Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

SHOULD i BRING A CRASH HELMET?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

i don't condone stupidity, but i would like to shoot there... could be bitta crack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭AnimalRights

What pub shall we meet outside so? I'm leaving in 24 minutes, well 22 maybe.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

todayyyyy, feck. more time ah...more time, take me 40mins to do my hair... oh well another time i guess

78325406F4944A938D5168B24BFBA4AA-800.jpg

76C95F3D31A94CC7AE63801BA8B9A595-800.jpg

909E8E59D3F34E48975338789083D25B-1200.jpg

3BB2A57C6D4647AB9FC9E5D0E1489F90-800.jpg

Rest of the pix here...
    http://pix.ie/punkrock/album/376936

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

Shouldnt the title of that video be.

"trouble seeking protesters attack gardai?

they make me sick them types, they condone and cheer the beating of a copper with a flagpole, and then sensationalise the fact that the guard took action to protect himself "with a baton".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Excellent Janer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭Burnt

Nice work AR

In the fourth pic in the set on pix.ie the is a guy in a blue hoodie
    getting lifted. Is there some sort of base ball bat by his feet?

Masada wrote: »
    they make me sick them types,
    Your type make me sick, sit at home with ur newspaper and nescafe and prepared to let the state screw our country of all its wealth.

Burnt wrote: »
    Nice work AR

In the fourth pic in the set on pix.ie the is a guy in a blue hoodie
    getting lifted. Is there some sort of base ball bat by his feet?
    No thats actually those collapasable small poles on bike lanes. :)
    Most def not a weapon amongst protesters, was mostly push and shove by both sides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,155 ✭✭✭PopeBuckfastXVI

Yeah Masada... the cheek of you, with your reading and drinking coffee!!!!

lol... /OT

Good photos, you should try selling them to the newspapers if it doesn't compromise your prole cred!

Too much hassle tbh...not even paid for last ones yet.
    Anyway there were almost as many photographers as protesters/police!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,155 ✭✭✭PopeBuckfastXVI

Too much hassle tbh...not even paid for last ones yet.
    Anyway there were almost as many photographers as protesters/police!

Well maybe submit to Indymedia, they're better than most pics you see of protests anyway...

Just sent them in... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭Burnt

No thats actually those collapasable small poles on bike lanes. :)

Must be a big city idea ;) haven't seen them before.

• Registered Users Posts: 690 ✭✭✭poochiem

Was at the rally last night and right at the end my camera (canon eos20d ) gave me a 'CF Error' - I seem to have lost the couple of hundred shots I had.

Is this a common occurance with CF cards?

This one is a month or two old, its a "Hama 8gb high speed >>pro<<" - I'm just worried now that this will be a regular occurance. :(

Pissed because I had some good photos, much better than Last Week's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,250 ✭✭✭pixbyjohn

poochiem wrote: »
    Was at the rally last night and right at the end my camera (canon eos20d ) gave me a 'CF Error' - I seem to have lost the couple of hundred shots I had.

Is this a common occurance with CF cards?

This one is a month or two old, its a "Hama 8gb high speed >>pro<<" - I'm just worried now that this will be a regular occurance. :(

Pissed because I had some good photos, much better than Last Week's

Have you tried any recovery software Recuva for instance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,250 ✭✭✭pixbyjohn

Is that blood on her nose fake?

I think so John and a good fake shiner on her left eye and she also had the fake blood on her scalp.

Uncropped BW version of same shot I was asked to do.
    2F3C3BFED0A248379ED52EEA316D1E32-800.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,368 ✭✭✭Covey

Lovely stuff AR. :)

I love BW as much as the next man but I had a fair few bevvies on me and got them up asap as I was asked by friends who use a different forum.

I really do need to stand back for a few hours b4 I PP at times. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭Ricky91t

I love BW as much as the next man but I had a fair few bevvies on me and got them up asap as I was asked by friends who use a different forum.

I really do need to stand back for a few hours b4 I PP at times. :(

I'm posting from my iPod so ill keep it short... Great shots really capture the event well :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

Your type make me sick, sit at home with ur newspaper and nescafe and prepared to let the state screw our country of all its wealth.

Well it wasnt aimed at you or your pics, there good photos, I particularly like the mounted unit one, twas aimed at that site and the type of people there.

But seeing as you took personal offence to it for some reason, do you also support attacking that copper with a flagpole?
    i like to snap the action as much as the next photog, ive been right in the thick of it at the mayday riot, O'Connel street riot and Paddys day troubles, but most of the time all that trouble there is caused by the same anarchist "anti bleeeeedin everything" types up front who give the genuine protesters a bad rep. their only out for trouble and then post up photos and video just like on that site, with headings like "evil nazi cops with big swingy batons" etc etc. when the cops were only defending themselves...

but good pics anyway, I'm not a newspapers type, and its homebrew coffee only for me unless theres a starbucks round due. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭Hugh_C

AR's Granny is the Duchess of Glastonbury, the whole prole thing is a sham :D
    He's f€ckin loaded.

I like the picture of the horse, the rest are just candids of indymedia types, meh, been there, bought the tshirt..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,368 ✭✭✭Covey

Hugh_C wrote: »
    He's f€ckin loaded.

I like the picture of the horse, the rest are just candids of indymedia types, meh, been there, bought the tshirt..

Yeah indeed :).. shame you don't have pics to back that up Hugh C!

Well done AR:)

Hugh_C wrote: »
    He's f€ckin loaded.

A) Yep buying the 400 2.8L next week and maybe the 70-200L IS mk II.

B) I'm not a fan of Indymedia, it's not even bookmarked but I do look at it the same way I look at right leaning newspapers, I like to see what each one spouts, thats not to say I don't agree with some of their stuff, then again amongst my Punk crowd I'm in a minority of one when it comes to abortion, I'm pro life while all my mates/crowd are pro 'choice'

and as for the t-shirt as Covey said I'd love to see some of your shots, did u have lighting/umbrella/meter reading set ups and make up on them b4 you mounted ur tripod? "ok people lets have a punch thrown in 3-2-1 ACTION!"
    :cool:

and as for the t-shirt as Covey said I'd love to see some of your shots, did u have lighting/umbrella/meter reading set ups and make up on them b4 you mounted ur tripod?

I don't use a meter or tripod :) And often they're pretty uninspiring without the slap tbh. It's my job to make them look picturesque.

This is as close as I come to street photog, I'm just not that good at it

9CDE853BEA544390BF915D4FC374CD1C-240.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,721 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

I like the horse too - in my mind since the escalation of drug use Irish people don't protest well now - that happened in the U.S. in the 60 s , heroin killed the revolution , people became apathetic and wanted to score more than protest - young males in Ireland are suffering greatly in Ireland now, but inter gang violence, depression and drugs is quelling their thirst for protest -

I am sadly old eneogh to remember the H Block protests of the early 80 s -they were what I would call protests

thebaz wrote: »
    I am sadly old eneogh to remember the H Block protests of the early 80 s -they were what I would call protests

I can remember the burning of the British Embassy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭mdebets

I like the horse too - in my mind since the escalation of drug use Irish people don't protest well now - that happened in the U.S. in the 60 s , heroin killed the revolution , people became apathetic and wanted to score more than protest - young males in Ireland are suffering greatly in Ireland now, but inter gang violence, depression and drugs is quelling their thirst for protest -

I have to agree here. I like the pictures, but they look more like a few guys getting together to have a cup of tea :).
    I'm just back from the big demonstration in Athens (will post a few pics later) today and that's what I would call a protest and that even without it going violent so far (and hope it stays like this tonight).

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

I popped along to Molesworth St. Decided beforehand to leave if and when I heard the first mention of "800 years of oppression...". I took 4 shots and lasted 5 minutes, got wet too.

I like the horsey pic AR.

mdebets wrote: »
    I have to agree here. I like the pictures, but they look more like a few guys getting together to have a cup of tea :).
    I'm just back from the big demonstration in Athens (will post a few pics later) today and that's what I would call a protest and that even without it going violent so far (and hope it stays like this tonight).
    I do agree with you but I was there to protest and photograph all aspects.

Even when it did get a bit handbaggish I did'nt get too close as I was worried about my Camera getting damaged, not got the money to replace it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭mdebets

Even when it did get a bit handbaggish I did'nt get too close as I was worried about my Camera getting damaged, not got the money to replace it!
    Can fully understand this.
    I was contemplating today if I should stay a little bit longer ore leave, but then I thought about two weeks ago and had a look around and saw most other photographers with either a helmet or helmet and gasmasks and thought it might be better to get out, before it starts to get nasty. Health and safty and your cameragear intact should always be your first priority, before getting good pictures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭charybdis

Conversely, there are people that will protest just about anything; every march is convenient, every issue a cause célèbre. The problem with routine protest is that it undermines and debases the act of protest itself. It's hard to walk past Leinster House without seeing people shuffling around with placards and slogans, braying the staple protest chants with the appropriate terms substituted in. It has become impossible to express civil disobedience without your participation being gerrymandered to suit whomever has the most connections on the protest circuit; case in point: the "Anti Coca-Cola, Shell, NAMA, and Lisbon Treaty" protest from last year.

It's ironic that these protesters appear to be self-proclaimed socialists or anti-capitalists and are objecting to the government taking control of the banks.

I don't think you can attribute a perceived decline in protests to increased drug use, at least not in this case. Frankly, if someone is prepared to participate in gang violence and do heroin they probably wouldn't be the kind of person to make an informed protest on a complex issue. Realistically, they're much more likely to use the protest as a means to carrying out crime and cause mayhem without any sort of recognition for the mechanics of free speech and informed protest, e.g.: the counter-"Love Ulster" protest in 2006.

charybdis wrote: »
    Frankly, if someone is prepared to participate in gang violence and do heroin ...

I suspect that if they're doing heroin they wouldn't get it together in the first place. Amphetamines maybe ... Headshop junkies?

I agree that the quality of protest has plummeted (weird thing to say) with the exception of the pensioners in Westland Row - now there's a protest ...

• Registered Users Posts: 690 ✭✭✭poochiem

- young males in Ireland are suffering greatly in Ireland now, but inter gang violence, depression and drugs is quelling their thirst for protest -

eh...to tell you the truth all my friends and colleagues agree with the speakers and principles of those at the protests but they don't know it. The women are all watching desperate housewives and the lads are all playing astro-league soccer, theyre not in gangs or taking drugs, they read or see the tv coverage of the protest and believe how it is presented by the press (which in fairness, apart from Vincent Browne, is severely anti-protest whatever that protest is and no reporters even go to listen to the speeches) ; so my friends don't understand that demonstration is a democratic right or an essential part of a functioning democracy, instead they think that it is something for 'poor people' or 'communists'. seriously. And so we continue with a govenment that 3/4s of the population don't want, its as easy as that.

If it is sunny next Tuesday you guys should make it the boards Photo Expedition and see what photos you can get - even if you've bought the t-shirt like Hugh ;) ...

poochiem wrote: »
    even if you've bought the t-shirt like Hugh ;) ...

... and worn it :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,721 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

not sure if i made my point well, but I feal no tension at Irish protests today unlike the early 80's , as has been said before the pensioners revolution was about as radical as it got -

meanwhile when I was in London , at a QPR v Cardiff there was extreme tension in the air , not directed at the pillars of society but between London and Cardiff fans

47E0E0DBFD1641EFA7434066C032773F-800.jpg