatable one.

"We have to be wary of too facile explanations: too many begin with the excessive greed of the bankers. That may be true but it does not provide much of a basis for reform. Bankers acted greedily because they had incentives and opportunities to do so, and that is what has to be changed. Besides, the basis of capitalism is the pursuit of profit: should we blame the bankers for doing (perhaps a little bit better) what everyone in the market economy is supposed to be doing?" - Joseph Stiglitz, from Freefall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

None. Its the suckers in the middle who are bailing out the rich and poor.

k_mac wrote: »
    None. Its the suckers in the middle who are bailing out the rich and poor.

Is there anywhere that has a breakdown of where the tax will be taken from?

Id like to know, usually the people who complain about their tax being used to bail out banks are those who contribute little, nothing or simply take money out of the economy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

ahh, what do you know. More "If you dont protest then you're bending over and taking it" from the typical public sector gimmie gimmie gimmie lot.

Heres the real truth, I want more cuts, I want your wages slashed to the bone, the dole halved and the majority of PS admin jobs privatized. I hope the guards can have some fun smashing a few heads open at this "Protest"

Ah but you have no power to demand anything..the Public Sector unions have a membership in the hundreds of thousands..what support do you have?
    How do you think you can negotiate cuts with the govt?
    you're angry internet man..but nobody is listening to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

darkman2 wrote: »

I am very concerned about the damage a riot or anything resembling it beamed around the world would do to Ireland - we will be immediately put into the dangerous category with Greece (the British press in particular would be salavating sensing the blood of another EU state) and the consequences would be far far worse then what even the most irresponsible and stupid top bank officials have done to this country.
    But that's our job in Europe, we go out with the Italians and the Greek to distract the rest of the world while the Germans and other boring counties come up with some super plan to get us out of the mess, we're like Europes Murdock of the A team.

Degsy wrote: »
    Ah but you have no power to demand anything..the Public Sector unions have a membership in the hundreds of thousands..what support do you have?
    How do you think you can negotiate cuts with the govt?
    you're angry internet man..but nobody is listening to you.

I dont need to negotiate cuts with the government. They'll cut regardless.

What support do I have? The private sector; which is propping up the public sector, has a membership in the millions.

Ah, my mistake.
    I forgot that Unions control the general election.

yeah. The public sector are like paid FF voters thanks to Bertie and his benchmarking days past. I think the IFA are the same.

How much of the bailout money is coming from the poor do you reckon? Proportionately?

From the poor? Nothing as K_mac said. They have no way to finance the public debt. Their benefits may be cut though that will make life tougher on them. I think the average Joe 30 - 60k earners. Anyone earning big money pays fcuk all tax anyway. I think they all join a super rich club where the system is designed to allow them to take bonus payments instead of taxed pension contributions and all sorts of loops and roundabouts. I know nothing about that though, I'm too busy paying my average joe PAYE budget commitments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Chorcai

Whats the start time for the protest and where in Dublin ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Eh anyone? I have to work for a few hours in College Green so I'd like to try and avoid the area if there's going to be a riot. There was nothing on the news last night and nothing on the RTE News website.

I dont need to negotiate cuts with the government. They'll cut regardless.

What support do I have? The private sector; which is propping up the public sector, has a membership in the millions.

Yeah right..where's the unions fighting your corner?
    no such thing..you're at the mercy of Big bad Bossman..if he tells you to take a cut you'll bend over and take it..who you gonna go to?
    Boards?
    And the "private sector" encompasses everything from barmen to hotel porters and shopworkers?How many of them support your assertation that the public sector is "ruining the country"?
    How many of them are even irish?Almost none for the reason that certain Irish people wont do jobs they feel are "beneath" them so they sit on the dole at the taxpayers expense.

There's no cohesion in teh private sector,no loyalty to anything but profit and utterly no power to negotiate anything with the government.

Eh anyone? I have to work for a few hours in College Green so I'd like to try and avoid the area if there's going to be a riot. There was nothing on the news last night and nothing on the RTE News website.

It's a radical leftie thing, so they don't do time constraints too well. I reckon it'll start when they run out of rizzla.

Yeah right..where's the unions fighting your corner?
    no such thing..you're at the mercy of Big bad Bossman..if he tells you to take a cut you'll bend over and take it..who you gonna go to?

Hows your 8% paycut going BTW?

The reason why I wont have to take a pay cut(Got a 15% raise in February) is because im actually good at my job and create value for the company.
    How many of them support your assertation that the public sector is "ruining the country"?

Every single one that I talked to about it, strangely, its only public sector workers who dont think so...

There's no cohesion in teh private sector,no loyalty to anything but profit and utterly no power to negotiate anything with the government.

You're right, we dont care about anything but proft. Thats why some of us went out and got skilled and good at our jobs enough that we could be valued by companies.

And you're right, businesses shouldnt be about being profitable or successful, they should be about having large unions to cry and threaten strike everytime their increasingly tenuous jobs are looked upon with disbelieve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Chorcai wrote: »
    Whats the start time for the protest and where in Dublin ?
    7.30 Kildare St.

Hows your 8% paycut going BTW?
    Meh..it didnt bother me that much..i'm on a good salary.
    The reason why I wont have to take a pay cut(Got a 15% raise in February) is because im actually good at my job and create value for the company.

Sure you did..you must be selling an awfull lot of fish and chips.

Every single one that I talked to about it, strangely, its only public sector workers who dont think so....
    Course you spoke to every single worker to get your balancedd approach.

You're right, we dont care about anything but proft. Thats why some of us went out and got skilled and good at our jobs enough that we could be valued by companies.

So much so that there's 400,000 of you on the dole after your esteemed and valuable companies either went to the wall or fcucked off to poland.
    Well done
    And you're right, businesses shouldnt be about being profitable or successful, they should be about having large unions to cry and threaten strike everytime their increasingly tenuous jobs are looked upon with disbelieve.

Tenous?In a place where the need for a public sector is growing by the day?
    More people in education..more people in hospitals and more people on the dole?
    I'd like to see what recourse you'd have if your boss told you to clean out your desk and hit the road...more than likely given your prediliction for sitting on boards all day.
    Probably go straight on the dole wouldnt you?
    Who'd be paying your wages then?

I'd like to try and avoid the area if there's going to be a riot. There was nothing on the news last night and nothing on the RTE News website.

LMAO... @RTE comment. They would not give this any news/air/web time under any circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

We are NOT bankrupt so long as we can pay the interest on our debt. If we were bankrupt the pensioners complaining tonight would have NO pension at all. The Public workers would have NO wages at all. The Dole collectors would have NO dole at all. It would be like Somalia - which cannot be ruled out btw - we are depending on the stretched forebarence of the Germans atm who are getting very pissed off and may even pull the plug. Then you will know what it is like to live in a truly bankrupt country.

Im fed up with people who do not know what bankruptcy is claiming the state is bankrupt.

It took you 4 years to get over the fact we are in a recession, I wonder how long it'll take you to come to terms with a bankrupt Ireland.
    darkman2 wrote:
    The economy is growing and performing well. There is no problems at the moment that cant be rectified, to say the country is heading for recession is ignorant scare mongering. No economist has suggested impending recession in fact they are saying the exact opposite - that growth will accelerate over the next two years. The economy is in healthy shape, there were 90,000 jobs created last year alone. 30,000 of these were considered higher productivity jobs. The rest, however were low skilled and as such contibuted little or nothing to the government finances - this is why the IDA is about to remarket Ireland as a knowledge economy. Beleive it or not we are in much better shape then our EU counterparts.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=51476993&postcount=49
    darkman2 wrote:
    What recession? We are not going into recession and even if we did which is unlikely in the short term it would be nothing like the 80s.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=51480493&postcount=85

Meh..it didnt bother me that much..i'm on a good salary.

Sure you did..you must be selling an awfull lot of fish and chips.

Course you spoke to every single worker to get your balancedd approach.

So much so that there's 400,000 of you on the dole after your esteemed and valuable companies either went to the wall or fcucked off to poland.
    Well done

Tenous?In a place where the need for a public sector is growing by the day?
    More people in education..more people in hospitals and more people on the dole?
    I'd like to see what recourse you'd have if your boss told you to clean out your desk and hit the road...more than likely given your prediliction for sitting on boards all day.
    Probably go straight on the dole wouldnt you?
    Who'd be paying your wages then?

Sure Degsy, im selling fish and chips. You must be on good salary stamping form v43 and telling someone to take it down to window 4. But hey, you've got your great big union to protect you, so when the government comes back again for more cuts, they'll protect you like they did last time!

No Degsy, I didnt say I spoke to every worker about it. I said that every worker that I did speak to about it felt that way, try and keep up.

And again, the public sector hide behind Nurses, Guards etc.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

€100 says the front page of the tabloids tomorrow will be a Gardai swinging his baton, and there'll be about 50 posts about the poor, peace loving protesters that Gardai savaged and tormented.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2010/0518/1224270600059.html

http://www.eirigi.org/

"Protest against NAMA and the bank bailouts. Tuesday 18th May. Assemble at Wolfe Tone memorial, Stephen's Green, Dublin, at 7pm"

edit
    From their site. Just passing on the info. I have nothing to do with the protest or eirigi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭MrDarcy

We have a government here that is refusing to hold no less than 3 by-elections, for no reason other than to maintain it's own selfish political end. You wouldn't see the likes of it in Calcutta... If that isn't a reason for civil disobedience, then what is??? At what point do you come to the conclusion that your government is taking the absolute p*ss out of you???

Chorcai wrote: »
    Protest against NAMA and the bank bailouts. Tuesday 18th May. Assemble at Wolfe Tone memorial, Stephen's Green, Dublin, at 7pm

Right, so it is a protest against NAMA and the bank bailouts then, because one of the organisers on Nightly News last night said that it was actually a pro-jobs protest.

So I will ask again, what exactly is the protest for and what are you presenting as an alternative?

Jeez, it's like trying to get a straight answer from a politician.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭davrho

k_mac wrote: »
    That's mob intelligence for you and thats why violent protest doesn't work.

It worked on that day. Not seen "Love Ulster Parades" come back have we.

MrDarcy wrote: »
    We have a government here that is refusing to hold no less than 3 by-elections, for no reason other than to maintain it's own selfish political end. You wouldn't see the likes of it in Calcutta... If that isn't a reason for civil disobedience, then what is??? At what point do you come to the conclusion that your government is taking the absolute p*ss out of you???

Ah, so it's a protest against the governments refusal to hold by-elections then, or is it a protest against the government?

We may actually be getting somewhere here folks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭MrDarcy

Ah, so it's a protest against the governments refusal to hold by-elections then, or is it a protest against the government?

We may actually be getting somewhere here folks.

I don't believe its the governments place to create jobs. It's a citizens responsibility to create jobs. This government are not allowing conditions to exist where jobs can be created, instead they are bailing out failed institutions that should not survive under the rules of capitalism.

I don't have beef with this government over the job situation, I took responsibility for my own employment, I started up a business in the middle of a recession and I'm doing fine for myself now. However, if my business fails, it fails. When it comes to business, success is rewarded and failure is punished, all capitalism depends upon it... I have beef with this government putting me into negative equity, depriving my children of a decent standard of education because money that should be spent on state services is being used to bail out businesses that have failed, and there is no such thing as a business that is too big to fail, this is rubbish.

The biggest beef I have with this government is allowing the whole country to fall into a place where there is no hope. It is up to a leader to provide leadership, what we have is an obese, lazy, inept clown who doesn't know anything about leadership. He simply has to go, no more if's or buts about it, he is basically inviting civil disobedience by remaining as leader of this country when he is so obviously unfit for purpose...

I don't believe its the governments place to create jobs. It's a citizens responsibility to create jobs. This government are not allowing conditions to exist where jobs can be created, instead they are bailing out failed institutions that should not survive under the rules of capitalism.

Right so, if this is the case, why are you attending a protest that the organiser is stating is a pro-jobs protest? Secondly, what are you proposing in exchange for the current bail out, and how will this work?
    I don't have beef with this government over the job situation, I took responsibility for my own employment, I started up a business in the middle of a recession and I'm doing fine for myself now. However, if my business fails, it fails. When it comes to business, success is rewarded and failure is punished, all capitalism depends upon it... I have beef with this government putting me into negative equity, depriving my children of a decent standard of education because money that should be spent on state services is being used to bail out businesses that have failed, and there is no such thing as a business that is too big to fail, this is rubbish.

Right, so the banks should be subject to the market forces but not your home, that should be protected from negative equity?
    The biggest beef I have with this government is allowing the whole country to fall into a place where there is no hope. It is up to a leader to provide leadership, what we have is an obese, lazy, inept clown who doesn't know anything about leadership. He simply has to go, no more if's or buts about it, he is basically inviting civil disobedience by remaining as leader of this country when he is so obviously unfit for purpose...

So it is really an anti-Brian Cowen March that you will be going on. If this is the case, I am not criticising, you have the right to march for whatever you want, but please can we just be upfront about this and not just stick in the words NAMA and bailout, to try an stir up a rabble when the reality is that neither will change the equity value of your home, nor remove Brian Cowen from office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭hada

I know a few of these so called rioters from University....

They're the same crop that find themselves rioting/protesting at every available opportunity. e.g. Shell to Sea, Palestine Solidarity...you name the half arsed cause, and they'll be at the front lines.

In my opinion, they want confrontation regardless of the cause. Best thing to do would let them chant/rant/whatever away, let nobody pay any attention to them. They'll stop once they find noone is bothered to pay them any attention.

Muppets.

Right, so it is a protest against NAMA and the bank bailouts then, because one of the organisers on Nightly News last night said that it was actually a pro-jobs protest.

So I will ask again, what exactly is the protest for and what are you presenting as an alternative?

Jeez, it's like trying to get a straight answer from a politician.

ohh hold on there, I just copied and pasted the info, forgot to add the quote tags "Protest against NAMA and the bank bailouts. Tuesday 18th May. Assemble at Wolfe Tone memorial, Stephen's Green, Dublin, at 7pm"

I have nothing to do with the protest or eirigi.

who cares what its labeled?!?!?!? seriously?! It's an anti-government protest. end of story. Different groups want to package it for their own agendas, but at the end of the day its just anti-govt.

Right so, if this is the case, why are you attending a protest that the organiser is stating is a pro-jobs protest? Secondly, what are you proposing in exchange for the current bail out, and how will this work?

Oh boy. A pedantic troll. So its the responsibility of the disenfranchised masses to come up with a solution to the mess before having a legitimate reason to protest against the government mishandling of this crisis? Oh right Ted. I suppose we should just stay at home and pray so. good call. It just so happens we are very good at inaction so no problems.

who cares what its labeled?!?!?!? seriously?! It's an anti-government protest. end of story. Different groups want to package it for their own agendas, but at the end of the day its just anti-govt.

Thought as much, it's just an pointless exercise in rabble rousing then - wonderful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

Just watching Vincient Brown just there. One of the organisers of tomorrows Dáil protest was on being ambiguous of course as to whether he would condone the inevitable trouble there will be from a minority of not too bright sh*t stirrers and scumbags that will be there.

They claim to be protesting against the bankers *snigger* (these thugs have the IQ of an average child aged 8) and the poor unfortunates losing their jobs etc. Even during the boom they were unemployable.

I am very concerned about the damage a riot or anything resembling it beamed around the world would do to Ireland - we will be immediately put into the dangerous category with Greece (the British press in particular would be salavating sensing the blood of another EU state) and the consequences would be far far worse then what even the most irresponsible and stupid top bank officials have done to this country.

For the record I want this government out and I am very angry like everyone else but this is not the time with Europe so unstable to be having this sort of attention drawn to us by a minority of people who just don't seem to get the damage this could do.

So if there is trouble tomorrow evening what should be done? Personally id be even more pissed off at some stupid anarchist pushing our costs of borrowing up because his mug ends up on Sky News then what got us here in the first place.

And remember these groups have agendas aswell - agendas most right minded Irish people don't support IMO.
    Spit at them,throw food at them like you did with the 1916 rising Irish men.

Oh boy. A pedantic troll. So its the responsibility of the disenfranchised masses to come up with a solution to the mess before having a legitimate reason to protest against the government mishandling of this crisis? Oh right Ted. I suppose we should just stay at home and pray so. good call. It just so happens we are very good at inaction so no problems.

Damn right - masses my ass, a couple of thousand people does not a mass make.

How can you take the position that a situation has been mishandled without suggesting how it could have been handled better. What the feck happens if you are successful and the current bunch of eejits hand you the baby? Will you just leave it to cry and starve in a sh*tty nappy while you read the manual?

I'm not trolling either, I just get pissed off by pitchforks and torches being the first port of call.

Thought as much, it's just an pointless exercise in rabble rousing then - wonderful.

It's a demonstration of public unhappiness with the government. and yes, those kind of things (demonstrations) do effect change. Sitting at home moaning does not. If you have nothing to moan about, I'm actually jealous. I think the vast majority are seriously aggrieved at the government though.

digme wrote: »

That's actually a really silly analogy, i'll give you a while to think about why.

it's bloody well true.

It's a demonstration of public unhappiness with the government. and yes, those kind of things (demonstrations) do effect change. Sitting at home moaning does not. If you have nothing to moan about, I'm actually jealous. I think the vast majority are seriously aggrieved at the government though.

I'm not saying to stay at home moaning - by all means protest, protest all day long - just protest FOR something and not AGAINST everything - you can only effect change if you have something to change to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

No its not true at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

That's the most idiotic post I have seen on here in a long while. Comparing the swp/eirigi attempt to break through a gardai presence at the Dail to the Rising of 1916 is actually pretty offensive. imo.

it's bloody well true.

I did warn you.

Damn right - masses my ass, a couple of thousand people does not a mass make.

How can you take the position that a situation has been mishandled without suggesting how it could have been handled better. What the feck happens if you are successful and the current bunch of eejits hand you the baby? Will you just leave it to cry and starve in a sh*tty nappy while you read the manual?

I'm not trolling either, I just get pissed off by pitchforks and torches being the first port of call.

So anyone who ever protests against a government should have a mandate for changes and better handling? Do the 400,000 unemployed people not have a mandate to protest at how the government facilitated the banks and developers to cash-grab. The situation was overheating for a long time and the government did nothing to cool it off. i.e. a property tax 4 years ago would have helped cool things.

I think the couple of thousand you refer to are not the masses correct. I have already highlighted that the masses sit at home because its bred into them not to question authority. did you notice what happened in Iceland when the Icelandic government said the public finances would have to pay off all the bad bank debt. the people gave a resounding message that they
    would absolutely not. And guess what, they won't. Just because we only have 2000 people willing to turn up does NOT mean the masses here are happy that their great grand-kids will be paying off this bank bailout for generations. It just means they are impotent.

You seem to be arguing that because I or we have no definitive solution or alternative to the current problems/government, we should just put up with the current situation lest we are handed 'the baby'. I think FF have long enough to make some roads into this situation and they have not. I would be more than happy to give some other party a mandate to try something else. Change is good. Something Irish people are not comfortable with. again this is bred in over generations. We are not radicals. We will not question authority. It's the same reason kids were coming home telling stories of priests and being smacked and sent to bed early for making up such rubbish. We do not question authority. We do not think for ourselves. I DO NOT want to pay 81billion to save banks who are private institutions that gambled and lost. WHY do I have to bail them out? They cannot be let fold up or the country will disappear in a black hole? total BS. Sweden let their main bank fold up during their crisis and set up a state bank that actually DID LEND MONEY back out and got the economy moving again. We bailed out these banks to the tune of 81 billion and nothing is happening. They won't release money into the market and small businesses and consumer confidence are being zapped.

The simple reason I am bailing out the banks is that the poor will always bail out the rich. We are paying for a mistake we did not make. It's a class society which is why the bankers are off playing golf in spain now while so many suffer at home. The government protect the upper classes here who duly 'repay them in many ways'. I don't think that's the way forward.

Morlar wrote: »
    That's the most idiotic post I have seen on here in a long while. Comparing the swp/eirigi attempt to break through a gardai presence at the Dail to the Rising of 1916 is actually pretty offensive. imo.
    Well considering most of the ***** in the dial should be hung outside the gates no it's not idiotic at all.Burn the ****ing dail down they should all be shot for ruining my ****ing country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭plasmaguy

Unfortunately I believe the violent rioters have no real interest in the current crisis or even social justice.

They are just anarachists if they were honest.

We saw what anarchists did in Greece. They cover their face and hide their identity and throw things at the police from afar. A bit cowardly to be honest.

Anarchy is the last thing we need in Ireland.

plasmaguy wrote: »
    Unfortunately I believe the violent rioters have no real interest in the current crisis or even social justice.

They are just anarachists if they were honest.

We saw what anarchists did in Greece. They cover their face and hide their identity and throw things at the police from afar. A bit cowardly to be honest.

Anarchy is the last thing we need in Ireland.
    Would you prefer if they all had name tags so they can be put in prison?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Would you prefer if they all had name tags so they can be put in prison?

It would be a help. Did they find out who murdered those 3 people when they set fire to the building some bank workers were in.

Pauleta wrote: »
    It would be a help. Did they find out who murdered those 3 people when they set fire to the building some bank workers were in.
    Hijacking and re directing the thread topic is not a smart idea.